SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Match.comcannot stop emails from match.com

Review updated:

Cannot stop this company (if you can even call it that) from sending me emails EVERY day with "matches" they have selected for me. I never even joined or paid them anything ! I was curious about Match.com and signed up for a FREE trial. Every day they send me emails with pictures of the creepiest looking men that I would never even think of talking to let alone date them! I have tried to stop these emails but it is absolutely impossible!! They have no contact phone number and if I try to reply to the email to ask them to stop I am unable to, you can't reply to any email from them unless you click on the button to join Match.com. Someone please help !! These people must be stopped !

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sa
      Aug 06, 2007
    Match.com - Unauthorized charges on my credit card
    United States

    There were two unauthorized charges on my credit card from this company. One was for sign up to subscribe for match making and second one was the monthly recurring charge to keep up the account. Fortunately we caught it and told them to refund it. But they would not reveal who created the account and they sounded like this happens very common with their company.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Mar 25, 2008

    This happened to me also. There are other blogs where this happened. It was hard to speak to someone about this at the company. They refunded my money minus a fee for an international charge because it was match.com international that charged my card. I also had to cancel my card and get another one.

    +2 Votes
  • Ra
      Apr 15, 2008

    This happened to me too, when my American Express got charged. I have never visited their website or signed for any offers. Not sure how they got my credit card information.

    +1 Votes
  • St
      May 10, 2008

    I also was billed for service I never signed up for on my Visa. I don't know how they got my info, because I never even visited their website!

    +1 Votes
  • Le
      Jun 07, 2008
    Match.com - What customer service
    Match.com
    Boise
    Idaho
    United States
    www.match.com

    Match.com doesn't answer e-mails, won't post pictures as instructed and are no longer providing any customer service. You can't reach anyone by e-mail as my e-mail after e-mail went unanswered. After at least 10 ten tries to get them to post the correct pictures, I canceled my membership by informing my VISA I wasn't going to pay match.com's charge. What a waste of my time and energy. Never again match.com!

    +2 Votes
  • Me
      Jul 22, 2008

    This same thing just happened to me. 2 charges on my bank card which caused my account to be overdrawn. I need to wait until the transactions post in order to get anything resolved. I cannot believe that they can just get your information and charge you for something that you haven't even used! I've never even been to their website...!!! This is really aggravating me.

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Nov 30, 2008

    There are photo requirements and it takes time for them to be posted. If you can't reach them by email call them!

    +2 Votes
  • Pa
      Jan 14, 2009
    Match.com - MATCH IS SCAMMING PEOPLE
    MATCH.COM
    United States

    AS MANY PEOPLE MAY RECALL MATCH DID SOME ADVERTISING TRY US FOR 6 MONTHS AND IF YOU DON'T FIND A MATCH IT'S FREE !

    IT'S NOT FREE. THERE ARE HIDDEN RULES TO THIS MATCH GAME THAT THEY DON'T TELL UP FRONT WHEN YOU SIGN UP OR EVEN AFTER YOU SIGN UP. BUT STILL THERE ARE RULES AND IT'S YOUR RESPONSABLITILY TO SEEK THEM OUT.

    EVEN MATCH.COM IS IN THE HEAD PLAYING DISHONEST GAMES!

    +1 Votes
  • Sc
      Mar 10, 2009
    Match.com - Refused to Remove Con Man
    North Syracuse
    New York
    United States

    LADIES BEWARE... This man is listed on Match.com as "romanticsykins" from North Syracuse, NY. He is a con man. He is only looking for women with money...and he is dangerous! I have written to Match.com several times to try to have this man removed but they refuse to do anything about it.

    +1 Votes
  • Be
      Mar 31, 2009

    I made a purchase on my charge card to funtonia.com... They did not have PayPal and I was hesitant at first. Stupid on my part I did it anyway, 2 weeks later I had a charge to Match.com. I had never visited nor used Match.com. I am normally very safe when using the internet for purchasing things. I would always investigate the company online before purchasing, My fault on this one I DIDN'T. Goes to show it only takes 1 time and they get you. I called my bank and hopefully things will be resolved soon. My bank first said I do not need a new card with only 1 item charged that was fraudulent. I told them BS...Send me another card now.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Apr 29, 2009
    Match.com - Canceled without permission
    Michelle Hartman
    7502 W 84th Way #1424
    Arvada
    Colorado
    United States
    match.com

    I signed up and paid for match.com for 6 months. I did this a month ago. I met a man who came to my house and saw my username and password sitting on my desk and took it upon himself to cancel my membership. Needless to say it didn't work out with him and I would appreciate it if I could get my match.com turned back on to complete my time that I paid for.

    +2 Votes
  • Fo
      May 02, 2009

    somehow i cannot sign in even though i dial the right codes. what is the problem?

    +1 Votes
  • Fo
      May 02, 2009

    icannot sign in what is the problem?

    +1 Votes
  • Si
      Jun 29, 2009
    Match.com - inability to access emails
    match.com
    Aventura
    Florida
    United States

    enrolled with match.com for on line dating service. unable to access emails as show my account, password etc etc not valid though everything was done and confirmed. I have put a stop on the charge with American Express pending an investigation. Please advise.

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Jul 23, 2009
    Match.com - Online scam
    Match.com
    United States
    match.com

    If you sign up with match.com for 1 month your subscription will automatically get renewed every month without any notification. Money will be taken directly from your account without your permission. The consumer should be protected from companies that deliberately set out to deceive the consumer in order to make more money.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Oct 06, 2009

    Funny how they refused to remove con men but are perfectly willing to terminate legitimate subscribers without a given reason.

    +1 Votes
  • Ra
      Oct 07, 2009
    Match.com - Leaving a profile up
    Match.com
    Texas
    United States

    Why is a profile left on Match.com after someone cancel the account?
    I lost a relationship tonight because my old profile is still on Match. I cant get anyone to help me.
    I did not paid for the account I simple changed my mind. but now I have lost a relationship because she thinks I'm still oon there looking for other woman.

    If you cancel the account or change your mind why would a profile be left on there?

    +1 Votes
  • Jc
      Nov 23, 2009
    Match.com - a ridiculous rippoff
    Match.com
    United States

    This is the biggest ripoff most of the people on there have a discontinued profile, they just keep them up to lure you in. When you try to contact these people they never access the email they no longer are on the service. Then they just keep your money.

    +1 Votes
  • 28
      Nov 24, 2009

    Yup, you were hit by the Nigerians scam. Somehow they get your charge card info and use it to start an account with Match.com. I used to work for Match.com and took about 20 calls aday for fraud. The Nigerians use the site as well as others to scam Americans out of money. Unfortunately some folks will Western Union money to these scam artist's.

    +1 Votes
  • 28
      Nov 24, 2009

    I worked for Match.com, this seems to be a tech issue. They'll assist you with your permission to try your login and password.

    0 Votes
  • 28
      Nov 24, 2009

    I worked for Match.com and can address your concerns. What happens is that people sign up for free membeships, and they don't deactivate their accounts or request to have their profile information removed from the site. Match.com can't remove their profile without the members permission. I believe after so many years of an account showing as being inactive, it can finally be removed. If you look on another members profile, it will show the last time they signed into their account, that would be an indication if they are active or not. It's been a long time since I worked there but I sort of remember another way, a customer service rep should be able to help you.

    0 Votes
  • 28
      Nov 24, 2009

    Actually if you read the Terms and Use, it tells you that your subscription will be automatically renewed, unless you cancel the subscription prior to the expiration date. Usually people are too excited about finding a match they don't read the agreement fully. It happens.

    0 Votes
  • 28
      Nov 24, 2009

    It can be stopped. Unfortunately I don't have their phone number but it is listed on their site. Speak to a customer service rep. request that your membership is cancelled, your account deactivated, your profile and picture not be made visiable on their site, as well as for all emails to stop.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
      Feb 02, 2010

    They do it because they can. If they have in their possession a handsome photograph and well articulated profile that represents another great 'catch' on their 'books', I don't think they give much thought to the fact that trusting people who respond in good faith may be signing up for the opportunity to communicate with you, catch that you are, even though you will be completely unaware of their efforts.

    You are bait. And you have paid for the priviledge of being bait, probably because at some earlier point you were captivated by the profile of a pretty girl, so you joined up and wrote to her - only, for some reason, the rude cow did not write back!

    It does seem a little unfair that these people make a living by messing with people's lives.

    Anyways.. with regard to the issue of your woman.. I would suggest a good starting point would be directing her to this here page. Also write to the site, explain the situation, and have them email you verification of all visits you have made/searches /correspondence initiated by you on Match.com, SINCE the date you met this woman. You deserve to be given the benefit of the doubt in this instance, because it truly wasn't something done of your free will.

    Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Feb 18, 2010

    There was no notice to cancel and furthermore there was no way to cancel. I took my profile down after a month and they kept sending me matches--fake matches for months. They did not answer my emails, and they did not answer my phone calls. They bilked me for months
    when I only signed-up for a 1-month trial. I will now have to cancel my charge card to get rid of them, as I've read on other websites that they follow you to your new number of you change the number. Canceling my charge card is an inconvenience and it lowers my credit rating as I have had a relationship with my charge card for decades.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Apr 23, 2010
    Match.com - Lied about me signing in
    Match.com
    United States
    match.com

    I have a match.com account, which I haven't logged in for over a week. Today I got an email from a guy I met there, and he said that I was "online" last night! How can that be right???!!! I am very angry, because I didn't sign in!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      Sep 16, 2010

    To the manager
    Please please please stop stop stop sending me emails and remove my profile i have a new partener and have now been re married for about five months this is my third yes third yes third request to you so please do as i ask my user name is honestlen what do i have to do to get you to back off my mob is [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      Sep 16, 2010

    All i want is a fair go just stop sending me emails and remove my profile and personal information from the match .com website Len

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Nov 19, 2010
    Match.com - cancellation/ a month ago
    match.com
    Vermont
    United States

    i cancelled my subscription to match.com over a month ago on line.. Still be billed for services i'm not using, nor care to use... I woulod like to be reimbersed for charges not due...

    0 Votes
  • Ir
      Dec 23, 2010
    Match.com - auto charge
    Match.com
    Arizona
    United States

    They rip yu off after signing up they dont tell you that in fine print after 3 months they just charge your CC again WITH NO notice that your time is coming up then they sorry

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Dec 30, 2010
    Match.com - overpayment
    sandy palmer
    Exton
    Pennsylvania
    United States

    I went on the website match.com for 3 days and despided it and they put 3 months on
    my credit card for 68.00 and i want a credit back!! I think it is dispickable that they
    are able to get away with that!! I have written 3 emails to them with no response. Next
    step is my attorney(brother).

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jan 06, 2011
    Match.com - CANT GET TO SITE
    BOX 1488 RT 3
    Ellsworth
    Maine
    United States
    Phone: 6640761

    EVERY TIME I TRY TO GET ON MATCH.COM I GET THE UK IF I WANTED TO GO TO THE UK I WOULD GO BACKIN THE NAVY ?

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jan 16, 2011

    I am happy to send this mail and i have been having little problems with my match account and i cannot log on onto my account now...hope you resolve this matter for me ...thanks

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Feb 02, 2011
    Match.com - six month guarantee is a scam
    Match.com
    California
    United States

    The six month guarantee marketed by match.com is a scam and false advertising. The criteria is never made obvious. when you can to complain the offer you a discount on a renewal. Do I here class action. They need to be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Fw
      Feb 08, 2011
    Match.com - Cancellation of account
    Match.com
    250 8th st
    Troy
    New York
    United States

    My account was canceled after what was explained to me as suspicious activity, however the customer rep was very rude and did not help me get to the bottom of my problem at all. I was given an email address for complaints to contact and here I am now...NO assistance. This practice is unprofessional and I would like it addressed immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      May 04, 2011
    Match.com - message to customer services ignored
    match.com
    England, Kent
    United Kingdom

    A warning about match.com. They are based in Moroco and outside ot EU jurisdication. All their adverts are fraudulent and misleading and they simply ignore customer complaints. Avoid these cowboys at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      May 18, 2011
    Match.com - They had taken $119.99
    Match.com
    United States
    match.com

    Match.com wanted me to sign up for 6 mos.for $69.99, I thought thats not bad, Then I received my statement they had taken $119.99! I contacted them to cancel my acct, because of their devious practices, they have consistently ignored me! I want my money back into my credit acct.!!

    0 Votes
  • Bg
      May 22, 2011

    Socialbugg.com is a Free site of singles. You should try them out or Facebook.com...both sites are free. You can't lose and there's plenty of singles.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      May 25, 2011
    Match.com - abuusing my email
    match.com
    United States

    there ads for there dateing service, obstruct my email page...they don, t make avalable any way too opt out...wake up Yahoo this avergration makes other brouser services inviting.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
      Jun 01, 2011

    I agree someone needs to do something about them they permanently keep your profile and credit card information..I scream a loud HIPPA private act of privacy and scam artist from nigeria approach you for personal money..they have to get our profiles off the record if we chose not to allow them to have it anymore...or else you have to cancel your credit card so they will not charge you ever again..bad customer service they aRE CONN ARTISTS..

    0 Votes

Post your comment