SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Matrix Bulldogs / SICK PUPPY

1 Jacksonville, FL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I purchased a bulldog puppy from Matrix Bulldogs 2 weeks ago. The second day i got the puppy i took them to a vet nearby my house and was informed the puppy has earmites, bad legs and a hernia. I have tried to contact BROOK and KASSIE several times and they keep giving me the RUN AROUND! I have not been specific in what my questions were about because they would not even return a normal phone call! Unless you want to be completely IGNORED when you buy a dog from matrix bulldogs DO NOT buy a dog from them! Not to mention BROOK had a TON of puppies at his home when we were there and it just made it feel like we were purchasing from a puppy mil. I could not say NO to my son since he fell in love with the puppy and now we need to put this one to sleep, i lost my $1600 and no one returns my calls! Id be careful purchasing from Matrix Bulldogs If i were you!!!

Aj
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • An
      12th of Apr, 2010

    I too bought from brook and I as well felt like I was buying from a puppy mill. It was warm in the garage 2 litters of 8 week old puppies in cages. Three day old puppies inside the house, the 2 mothers either in a gate or in a cage and the father in a gate like pin. but when I saw my girls face I couldnt say no. We took her to the vet and thankfully just dirty ears and a bacterial infection that has cleared up! But would I tell others to go buy, no. This was a few weeks ago as well!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      12th of Apr, 2010

    I purchased a puppy from Matrix Bulldogs just last week. My experience was wonderful. Yes, the puppies were in a garage and so were the parents but for the most part it was clean. Kassie and Brook were very helpful and know what they are talking about. My puppy was perfectly fine. I have owned an English Bulldog before and I know my puppy will be high quality. I just took my puppy to the vet today and everything checked out fine. I would suggest anyone that wants an English Bulldog puppy to buy from them. I have nothing to say bad about them at all.

    0 Votes
  • La
      15th of Apr, 2010

    They tried to sell me a puppy that was being Imported from Russia and they claim the puppy is from the United States and they own the parents. When asked if they could prove to me they have the puppy or if we could come and see it they said they were out of town but they told of friend of mine they would be home for them to come and see a different one! I e-mailed the real breeder of the puppies and she sent us a picture of the puppies before they cropped them to post for sale. Also they are telling people that the reason these puppies are going to have tattoo is because they are having their vet put them on but the truth is all imported puppies come with tattoos!
    They are scamming people by saying these dogs are from them and they are not!

    When people purchase a puppy they deserve the true!!! I had proof that they wereimported puppies so they never answered my phone calls again!

    0 Votes
  • My
      8th of May, 2010

    BUYER BEWARE " If you want to buy sick puppys and get the run around when trying to get your money back. Then Brook and Kassie are the people to go to. Kassie places the adds on craigslist and Brook takes your money. you'll get a sick puppy that you'll have to put down, he'll refuse to give you your money back, he states all he has to do is replace the puppy, and when he does replace it he'll repalce it with an even sicker puppy. The first pic. is our pup in an urn. we had to put him down, after having him for only 6 wks because of congenital ( from birth) problems. The 2nd pic is our second pup we only had 24 hrs befor having to bring him to an ER. (The replacement pup.) yep, thats the poor little guy puking up poor blood. He gave us a pup with full blown Parvovirus!!! Whata nice guy. he states in his adds that his pups come from champion blood lines. Yeah as you can see the blood lines coming right out of the pups mouth everytime he pukes blood. " BUYER BEWARE "

    0 Votes
  • Cf
      8th of May, 2010

    First earmites and hernia's are nothing big. Earmites are simple to treat and if you are going to be responsible and neuter your puppy they can fix the hernia easy. Those are no reason to put your puppy down.

    0 Votes
  • My
      8th of May, 2010

    Hey Brook, oops I mean" C.F." The only person that would think it's "no big deal" to sell a puppy with ear mites and a hernia is you! Yes, ear mites can be treated but a new puppy owner shouldn't have to! You, as the breeder should prevent that. Also, you should be a responsible breeder and do the hernia surgery before the puppy is sold not say it's the new owners responsibility to do that when they fix the puppy. That is crazy!

    +1 Votes
  • Cf
      11th of May, 2010

    No they should not be there when the puppy is adopted but they are again NO REASON TO PUT A PUPPY TO SLEEP. That is crazy. It is just not a big deal like a Heart Murmur or Liver Shunt or Problems with their knees or hips.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
      13th of May, 2010

    I also purchased a puppy from Matrix, however, I decided to go as far as I could to keep the puppy alive. Mine was born with congential conditions and I spent just as much for a diagonsis as I did the puppy. However I feel that if I take on the responsiblility to take on a living creature, I will do what I can to save it. We got a diagnosis and it is a non-curable, but can be treated and the dog can live a long life. Just to put a dog down for ear mites and smaller things is ridculous!!! If you have the money to purchase such a high sale dog, then you should be able to financially take on any medical problems. My pups symptoms were large, frequent yellowish runny stools. Extreme hunger and Extreme weight loss. However now with a proper diagnosis, she is active and maintained. If you experiance any of these symptoms, please to put them down, it can be treated. Go see Dr Marc Walker in Orange Park and get the TAMU blood test.

    Brook and I have spoken back and forth and he has offered me another pup or my money back. I have it in writting, he has promised to stand by his quarantee. I am willing to work with him since it can't be immediate, but I would never just slam him. Flukes happen, even with the human race. No one can predict a congential condition and I still do not believe he is doing anything on purpose.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      15th of May, 2010

    I have bought three puppies from matrix bulldogs. Every puppy I purchased did not have one issue whatsoever. Slam him or not, he is gonna keep going on. The three problematic dogs that he has sold does not trump the other 250 healthy ones. I mean give me a break.

    As far as the [censor] that put a dog down because of a hernia, I mean, are you kidding me? What an idiot. A hernia can be fixed for less than 100 dollars and isn't hereditary and ear mites can be fixed with a five dollar cream.

    Whatever you people say, I GUARANTEE you, that they have compensated, in one manner or another, for any puppy that was lost or sick. Everybody fails to mention that you're not paying 2500 dollars either for an English bulldog. He sells the puppies for 1300-1600 where most of you people can afford them. If you really want a puppy that's been bred and raised in a bubble, go pay 3000 for one.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
      15th of May, 2010

    after I posted I thought of a couple more points. First of all, if there has been no compensation, then it must not have been a congenital problem...ie: ear mites and hernia.

    Second: I would still purchase and buy from Matrix Bulldogs. I searched and spoke to a lot of local people in town and they all purchased from Brook with no problems. I looked into it before I ever bought. My dogs situation is not a specific gene nor is it in just Bulldogs. It is a combination of genes, a fluke. And it is found in almost any breed, yes full breeds!!! It is extremely rare in puppies, the vet took a couple months to come up with a proper diagnosis. If the professionals were stumped, do you really think Brook would have known? Any Breeder will have litters with problems just like any human female is at risk on having children with issues.

    My brother bred Dalmations for a very long time. Since both parents were champions he would wait until they were older (spots formed) to decide what price to ask. He at times had deaf pups or pups with bad rear legs, yet in the same litter were again champions, it isn't anyone's fault, just nature.

    0 Votes
  • Me
      27th of May, 2010

    I purchased a puppy from Matrix Bulldogs about a month ago from Brook and Kassie. I have had NO issues at all with my little girl! She is amazing and very healthy! Brook and Kassie are very helpful and have some beautiful well bred puppies. When I took my little girl Bella into te vet everyone loved her. They said it was one of the best they have seen. I am so happy with my purchase and I am fixing to buy a male from them soon. I would recommend anyone who is looking for a well bred puppy to go to them first!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      28th of Jul, 2010

    found out that MATRIX BULLDOGS IS NOW 5 STAR BULLDOGS.com> probably due to all the neg feedback matrix site has been shut down. BEWARE! bought a dog about 9 months ago, poor thing is ALWAYS sick. but we are now so attached.then found out that most are imported and others bought from another person in another state.word spreads when you live in the same city as the breeder.they are not the puppy's of the mother and father he tells you they are from! he does not return calls either. he can and will tell you anything to sell a dog. DO YOUR RESEARCH!

    0 Votes
  • Se
      30th of Jul, 2010

    Yes! Matrix Bulldogs is now 5 Star Bulldogs!!! Please do your research before you buy from these people. They are importing puppies and the parents are not who they say they are! I bought a puppy about 4 months ago and I am still paying off vet bills due to congenital problems! Brook never answers his phone or returns my phone calls. I would NOT recommend www.5starbulldogs to anyone! Im sure without a doubt the paperwork from the AKC is most likely illegal anyways somehow! I have a friend that purchased a puppy from them about 2 months ago and they showed her the "MOM" to the puppies. When she showed me the picture it was the SAME "MOM" that they told me my puppy was from!!! PLEASE do your research before you purchase any puppy! BUYER BEWARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
      9th of Nov, 2010

    I bought a female puppy from Brook about 3 months ago and then referred my sister to him and she bought a male in the past month. Guess what? Both of our puppies came from the same mom, too, and I didn't know there was a crime in a mother having more than one litter?

    I understand being upset if your puppy was sick, but like others on here have said, if you had money to buy an English Bulldog, you should've had the $150-200 to fix other misc. health problems. You don't put your children to sleep because you pay a co-pay to take them to the doctor for strep throat, why would you do that to a puppy? Brook never promised us puppies from Zeus' lineage who would never have a moment of illness ever.

    He was very helpful and neither me or my sister have had a single problem with our puppies. I could promise you if one of them developed ear mites though, we wouldn't have the poor things put to sleep! Do your research and see that certain breeds have certain hereditary problems and make sure you are in a financial situation to spring for a $50 vet visit if a problem were to arise.

    -1 Votes
  • Cb
      14th of Jan, 2011

    BROOK ROQUE IS NOW DOING BUSINESS AS
    www.grandbulldogs.com

    This is his fifth website in as many months. He does this so no one knows about all of the complaints!

    0 Votes
  • Cb
      15th of Jan, 2011

    Really?

    0 Votes
  • Cb
      15th of Jan, 2011

    www.grandbulldogs.com is Brook Roque, formerly Matrix Bulldogs, Five Star Bulldogs etc. etc. etc. He imports puppies by the dozens, he knows nothing about where they came from or if they have health problems, slaps fake papers on them and sells them. Florida is a big joke! Apparently, if you want to scam people make sure you do it in Florida. They will gladly turn a blind eye.

    0 Votes
  • Cb
      15th of Jan, 2011

    By the way Brook, I am Princess owner! Remember her? Or has there just been too many for you to remember? FYI, she died! I am watching you! I have turned you in and will continue to do so until you are shut down!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      30th of Jan, 2011

    Matrix Bulldogs have screwed over so many people( including me and i have the name of their new site) thats not even up yet.

    0 Votes
  • Rk
      15th of Apr, 2011

    Brook was also going by the name Grandbulldogs.com and now that site has been closed down too...He sold me a puppy on 1/28/11 and gave me fake papes and want do any thing about it, he said do what ever I think I need to do ! Brook Roque...hope you read this, cause you ARE NOT getting away with it this time...getting all my ammo together... it's going to cost you this time... going to cost you way more than what you charged me for the dog ! You pick the wrong person to screw over this time ! Have you ever heard of ( what goes around, comes around ) if you haven't you will.
    Keith G

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      16th of Jun, 2011

    I have had zero issues at all with Grandbulldogs/Brook. My puppy had one cherry eye, that is for one not congenital or hereditary and he helped me find a great vet at a great price. He even met with me and gave me cream for his eye after. I believe he is a great person and has some beautiful puppies at affordable prices. I know a few friends that have bought as well and they would say the same thing. There are always two sides to every story. I would recommend to anyone his puppies. They have been great help and nothing but helpful when I have needed them.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
      21st of Jun, 2011

    In reply to this thread I just wanted to tell my story. My ex-wife bought her female Dolly Mae from Matrix when she put down our dog Ella. Her dog had mange and a few other things. My dog Howie was healthy but he had worms even though they told me he had been dewormed. I had to take him to Brook to have distemper shots. When i took my dog to a reputable vet they raised eyebrows when I told him what breeder I bought him from. Luckily Howie is healthy. When I tried to call Brook to get his AKC papers he kept blowing me off. When I finally talked to him over a week or two later he told me he would come by and bring them to me since the place where he has his dogs was only a short distance away. He doesn't live there. He keeps his puppies there with the supposed sire and ###. Well, he did come over and bring the papers but it was for a female with a different color scheme. By now I was worried. I emailed him and called more and got no response. I was angry by now. I emailed him again and called and said that I would seek legal counsel if he didn't return my calls. Well, then I got an email from him which basically said "what is your hurry? Do you even know how to breed a bulldog?" Now I have had 3 previous bulldogs so I am not new to this whole thing. Each time I bought one in the past I got my certification papers the day I took the dogs home. Here is the email>

    "Birth certificate? Are you serious? It's not a birth certificate. Your dog wasn't registered with st vincents. It's a simple form that I got confused with someone else.


    I told you to call me at the end of the week. I told you I had to get the others back as I had switched them, did I not?


    Are you breeding your dog this week? You are months and months and months away from that. I told you last week that I was working on getting them back from someone else. Please correct me if I'm wrong.


    I'm neither threatened by you nor ken Amaro. Retrieving papers does not happen overnight. I assure you that you'll have the papers this week; LONG before you breed, long before you're ready to breed, and long before you figure out how to breed.


    This is in NO WAY your fault...at all. This is ALL my fault. However there is no need for frivolous threats. You got a 2000 dog for 1400 and I made a mistake, that's in the process of being fixed. I wasn't aware that I was suppose to keep you posted on every single move that's being made.


    Email me Friday and they will be here. That is ample time for them to get back from the other person, if I have to drive there myself.


    Brook A. Roque

    Sent from my Brook's iPhone


    Here was my original email after he blew me off several times.


    Brook,

    What do I have to do to get you to bring me my correct birth certificate for my puppy? I tried going by Michelle's house and wasted a trip only to have you think I was there for a vaccine because you obviously don't know me from any other person. I specifically told you what I was there for. You did come by eventually and brought me the wrong birth certificate for my dog. After realizing this error, you have returned one call in all that time. We got the dog April 10th. I have phone records showing all the times I have tried to contact you. All I want is what I paid for which is an AKC English Bulldog with registration papers should I want to stud him to another breeder.

    If I had known how this was going to be, I would have gone with a different breeder entirely because the only time you have been attentive to me or my dog's needs is when I had 1400.00 dollars to give you. I am very disappointed, and I will be seeking legal counsel on this matter if you don't get me my registration papers this week. I have waited long enough and given you way beyond the shadow of a doubt. I was serious when I said I would contact the Better Business Bureau, as well as Ken Amaro and the local news stations. Do me a favor, do the right thing, and save me a hassle. I only want what's mine. After that, you can go on with your business where you don't call other people back and don't have the decency to treat your customers with respect.

    Sean Jones
    "

    The guy was a complete douche and did not apologize. He somehow managed to turn it around on me that I had the problem. He finally did come to my house and brought me the paperwork. It must be said that this was after he told me the wrong date that Howie was born. I really think he has no idea when they were born because he doesn't breed them. He came over at dusk and I saw his truck. He was trying to slide the paperwork under my door because he is a cowardly piece of [email protected] I opened the door and caught him unaware. It was funny because I told him I had no intention of breeding my dog. I just wanted what was supposed to come with my Howie. I got him fixed and he is the dog in my profile pic. So, I have told people interested in getting a bulldog to steer clear of Brook and his puppy mill. He did disclose while he was standing in my driveway that he was in hot water because one of his customers dogs died and then the replacement dog was sick too. I think it was the woman he wouldn't refund who posted on craigslist. He is a piece of spam and does not deserve to sell these sweet dogs. Bulldog breeders should be special people too like their owners.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      7th of Dec, 2011

    A friend and I bought two bullies from Brook March 19, 2011. On March 27, 2011, my friend's bullie, Prima, almost died from Parvo. Brook would not return her phone calls and since he did not know my phone number, I called and he answered on the second ring. Needless to say, once he figured out who I was he was on the defensive. He tried to say that the puppy got parvo after we got her. Give me a break! He had told us that the two puppies had the same sire. We didn't look at the paperwork till later and discovered that the sires were different on each paperwork. We have since been dealing with the AKC in Raleigh NC - we live in NC about an hour from Raleigh - and have had DNA done on both pups. My bullie, Winston, matched his paperwork, but Prima did not. Now he has multiple complaints lodged against him with the AKC and I may not be able to register Winston. Anybody who is reading this is having like problems or other problems with Brook, please contact me at either [protected]@aol.com subject BROOK ROQUE or call me at 252-213-3313. I am hoping that if enough people can make a stand against Brook that maybe we can bring him down the legal way. He should not be allowed to even own a dog. Please lets stop him and others from putting these beautiful babies through HELL.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
      1st of Jan, 2012

    Wow! I am just sick reading these. I got a little girl from Brook two years ago. When she arrived I cried! She was so sick and what had been done to her was "the worst case of animal abuse I have ever seen" as quoted by the vet I took her to the next day. After months of intense care and 1000's of dollars in vet bills I found an amazing woman willing to take this poor little thing to San Francisco to see a specialist. She worked for the vet and had lots of $$$$. I didn't and after the price of the dog, the vet bills and all the time off from work taking her to the vet weekly for weeks, I could not afford her any longer! So I gave her the dog with the understanding she would do everything in her power to save her and get her back to health. I am happy to say she did just that!!! Now, I feel it only fair to say that I have one English Bulldog at home. She was healthy when I got her (from another breeder) and I wanted to let her have a litter of puppies. I called Brook for an adult male and he "befriended me" he talked to me for hours about how hard it is to get bull dogs pregnant and so on...he offered me a female who was already pregnant for over $5000 (which I didn’t have but had to get a loan). Dear God...if I only knew what I was getting into (and what he had done to her to get her "pregnant" I would have NEVER done this. I learned a lesson like you wouldn't believe. None of her puppies made it, and she was immediately spayed…as was my other female dog. I will never do anything like this again...but in the process Brook ended up scamming me out of about $10, 000 when all was said and done. More importantly, we nearly lost a sweet little girl (she was only 9 months old and should have never been bred) Brook told me she was over a year old and was ready to breed. I asked for documentation from a vet that she was healthy (which he did provide). She had been abused and neglected to make a profit. Yes, I am 100% aware that I was part of that and I paid my dues in many nights sitting up with her, making her special meals each day and spending thousands of dollars (that I didn’t have) to get her the best treatments available. Now I really want to make it write for her and for the other dogs that Brook is doing this too. I know first had what he does to them and he has a vet in his corner who will lie, cheat and steal as well. I have lots of documentation about all of this. Brook and his team of crooks are as bad as they come in my opinion...I am sure I will never see a penny of my money---but DON’T buy from Brook and I would ask that you really consider rescue as opposed to buying. There are many English Bulldogs out there who need a home. Thank you!!! And I agree that Brook needs to be stopped! I will be making contact with those of you who have posted your contact info and if you want to contact me, feel free. [protected]@charter.net

    Oh, and by the way if you feel the need to defend Brook, I understand...he comes off as a pretty nice guy. He says all the right things "I will make this right...Gosh, I had no idea she was so sick...I stand behind my dogs..." and so on. But does he? No, he is a master manipulator---and you defending him is him manipulating you!

    -1 Votes
  • De
      25th of Jan, 2012

    I just purchased a puppy from Brook a month ago and she is doing WONDERFUL! I am VERY happy with my purchase! She is perfect to standard and very healthy. If your puppy died from parvo after over a week of you having the puppy then it got parvo living with you? If it truly HAD parvo when you bought the puppy wouldnt you be smart enough to see that is was sick! A puppy with parvo shows signs and symptoms. Also if a dog was neglected and abused it wouldnt come near a human being. I believe that there are two sides to EVERY story. I am proud to say that I have a beautiful baby and she is very healthy and loving. I also went to his home and everything was well kept and the puppies were very healthy. He sold me my puppy for 1500! For that price and quality you cant find that anywhere else!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      7th of Feb, 2012

    I wish I had read all of this BEFORE I paid my deposit last week. I have never in my life been through so much over buying a dog. Two days after the deposit was paid, Kassie informed us that her boyfriend owns the dogs. So of course we were then given Brook's number for him to handle it from there. Brook told us that he was going to pick the puppies up from somewhere else (which means he didn't have them either) and would send us pictures. That never happened. Now here we are 9 days into this with no dog, no proof that this puppy even exists and no answer from either party through email, text or call. I have filed a dispute through the method I used to pay but who knows what will come of it? I am beyond furious at this point.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      11th of Feb, 2012

    fdvs

    0 Votes
  • Al
      1st of Jul, 2012

    Just because your dog looks good one month into you having it means nothing. I got a dog from Brook in October 2011 and he was always a beautiful bulldog by anyones standard and appeared to be absolutely perfect. First problem with our dog, his papers were fake. They said it was a female dog that was white and red. He was an all white male. Second problem, when we took him to our vet for shots the vet told us he had lung damage and throat issues that needed to be surgically fixed. The poor dog got so bad so quick he couldn't eat or even drink without hacking and puking it all up. We found a specialist to do the surgery but before we had a chance to get him the help he needed he aspirated and had to have his lungs drained. This went on for months, he lost an extreme amount of weight, and basically had to live with the vet on an oxygen mask and IV just trying to keep fluid out of his lungs. He gave up his fight before he was ever approved to get the surgery. He just died last friday, making him 10 months old. (If he was even born when Brook said he was but who knows according to other people he has no clue how old they actually are.) Don't be a ### and fall for these tricks. I don't care how adorable your dog is, it doesn't mean its healthy. And if there aren't any obvious symptoms in your dog your vet probably won't even think to look for all the things that are probably wrong with your dog. His dogs live in a garage in crates, and a mother dog should NEVER be pregnant more than twice a year, so you people are fools if you don't think theres anything wrong with your puppies being 2 months apart in age with the same mom. This guy doesn't care about dogs or you, he cares about money. My heart is absolutely broken, there is no excuse for a dog to die at 10 months old from lung damage. Bad breeding! Stop this guy, do not buy from him or anyone related to him. Please do your research, these people on these sites are not lying or being dramatic, RUN WHILE YOU CAN!

    0 Votes
  • An
      24th of Jul, 2014

    Alabama Attorney General has closed this operation down - Why has it take at least 4 years to do so?
    http://www.palmbeachpost.com/news/news/atty-general-shuts-down-bulldog-puppy-mill/ngmQL/

    0 Votes

Post your comment