SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Massage Envyinjury

Review updated:

I just have a question..Has anyone incurred an injury to due a massage at Massage Envy. After a week of unbearable pain (after a deep tissue massage)I finally went to the emergency room. It was discovered that I had a broken "floating" rib. I cant find my contract but I am sure there is something in there about injuries. Any help anyone??

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Co
      May 28, 2010

    Join the crowd. I am pursuing them with legal action. They should be put out of business. They are unskilled and uneducated in the neuromuscular system.

    0 Votes
  • Sr
      May 28, 2010

    Good Luck - I was just diagnosed with a broken "floating" rib from an injury that I never knew existed.????? Do not be quick to blame it on a deep tissue massage. I am sure that the employees there are ALL licensed etc and proving anything in court would be difficult at best. Be thinking heavily BEFORE giving a lawyer a penny unless you can find an ASK GARY lawyer that will take the case in HOPES of getting an out of court settlement. Doubt that would ever come to fruition though. Again, Good Luck !!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
      May 28, 2010

    I don"t care about the money, I just want them to known for what they are by informing every association they belong to and the BBB in our area. They may be licensed but the State Licensing Board will be obligated to follow up. If it takes an attorney to make it happen that's what I will do. This franchise is dangerous and gives good neuromuscular massage therapists a bad name.

    0 Votes
  • Xx
      Jul 28, 2010

    This is actually something I have heard of before. I worked for this company for 2 days and heard numerous complaints about injuries from a deep tissue massage. Don't be quick to think that just because they are licensed they know what they are doing. Every single one of those massage therapists performs deep tissue. So it could be that you got an inexperienced massage therapist. I know at the location I was at there were at least 3 people that we were told not to book for deep tissue, but we were told to keep that information to ourselves.

    +1 Votes
  • Lm
      Dec 30, 2010

    I became a member July 2010 when I was having some back soreness. I had about 5 massages. Which were ok. One made my back hurt more the next day, but after that it was better. But, three weeks ago I was having some back soreness and I went for a massage while I was out Christmas shopping. They had no one there available except a man. I don't usually like male masseuses, but I decided I needed it so I consented. I have never had such a terrible and uncomfortable massage in my life. This Vietnamese guy was like a kamikaze pilot on my back. He kept pushing on pressure points even though I said to stop, he kept up the pressure. He said I was very tight and I needed to endure the pain. Then he started up with my legs, even though I specifically asked him to leave my legs alone. He started twirling my legs from the knee in a circular fashion, claiming this would help my lower back. I was still reeling and whincing from the pain in my lower back to take much notice to my legs. My left leg was ok, but when he came to my right leg, I heard something snap or pop. I just wanted him to stop and couldn't wait until I got out of there. When I woke up the next day, I had intense paining my right knee. I have been icing it, heat, stretching but nothing has let the pain subside. I called them and Marvin the manager seemed very sympathetic and said they never had s problem with this masseuse. He called me back a few days later and said he felt bad for me and offered a free massage.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jan 18, 2011

    Here's a little hint for success: stop using cheap franchise massage places that pay their therapists a really low rate and get you in and out like a cattle call. Support your local massage therapist that is a sole therapist and has a vested interested in your health and well being!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jan 22, 2011

    I agree with you! These people are unprofessional and corrupt. We are planning a protest march at the Massage Envy in Beverly Hills on Jan. 29., 2011 @ 10:00 am. PLEASE READ my posting jacara2010, posted on Jan.22, 2011. Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Ve
      Feb 04, 2011

    I went to a ME in April 2009. I went home and a couple of hours after I felt really dizzy. I couldn't get out of bed or lift my head without spinning. I assumed it had to do with not drinkingwater they had recomended to remove the toxins the body releases and continued like that for about 7 days. I presented to the ER and was immediatly taken to the ICU unit alot of test were done nothing found it takes about 5-7 days for blood clot to form. I was released only to return back to the ER Trauma bay for a blood clot from a VERTIBRIAL ARTERY DISSECTION at the base of my neck which most likely was due to the deep tissue massage according to my Neurologist.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jul 16, 2019

    Still awaiting response

    0 Votes

Post your comment