The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Metlife Disability / denials of legit std claims

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

If you are a business, insurance broker, or employee and are considering MetLife Disability as a part of your insurance policy, I would strongly recommend that you research this company diligently and consider other options.

I have been with the same company for 3 years and my previous for 8 years and I have never taken any kind of leave. I work hard and take my job very seriously. I recently saw a doctor in regards to a medical issue and the doctor wrote me off of work for 4 weeks. I filed a short term disability claim with MetLife Disability and provided them with ALL of the medical information they had requested. Doctors notes, medical documentation and the doctor’s orders that I could not perform the necessary duties on a daily basis for the job in which I hold.

After the 4 weeks in which I was off, I returned to work and on my first day back to work, I found out through MetLife that they had denied my claim. What? How can they I asked myself. My board certified physician wrote me off of work unable to perform the duties of my position and they are able to challenge the advice of my doctor? Doesn't seem right does it?

I wrote an appeal letter, got even more documentation from my doctor and stated the appeals process. My claim has been in the appeals process for over 2 weeks already and I have been told that it can take up to 45 days. They are sending all of my paperwork and documentation to a doctor of their choice, well actually a doctor that is on the payroll for MetLife. That doctor will decide if they deem me unfit to work for those 4 weeks (SOLELY BASED OFF PAPERWORK). My doctor would never have written me off for 4 weeks without seeing me in person, examining me, prescribing medications to treat my symptoms and continuing to see me at least once a week! So how can a doctor who has never met me, did not have an appointment with me during the time of my illness, never saw any of my symptoms, and has never talked to me decide if I was unable to work for the time that I was off. ABSOLUTELY INSANE! I pay for this insurance to cover me in a time of a medical leave out of every paycheck.

After doing some research on my own I have found that MetLife Disability denies over 80% of the claims it receives. The appeals division’s job is to make you jump through as many hoops as possible so that you will give up on the process and accept the denial. Their bonuses and annual raises are based off how many successful denials of claims they are able to make each year. I will not be renewing my short term disability on my insurance selections this year and in the future will not work for a company that solely offers MetLife as a choice for STD. Do not sign on board with MetLife Disability as they are a corporate scam.

I will continue to post this complaint on every website that I can find, every day, to reach as many people and organizations wanting information on this company as possible until my claim is approved and I receive a paycheck which I am entitled to.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sh
      17th of Sep, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Sorry for your hardship but thanks for sharing. Good info to know.

  • Ma
      20th of Sep, 2010
    +2 Votes

    I am an insurance broker and I try to stay as far away from this option as possible as many people have these types of problems with this company. Thank you for sharing your story as it reaches many people.

  • G3
      22nd of Sep, 2010
    +2 Votes

    I am going to the same denial garbage that you're going through right now with this scam of a company. Out of work, provided all requested documentation (at my cost to return to these doctors to get more and more paperwork) good luck with your claim. If they deny me again I'm filing with the Insurance. Commissioner. I can't believe a large, legitimate copy like mine does business with these clowns.

  • An
      28th of Feb, 2011
    +2 Votes

    Metlife has done the same BS to me after being on short-trm disability purposely and intentionally denies the last portion of your illness or whatever claim it is as a standard process and forces you to work at an illusive appeals process of up to 45 days or more in so as to discourage a last payment to you.. And makes it extremely hard to recover your due moneies... There is no regulation on insurance companies as it stands and they will corrupt any person, judge or goverment that attempts to force them into a more responsible payout.. There only jopb is to collect premiums and deny payouts as best as they can or get rid of you.. There is no standard or requirement or ethics that they have to follow Your till they kill you... Good Day!!!

  • Ra
      2nd of Jun, 2011
    +1 Votes

    SINCE EARLIE 2010 I HAVE BEEN REQUESTING THAT MET-LIFE AND ABBOTT VERIFY THE CHECKS, SUPPOSEDLY, SEND TO ME THAT NEVER ARRIVE, AND NEVER WHERE CHANGE.
    THE URGENCY OF MY CURRENT ECONOMICAL- MEDICAL SITUATION PROVOKE BY THE DENIAL OF PAYMENTS, INCREMENTS, DENIED FORMULA THAT MET-LIFE USE TO CUT $500.00USD BY MET-LIFE FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS HAS AFFECT VERY MUCH MY MEDICAL CONDITION, HAVING TO DOUBLE THE DOSAGES OF MOST OF MY MEDICATIONS.
    IF MET-LIFE IS CAPABLE OF SAYING THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE A DEBT WITH ME SINCE 2010, MET-LIFE SHALL PROVIDE THE RECORDS OF CHECKS, SUPPOSEDLY, SEND TO ME AND CHANGE, SINCE JANUARY 2010 UNTIL THE CURRENT DATE.
    PLEASE CONSIDER THAT I HAVE 2 CHILD'S AND THAT MY MEDICAL EXPENSES ARE ¾+ OF MY INCOME. I CAN'T KEEP HUMILIATING TO MET-LIFE AND ABBOT FOR 2 YEARS OF PAYMENTS, SINCE I ALREADY HUMILIATE FOR IT FOR 2 YEARS APPROX.
    I DEMAND THAT MET-LIFE SUBMIT TO ME VIA FED-EX EVIDENCE OF THE RECORDS OF CHECKS, SUPPOSEDLY, SEND TO ME AND CHANGE, SINCE JANUARY 2010 UNTIL THE CURRENT DATE, PLUS THE INCREMENT DENIAL, PLUS THEIR SECRET FORMULA USED TO DECREASE MY BENEFIT -$500.00USD

    FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS I ASK ABBOTT TO STOP THIS ABUSE FROM THE PRODUCT THEY PROMOTE AND SELL FOR ITS PARTNER, MET-LIFE, AND INSTEAD OF TRUSTING OR REPEATING WHATEVER MET-LIFE SAYS, ABBOTT SHALL DEMAND EVIDENCE OF THE RECORDS OF CHECKS, SUPPOSEDLY, SEND TO ME AND CHANGE, SINCE JANUARY 2010 UNTIL THE CURRENT DATE.

    MET-LIFE SHALL PAY ME IMMEDIATELY, BY FED-EX OR DIRECT DEPOSIT.
    MET-LIFE MUST PAY MONTHLY RETROACTIVE DUE TO ALL THE LOST INCOME THAT I AND MY FAMILY HAVE EXPERIENCE FOR THIS 2 YEARS DUE TO THEIR GREED AND LEGALLY QUESTIONABLE PRACTICES AND/OR VIOLATIONS TO THE FEDERAL AND LOCAL INSURANCE AUTHORITIES, TO ECONOMICALLY LU-CRATE AND HAVE CONTROL OVER THE PUERTO RICO INSURANCE MARKET, AT $50 THE DISABLE ABBOTT PERSONNEL (AT $50 THE DISABLE ABBOTT PERSONNEL, AFTER YEARS OF PAYING THOUSANDS, EVEN MY 4 YEARS CHILD CAN HAVE A MET-LIFE FRANCHISE, AT ABBOTT KNOWLEDGE.) THERE IS NO COMPETITION FOR MET-LIFE IN P.R., ALL THEIR INSATIABLE GREED, AND THEIR UNIMPORTANCE OF THE MONTHLY LOSS, THAT THE ABBOTT DISABLE PERSONNEL SUFFER, AT ABBOTT KNOWLEDGE OF OUR DEFENSE INABILITY AND THE EXPLOITATION OF THE ABBOTT DISABLE, MAKES A PRUDENT INDIVIDUAL VOMIT.

    FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS I ASK ABBOTT TO PLEASE STOP THIS ABUSE, THEY RECOMMEND MET-LIFE AS ONE OF THE TOP INSURERS. I NEVER MISS A PAYMENT TO THEM, AND THEY ARE NOT PAING ME AT YOUR KNOWLEDGE SINCE 2010, DID NOT RESPOND TO MY FAXES OF REDUCTION OF BENEFIT FROM SOCIAL SECURITY, TO ±$800.00USD, SINCE MET-LIFE KNOWS THAT THEY MUST PAY RETROACTIVE DUE TO ALL THE ECONOMICAL LOOSES PROVOKE TO ME AND MY FAMILY, IF THEY DO BUSINESS LEGALLY AND PROVIDE THE BENEFIT INCREMENT THAT APPLIES TO MY CASE .

    MET-LIFE NEEDS TO PUBLISH THEIR SECRET FORMULA TO THE NEVER EXPLAIN RIDICULOUS AND INEXPLICABLE AMOUNT OF ONLY $50.00USD WITHOUT COST OF LIVING CONSIDERATION OR ADJUSTMENT TO ABBOTT DISABLE PERSONNEL.

    MET-LIFE MUST SUBMIT THEIR SECRET FORMULA, PROTECTED BY ABBOTT TO DECREASE ABBOTT EXPENSES (BASED ON ALL MY EFFORTS WITH ABBOTT TO PROVIDE IT) USED TO DECREASE MY BENEFIT FROM ±$550.00USD, TO ONLY $50.00USD TO ME AND MY FAMILY. DON’T KNOW THE LUCRATIVE AMOUNT THAT ABBOTT MUST BE SAVING TO KEEP THIS FORMULA SECRET FOR MET-LIFE, TO ABBOTT DISABLE PERSONNEL.

    MET-LIFE MUST SUBMIT THEIR SECRET FORMULA, PROTECTED BY ABBOTT, MOST LIKELY TO DECREASE ABBOTT INSURANCE EXPENSES TO MET-LIFE (BASED ON ALMOST 2 YEARS OF EFFORTS BY ME, SOLICITING THE FORMULA, TO ABBOTT AND MET-LIFE, USED TO DECREASE MY BENEFIT FROM ±$550.00USD, TO $50USD FOR ME AND MY FAMILY WITHOUT RESPONSE. ONLY A MESSAGE THAT I WAS PROHIBITED TO CONTACT THEM BY EMAIL.) NEITHER MET-LIFE OR ABBOTT NEVER EXPLAIN THIS EXCESSIVE, RIDICULOUS, INEXPLICABLE, AND MOST LIKELY ILLEGAL REDUCTION TO THE AMOUNT OF ONLY $50.00USD WITHOUT COST OF LIVING CONSIDERATION OR ADJUSTMENT, OR ADJUSTMENT BASED ON THE REDUCTION OF BENEFIT FROM SOCIAL SECURITY, TO ±$800.00USD, FROM ±$1, 000.00USD, FAX SUBMITTED ±5 MONTH AGO, TO MET-LIFE AND ABBOTT.

  • Wh
      25th of Jul, 2012
    +2 Votes

    Metlife Disability has done the same thing to me. When I tried to appeal, they told me there was no need to write an appeal letter and denied my appeal after having an "independent physician" review my medical documentation without seeing this physician. A week ago they told me that I would have an appointment with this physician, but decided to deny my appeal first. Metlife is a joke.

  • Kl
      1st of Oct, 2013
    +1 Votes

    I have just filed an appeal to the Met disability review board. They denied the extension of my LTD based on a physician they contracted from MD.{I am in CT} whose license has been suspended due to misconduct w a 'former' patient. This jerk never examined me and Met based the denial on his opinion ignoring ALL of my treating physicians, inpatient and out. Unbelievable.

  • Do
      1st of Oct, 2013
    +2 Votes

    Metlife Disabilty is a scam. Companies that use it are questionable.

  • Ph
      17th of Sep, 2014
    +2 Votes

    I too was on STD . Metlife has done nothing but caused stress and I thought at one point I was going to have a nervous breakdown. I have documentation and follow up appts. They ask for the same paperwork over and over my doctors were getting irritated too. I have since place 4 calls for updates on why I haven't received a check. No calls, no letter in the mail. Nothing. I lost my car insurance, no TV for 2 months now, no house phone, shut off notice for electric, water and I got approved for food stamps. I can no longer go to appts because my co-pays are 50.00 each time. I have no money to go. Metlife has made me suffer more then the actual illness.

  • Sa
      24th of Apr, 2015
    +2 Votes

    Wow I am going through the exact same thing right now with Metlife. I has been most stressful to me. And yes I agree. I feel like I have suffered more from all the drama and calling that I have had to do that all it did was make me feel worst. So disappointed.

  • Vi
      26th of Jan, 2016
    +1 Votes

    I'm having the same issue, I was out for 6 week.. and i was also told i wasn't gonna get paid (Denied) and once I got back. they're telling me now i have to paid close to $2, 000 for absent. which is my 3 weeks of vacation and 2 of personal day .they said i couldnt use those time as a payroll that i had to fill out theyere forms to quilify.. the thrue of the matter is .. is all paperwork and they tell you to appeal for them to get theyre money back somehow..

  • Be
      27th of Apr, 2016
    +3 Votes

    They are the worst company EVER!!! THEY CREATE MORE STRESS than help!!! I HATE METLIFE!!! And I don't hate many things!! But they are number 1 on my list!!

  • Li
      1st of Jun, 2016
    +3 Votes

    I 1000% agree. I have been with my company for over 7 years and have been on short term disability 3 times due to exacerbations and relapses with my autoimmune condition. The first time I went out in leave, my claim was approved the day after my paperwork was submitted. The last two times, they have denied my legitimate claim and they always give you the run around as to why your legal claim is denied. I understand there are people who abuse the system, but I have been treated for my condition for a number of years and an on a multitude of medication. There is no cure for my condition and it is one that is progressive. I don't know how Met Life stays in business with the disgusting treatment of claimants. They should be sued for everything they are worth.

  • Mi
      29th of Jun, 2016
    Best Best Advice +6 Votes

    Sounds like a lot of us are in the same boat with these con-artists at Metlife Disability. I think its time for a class-action. This would be a slam dunk for any respectable attorney. Who else is in?

  • Lk
      9th of Sep, 2016
    +2 Votes

    I agree a million times over. I am out on STD but filed the first few days under an approved FMLA for the same health issue. I was told that my company VERIZON, a very large company did not code my payroll as FMLA for the first few days as asked by me when I called out, and therefore the claim will be DENIED due to an 8 day time frame. I had a complete mental breakdown and was hospitalized and sent all required information to Metlife. I am a single mother that suffers from PTSD and Bipolar depression and lost my oldest son less than a year ago which triggered a recent relapse. I am at the mercy of these people that care not for ANYONE in any situation. I have filed an appeal in the past with this company and won, but the emotional trauma that I suffer from their "rules and findings" fictional team, are causing me more stress than I can almost handle. I am so upset and feel I am at the mercy of simple paperwork and may lose my home and utilities and children's welfare as I have 2.83 in my ban account until they fix this ridiculous situation. I PRAY NOBODY USES METLIFE as they will cause you HORRIFIC STRESS and will make you emotionally ill.

  • Pa
      15th of Aug, 2018
    0 Votes

    This ERISA Case Has A Minimum Recovery Of $600, 000 In Benefits Which Were Stolen From The Claimant By Met-Life And Raytheon! This Amount Does NOT Include Interest From Illegal Enrichment, Legal Fees, Individual Lawsuits Against All Those Involved etc. which could bring the amount to 1.3 million!
    A) On June 2018 I received a letter from A Law Firm whom I contacted in 2014 to recover my Disability Benefits from Raytheon and Met-Life!! This letter states it was recently discovered and proven that a number of Insurance Carriers had been using FRADULENT Doctors or NEVER even had the medical records reviewed for ERISA Benefits cases!! This activity by these insurance carriers resulted in the Personal Identity Information of the claimants being STOLEN by these criminals working for the insurance company and it was found that MET-LIFE was one of these companies involved in this crime!!
    B) While working for Raytheon in Tucson Arizona I had my Long Term Disability Benefits cut off and was fired when Met-Life suddenly claimed I had NO Disability anymore!! The Insurance File however claims I was diagnosed and confirmed with Damaged Immune System, Enlarged Heart with Aoristic Aneurism, Systemic Candida, System Wide Unresolved Infections producing Skin Lesions that will not heal and damaged lungs due to ongoing chemical exposure from work!!
    1) After I was placed on disability due to lingering health problems, the Company HR Managers sent a filled out document package of fraudulent claims and letter to my doctor on the 4th day telling him to endorse it so they could terminate me from the company therefore terminating my benefits!! This doctor refused to sign or send back this document package where he documents these charges as being fraudulent while describing the situation in my medical reports!! The next thing is that these very same HR managers were then placed in charge of my Long Term Disability Benefits!!
    2) On the 5th month of my disability it was discovered that my entire office and belongings were gone and my employment had already been terminated!!
    3) It shows in the Met-Life File that I had discovered that Met-Life was paying me substantially less than what they were required to pay me where they state “They Had Verified Mr. Jozwiak’s Claim That He Was Bought Into The Policy At 60% Of His Pay And They Were Only Paying Him Approximately 40% Of His Pay” which was determined to actually be only 32% of my pay!! They claimed they were correcting this problem and going to issue me the missing payment, however this was then continually refused and never occurred!!
    4) It shows in the Met-Life File that in July the company and carrier hired an IME to do a disability evaluation where the IME states part of a conversation in his record that he was informed by the company and carrier before he ever had any contact with me that I was already TERMINATED from the company!! This IME was wondering why he had to do an evaluation if I was NO-LONGER employed with the company!!
    5) It also shows on the IME document that he was not given the medical records from my doctors who had diagnosed the disabilities even though it shows in the Insurance File that Met-Life had these medical records 6 months prior to this IME meeting!!
    6) It also shows in the file that Met-Life was continually stating that they had no contact information for my doctors even though they would continually state that they had reviewed the medical records from these doctors and even stated their names, addresses and phone numbers!!
    7) It also shows that Met-Life told the IME at the time of the evaluation that there were NO records from my doctors for the evaluation, but 2 months after the evaluation they state in the record that they were sending 56 pages of my doctors’ medical records to the IME to supplement his files on me!!
    8) When Met-Life terminated my benefits, they state in an April letter in the file that they were only sending me from the insurance file records that were pertinent to my case for my appeals, however the actual Insurance file and FEDEX tracking label shown in the file and the one I still have shows they first ordered the printing of the file and its shipment 2 months after the final denial letter!!
    9) All the letters from Met-Life regarding my request for the complete insurance file states that “They were sending me allowed, pertinent or relative parts of my insurance file” in which I also have a voice recording of their own legal department stating that they never sent me the COMPLETE-FILE but only parts of the file!!
    10) It is fully documented and proven that the Employer intentionally blocked all access to the policy until 2 months after the final denial letter!!
    11) It is also documented in the Met-Life File that the Denial Letters all state that after a full review of all my medical records they had determined that I no longer have any disability, however it was discovered and documented that Met-Life nor Raytheon ever requested the medical records from my doctors and they even blocked records from being sent to them as stated by a number of letters from my doctors!! This makes the denial letters FRADULENT since their statements in the denial letters do NOT match that within the Insurance File!!
    12) It is also documented in the Met-Life File that one of Met-Life's own medical consultants ordered the doctors who were reviewing my medical records to ignore all records prior to the date of termination of benefits and employment which would mean they were blocking all tests and diagnosis of any disability from the review process!!
    13) There are actually about another 50 or more instances of these fraudulent activities documented in the Met-Life File and the various E-Mails from Raytheon!!
    14) The statute of limitations for a § 502(a)(2) breach of fiduciary duty action is set out in 29 U.S.C. § 1113. Under § 1113, no action for breach of fiduciary duty may be brought after the earlier of the following: (1) six years after (A) the date of the last action which constituted a part of the breach or violation, or (B) in the case of an omission the latest date on which the fiduciary could have cured the breach or violation, or (2) three years after (A) the earliest date on which the plaintiff had actual knowledge of the breach or violation; (B) except that in the case of fraud or concealment, such action may be commenced not later than six years after the date of discovery of such breach or violation.
    15) Under ERISA Law for Arizona the Statutes is 6 years per Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-541 et seq. La Canada Hills LTD Partnership v Kite 217 Ariz 126, 171 P.3d. 195 (Ariz App. Div. 2, 2007)

    Since that time I have been trying to get an attorney to handle my case as it is still within the statutes of limitations limit, but have so far been unable to get anyone to take this case!! (ANY-IDEAS-OF-A-COMPETANT-ATTORNEY??)

  • Sh
      25th of Sep, 2018
    0 Votes

    @Paul Jozwiak Dept of Labor, section 503 for Erisa law for disability states that if you ask for it, they must provide you with your entire claim file. April 1, 2018 as well as in January 2017

  • Pa
      26th of Sep, 2018
    0 Votes

    I and a couple other attorneys did this continuously and as their own denial letters state along with the voice recordings of their own law department official stating claims "We provided you with ALLOWED, or RELATIVE, or PERTINANT information from your case file and WE-ARE-NOT going to allow you or anyone else full access to our case file!"

  • Pa
      26th of Sep, 2018
    0 Votes

    Is there any attorney out there who will TAKE-THIS-CASE as it involves well over a MILLION-DOLLARS in claims along with the fact that Met-Life's own insurance file clearly states that they had verified my telling them that I was bought in on the policy at 60% but they were actually paying me only about 31% in which they claimed they were going to make restitution, but that never happened since Raytheon's own HR Manager Veronica Thomas and Sean Kurysh with others REFUSED to authorize this!! (I Have all the evidence of their own making which comes from their own Met-Life file along with supporting evidence the prove my charges are valid so they cannot in any way, shape or form deny their own crimes)

Post your comment