SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Magnamail LtdLetters send in mail box about winning

Review updated:

HI there Im complaining about a letter from the mail saying that you have won one off this four prizes and then it says, order know, to find out what you have won, then I went with my husband and make an order, plus send it to them and then waitted about 21 days to receive it, then after that 21 days I rang them and they say thats true I just have to wait 21 days, then I told them I have waitted more then 21 days, then they say maybe its on its way, so me and my husband rang them and they say that I have to send in a post for my order and then they will send me what Ive orderd then I ask them again what about what Ive won, and they say I didnt win anything, I just have to pay for the shipping then they will send my order.

So Im coplaining because for my family and the income its so hard for us to spend money on something besides food for the kids, but I dont like that fact that they are sending letters saying that youve won something, when its not true, just to get people to buy there stuff its not good...if they want people to buy there stuff doit the right way..and in a honest way.

  • Roly veitch's Response, Aug 29, 2019

    Keep receiving magnamail re winning prizes all we get I could buy at 2 dollar shop doe anybody ever win any item of value or are all prizes rubbish...Roly Veitch Timaru

Ja
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ak
      May 11, 2010

    I received a scratch and win competition from them saying I won $21, 000 NZ, and a pearl broach!
    And I thought wow I won 21, 000 dollars, so I sent it straight away to them, and the only prize I received, was a garnet Pearl broach.
    lol, which was made in china.

    So out of 3 prizes I was meant to get, I only got that one.

    So I am still waiting for my 21, 000 dollars.

    Since I photocopied what was sent to Magnamail, I will forward this onto Scam watch here in NZ, and plus a few consumer TV programs as well!
    That's if I don't get my prize, that they said I won.

    What really get's to me, is that they had a New Zealand lottery permit number on there promotional material.

    +2 Votes
  • Ha
      Aug 28, 2019

    @AKiwi If you had read all of the details you would have understood that you will go into the draw and that you could receive a notice saying you have won whatever the amount of money was. You still received the prize they said you have won. You just need to read past the 'You Have Won'. Perhaps next time if you read all of the words and do what is required you may be the big winner, who knows. Best of luck to you if you win or don't win.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Jul 12, 2010

    Its high time magnamail had a government audit.
    They are nothing more than rip off merchants preying on the elderly

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 21, 2010

    You're kidding, Right? Someone sends you a letter, to tell you that you won $21, 000 and you believed it? May be nex time someone will send you an email asking you for your bank details to deposit lottery winnings from Nigeria, and you probably will!

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Oct 25, 2010

    Well, the same thing is happening to me. They said that i've won something but i have to order something before i get it. So i'm waiting 21 days before i recieve it.

    +1 Votes
  • Li
      Oct 25, 2010

    If i don't recieve my so called winnings, i will have to take action...

    +2 Votes
  • Sq
      Jan 06, 2011

    People - I think it's time to let you know that ah, um ... nothing is for free. C'mon, use your common sense - if it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is!!! I guess the other point is that Magnamail shouldn't be doing this - it's freakin' dodgy as and misleading. I wonder if anyone has reported them to the consumer watchdog etc. Perhaps they aren't doing anything LEGALLY wrong, rather, just ethically and morally wrong.

    Don't be suckers, Suckers!

    +2 Votes
  • Fx
      Jan 20, 2011

    Apart from winning one of the prizes, which turned out to be rubbish jewellry from china. I also won $25000 because I had the unique claim number. I have no hope in getting the cash even though I had purchased items from them. I rang them to inquire about my winning the $25, 000 and I also asked them if it was a have, and they told me that they have been in the business for 30 years and no it was not a have. So far as I'm concerned its a whole lot of bull sxxt. I paid with a credit card to prove that I had paid them before the due date. I'll believe them once I get their cheque in my hands. Is'nt there someone you can see or call to check up on these people. They should honour all the people who have genuinely won from them.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Feb 02, 2011

    ... About a week ago I got that magnamail thing that said I won $25, 000 NZD so I gave it to my dad and said it was fake. Now today I just got another letter from Magnashitstix that said "you, Mr ____ are a CONFIRMED WINNER" and that I've won $20, 000 NZD. The funny thing is that the first letter looked extremly fake and I could tell that it couldn't be trusted but the one I had just got actually seems legitimate. Its got my neighbour hood, it says the winner's names will be published on the "Sunday Times" (which is our cities local newprint) and its got a signature "K. Wilson - Prize Draw Administrator". I'd really like $20, 000 but I dont want my money to be scammed away. HELP ME!

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Feb 09, 2011

    I am currently in the same position as most of yous and I am riding it through to the end of the close date of promotion which is May 2011.
    I have a Commercial Lawyer on board perusing this situation on behalf of all of us who may have been duped.
    I genuinely want to purchase some of the products which are of practical use to me and the price as well as postage was reasonable.
    So I will make my second order and see what happens. I had to wait 35 days for delivery.
    Apparently, I won the major prize of 25, 000 and was the only one to have recieved the winning/code number given as well as 2 others being the $5, 000 and pendant and earrings.
    But it gets better...who chooses which prize to give?
    Well just as I suspected, I got the 'cheap gold $2 looking (made in China) pendant and ear rings'.
    You see I had enquired on email 3x regarding the expedite of delivery on Magnamail not being true to their word, recieving payment for products as explained/promised on their brochures.
    At the end of January, I recieved a letter stating that I owed Magnamail $6. 70. However, in my calculations of the 2 products, postage and money order, payment overall was suffice.
    So I emailed Kelly and asked what was the $6. 70. additional payment for, to which I have not had an answer back yet.
    Furthur to my request, to add insult to injury, Magnamail spelt my name wrong, so I proceeded to email Kelly back to make corrections to my name.
    I had no reply back to my email. When I finally got my products, of course my name was still incorrectly spelt.
    I must say I have been 'chuckling to bits' at the fact that I am absolutely amazed at the 'audacity and no conscience factor of this Company'...really, is this clever marketing?... I think not...So I and my legal friends intend to bring ' Fair go or Target' into the equation to sort matters out fairly and also to warn others on 'YouTube'...liamangam

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Feb 16, 2011

    I feel like a dick. I thought I'd won $5, 000.
    I hope Fair Go investigates them or something.
    What a lame way to make money.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 26, 2011

    I wonder, there is nothing in the small print to indicate that their claim that you have "won 25, 000" is meant to be an entry to a drawer.
    Why doesn't someone go and see a lawyer about this?

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Apr 02, 2011

    Well. I always thought they have interesting products but I was uncomfortable because of the "you just won $xxx" they have on their flyer, and I thought I google the word magnamail and scam and I found few interesting pages including this one. I would have normally thrown the flyer straight to recycle but what puzzles me is that it came with the AA magasine called Directions (http://www.aa.co.nz/aadirections), which is a reputable magazine for a reputable organisation in New Zealand. How could they get AA to include their catalog into their magazine? I am astonished. Anyway, from the comments above and in other pages it is clear I won't spend a dollar on these scamming thieves..

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Apr 22, 2011

    My catalogue says I have won $25, 000, a pendant & $5000 cash. I remembered the sayings - "All that glitters is not gold" and "if it looks too good to be true, then it probably isn't true."
    Then I just googled the company, knowing I would find letters of complaint, which of course, I did. It is pretty easy really unless you are among the first few unlucky customers.
    I had planned to spend quite bit, but now I won't spend 1 cent. So thanks guys for posting your complaints.
    LMS

    +1 Votes
  • Pe
      Apr 30, 2011

    My daughter and I have both won $5, 000 and a pendant. Our numbers also match the $25, 000 but the fine print on that one read to me as being put into a winning draw not an instant prize.

    Of the $5, 000 and the pendant it says put in your order to the value of $50 and you will receive ONE of the prizes, with nowhere to choose which prize. So I'm guessing I know which one we'd both get if we bought from them.

    It's a definite scam and I'm surprised they've got away with it this long.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Aug 28, 2019

    @peeved4sure How can it be a scam if it says you have won one of these prizes if you order from them and that if you do put an order in you will go into a draw where you may be lucky enough to win the dollar amount they are offering as a prize. You don't have a chance to win anything if you don't pay someone for your entry to go in the draw as I understand it. If you want a chance to win the lotto you pay someone for the ticket that gives you that chance even though you know your chances of winning anything at all is next to none, at least with Magnamail you get the chance to win money and even if you don't win the money you have been chosen to win a smaller prize. Not everyone gets that but you did. Plus the money you spent to enter the draw bought you something from their catalogue. So you actually got a return on your money regardless of whether or not you won any prize at all. Isn't that a better deal than the very slim chance that you have if you spend your money on lotto ? Just my opinion you make your own mind up. I have never had an issue with anything I bought from Magnamail and have never won any money but am always happy with what I bought from them. I am never happy if I spend money on lotto and get nothing in return.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      May 03, 2011

    I AGREE WITH EVERYONE HERE
    Got the magnamail scam catalogue also and I believe all instant prizes are rigged to be a cheap "made in China" prize with the purchase of any item over $50. Also you win a chance to win $25000.

    0 Votes
  • El
      May 04, 2011

    I "won" the only $25, 000 prize in Australia so did my boyfriend who lives at another address. My friend "won $5, 000 and so did my nan lol. Surely this has got to be illegal but I guess its a great way to get people to spend up on rubbish products!!

    -1 Votes
  • Gc
      May 09, 2011

    yes this magnama ### is all ###

    0 Votes
  • Je
      May 09, 2011

    I got a catalogue, Yes you have definitely won!!! $409, 555 in prizes, scratch off all silver panels!!! You will definitely win a share of $400, 000 worth of cash, and prizes in our latest draw...ONe of these prizes matches your unique claim number! I won $25.000, $5000, and a elegant pendant... It said, This is no hoax, Many people, when they receive a notice like this, refuse to believe their good fortune, and throw their documents away...To claim, receive your prize you have to buy one of their products...I actually was going to buy a product, to get my prize $25, 000...I type in magnamail on internet, and it came up with magnamail scams! Thanks guys for commenting, I won't be wasting a cent! It dishonest, and I am surprise they are in business after 35 years! That they get away doing that here in New Zealand, SCAMMING, Dodgy company!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
      May 10, 2011

    New to the club I am --I just received my winning letter yesterday and it was sooo good to finally make use of my empty Recycle Bin..
    It was a good feeling knowing you won something but hey, who are we kidding -lmao!! Nothing is for free!! I haven't seen anything soo fabulously awful and cunning as those "You have won $5, 000" words..it's like inner torment.

    Magnamail -get a life!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      May 10, 2011

    On the 09/05/11 I found an envelope in my letterbox. It was very eye-catching in yellow and red, with bold headings uch as 'Priority Delivery' or 'Classified Offical Winner Documents'. I opened it to find a brochure from a company called 'MAGNAMAIL'. On the front cover, it bold writing it said 'Congratulations, you have won!' It was written that I had a UNIQUE CLAIM NUMBER which "no one else in Australia has received", and my claim number was behind the silver panel for $25, 000 prize money. Below, there were three silver panels for a garnet ring, $5000.00 cash and garnet pendant. My unique claim number was behind the silver panels for the $5000.00 cash and the garnet pendant.

    The interesting thing about this, was that I had to PLACE AN ORDER for one of the ITEMS IN THE CATALOGUE TO WIN THE PRIZE, this required me SENDING OFF MY CREDIT CARD DETAILS and NAME.
    The other odd thing about this, was that the envelope was not addressed to me directly, it looked as though thousands of these envelopes/catalogues had been bulked printed and this posted into every odd letter box in the area.

    PEOPLE THIS IS A FRAUD. DO NOT BUY INTO IT. IF YOU HEAR OR KNOW OF ANYONE WHO HAS HAD THIS EXPERIENCE, WARN THEM NOT TO BUY INTO IT.

    This is classic FALSE ADVERTISING, and the very PURPOSE of COMPANIES like MAGNAMAIL is to PREY ON THE VULNERABLE AND NEEDY.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      May 10, 2011

    Similiar story but I noticed on mine with the apparent $409, 555 up for grabs it actually has on the cover and inside page, the word ONE highlighted and in capital letters, in the sentence you have definately won ONE of the prizes that match your unique claim number. As in you don't get the $25000, the $5000 and the pendant, just one of the prizes, which would probably be the $2 chinese pendant, it took me a few reads to pick up on that, but I guess that's how they can get away with it. As for the lying about delivery times and overcharging, that is definately worth a complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      May 10, 2011

    wuhuu mi mother just won 30, 000 NZD cash and a elegant garnet pendant (made in china) ... lol well lucky I looked up the net for her otherwise she would've brought things that were all made from China. Well I think they have done there mailing around Porirua, NZ this week I wonder where else they have delivered to?

    Who can we give this to? Consumers maybe or Target or Fair Go, I'll give it a try =D

    0 Votes
  • Da
      May 10, 2011

    Haha got my magnamail wining ticket aswell of $5000 and elegant garnet pendant.
    Yep got mine in the mail today and I'm in Titahi Bay, Porirua.
    What a joke. Complete bullocks that they get away with this stuff.
    Readers Digest is just as bad.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      May 11, 2011

    Take the time to read the legal fine print. It is clear from section 6 in the terms and conditions of the competition that you have won one prize and are in the draw for the other prizes one being $25, 000 and one prize of $5, 000. Whilst I disagree with the marketing methods employed they have spelled out exactly what they are doing. Don't complain when you have parted with your cash, but haven't taken the time to read the fine print.

    0 Votes
  • Tk
      May 13, 2011

    thankz guyz now i'm nt goin to give this wankers a cents...lol

    +1 Votes
  • Uf
      May 13, 2011

    magnamail yuus suck ! . wat bullkraap !
    touch yourself lol

    and everyone on this paage? yuus have no fai'ai LOL dumb for even falling for it lols oh well, lesson learnt

    +1 Votes
  • Ly
      May 22, 2011

    I also received a unique code... which claimed l had won $25, 000.00. Then to add to my excitment, l also won a further $5, 000.00, as if l had'nt slammed right into lady luck, l also won a garnet pendent. That l was'nt to excited over, rubies would have been better. I showed the brochure to my two daughters and two of their friends, all agreed that as they read and understood the brochure, l had infact won these prizes, just had to order something out of the Magnamail Catalogue within 14 days. You cant imagine my excitment. I have one wish in life, it's on my bucket list. I am 53 years of age, and lost my Mother when l was 17. She wished to be cremated and her ashes placed in the same grave as her parents overseas in Europe. All l have ever wanted was to sit at her grave site and place a bouquet of flowers on it. Thanks Magnamail you gave me hope for a day. I have a friend who is a solicitor and l will most definatly be showing this brochure to him. Maybe we should all get together and sue them. Magnamail you are what l refer to as low lifes, there are far more decent ways of selling products.

    +1 Votes
  • Ha
      Aug 28, 2019

    @Lyn 58 Don't blame anyone other than yourself. You did not read everything. You wanted to win and that is all you wanted to read. It says quite clearly that you need to buy a product from their catalogue to go into the draw to have a chance to win $25, 000 or a chance to win $5, 000. Even if you don't win you have still won, in your case, I believe you said a neck lace plus you will receive what ever it was you bought from there catalogue. You got something for the money you spent to be in the draw for a chance to win the bigger prize. What did you get for all the money you have spent on buying lotto tickets even though you know the chance of winning anything is next to nothing in return for your money. Not everyone can win the big prize in any chance game but at least you get a return for your money even if you lose, if you buy something from Magnamail. Perhaps their products come from China, I have not checked that, but so what nearly everything you buy these days comes from China. You can of course spend more money and buy Italian or German etc. products if you can afford to do that but everyday items usually come from China. I don't get why you are complaining about Magnamail. You know if you look up any product you can think of you will always find someone complaining about it. There are people who specialise in whinging on these sites. It makes no difference if you use Magnamail or not to me but by you not using them it gives me a better chance of winning their big prizes and that makes me happy, happy, happy. I want to win the big money. Oh by the way, surely you don't really feel it is Magnamail's fault (or even Lotto's fault) that you may not be able to fulfil your bucket list dream. Maybe you could request help to do this on a fund raising site.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
      May 26, 2011

    SCAM! SCAM! SCAM! PEOPLE ... BEWARE - IF IT IS NOT FROM BOMBAY IT IS ALIVE AND WELL HERE IN AUSTRALIA. I MATCHED MY APPARENTLY "UNIQUE" NUMBER WHICH MATCHED ONLY ONE OF THE SCRATCHIES (YES, ONLY ONE) WHICH SUPPOSEDLY WON ME $5, 000. (Brochure 2112A) TO BE HONEST I WAS SCEPTICAL BUT THOUGHT THAT TO WIN IT YOU HAVE TO BE IN IT! WRONG.
    MY PRIZE WHICH WAS A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT NUMBER AND A CHEAP PENDANT FROM CHINA! I CHALLENGED MAGNAMAIL AND WAS READ THE 'DISCLAIMER' THAT ALLEGEDLY SAID THAT TWO NUMBERS MUST MATCH????????????? MAGNAMAIL, READ YOUR PROMOTIONAL LITERATUR, ESPECIALLY THE FRONT COVER. I AM NOW RETURNING MY PURCHASES THAT ENTITLED ME TO A WIN.
    D***************N

    +1 Votes
  • Wi
      May 30, 2011

    Magnamail is a load of B*#@!8+* someone needs to do something about this & stop these people from scamming & ripping people off, you will never win the $ prizes, they will send you a cheap $2 pendant guaranteed just for you to order something from their cheap line of product, what losers

    0 Votes
  • Ae
      Jun 23, 2011

    I too have had my hopes dashed in this scam-over $20, 000, which of course I scratched the winning number for. Where do they get off, dashing people's dreams like that-when I phoned them, it sounded like the receptionist was very well rehersed and seasoned in getting out of it. What a crapppy company with crappy crappy products.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 23, 2011

    yea its pretty stink but like that guy was saying u havnt ben scammed if they tell u things that shouldve given it away that they arent trustworthy' the "give away" to th scam in the terms and conditions is the bit where they say winners hav ben preselected by a computer and then they store the names of winners/claim number for future reference when winning matching entries "forms" are submitted. ###. because none of the catalogues are addressed to any particular person, im pretty sure im not th only 1 in nz that has the unique number [protected], id like to know if theres others out there with that number'

    0 Votes
  • Ae
      Jun 23, 2011

    i'm going to take the australian branch to civil court-will let you know how it goes :)-pretty sure I can get 20 grand out of them, and if not- victory to the people whose hopes they destroy.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
      Jul 01, 2011

    My family and I just received a magazine with the same scratch panels from Magnamail and I was questioning the validity of this competition too provided our 'unique code' matched THREE of the four prizes when they say 'you've definitely won ONE of the items.

    As much as I would like to believe that I have won $25, 000, $5, 000 and a clock - forgive me but can that be REAL magnamail???? PLEASE I dont think so!!!

    THANKS EVERYONE for verifying that this is NOT REAL..i encourage everyone else to do the same - and just dump it in the bin and not buy into it.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Jul 21, 2011

    I wonder why this magazine is still around although it gives false hope.I myself got this magnamail magazine today n it says I will definitely win ONE (w capital letters) of the prizes but when I scratched the silver panels (all of them).there are 3 out of 4 panels showed the same number as my "unique claim number".the prizes are $25, 000, $5000 cash n verdigris clock.I nearly fell for it but then I felt something isn't right so I googled it n found this.thanks so much for the info.I hope no one will fall for this dodgy magz.cheers

    0 Votes
  • Lk
      Jul 23, 2011

    thanks guy for your comment. I was skeptical too about the winning but now my head is cleared. Not spending a cent to them. The government or the triple ccc should come in to start investigating. L.K

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Jul 29, 2011

    so, is any off this true at all, i have heard off people winning but not too sure if it is true at all ?
    so i come accross this site about all the bull ### . of magnimal so im not going too bother doing it especially whe there fore u have too buy something first i think, from everything else being said they just want my money .so thanx this site i almost bought things i neccerely didnt need . just too claim a prize i wasnt goin too get !!!

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Jul 31, 2011

    same case as another one in the forum - got the material form the trustworthy AA magazine as always... i tossed it into the recycled pile as soon as i got it out of the plastic bag but my 8YO girl got it out this morning and asked if she could play the silver scratch when i was still asleep in bed. she read it out saying we have won one of the following - $25000, $5000 and a clock (i now realised how smart she is - see! only winning ONE of those matching...). the unique number didn't match the 4th item which is the dinning set. then she wanted to buy something so that we could enter into the draw for a "SURE" win item. i had a think and realised if we did that what are we going to get ? simple maths and no brainer really - a clock of course! however, a 14 day deadline was what puzzled me. there wasn't a date of the mail and no actual deadline stated. if we really put in the order they might just say you missed the deadline... these dodgy people have 35years of experience to take them to this level and see they are doing exactly what they have published. guys, don't let your first impression (excitement) to take control of your common sense...

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Aug 17, 2011

    I have had the opportunity to be scammed by magnamail many times now. I brought my last product not that long ago now, and will never try my luck again as now after so long of wasting my money Im finally satisfied that this company will never give me the prizes I was promised. Im young and work fulltime so I have enough money to buy some of these cheap products to get myself into a draw, but preying on the old people on the pension is just downright revolting, it makes me sick to my stomach.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
      Oct 02, 2011

    I agree with what has been said here I ordered stuff and have got 8 gold necklaces 7 are the same made in China too, a big fat Whoopee!!! I don't like gold am allergic to it. Then I got something else not expensive but I am the proud owner of 2 world clocks...lol
    I just sent feed back to them saying that I know the money and better class of prizes go to Australians!!

    Fernbird

    0 Votes
  • Fl
      Oct 29, 2011

    People, it doesn't say that you have won $20, 000/$, 5000 it says you have won one of either a) Big cash prize b) Medium cash prize or c) cheap from china item.
    For each mailing there is a prize pool, like 1x 20, 000, 1x 5, 000, 3047x binoculars. So you're probably going to win the binoculars.

    The reason nobody gets the big prizes is that the catalog's that would have won them go in the bin.
    Not really a scam just deceiving if you don't read the small print.

    0 Votes

Post your comment