The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Mahindra Scorpio / Poor manufacturing quality

1 India Review updated:

I have purchased new scorpio last year it was third class vehicle rusting problem occur on first month. The rear wheel come out with axle while driving and there is fire in vehicle.

Very poor service from dealer sri durga automobiles. My friend advise me to go to consumer court agnst mnfr quality.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sh
      28th of Aug, 2008
    -1 Votes

    im Shivdeep Baliyan from C-34 Rajpur Khurd Extn. New Delhi M- 09990451475, 09212292759, i have purched one Mahindra Scarpio SLX from Basin Moters in South Ex part-1, New Delhi. Vehical No. DL-3c AS-2836, Bearing Ch. no. MA1TB2BSL72G87373, Engeen No. BS74G42536, Colour-A3MISSLVER,
    Problem- Colour difect on the right side window in my scarpio
    complant soveral time for the same to Basin moters but no Action has been taken till today you are here by requested to take a immed. action to slowed my problem.

    Shivdeep Baliyan

  • Sa
      17th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    I totally agree.

    In my case after having gone thru the pain of purchasing a vehicle with out accessories from Mahindra, wherein the dealers force you to buy vehicles with acessories (priced x 2 times of market).
    I am now a proud owner this vehicle A SCORPIO with the much acclaimed Tommahawk Engine that just six months and not yet in second service making groaning sounds on clutching.

    To top all this, right on the higway this "groaning" clutch collapsed.

    Two days, several calls to their helpline where no one picks the phone, I am being told that that this is a manufacturing defect and that it will sorted out, but I need to pay towing charges from West Delhi to NOIDA.

    Thanks Mahindra, I pay Rs.11 lacs for your R&D and now you want me to pay you R&D annuity as well.

    Cheers,

    Satish Dhawan
    Chief Executive
    RESOLVE
    98110 13899
    9910003899

  • Bb
      17th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    I am based at chennai, Tamilnadu.I have purchased my new mahindra scorpio vlx, white dated 30/10/08 from M.P.L> Automobiles Agency Private Limited, Ampa Manor, 107/1, NelsonManickam Road, Chennai-6000029 . My invoice number is MUV/20307/08-09.

    Initially when i visited the car in the showroom, i noticed that the sticker on the car was peel-off at the front right& was not pasted properly.When i asked the manager in MPL Motors, chennai-29 regarding this problem, he accepted the problem &had written the problem in the carbon sheetof the delivery challanwith the ink pen.He also gave a word that they will change the stickers after they get from thane, Maharastra.

    within a week from the date of purchase, i went to MPL Motors at 6.30pm with a problem that the image in the reverse sensor mirror appears doubly.The service advisor v.rajesh mobile no:9940067349 at MPL Motors inspected the car along with one of their car technician. he also noticed the same problem and he conveyed the problem to the manager at MPL Motors. The manager himself have accepted the problem, but he is not giving it in the written form & also did not take any speedy steps to solve my problems yet.Due to this manufacturing defect, my driver while taking reverse in my car hit a santro behind.A case was also filed in Thirumangalam police station for the same.I have proof for that. i have given a compensation for the santro owner.

    Till date my sticker problem & reverse sensor mirror image problem is not yet solved.Also i have no proper response from the MPL Motors. Also they are not giving it in the written form.

    My experience with your MPL Motors authorised dealers is very poor.I have invested 11 lacs for my scorpio. I suffered a lot while driving with this reverse sensor mirrror image problems due to which i had a police station experience. so I kindly request you to take immediate action for my problems.

    I need my problems to be rectified immediately& also i need it in written form from your MPL Motors authorised dealer. I need a compensation for which i paid at the police station& also for my mental pressure&for the wastage of my time.
    Also i have filed a petition regarding the same at consumer court.

  • Su
      22nd of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    Sir,
    I have purchased my dream vehicle SCORPIO M-HAWK on 13/3/10 fro m/s SRI MOHAN MOTORS, ROHTAK, HARYANA.
    I was surprised to see the attitude / behavior of the concerned persons in the agency. I was delivered the vehicle with following defects :-
    1. Electrical lead missing from under the dvr. Seat.
    2. Remote for audio sterio missing.
    3. No body at the agency new / not trained about the electronic sensors and equipments.
    4. Alloy wheels having tool marks as the tyres were already changed with another vehicle.
    5. Tool kit missing completely.
    6. Manual for audio missing.
    7. IF YOU CAN GIVE THE TYRE DETAILS FROM COMPANY I CAN ASSUR YOU THAT THE TYRES ARE ALSO CHANGED.
    8. Last but not the least bill given was for 968000/- and the draft taken by my bankers was for 986000/-. Extended warranty of 2 years is 9999/- . where is my balance amount.
    When asked for the above difects the reason given was :-
    (SAAB KISI NE BADAL DIYA HOGA, DOOSRI VLX GAADI AAYEGI TO USKA NIKAAL KAR AAPKO DEDENGE)
    Somebody must have change these items, we will give you these items when we will receive another VLX scorpio for sale.
    ISN’T IT RIDICULAS
    S.S.DANGI
    09896078554

  • Dl
      12th of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    I am going through an equally bad experience with Mahindra Motors.
    Please see the communication below to understand the pain I am going through...


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------


    Hi

    See this is what I suffer by owning a scorpio and expecting for a reasonable level of service standards.
    I have not received my car as yet without any intimation from Bhasin Motors or Mahindra.

    I also called up and texted (sms’ed) Mr, / Col. G. K. Singh (Works Manager at Bhasin Motors) at his mobile number @ 9871091120 but with no response.

    I am really happy to own a performing car like Scorpio but real sad to see the pathetic response from the company and the dealership both on the service standards.

    I am clueless on what to do now and since I have bought this car, anyhow I have to drive it for few years as I cannot afford to change car so soon within a year of its (so-called proud) purchase.

    You can very well see that how it has taken my sleep away that I am bound to write mail at this odd hours at 2358 hours (mid-night).

    I am really clueless.

    I have no options but to use a commercial cab / taxi service to perform my daily chores. I will definitely look forward to the bill reimbursement.
    (I am no more proud owner of my SCORPIO)


    Best regards
    [removed]
    [removed]


    From: Manish Agrawal [mailto:[removed]]
    Sent: 12 March 2011 20:57
    To: customercare@mahindra.com; jain.shobhit@mahindra.com
    Cc: sales.bhasinmotors@gmail.com; 'Bhasin Motors'
    Subject: FW: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio
    Importance: High

    Dear Shobhit / Concerned

    Forwarding this mail at 8.58pm after waiting till 8.30pm which was the time committed for delivery.
    My Saturday (which just comes twice a month ie 2nd and 4th one [censored]iday) has been spoilt as I cannot move out.

    I will help Bhasin Motors and Mahindra responsible for any mode of transportation I hire for my movement tomorrow.
    Please let me know to whom I should produce the cab bills for reimbursement and also what remedy the principal company Mahindra and its service partner Bhasin Motors will be giving for the inconvenience I have suffered today and maybe tomorrow.

    Best regards
    Manish Agrawal


    From: Manish Agrawal [mailto:removed]]
    Sent: 12 March 2011 19:34
    To: customercare@mahindra.com
    Cc: jain.shobhit@mahindra.com
    Subject: FW: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio
    Importance: High

    Dear Concerned / Shobhit

    It has become a routine to me now.
    Today I had given my scorpio for servicing and as usual (trademarked service standards) the below-mentioned pain areas:

    - Despite giving clear cut instructions that the key should not be left in the car, it was left thrice and everytime the window beeding was taken out to open the door and take the key out. I am really very finicky about this (Sorry, if you are not and I beg to and happily would choose to differ) and if you can read this entire chain of communication in this very mail, you will understand this.

    - During last servicing I had my wheel balancing and alignment done, on which I have complaints. Why in one single instance everything is done (though communicated always that it has been done perfectly : Blatant Lie)

    - It has been a routine that whenever I give my car for servicing (always at authorised service station ie Bhasin Motors) just to ensure that I get the best for my car, I never get the best except for repeated calls, subsequent visits for corrective measures / complaints and taking unwanted pain and tensions on my head.

    - I was told in the afternoon at around 3 pm that the car would be delivered to me latest by 5pm. And when I checked at 5pm I was told that it would reach me by 6.30pm and when again I checked out at 7pm after long wait, I was told that it would reach me by 8.30pm (Yet I have not received: time now 7.35pm
    My concern on this is because of:
    • I cannot thoroughly check at the time of taking delivery
    • I cannot take a test drive and make out the things done of which I had complained
    • I had plans for this Saturday evening which has gone awry

    I am really serious about the way I always treated from a reputed brand (read Mahindra) authorised service centre. Leave aside all the jargons of customer satisfaction, it’s always a pain that I get by trusting so-called trusted Mahindra Partners.

    I do not know whether I will get any response from you or not as the history itself has proved that, nothing happens on genuine customer concerns / feedback, and life goes on at Bhasin Motors: Definitely Bhasin Motors is not going to lose anything if an individual like me stops visiting them.

    But this issue of genuine concern and customer satisfaction would always be questioned by such kind of pathetic response.

    Let me accept that I have become hopeless and do not expect any radical changes from Bhasin Motors as it has never happened during my past relationship with them for almost a year, the day when I had purchased by car from them.

    But yes, as a responsible citizen, I am sending a letter of complaints to national service head, national sales head with a copy to the chairman.

    Best regards
    Manish Agrawal


    From: Manish Agrawal [mailto:removed]]
    Sent: 03 February 2011 14:18
    To: CUSTOMERCARE@mahindra.com
    Cc: JAIN.SHOBHIT@mahindra.com
    Subject: RE: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio
    Importance: High

    Dear Customer Care

    Again an example of carelessness.
    Today, have received the Top Gear card with the wrong name spelling.

    The card spells the name as “Shikee Upadhya” which should be “SHIKHEE UPADHYA”

    Now tell me, what needs to be done now.

    Regards
    Manish Agrawal


    From: CUSTOMERCARE@mahindra.com [mailto:CUSTOMERCARE@mahindra.com]
    Sent: 29 January 2011 15:15
    To: [removed]
    Cc: JAIN.SHOBHIT@mahindra.com
    Subject: RE: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio

    Dear Mr. Agrawal,

    We have taken a note of your concern and advised our concern team to address the same.

    Thanks & Regards
    Priya Kulkarni
    Customer Care-Automotive Sector
    Phone – 022 2846 8525
    Email Customercare@mahindra.com

    From: Manish Agrawal [mailto:[removed]]
    Sent: Friday, January 28, 2011 7:42 PM
    To: CUSTOMERCARE
    Cc: JAIN SHOBHIT
    Subject: RE: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio
    Importance: High

    Hi

    Please let me know what do I need to do for the name correction on the “Top Gear” membership card.
    Also send me details on this membership benefits.

    The name that I have received on card “ Shikha Upadhya” which has to be “Shikhee Upadhya”

    Regards
    Manish


    From: CUSTOMERCARE@mahindra.com [mailto:CUSTOMERCARE@mahindra.com]
    Sent: 11 January 2011 17:15
    To: [removed]
    Cc: JAIN.SHOBHIT@mahindra.com
    Subject: RE: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio

    Dear Mr. Agarwal,

    We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We are requesting our Customer Care Manager in Delhi Area Office Mr. Shobhit Jain to get in touch with you and take appropriate measures as required. Kindly bear with us in the meanwhile.

    Thanks & Regards
    Priya Kulkarni
    Customer Care-Automotive Sector
    Phone – 022 2846 8525
    Email Customercare@mahindra.com

    From: Manish Agrawal [mailto:[removed]]
    Sent: Tuesday, January 11, 2011 4:45 PM
    To: KRISHNAN RAGHAV
    Cc: CUSTOMERCARE
    Subject: FW: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio
    Importance: High

    Dear Raghav

    Finally after lots of persistent and follow-ups, the fog lamp kit was changed. Though it ate up my entire day standing at the Bhasin Motors, I was happy that long months of follow-ups brought some fruit (read response)...

    But, you know what next ...??

    Few days back, during a general check I found that again there was some water / dew inside the fog lamp.
    Again I called up the Bhasin Motors, and was surprised with the response.

    I was told that, the replacing fog lamp was from the same defective lot and I need to wait for another few weeks for getting the corrected fog lamps from Mahindra facility.

    Is this how your customer services department run? Are we Mahindra Scorpio owners are supposed to take one day out every week do some thankless pastime sitting at the dealership / service centre??
    It would have been better if they could have told me that the fog lamps which they are replacing are from the same defective lot and it’s better to wait for few more days than to be happy and kill some of our precious time??
    Really ridiculous !!

    Apart from this, I have few other complaints and concerns, viz (and these are either out of the same long pending list or created every time the car visits the service centre):

    - Problem in the back door (fifth one) locking system. It’s not working and I have checked with Nippon whose guy after inspecting said that the switch which has the problem is supplied by Mahindra and it’s the service centre, which would get it corrected. When I contacted service centre they said that it’s the security system supplier problem..
    So, the problem still hangs in between without any solution

    - After months’ of follow-ups on the gear shift problem, finally I got a call from Bhasin Motors that they have got the gear set from Mahindra and I should send my Scorpio to get it fitted. After sending it and waiting for one full day., in late evening I was told that there was no need for changing as they have done some adjustment and it should not give me any further problem. It’s fine, if the problem is corrected but the bigger issue is the information gap... I should have told about this earlier itself and not at the time of taking delivery. I am also told that I need to drive for next 5k kilometres and if in case I face some problem then again they would call my call for changing the gear kit...
    Now this has made me insecure in terms of the health of my engine and the overall performance and I drive with a sense of in-security not with the confidence which I used to have previously.. Is, there anyone who can understand this ordeal of a consumer, please...??

    - After coming from the service station (after 5 th service), I don’t know what has been done to my gear lock lever, it’s not locking up. Perhaps, at the service station, someone has moulded it for whatever checking / correction and did not put it in the previous alignment.
    This talks about the carelessness and the apathy the customer services have...
    The entire dashboard and the gear cabinet had marks of grease which is not expected from the authorised service professional. They act as if local road side village mechanics who neither understand the meaning of customer services and hygiene or are demanded the same.

    - After long follow-ups on phone, e-mails and personal meetings (with you Mr. Raghav too), I got the membership card of “Top Gear” but again as usual, how could it be satisfying the correct...
    The name on the card is wrong / mis-spelt
    The key chain received with that is rusted
    ----- Should I again start doing follow-ups for name correction after months of follow-ups for the membership card??

    - Even after repeated reminders / instructions (had gone to the extent of taking pain of writing it in bold letters on the service request) for not leaving the key inside the car, it was left inside thrice in one single day and every time some “engineering” was done replacing window beeds, pulling out the window glass (which has not lots of scratches on it) to get the car opened. The door has become hard now with many scratches on the window and the side door.

    There might be thousands of people who do not mind couple of scratches or whether the door is hard or is working properly, but I am a bit different. I love my Scorpio and hate people playing with it ruthlessly at the service centre. Their job is to take proper care, attention to details and keep the consumer happy and satisfied (of which I never get any feel)

    So far, I was of the view that, the car is pretty safe if I lock it, now my confidence in it’s security system / mechanism has completely shaken. I have already lost one brand new car and don’t want to take any chances again. Need some explanation on this from the customer services department of Mahindra (and not Bhasis Motors).

    Every time I give my car to service centre, I get some new surprise in terms of some hanging wire somewhere, the lost fixtures like car perfume and idol on dashboard etc.

    Is there any redressal to these teething problems or do I need to live with it, just because now I have bought the car..???

    Thanks & regards
    [removed]
    [removed]


    From: Manish Agrawal [mailto:[removed]]
    Sent: 08 November 2010 17:16
    To: KRISHNAN.RAGHAV@mahindra.com
    Subject: Re: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio

    Hi Raghav

    It was nice speaking with you today.
    I will be waiting for your revert on fog lamps kit change, please try doing so at the earliest.

    My other concerns and requests are:

    1. Top Gear Membership
    2. Bad service quality at Bhasin Motors. Since beginning (till now ie 4th service @ 20k kms) I have been serviced by Bhasin Motors itself, but petty problems like;
    2.1 Not explaining the work done
    2.2 Bad cleaning job
    2.3 Despite reminders for past 15k kms, no heed on the wind shield cleaning which has got few small spots
    2.4 Mal-functioning (or requires a better explanation) of Turbo functioning
    2.5 Un-educated and not-concerned service staff
    2.6 Everytime I complaint of something it has been trend that though that particular problem has been solved but something else related crops up.. This talks about the carelessness of the staff regarding quality service standards

    Request you to look into this and resolve.

    Best regards
    [removed]
    [removed}


    On 08-11-2010 15:03, KRISHNAN.RAGHAV@mahindra.com wrote:
    Dear Mr. Agrawal,

    Thanks for writing to us and I’m sorry for the delay in contacting you.

    As per our discussion, I shall look into your concerns regarding availability of Fog Lamps.
    As soon as the parts are available at our dealer M/s Bhasin Motors, we shall communicate the same to you over phone.

    Your concern regarding Top Gear form that you were unable to fill online despite assistance from our dealer is also noted.
    The same shall be looked into by our concerned team who will revert back to you with a final solution as soon as possible.

    Regards,
    Raghav

    From: Manish Agrawal [mailto:[removed]]
    Sent: Saturday, November 06, 2010 10:51
    To: [removed]
    Cc: CUSTOMERCARE; KRISHNAN RAGHAV
    Subject: Re: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio

    Dear Mr. Raghav

    Will be waiting for any revert from your end.

    Wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous Diwali

    Regards
    Manish Agrawal


    On 04-11-2010 18:17, Manish Agrawal wrote:
    Thanks for your revert.
    I will be waiting

    Regards
    Manish Agrawal


    On 04-11-2010 18:16, CUSTOMERCARE@mahindra.com wrote:
    Dear Mr. Agrawal,

    We are sorry for the delay. This E-mail is copied to Mr. Raghav Krishnan for necessary actions. Please bear with us in the meanwhile.

    Thanks & Regards
    Priya Kulkarni
    Customer Care-Automotive Sector
    Phone – 022 2846 8525
    Email Customercare@mahindra.com

    From: Manish Agrawal [mailto:[removed]]
    Sent: Thursday, November 04, 2010 12:52 PM
    To: CUSTOMERCARE
    Subject: Fwd: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio

    Request for a revert from your end.

    Regards
    Manish


    -------- Original Message --------
    Subject: Fog Lamp Kit Repalcement by Mahindra for Scorpio
    Date: Tue, 02 Nov 2010 22:46:30 0530
    From: Manish Agrawal

    Reply-To: removed]

    To: CUSTOMERCARE@mahindra.com


    Dear Customer Care

    As decided by Mahindra, the fog lamp kit has to be changed of my Scorpio (DL 3C AS 3479).
    I have been doing follow-ups for past approx 2 months for getting this done, but everytime I approach "Bhasin Motors" I get the response that it's not there in stock and I will be called as soon as the stock from Mahindra reaches them.

    What inside information I have got at Bhasin Motors is though they are getting the complete replacement kit from Mahindra, they are changing for the vehicles of their near and dear ones, not following the customer queue as per the car purchase date.

    Request you to look into it and get this done for my Scorpio.

    Regards
    [removed]
    [removed]

Post your comment