The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Mags4Cheap / Problems with subscription reimbursement!

1 United States Review updated:

I placed an order for Blue and Gold Illustrated with mags4cheap on 12/12/06 at which time my Visa was promptly billed for $21.95. After the 10-12 week period which they said a monthly may take to receive, I called mags4cheap and was told I needed to wait a couple more weeks. In early April I talked to a Nicole at mags4cheap who told me that they had sent an email several weeks before this informing me that the subscription could not be carried out. I never received the email. I then inquired about my refund and she said "we have to send you a check, we can't credit your Visa" because of the time that passed. She did not respond to my question of why hadn't a refund been processed already. When I did not receive the check I made a return call and spoke with Brian on 5/3 who told me he was writing another check (#4290) and it would go out that afternoon. It has been 11 days and no check. I have sent order the Blue and Gold directly from the publisher.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ka
      15th of May, 2007
    0 Votes
    Mags4Cheap - Credit card billed - subscription never received!
    United States

    I ordered months ago a hot rod car subscription for an inmate. Until this day he has never received it. My credit card was billed!!

  • Mi
      22nd of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Exact thing has happened to me on my subscription order. Talked to Nicole and Brian. Called the publisher direct and it appears they have ripped me off since I ordered in December 2006. The Better Business Bureau in Houston has Mags4Cheap listed as "unsatisfactory". I have them listed as thieves.

  • To
      6th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    I have the same issue with Mags4cheap.com. I ordered 3 subscriptions on 2/22/07 and as of 6/6/07 have not yet received a single issue. More frustrating is the fact that I have sent at least 4 emails and left 2 voice messages (there is no option to speak to a live person) and have never received any kind of reply. I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, so we'll see how that turns out. Recommendation, do not use this service.

  • Br
      11th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes
    Mags4Cheap - No magazine, no response
    United States

    It's been 5 months now since I placed my magazine order. No magazines, no refund, no response to my 3 inquiries. They got my money, I got screwed. I don't mind a mix up in the order process. Things happen. But I do not like being ignored when I inquire about it. Do not do business with these folks, unless you like to gamble.

  • La
      20th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes
    Mags4Cheap - 7 Months-no magazine-no response!
    United States

    I have been through hell with Mags4Cheap. I received a gift certificate in December 2006. I tried unsuccessfully to redeem it on-line, so I called in early January and placed my order via phone and received my confirmation #. I never received the magazine after waiting the required 8 - 10 weeks. I called and was told to wait a couple more weeks. I called again and was told there was a mix-up, but it had been fixed. 1 month later I called and was told they had to do some research and would call me back. They never did. The next 2 times I called I was given completely different stories. The last time I called she put me on hold while she "called the publisher", then told me they had the names mixed up, but it was fixed and I should start receiving the magazines soon AND would get some free additional issues. She also said the publisher would call me directly to confirm. I never received a call or a magazine. I have also sent numerous e-mails to them on their customer service contact site, and have never received a reply. This morning, I called 6 times and each time I sat on hold listening to a recording, then got disconnected.

    I finally called the publisher myself and was told they had no record of my name, address, phone # or confirmation #.

    It has now been almost 7 months. It's not that $20.o0 is the end of the world, it is the principle of the thing. I won't let this go.

  • Te
      9th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    Hi,

    I have had the same thing happen to me. But I tried to called them about three times and always get hanged up by them.

    Teresa.

  • Si
      9th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    I think it's time for a class action lawsuit against mags4cheap. My complaint as been going on for over a year with them. Filing a complaint with BBB of Houston right now.

    Anyone know a good lawyer? I am beyond angry about this. Sure, it's only about $15 but its the principal of the matter now.

    And Nicole is less than great to talk to. Sounded like she didn't even know what she was doing.

  • Da
      24th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    I purchased about 10 subscriptions from them, the magazines the did send came late. I had 3 out of 10 subscriptions that never went through. Is there anyway to get a class action from these people?

  • Lo
      6th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am beyond fed up. They charged me twice for the same magazine (Food and Wine) and never came through. Told me they don't deal with them anymore. Promised me a refund 40 times lied to me and told me 3 times that they were issuing it while on the phone with me. Nothing ever came back. I filed a complaint with the BBB, but nothing will come out of it. How are they allowed to run a business and take peoples hard earned money? Now every time I call I get hung up on. I think they are out of business, but still taking peoples money.

  • An
      19th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes
    Mags4Cheap - Stole my money!
    United States

    Placed my order in Jan 07. It's now Sep 07 and I have never received any of the 3 magazines ordered. Contacted them every month with no success. Email was rarely responded to, phone calls went unanswered or I was frequently hung up on. They should not be allowed to be in business. Have filed several complaints with the BBB. Avoid and save your money.

  • Ni
      10th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    There definitely is a pattern with this outfit. I ordered a magazine in May, and waited the 8-10 weeks they said to wait. Nothing. Left a phone message on their answering machine; no response. Sent them an e-mail. Received a return message advising me no refunds are possible after two weeks have passed. I hadn't asked for a refund. In a second e-mail, I repeated that I was asking for a date to expect the first issue. No response to that. I can only conclude I have been scammed.

  • Ir
      5th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    I also got scammed by this company! I ordered a couple subscriptions (one was supposed to be a gift for my mother in law), paid with my credit card, and never received anything! (But of course they charged my credit card).

    Luckily I have a great credit card company and they removed the charges from my account. I tried calling Mags4Cheap and never got a response. I got one response to the many emails I sent, but it basically said nothing.

    This "company" is a joke! Beware! DO NOT USE THEM!!! What I want to know is, how can they still be in business after all these complaints to the BBB?? What the Hell?

  • Ni
      27th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    Terrible, awful and horrible! I ordered 5 magazines 10 months ago. I have received only two of them. Got put on hold once and after waiting for 30 minutes, they hung up on me. When I called back, they said they would look into it and get back to me. I have gotten back to them several times and said, fine - don't send me anything, just return my money and they said they 'couldn't do that'.

    Total thieves!!! Buyer Beware! -Nicole Rowan

  • Sa
      9th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I was also scammed by Mags4cheap. I ordered a subscription of "Martha Stewert" Home decorating magazine and I never received any e-mails or the magazine itself. Six months have passed and when I try to call, the representative always hangs up on me. I called up my credit card company and reported them as a scam.

  • Co
      10th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I submitted an order of HR: Watches Magazine through Mas4Cheap.com A.K.A.Entertainment4Cheap, Magazines for Cheap or Mags4Cheap on July 30, 2007. I received an email saying that the “Order has been processed” and that I will start receiving the magazine in 4-8 weeks. I followed up on November 2, 2007 at 2:09PM with Nicole. She said there was a problem with the order, she was going to have the order placed on rushed delivery and that I could expect the order in a couple of weeks. She also told me they were going to give me another year for free. I told her I didn’t want the other year only the year I paid for. I followed that call up with a call to HR: Watches Magazine. They told me they did not do business what Mags4 cheap or any of its affiliates as Mags4 cheap claimed.

    I called Mags4cheap on November 15 and spoke to a Supervisor named Justin. He told me I could expect the magazine on December 11, 2007. To follow that call up and make sure the order was processed I called HR: Watches Magazine today and spoke to the woman that owns the magazine. She told me they did not have a subscription request for anyone with the name I gave her.

    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE! THEY ARE CROOKS!!!

  • Ju
      26th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    Mags4cheap has always been good to me. i've been ordering with them for several years and each time i order somewhere around 30-40 magazines and they always come on time with the exception of one which when i called them, they corrected. They're customer service has always been very helpful and i have talked to every person listed above. You guys either must be talking about a different company, or you're trying to spread bad rumors about this company.

  • An
      4th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes
    Mags4Cheap - never received order or refund
    Mags4Cheap
    851 Dairy-Ashford, Suite B
    Houston
    Texas
    United States
    Phone: 877-932-6247
    www.mags4cheap.com

    As all of the other complaints about this company I never receieved my magazine subscription or a refund. I did go on line to the Better Business Bureau and complained. If everyone that has had a problem with this company would send in a complaint to the BBB then maybe they will shut them down or do something so no one else will get ripped off.

  • An
      5th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    I too ordered a magazine that was never received almost a year later. Stay away from Mags4Cheap!!!! They'll take your money and ignore you.

  • Jj
      17th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    I echo these complaints and have had the same problem with this company. I had a positive first experience which lulled me into ordering again. Six months later, I still have no magazine & no money back - after several attempts to remedy the situation. Perhaps a terribly run company. But I do think the fact that nowhere on their site do they list a customer service email & that numerous times their phone number doesn't allow you to reach a human, points to them being shady. Also, their email contact form has *never* worked. They don't want to help the customer. Period.

  • Br
      29th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    I've had the same problem. Avoid Mags4Cheap! In August 2007, I ordered a 12-month subscription to National Geographic, which was supposed to start by 11/20/2007 at the latest. My credit card was billed immediately. As of 01/29/2008, the magazine still has not come. I have repeatedly contacted them by e-mail (there's no phone number). Each time, they say they'll look into it, but nothing happens. And the response to each follow-up complaint is clearly written by someone totally oblivious to all my earlier complaints (which I keep citing). They refuse to provide a refund. THIS IS FRAUD! They've taken my money for something they cannot deliver.

Post your comment