SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Malaysia Airlinesunacceptable services

Review updated:

Dear Sir/Mdm,

FLIGHT MH 387 DEPARTING SHANGHAI PUDONG TO KUALA LUMPUR ON 2 NOVEMBER 2018 @ 2.20AM
- UNACCEPTABLE SERVICES PROVIDED BY MAS

Dual Blessing Bhd is a Non-Profit Organization established with four main objectives especially for People with Disabilities (PWD):-
1. Training and comprehensive care
2. Promoting self-reliant education
3. Advocating social awareness campaign
4. Establishing a Social Enterprise Model

As part of the objectives, Dual Blessing Bhd also promote Accessible Tourism to the PWDs whereby Dual Blessing Bhd together with the local tour organization, will organize tours customized to the PWDs needs. So far, Dual Blessing Bhd had successfully organized more than 10 tours locally and internationally which include air travel for the past 10 years.

Our recent tour jointly organised with D'Tour Holiday Sdn Bhd was 8 days tour visiting Shanghai, Hangzhou, Suzhou and Wuxi on 26 Oct 2018 to 2 Nov 2018 consists of 34 pax with 13 pax who were wheelchair bound. Everything went smoothly from the day we departed from Kuala Lumpur and throughout the tour to the places we visited.

However, come the day where the group need to return to Kuala Lumpur on 2 Nov 2018 via Flight MH 387 departing 2.20am. Knowing the time needed and hassles of checking in luggage and seat arrangement for the group with the number of wheelchairs, the group were early, all ready and settled at the check-in counter and proceeded to the boarding gate at 12.30am for boarding. The group were kept waiting until we were called at 2.00am to board the plane. Then our Tour Leader was told by the Cabin Crew that the PWDs need to board the plane by themselves meaning without the wheelchair. If they can slightly walk, they can walk in by themselves, while those who can't walk at all will have to be carried by their Personal Assistant with the help of the Cabin Crew for the reason of NO Cabin Wheelchair been provided for the plane. Our group seating were all at the end of the cabin.

Following was how the scenario:-

Scenario 1

The 1st PWD lady passenger who was a severed PWD and can't walk was carried by his husband right to the end of the cabin.

Scenario 2

The 2nd and 3rd PWD guy passenger who was able to walk lamely walked by themselves right to the end of the cabin.

Scenario 3

The 4th PWD guy passenger who was polio-stricken and can't walk was first carried by the cabin crew but due to the uncomfortable and risk of falling, he was then asked to crawl to his seat right to the end of the cabin. He has no choice but to crawl himself to the seat witnessed by his heart crying, wife and mother own eyes.

Seeing such "inhumanity" actions, our Tour Leader immediately stopped the Cabin Crew from proceeding with the other PWDs and insisted that a Cabin Wheelchair must be provided. It took quite some time for the arrival of the Cabin Wheelchair and the other passengers of the plane started to board in the cabin. The other remaining 9 PWDs were waiting with fears at the entrance to board the plane. When finally the Cabin Wheelchair arrived, all the PWDs were safely seated at their respective seats. The plane was ready to take off and it was 1.5hrs delayed compared to the original departure time.

This flight journey is going to take about 6 hours. Lo and behold, another problem arises during the flight, PWDs also need to go to the toilet! Where is the Cabin Wheelchair? No Cabin Wheelchair in the Cabin!!! Some were able to stand holding on to the toilet need, while those who can't, face another trauma of been carried to the toilet.

What a frustrating, disappointing and unacceptable service! In the time before the travelling of this group, full attention care and PWDs need had been requested and sent to MAS.

Besides, we can hear some passengers who are having connecting flights was worried that they are unable to catch their connecting flight.

Hence, a few questions were in mind.

1. Is this the first time MAS Cabin Crew handle PWDs?
2. Is the Cabin Crew not well trained to handle PWDs?
3. Is the Ground Stewards lacking in coordination work?
4. Do Airlines have the mindset to provide "NEEDED" service to the PWDs?

Let's be fair to the underprivileged. They are also part of the world and wish to be likeable people who can travel around the world.

For your information, I am an able people and I was travelling together with this group. Seeing all of them been so happy since the beginning of the tour but ended with such "TERRIFIED" experience because of MAS will definitely leave a bad remark of our Malaysia Airlines.

We would seek explanation and reimbursement for the PWD who missed the connecting flight and need to repurchase another ticket for her return to Johor Bahru. Lastly, please provide "NEEDED" services for PWD passengers. Thank you.

Yours faithfully,
CHRISTINE LEONG
Chairman
Dual Blessing Bhd

Ch
Nov 13, 2018
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Vi
      Mar 03, 2019

    One of the worst airlines I have come accross. Today is my 40th call and 45th email regarding my mother’s ticket.
    They just dont care. Call centre has been give to the third party to run who hasnt hot no authority to deal with situations like this.
    I have also sent an email to the CEO but so far hasnt even got the acknowledgment.

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 06, 2019

    Mrs. CHRISTINE LEONG

    In order to demand anything from someone on behalf of the group of passengers, the authorized person nees to have, at minimums:-
    1. Power of attorney, issued by each passenger,
    2. The ticket for each passenger.

    If you are unble to produce these documents, the rest is usless for the purpose of the complaining or for possible compensation.

    I addition, the above public complaint does not dsiclose the breach of the rules of the international carriage by air, commited against the passenger during 2 November 2018 Malaysia Airlines flight 387 .

    sr manger for ICAO / IATA irregulations matters
    Aryan engineers Ltd
    e--mail < aryan (at) vivaldi.net >

    0 Votes

Post your comment