SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Marval and AssociatesIllegal Threatening and Harassment

1 Review updated:

Okay, so here's the deal. These people tried calling me as well, singing the same song to me about warrants for my arrest, sheriff's on their way to my office to arrest me, class C felony charges, theft by deceit, you name it. So, I listened. And let them talk all the trash they wanted, because I was recording the whole conversation. After they were through with their barrage of threats, I kindly told them I wasn't the person they were looking for and that they had obviously made a mistake. Like all the other people on here noted, that just pissed him off even further, causing even more colorful words and insults to fly.

The great part is, I have family in all facets of litigation - from Justices to Lieutenants to Assistant D.A.'s and even some extremely successful attorneys - not only in the city I reside but other much larger cities as well. I also know my rights as a citizen, and have made quite a few phone calls to investigate this situation as far as possible. Hence the name, 2 Steps Ahead.

Here are my discoveries: I played this recording to anyone in law enforcement that I know personally and who would listen. Most thought it was a riot, but some also felt offended at the choice of tactics and words that were used. There is something called the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/fdcpajump.shtm), in which they refer to these types of tactics. Ladies and gentleman, THEY ARE ALL ILLEGAL. Also, there is NO SUCH THING as a CLASS C FELONY!!! There is a Class C Misdemeanor for which a collection agency of ANY kind cannot file as it is completely beyond their jurisdiction and would cost WAY too much money to do so, even IF they could. Furthermore, THERE IS NO SUCH CHARGE as "THEFT BY DECEIT"!!! I was almost laughed out of the police station with that one. Yes, I did say POLICE STATION. Because my facts are backed up by REAL, MULTIPLE LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES who will hear nothing of this recording, and I have attorneys foaming at the mouth to start a class action lawsuit based entirely off the ONE recorded conversation I was able to capture. There is also something that many of you have referred to, which is filing a complaint with the FTC (https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/). If enough people do this, with the economy the way it is, they will be out of business in no time from federal fines. It literally takes 10 minutes - I did it.

Any business that has a broken down, pitiful website such as Marval and Associates, and then doesn't have a physical address listed anywhere is definitely a company to be questioned. To compound the situation further, ANY LEGITIMATE COMPANY has a listing or record on the Better Business Bureau National Website (http://www.bbb.org/us/Find-Business-Reviews/). There is NOTHING listed for Marval and Associates.

If this doesn't answer your questions about the tactics you are experiencing, then I really don't know what else to tell you. The only thing I WILL waste my time on is a class action lawsuit against these guys - Anyone interested??

More Marval and Associates Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ki
      Jul 07, 2009

    Let me know! I'm in! And I also have recorded voicemails with threats from an "inspector" and how I'm going to jail...all of thes threats are illegal per the FDCPA. I am very well versed in the laws of the FDCPA, being a collector myself. No one has to stand for this kind of treatment! When I called the 800 number back, after telling the rep he was lying to me and breaking the law, he continued to yell at me, and hung up on me repeatedly.

    0 Votes
  • Jj
      Jul 10, 2009

    Received a phone call today from Marvel and Associates regarding a friends account who listed me as a reference. They threatened to supoena me to court because I am a reference on the account and they are sueing her from theft by deceit. I told them that wa s not legal and as a reference I had no liability or knowledge of the suit. I did not sign or co-sign anything and this friend has made no major purchases and does not have access to any one elses credit cards or accounts. I explained to them they probably have the wrong person and was called a big mouth and hung up on by Richard Collins who claims to be the head of investigations. The phone number that called me was [protected]. I read your email and complained to ftc complaint assistant as well. Even though this is not my sebt, I found it appalling that they were so rude and it didn't sound legitimate or legal to me.

    0 Votes
  • 2l
      Jul 14, 2009

    I wish I would have read this before I gave them my debit card info. Well, I will know tomorrow if they only took what they were supposed to, which is 3x the amount of the original loan.

    0 Votes
  • It
      Jul 14, 2009

    I also received the same threatening call! I am relieve after I read this since I have not been able to be at ease for quite some time. Please inform me if any group law suit against them! I did a payment and never received a confirmation! I got a call back from an inspector saying my remaining balance had gone up 100 dollars since I had a broken promise! with the current economy I cannot make payments, how can I make sure they will not proceed against me? They also said they had sent a sheriff to my job to service me with a subpoena! how can I get rid of them? How do I make sure they haven't filed anything against me?

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Jul 20, 2009

    Im ready for a class action. They threatened me the same way for a debt I know nothing about. Now they are trying to get information from my employer.
    Lets sue I'm ready. I filed a complaint with the FTC as well.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 20, 2009

    I received these same threatening messages. I even returned their call and asked for an address of where to send the payment and the girl was very rude to me and told me it didnt matter because I was too late, it was already sent to my county's office to go to court. Then two weeks later I got a call from the same lady that has been calling me...Miss Hamilton, and she said she still had my file because I promised to pay. She said it was very important that I called her immediately. I was online checking the white pages and did reverse lookup on the two numbers I have [protected] and [protected] and neither one showed up anywhere. That is when google helped me and led me to this site. I am really glad I found this and will also be filing a complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
      Jul 22, 2009

    I'm all in a lawsuit. I received the same call. I asked if they have a license to conduct business to Alaska Resident. The lady Isabel stated she did, I asked for it, she didn't answer. So I requested the business license again, she got irate and wanted to know why. I stated - because what she was doing is an illegal transaction. Marval Associates contaced me to retrieve money owed to CashNetUSA. Before I called Marvel Associates back I contaced CashNetUSA. I spoke with Jasmine in the Complaint/Fraud Dept, she stated that my account has been paid in full back in 2005...so why are these folks from Mavel Associates contacting me??? Because they are FAKE!!! Jasmine explained to not get caught up in their lies, what they are doing is FRAUD.

    I spoke with the State of Alaska Investigator in Banking & Securities and she stated that this company any many others are doing what is called a "scare tactic" to not fall for it. I have filed a complaint w/ my state, CashNetUSA and also to FTC.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Jul 24, 2009

    i agree with what everone is saying they did the samething to me as well i filed with the ftc and they gave me a ref number so you can count me in on the class action law suite as well

    0 Votes
  • Sm
      Jul 31, 2009

    I am in. I just gave them a payment today, after the threats and the call to my place of employment (very threatening and disclosing illegal info to my employer).

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Aug 02, 2009

    Let's make that Agree wholeheartedly! Count me in as well!

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Aug 03, 2009

    Ok 2! I was also directed to file a complaint with the Missouri Attorney General's office by the Kansas City Sheriff whom I got in touch with on Sunday on these people's calls to my home in Pocatello for a Midland Financial. I also directed the BBB handling that in Kansas City to add in that I had sent a money-order for the amount of the pay-day loan, and its return charge only, and gave them the receipt numbers, as well a the express envelope number so that they may add that in properly. This was also dispite their telling me they wanted extra, and trying to extort that out of me. I checked the Express mail tracker USPS has today, and so far, the notice is still sitting in Midland's box, and whether it was at the bidding of Marvel if they found out, or what- they have ignored their pay! Like I say- count me in as well! I've had to file charges with the Idaho BBB, the Attorney General of Idaho, the state department of finance, and now the above- They need to be closed down, and so does Midland Financial LLC- AKA- Midland Marketing!

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Aug 03, 2009

    Also- for some reason or rather when I sent that, the attitude was "neutral, " althuogh it could have went there by default before I got it changed. It has been switched back to "Agree, " which is my wholehearted status!

    0 Votes
  • Go
      Aug 14, 2009

    I am all in for a class action suit. I also have rec'd the same calls and I have them recorded, they even went into great detail with a reference and left a voice mail on a generic voice mail at my office with all sorts of details. When I called and told them I was filing a complaint I was told "Go ahead, I am filing a fraud case against you and a Theft By Deceit", and then hung up on. I have filed a complaint with my AG office and the FTC. Let me know where I am in for the law suit.

    0 Votes
  • Rg
      Aug 25, 2009

    I am in also Marvel and Associates contacted me advising me that if I dont make my 790.00 then they would pull my information from my county, so I went ahead and paid it through my checking account, but they told me the same thing, they told everyone else that I was going to have a warrant for my arrest and that I was going to have large legal fees etc.. so I will file and complaint against this company also..and I still dont know what company I paid them for ive tried calling them but no answer

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Aug 30, 2009

    For the past two weeks they have called and hurassed both my mother and myself about A payday loan that I took out four months ago. They threaten me with a 5000 dollar fine along with uto 5 years om jail for a 200 loan. I requested documents proving who they were, and they refused to provide it. good for you with the class action low suit.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
      Aug 31, 2009

    just received a call from these people, first Mr. Santorini, some woman, and then Mr. Collins. Very nasty, unprofessional people who, when asked if they had a license, they said they do, they sit and drink coffee and eat donuts. Now how's that for professionalism! Anyway I received the same threats with respect to warrants, theft by decit, sheriff's department on it's way. They have called my priot job and apparently gave them some big story about me. I do have an outstanding debt with a payday loan company but it is just puzzling to me why the payday loan company would turn the account over to a bunch of nuts. I am contacting this payday loan company and telling them that I will not do any business with these nuts and if they want their money, I must deal with them directly, not this fake wannabe collection agency with their nasty scare tactics. I am also filing a complaint against these people with the BBB, FTC and others. I would also like to join the class action complaint against these people and PUT THEM OUT OF BUSINESS FOR GOOD.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 10, 2009

    i AGREE ! I HAVE BEEN GETTING PHONE CALLS SINCE THE END OF AUG. iT WAS ANTONIO DEMENGUEZ FROM MARVAL AND ASSOSICATES SAYINT THAT I OWED THEM 1700 FOR TWO PAYDAY LOANS THAT ONLY EQUAL 400 DOLLARS... NOW I GOT A CALL FROM ONE OF THE SO CALLED INVESTAGATORS SAME THAT SHE WAS GOING TO SEND MY CASE TO TARRANT COUNTY DISTIRCT ATTRONEY IF I DIDNT GET BACK WITH HER BY THE END OF BUSINESS DAY. THEN KEEP GETTING CALLS FROM THE FIRST PERSON THAT CALLED ME. THEN THE INVESTIGATOR CALLED ME BACK TODAY AND LEFT A VOICEMAIL SAYING THAT TARRANT COUNTY WAS ON THE LINE BUT NOBODY PRESENTED THERE NAME FROM MY COUNTY.. SHE SAID THAT I MUST GET BACK WITH HER BY THE END OF BUSINESS DAY BUT WHEN SHE CALLED IT WAS ALREADY 5:30 MY TIME WHICH IS CENTRAL AND I WAS TOLD THEY CLOSED AT 6 EST. SO HOW WAS I SUPPOSED TO CALL BACK. i DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO BECAUSE I HAVE THREE KIDS AND I AM NOT WORKING RIGHT NOW. bECAUSE I WAS ON ANOTHER WEBSITE AND SOME PEOPLE SAID THAT THEY DID END UP GOING TO COURT. BUT IN TEXAS I READ IT IS ONLY A CIVIL SUIT FOR PAYDAY LOANS... I WANT TO FILE A COMPLAINT BUT I DONT KNOW HOW OR WHAT TO DO.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 10, 2009

    I also asked for them to send me documents and they refused . i also told them that i had not received anything from the payday company named JD marketing... I still have not received anything in the mail. These people need to be shut down...

    0 Votes
  • Uh
      Sep 14, 2009

    Help! They called me and stated that tomorrow morning, if I didnt pay by the end of business today, she would forward my info to the county sheriffs office and I would face 2 criminal and 1 civil charge. Yes, I have paid them some, and I also have had a broken promise. I know this. I hit a rought spot - its my own fault, I do know this. I wanted to make smaller payments until I got back on my feet and they want the full $410 today. Well i dont have that...so anyone know what I can expect?

    0 Votes
  • An
      Sep 23, 2009

    I am also in this awful bind. I have been harrassed for weeks and threatened that I will go to jail. That my liscense and registration will be suspended until I pay the loan back in full. They are wanting me to pay over a thousand when the two original loans for for 400. I have hit a rough spot between two rocks and the economy is not helping, my work hours have been cut and I am unable to pay back at this moment. Can someone please tell me what to expect, can you really go to jail? Desperately seeking advise. email: [protected]@sbcglobal.net

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Oct 02, 2009

    I have some of the same issues that you guys are having with my bank. Wachovia will not give me any moneys back from this company taking money from me. I have been going through this for a year. Will somebody point me in the right direction? I have an email address. [protected]@gmail.com... I am all in for the lawsuit if anyone could find any good information on them and phone numbers and adrress. I have an address that my bank gave me, but I don't know how legit it is. Please contact me. I am getting harrased really bad, and I am a ARMED SERVICE MEMBER OF THE MILITARY. this is sad.

    0 Votes
  • Cs
      Oct 25, 2009

    I woke up one morning answering a call from a Suzanne Sharpe who only identified herself as investigator and that I was being investigated for malicious intent to defraud a financial institution. I'll admit, I'm never usually that stupid but I gave my account info to pay the bill...and then I started checking on the phone number which lead me to numerous complaint boards. Long story short, after stopping payment on my check and calling back Marval and Associates and speaking with "Rick" giving him a piece of my mind, he said he would stop activity on my account until the "manager" John Smith could call me back. I told him that I knew they didn't use their real names and that I wasn't paying a dime until I verified that they were a legitimate company. I called the payday loan company that they said they were calling on behalf of and the payday loan company said they did not work with marval and associates and had actually sold my loan to another company. I called that company and I am waiting for a call back. Meanwhile, Suzanne Sharpe calls my home and my son, who was outside and had just gotten off the phone, came back in the house and hit last call to call back his dad. When he realized that he had the wrong number he hung up. I got a call about a minute later with a nasty message from Ms. Sharpe who launched into how rude I was. I called her back and told her the steps I was taking to verify the trail of where my loan ended up so that I could pay the appropriate party and she yelled" Pay your loan or don't. I don't care". and hung up. Their end goal is not to have you pay your "loan". It's too get money, regardless of what for, out of you by playing on people's fears. If you think you owe money, go to the original creditor and follow the trail of your loan.

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Nov 02, 2009

    This company calls my job about 3 times a day since on or about September 2009 by way of Robo Calls. Today, 11/2/09, I called them and asked Ms. Hamilton not to call my job again because my employer does not allowed such calls. I also stated that according to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act her company must cease contacting my office since my employer disapproves and they have been informed of this fact. She called about 10 seconds or less after I hung up the phone to further harrass me.

    0 Votes
  • Sr
      Nov 07, 2009

    I also am in. I have not received a phone call . They have withdrawn a large sum from my banking account. This will CEASE. I'm beyond upset. Yes you ca count me in. Dallas Texas

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Nov 26, 2009

    I too have been harrased by these fools and they are now harrasing my friends who I put down on reffrence they wanted me to fax the info I paid my loans off and the number they gave me was bogus I looked up state statutes and it says a class c felony is for when you drive drunk or kill someone while driving I am not going to fall in there ruts anymore
    dont send anyone money yrll them to send you a bill or better yet have your attorney contact them

    0 Votes
  • El
      Dec 03, 2009

    Here is their contact information. I have an appt with a NACA Attorney next week to see about filing suit on them.

    Company Info:
    Marval & Associates, LLC
    PO Box 974
    Getzville, NY 14068

    Email: [protected]@marvalandassociates.com
    Call Toll Free: [protected]
    Office Phone: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]

    +1 Votes
  • Gr
      Dec 09, 2009

    I didnt know that it was all right to not pay your bills if you are an armed service member, darn maybe i should join the military so i can run up my bills!

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Dec 09, 2009

    GR8ONE77, you must be a bill collector. I'll bet you feel it's your moral responsibility to pay your bills. If so, tell me one person who went to hell for not paying a debt? What denomination and which faith do you subscribe to? Does your company know you moonlight as an evangelist while on the clock? How would your congregation feel knowing you work in an already shady industry?

    Anyway, back on topic. I'm in the process of filing a complaint against these jokers. The FDCPA was made for outfits just like Marval. Remember we're not in 17th century England where debtor's prisons still exist. You don't go to jail for not paying a bill. It's a civil issue, not a criminal one.

    LUE

    0 Votes
  • Ci
      Dec 10, 2009

    I am in as well. I have had it with these guys and their tactics. They call my cell phone all day long, they call my boss even after being told not to. The threatened me with paper being served to me the Fri after Thanksgiving. Today they called twice in 5 min. I told the first Steve that I am demanding verification of the debt and he told me he wouldnt provide that to me and I said then I am not paying you a dime. 2nd Steve called exactly 5 min later claiming he was just given the case and that no one had called. I saved their phone # in my phone book and it records each time a call from them comes in. They threatened to FLOOD my family, friends and work with calls until they are blue in the face. Cant record the calls no option but I am done. How can I become involved with taking these guys down?

    0 Votes
  • Ci
      Dec 10, 2009

    You cant when there is not an address for them

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Dec 16, 2009

    I am more than willing as well. Not only did I settle with them (stupidly) for an amount and pay it... they are now months later harrassing and threatening my whole family for more money. Can you believe that someone at "Marval & Assoicates" even told me to [censored] off!!! But yes, I have made reports at the BBB, FTC and consumer protection agency. I was told today that I need to hire a lawyer by marval and assoicates. So guess what, I have one that's just dying for them to now serve me a subponea. This company are frauds and illegally threatening and harrassing and it's about time someone brought them down.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Dec 21, 2009

    I received the same call from Miss Mynett from marval & associates. They are charging my for online Payday loan, which I found out was illegal. My husband lost his job, our house is in forclosure. She left a recording for me saying it is now a Criminal matter. And she is pursuing Criminal charges, I called her and told her that it's not a criminal Matter it's a civil matter. She was beligerent & called me a THeif. I would like to be in on this Class Action suit.

    Margaret M Stein
    [protected]@comcast.net
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Vo
      Dec 30, 2009

    Hey all...count me in. We told marval that we are willing to pay back the two online loans and they WOULD NOT ACCEPT THE MONEY. And just like all of you said in these testimonies, they threatened to call my employer to say that I broke the law because I listed my employer as the one to pay back the bill if I defaulted...NOT!!! The online payday applications DID NOT SAY that my employer was liable NOR did it have a checkbox for me to approve that I wanted my employer was liable. As with any payday loan, you list my employer (to verify that you are working) and the references. Funny how a debt collector wont send you paperwork with a reference number, name of the payday loan companies they are trying to collect for, and options to pay before it goes to court, yet harass you to the end of rainbow to pay...THEN...wont take your payment. I'm all in for a suit...did anyone have them call your employer? Let me know at [protected]@yahoo.com.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Feb 02, 2010

    Count me in! These jerks have been harassing me as well with the same threat about going to jail. I am in bankruptcy and I called my attorney. He told me that this is totally illegal and to keep a record of the calls, emails, etc. and then give them to him. He is also sending them a notice to back off! We will see if this works. They are hounding me for a payday loan of $400 which was listed on my Chapter 13 plan. Even though I have explained that to them, they continue their threats by calling my relatives and my former employer where I worked over 3 years ago.
    I agree that we need to go after these big rip off companies. It is a shame that when people need help they have to turn to these places. I made a huge mistake, I know that. I was stupid not to realize what kind of interest these people would expect for repayment.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Feb 24, 2010

    I've had the same issues with these clowns. They call and make "arrangements", yet they call again the next day. They've called my friends, my supervisor, everyone. I have known that they cannot do that, but it doesn't stop them. I thought about changing my phone number, but they still harass your family and friends anyway. I also asked them to please send me something in writing via US Mail, to no avail.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Mar 20, 2010

    Small Claims Court and an FDCPA suit worked wonders here. Pro Se even.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Apr 15, 2010

    I am a new candidate for the class action lawsuit. (count me in) I was quite alarmed when I recieved my first phone call from a Mz. Riley from Marvel & Assc. Today alone they called 7 times and once at work. I was going to settle last week with Marvel & Assc. they even had my debit card number. However I stated several times in our phone conversation (I too recorded) that I wanted confirmation on what was going to be settled. I assumed that I would have that confirmation before they recv'd the payment. I waited up to the deadline, with no confirmation . What really spooked me was she would only take a credit card or a debt payment. And would not give me a physical address, so I could send them a money order. Needless to say I had my ATM # blocked, and they have yet to recieve payment. At least this last recored message left knew what county I live in, I left a message to them and said come and get me, see you in court.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jun 04, 2010

    My daughter got a call from Susan Sharpe (Marval and Associates) stating that they were trying to contact me as I was wanted for fraud and the paperwork would be issued that day. Of course my daughter turned around and called me. I called this lady back and the first thing out of her mouth after I identified myself was that I was being charged for a federal crime of commiting fraud by writing checks across state lines. HUH? WHAT? I asked her what checks she was talking about and when was this. She went on to tell me that playing like I didnt know what she was talking about would not help. At this point I asked for written documentation of this debt. She replied that they had already sent it and I had the paperwork-

    me- sorry I dont have the paperwork and you havent even told me what check you are talking about

    Susan- Lying is not going to stop the charges from happening

    me- Again I have no idea what you are talking about and without some sort of documentation I cant tell you if I wrote the check or not

    Susan- Oh you did and you did it illeagly, you took out a loan and wrote a bad check and sent it through the mail to another state and that is federal fraud. Its to late to do anything, but pay what is owed and you may get reduced charges

    me- Well first off I have not had a loan, nor have I used or bought checks since 2004. I have the pay bills feature with my bank or I pay by internet with a debt card.

    Susan- Look you dont want to be owing me money! I will collect it

    me- so then sue me! ( yeah okay I lost my cool at this point)

    Susan- Look you owe the money, pay it! you don't want me coming after you and your family

    me- ( sorry now I am angry- MY FAMILY... COMING AFTER ME?) look you B-word I dont having a freaking clue what your talking about and dont you dare threaten me if you cant send proof then f- off

    I then hung up. I dont normally lose my cool but sadly I did. So it led me to this board and other boards, I really have no clue what loan she is talking about and there are statues of limitations in my state of 3 years for payday loans, however I have never had one so I am lost as to what she is really trying to collect for and when it originated. Also discovered that companies buy charge off accounts and then try to "collect" the funds, even though they have no legal rights to collect them as they were charged off and the original creditor has taken credit in the form of taxes for that debt. So now wiser and ready to battle Ms. Sharpe again if she should call...

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 01, 2011

    I have been receiving phone calls from Marvel & Associates regarding a payday loan they say I still owe. I just went through this crap with another "company" stating that they were with the Beureau of Criminal Investigations. They of course were a fraud and they actually stole money from me and so now I am in the middle of this giant mess of fraudulant activity against me. The man that called me from Marvel & Assoc. was Kenneth Mitchell and then when I told him he had to send me something in the mail then he wanted me to speak to his supervisor, I said ok, his name was Ron Westburg and they said they were representing Weston Marketing, LLC and that I owed $500. Malarchy!! I told him I was instructed by the police and Federal Trade Commisions office to have them send me something in writting and he simply said he was not going to waste his time in doing so and hung up on me. That's what I thought! FRAUD!!! SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Apr 04, 2011

    I also would be interested in a class action complaint if there is still an interest. I know it's been since 2009 since this article posted but it is continuing as you can see from all the posts. I too, have recorded messages. They have called my work, my cell, my sister and left very detailed messages indicating that a complaint is going to be filed against me in the county I live in, yadda yadda yadda. I DO NO OWE ANYONE MONEY.

    0 Votes

Post your comment