SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Macyspoor place to work

Review updated:

I was fired because of my clothing all i was told was to wear black and I did the girl that I was working with wore jeans and a ratty t-shirt, which is not required dress code but I was fired with no warning it is unfair and injust i dont recommend them for an employer or otherwise.

He
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ga
      Apr 03, 2008

    WHAT A BIG PAIN IN *&%$!

    A Macy's sales person twisted my arm to open an account so would save $10 on a gift I was buying. I saved $10. but they had enrolled me in credit insurance automatically, and so now I only saved $9. and I had to make 3 phone calls or more to reverse the $1 they deducted and to get un-enrolled.

    I paid off the card before they reimbursed me the $1o and now I can't de-activate my account. There's a balance where they owe me a few cents and because of that they said my account will remain active. I had called them more than once because I don't want the jerks sending me statements on a card I paid off and have tried to close. They keep sending me junk mail anyways and statements. Ofcourse, the people at the store will have nothing to do with it, so all of my calls have involved being on hold, etc.

    +1 Votes
  • Ho
      Feb 20, 2009

    I agree that macys isnt the best place to work, but wheres the rest of your story? did the girl wearing jeans and a tshirt work in the trendy IMPULSE dept.? are you a teenager who always called in? or didnt do your job correctly?

    +1 Votes
  • Mr
      Mar 07, 2009
    Best Best Advice

    My personal experience with Macy's was the worst enviroment I'd ever experienced. Wish I could write out more, but I've only this little box to write in :P

    Macy's Medford Oregon Store is simply a disaster. The General Manager Joe McGrew is an unfit and uneducated tyrant who follows his own rules and makes his own policies.
    He has managed to get rid of 90% of all male employees since converting from Maier and Frank. Mr. McGrew spends the majority of his workday in his office... the rest of his day is spent looking down the blouses of young women he employs. Ask any of them if he "minds his space or gets TOO close!
    Joe McGrew is married to the daughter of a former Maier and Frank Poobah who is a huge Macy's share holder no doubt. This conveinient situation has worked out well for Mr. McGrew so far, but the failing economy will put this creep on the chopping block where he belongs.

    "It's only a matter of time Joe."

    Lastly, during my employment Joe McGrew assaulted me on the job. I reported his abusive and unprofessionalism to what Macy's calls their "In Store Solutions" Investigators, (A Human Resources Division if I'm not mistaken) in hopes that Mr. McGrew would be corrected. He was not, and continued on tyranically...long after I left the company. (I am a former Manager at said location above)

    NEW MACY'S EMPLOYEES //WARNING// DO NOT AGREE TO "In Store Solutions Arbitration" // this will be offered to you upon hiring, and is a loophole from which managers who harrass, discriminate and abuse their associates. // IN STORE SOLUTIONS FAILED ME AND ALL THOSE WHO USED IT TO TRY AND BETTER THEIR SITUATIONS AFTER BEING HARRASSED, DISCRIMINATED AGAINST AND MORE BY MR. MCGREW! Other well established groups have been contacted with this story.

    Thank you for taking an interest in this post
    Sincerly
    Mr. Once

    +6 Votes
  • Dr
      Apr 01, 2009

    Hello Mr. Once,

    I have recently been hired by Macy's (not in Oregon) and I do have my Solutions InStore Opt Out card signed and ready to be mailed off. During orientation, I immediately became suspicious of their arbitration policy. If I were to ever become an unfortunate victim of a crime, I would want my day in court, not in an final and binding arbitration room.

    My concern is...
    I have to mail my arbitration opt-out card within 30 days of my hire date, which coincides with my employment probation period.

    Since you were a manager, do you know Macy's policy with employees who opt-out of SIS? Will Macy's red-flag me as a potential law suite and not continue my employment?

    Thank you, DR.C

    +1 Votes
  • Lu
      Apr 28, 2009

    I work at Macy's in Boise, Id. My problem is with the many associates who are hostile, rude and arrogant and give you the silent treatment, boss you around, and talk down to you. I will report to Corporate Solutions, but I don't anticipate that they will provide any relief let along a "solution" to the problem. I believe that co-workers guilty of this abusive behavior are known as workplace bullies. They bring down morale and interfere with work. Unfortunately, management just looks the other way. It is a pathetic commentary on what can result from extreme competitiveness that brings out the absolute worst in some people.

    +2 Votes
  • Ab
      Aug 23, 2009
    gift - SMS REGARDING WON A GIFT
    India

    dear sir
    i have issued a sms saying that you have won 500000 pounds in CHERVON mobile promo2009 to claim price send your details to us via email : [protected]@live.com
    kindly look into this matter

    +2 Votes
  • He
      Dec 05, 2009

    I was just recently hired at Macy's and was told to come in to fill out paperwork and when I asked when I was starting they could not tell me but when I was there and was kept busy by doing paperwork videos etc that was considered working time but was never told this. Not to mention HR was extremely snippy when I said I misunderstood to be nice which I did not because they lied and were not clear about things. Makes me wonder what else they have in store for me. Literally. After reading all these complaints I have to wonder that I should even take this job.

    +3 Votes
  • Kd
      Jan 21, 2010

    I also had a very bad experience with macys. I was hired seasonal and promised a full time position in the mens department. I loved who i worked with ... and didnt hate the job. when the end of my seasonal contract came near i was told they didnt know if they could keep me full time or not... that was about the 10th of jan. since then on the 18th i was approached with a contract that lowered my pay by 50 C and was dated the 10th. so for 8 days i was working for a different pay rate and had no idea. I was told it was their fault they didnt have time to get me the paper. needless to say that contract only covered 14 days (2 weeks) so i was only guaranteed employment for 4 more days after the 18th. I do not recommended Macys as a place to work to anyone! this similar act was done to many other employees, however they didnt say anything because they count on their job. i wish you the best.

    +2 Votes
  • i had the same kind of experience to work with the macys san francisco though an employee can buy for their friends and family but can not be compensated from them so i was suspended because of this reason and they didn't give me any warning and just ask either i resign or suspended and the local union 101 sucks employees are wasting their money towards them they don't do any thing at all.

    +1 Votes
  • Pa
      Jun 09, 2010

    I was fired from Macys for having epileptic seizures on the floor due to the lack of help and irregular lunches and work schedule. I worked alone with no fellow associate. I have had this diability since I was 15 with no problems. Macy's do not look out for their help. Security saw me waiting on customers alone on the floor having a full blown seizure with noone to help. I was not ask about my health from Security or Managers but I was fired after 25 years of service. I could not get to my medication. My doctor couldn't even get through the next day.

    0 Votes
  • Ic
      Jul 09, 2010

    well I work for Macy's downtown st.louis this has got to be the worst job ever, I never imagined that this company were such major losers, [censor]s, [protected]@[protected]@king people to work for...first of all they give you this loyalty goal and they are very hard on you about getting people apply for credit cards and they also give you a daily goal...well if you have never been to the downtown st.louis macys and let me tell you...it's seven floors tall and you'll be lucky to see 30 people in the store at one time...so this loyalty goal is ridiculous...the way they treat their employees is unbelievable...in my particular store our store manager Suzy Stone is such a [censor] a partner sometimes comes into the store gives attitude to the employees along with alot of provoking and then goes upstairs to tell...and then we get attitude from the store manager...this place is the most unprofessional, unfriendly place I have ever worked for and I can't wait to get out of their...oh its so much more to tell and please forgive me for my grammar I saw this page and got excited...but I do not recommend working for macy's these complaints are for real and definitely legit!!!

    +5 Votes
  • La
      Sep 17, 2010

    I was discriminated by Macy's medford because they didn't log how I left when I previously worked there. Sally and Joe mcgrew need to get off their high horse, its a [censor]ing department store, most people that work there are trying to make it through school etc. Its not what they call a career. Sally and Joe if Macy's is all you have in your little power stroke world then we can all just sit back and laugh at this [censor] department store you have just a small portion of control over...lol

    +2 Votes
  • Qu
      Nov 30, 2010

    I'm a student working on a project for school and I have had no results when contacting the store to get information on their in store solutions. Would anyone be able to provide some information on the processes around their in store solutions, what the steps are in the process etc.?

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Dec 08, 2010

    I'm working at Macys Westfield Fashion Square Shermnanoaks California as part time Sales Associate. I feel out of place every time I work at my department because majority of my co-workers are Armenians (only 3 of us are non-armenian). They always keep talking in their language even I'm only 1 feet away from them. Even my manager is Armenian. Hope they can make a policy where they should speak engish-only especially if there's non-armenian working with them. And also, I noticed that my Armenian manger is not equal to everyone. Every time I ask to change scheduale all she will say is (switch to someone or else I cant's do anything about it), But if my Armenian co workers will ask her to change their schedule, she will change it right away. Im a student, I asked for this particular days not to work because I have class those days. She said no again. but she gave off for those Student Armenians off for those days they have class... Also, we have a 10 mins break if we are working 4 hour or more. On days that I'm working with other 2 Armenian co-workers... all of a sudden you cannot find them... they are taking longer breaks. I even caught them chit-chatting with our manager in their language inside her office thenwhen they see me, they stop talking...I'm still searching how I can make a complain about this thing. I do belive that this Macys has lots of RACISM going on. They should not tolerate this kind of act. I feel sorry for non-armenians working at this Macys.

    +4 Votes
  • La
      Jan 09, 2011

    the bottom line here is that Macy's is a poor poor place to work the concern for the employees does not exist!

    +4 Votes
  • Hk
      Jan 10, 2011

    I always liked Macys and I really like working there until after they suspended/fired me for honest mistake which I confess about it, there is not so many people around the world to confess their own guilt or mistake but I did, I experienced and understood at the macys Hixdale NY that an employee can buy for their friends and family, nonetheless I have given a gift card which I didn't use for couple of months and I really didn't needed to at that time, so I give it to my in-laws she used it so I ring it and used it for a cloth and payed the balance by depbit, I still didn't remember whether or not I have used that gift card before, after exactly 4 months they call me to office and questioned me for the same gift card worth of 12$ fraud, which I barely remember, they showed me all the transaction, even showing me the transaction honest to God I still didn't remember, once I remembered I told my manager that this could have happened without any of my intentions, but It was a honest mistake, I have never done anything but being a loyal employee to Macy's, I kept telling the HR and my manager that I have not done intentionally nor aware of that gift being used. I guess my honest confession I told my manager and HR hit me back.

    +1 Votes
  • En
      Feb 07, 2011

    I worked at Macy's for 6 months. A loyal customer of mine had given me the remainder of her gift card that was left after a purchase. I thought that it might be unethical to keep it but it only had $9.03 so I decided to keep it and I eventually used it to buy a shirt from INC. About 2 months after this incident, I was called into the Loss Prevention office. The LP manager was very nice and calmly explained the methods they use to prevent loss. I thought he might had been doing this as a courtesy because I had absolutely no idea that I was about to get in trouble. He eventually asked me "So when's the first time you stole from Macy's?" and he pulled out the transaction information for my gift card purchase. I was horrified as he continued to ask if I had ever stolen from the register, or taken merchandise. I had to pay the $9.03 on the spot and they immediately suspended me despite my attempts to explain what happened. It was embarrassing and humiliating. Only corporate can make the decision to fire an employee so you have to wait until someone finally calls you to find out if you're canned.

    I loved my department and my co-workers but Macy's as a company is entirely too political which is to be expected from a larger corporation. They pressure their employees so much that it creates a hostile working environment. It makes customers and employees uncomfortable.

    +2 Votes
  • Wa
      Apr 08, 2011

    I don't work or never worked here, but I did apply twice. The first time was about 6 months ago and was invited to schedule an interview, so I attempted and the 1 date and 2 time slots that were available didn't work, I tried calling the local store's HR department and was transfered about three different times and wasted about 15 minutes on the phone attempting to speak with someone to schedule for another day. Well, I had to leave a message and never got an answer and every person I did speak with told me they didn't have an answer and would transfer me to someone else. I thought screw them, this is really unacceptable and they need to improve their HR dept.

    I applied again and the link was broken so I couldn't schedule, so yesterday, I contacted the local HR dept. again and left another message. I followed up today and was able to speak to someone, I said " Good Morning" and she paused for about 3 seconds and then said it back, but she had a tone like I was bothering her. After that, I explained that I left a message and never heard back from anyone and I wanted to follow up. She told me that I didn't hear from anyone because, they don't deal with that and if I wanted to contact someone, then I need to email [protected]@macys.com. I didn't understand why nobody had the professionalism or courtesy to call me back and explain that to me or even how the HR dept. doesn't handle scheduling interviews until reading these posts.

    I am not going to ever apply there again and I hope they go out of business, they suck.

    +1 Votes
  • Fo
      Apr 17, 2011

    Okay, here's my story. I work in the Macys located in Santa Ana, C.A. Westfeild mall. I started there around Oct. I applyied for Cosmetics Part Time, in the end I was placed for the Fine Jewelry...and to my surprise as an on--call. This really pissed me off, but non-the less i took it. My manager is 26 yrs old...and a perve. He has been reported for well being a creep, and making sexual remarks and we were all questioned toward his behavior. He never coached me, the whole team did. I have to say, the associated i work with are all very nice, and pleasant to be around with, i have become very close with each, my manager being young he somewhat understands me. Long story short, he lead me on thinking i would get the part time slot...he ended up giving it to a girl from the clothing dept. someone with no product knowledge, in my opinion i think he liked her. Im always there for him when he needs someone, always doing favors, AND the whole team backed me up by letting him knw that i was right for the spot. He FORBIDS me talking to another associate, a guy, but when its the girl with the "chest" theres never a problem. He's creepy, stupid and an [censor]. Now i have a manager working on my case, im hopeing to get transfered out of there. Also the daily goals are ridiculous!! Its hard to make your goal AND open new accounts when every person HAS A MACY'S CARD!! 3 months into this job, i have suffered from insomnia, manic/depression, anemia (lack of nutrition due to stress), anxiety/paranoa and panic attacks/emotional breakdowns. I'm not well, i need out of that dept. i hope i get transfered into cosmetics. Its getting to me...

    +1 Votes
  • Br
      Apr 19, 2011

    Macy's is the most unprofessional place I have ever interviewed with. When you apply for a job on the internet and are called in for an interview it is never for the job you applied for. I worked at Macy's flagship store this past Christmas and the Manager was nasty from the moment I met her. All they cared about was getting people to open credit card accounts. Most of the people were from overseas and they don't have Macy's outside the U.S. Also, my hours were 4 hours a day, 3 days a week, so how many credit cards could I open with so little hours. There was constant fighting between the employees hired. Very little respect and a poor work ethic. I walked out on them a week early because I was sick of preparing for combat each day. One customer I waited on told me how rude a fellow employee was to me and could not believe her behavior. There is reversed discrimination there and I was thinking of reporting them. Half of them were dressed like pigs, I dressed in a professional manner, yet I was treated like I was garbage. I was told I did very well with customers etc. I don't know what they are looking for but I have been told by numerous people how rude and nasty the help is. I saw a regular employee yell at a customer and was shocked by the way she treated the shopper. This store is not a place a person should work if they want respect and loyalty.

    +3 Votes
  • Br
      Apr 19, 2011

    Macy's discriminates against certain people and everyone knows that. I was considering reporting them for this practice. Also, I worked at the flagship store this past Christmas and while waiting on customers I would hear fighting between fellow employees breaking out. It was so unprofessional. The Manager I was assigned to for the season was nasty from the moment I met her and opened her mouth at me in front of customers as she was walking in the store. Why, I approached her because a customer was returning a bracelet for the third time. Before she even listened to what I had to say she yelled "you don't call me, you ask one of your fellow workers." When she shut her mouth long enough to hear what I had to say, she said " Oh, I have to talk to her and she went over to the woman and told her she should choose something else and...so I was right to approach her. A customer pulled me aside and told me how rude my fellow employee was and they were so turned off by her. They of course bought what I showed them. Also, I was told I did well with customers but Macy's won't hire me for regular work. I have seen full time employees verbally attack customers. The Flagship store in NY. I walked out a week early because I could not work with immature, angry seasonal workers anymore and I went to Human Resources to tell them. They thanked me and said others just walk out on them without saying a word.
    There is so much more but you all understand. All Macy's cares about is getting people to open credit accounts but all the people I was selling to were from overseas so how could I open up credit accounts. Plus I was limited in hours 4 a day 3 times a week and most people don't want credit and to continually push them is unprofessional.I really want to report them but then I think why bother as customers are turning away from them because of the people they employ.

    +1 Votes
  • Il
      May 17, 2011

    The managers were always onto us and never said anything to people who actually were guilty or should be kept an eye on. LP harassed us every now and then and when I finally decided to quit and put on my two weeks notice, they called me and told me to come to the LP room while I was on the floor. I went in there and nobody was around and they started asking me questions, harassing me with their words. They accused me of doing price adjustments. I said i could have easily returned the item and re-bought it, it would be the same. They said, customers can do that but u cant... So I said, do whatever u want to do, but i have already put on my two weeks and this is my last day, and I will go now and there is no way you can stop me. They said, ow ok, we didnt know it was ur last day, but boy, what a last day, right? u are good to go.. I said good bye. They used to pay us the minimum wage with no raise for a year i worked there. I opened them around 200 actual macys credit cards and was #16 on the region for loyalties. But they didnt care and never showed any appreciation...So yah, they are "THE WORST POSSIBLE" employers to work for.

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      May 19, 2011

    I have worked for Macy's 7 Months. I have been verbally harassed by other associates. I had never spoked back to her because I was always afraid of losing my job. My manager and HR NEVER did anything about the situation even after many complaints. Customers always came by and sexually harassed me. My manager & LP did nothing. I faced emotional distress to a point where I would even cry and work and when I would go home. I failed my college courses because everything was so overwhelming. I have been getting paid 8.90 for the past 7 months. They give me only 10-20 hours a week. They are firing me this week. Even though I was a top seller for the department, and customers loved me. They are firing me because i bought a ring for my grandmother, me and my aunt decided to go half and half, so I was accused of allowing her to use my Macys employee discount. They are disgusting. It is very similar to working for Mcdonalds, of not worst. This is a place where young people go in to make extra cash but they are so naive and have no clue that Macys takes advantage of them. Please, do yourself a favor and never allow your friends and family to work in that type of environment. I am still going through emotional stress, and seeing a doctor for depression.

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Jun 08, 2011

    Macy's Ocala Florida - A terrible place to work. The VP is not a good store executive. I was bullied, attacked and lied to. There is no training to speak of. No one in my department helped me learn my job. My manager never explained procedures except to tell me my "fangs" need to come out. I thought working for Macys for would be a good experience, I was totally wrong.
    Its all about the bottom line and pushing your customers to buy more than they can really afford. I watched merchandise returned the next day. Estee Lauder & Clinque rule Macy's cosmetic department. They want you to sell no matter what the customer says, push the products I was told. Sales goals were at 2 products per customer. Push, Push, Push !!!
    Macys is not good employment.

    +2 Votes
  • Id
      Jun 11, 2011

    I am also a macy's employee in florida. Reading these comments are all so true. Florida stores are strictly commission. Why? Layers of micromanagers make their monthly visits to your store, by the way they do not acknowledge you. The turn over in our store is crazy. A back round check is a personality check online. The heart and soul comes from the manager of the store, our manager does not have that. Store credits when did macy's go into the banking business. Tell the ceo to get his ### out of the country club and clean his stores up. Some of his employees like me did care about macy's at one time. Thanks for reading.

    +2 Votes
  • Bo
      Jun 16, 2011

    I worked for Macy's for nine months and had no issues with management or security. Then one day I was pulled off the sales floor into the small HR office with the brand new security manager who had only worked there 2 months and he interrogated me for an hour and a half about my employment. He kept telling me "I cannot help you if you cannot help yourself. Lying gets you no where". I never lied to him, but he was asking about specific days from months previous and expected me to remember details. He showed me transaction forms and I told him I never lied, but if I was in the wrong I was sorry. He told me that I was suspended, but not to worry just to call in the next day. I called in and was told the next day I was fired and not to return to work. I was furious! I busted my ### for this company and they never provided proper training or attention for their employees needs. They never even gave me my deserved vacation days until I called corporate and asked about it. The corporate office always says something different from the store HR and general manage.r

    Macy's is a TERRIBLE place to work. If they ever offer you a job tell them they can shove it up their ###.

    +3 Votes
  •   Jul 07, 2011

    It sounds like all Macy's LP guys have something in common... they all think that they are legit officers of the law. I currently work at a Macy's store and the way LP treats associates is borderline harassment. There was an ongoing "investigation" in cosmetics at our store recently, and several of the girls were questioned extensively, using brute force and intimidation..which was little overboard (considering we were being questioned for taking home skin care samples without getting them approved by our manager--samples are no value items that we freely hand out to customers..and it just so happens that the cosmetic employees are the best cosmetics customers so it shouldn't have been an issue). They even went as far as putting a fake list of names in a file, right in front of us, and then would leave the room...giving us the "opportunity" to check the "confidential" file out while by ourselves. I dunno about your stores, but our Macy's has what I call The Loss Prevention Dungeon, fully equipt with handcuffs and everything down there! Luckily, Macy's greed and power hungry behavior will catch up with them eventually... have you seen the turnover in that store? Pathetic.

    +1 Votes
  • Ex
      Jul 08, 2011

    Does anyone know if you can still use any of the unused Macy's money if you are no longer an associate? I'm sure there is someone out there who was suddenly terminated, who had some Macy's money that wasn't redeemed yet.

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 09, 2011

    I asked that once, and was told "NO"...firmly. However.. if you live near another Macy's, you can use your Macy's money at other Macy's stores that don't know you aren't an employee of the company any longer (if that's the case). You can use your Macy's money at any store. I'm sure the reason that they don't want to accept left over Macy's money is because they're so effing greedy... like the $6 is really going to impact their sales for the day.

    -1 Votes
  •   Jul 09, 2011

    While I understand that they are property of the store, this particular employee was deserving of these two .3 ounce containers, as she had purchased a day and a night cream from me which came to a total of $500.00. If you had any type of cosmetic background, you would understand that the cosmetics employees are, by far, the best customers in cosmetics. Not only that, but it would be assumed that to sell a day cream that costs $240.00, it may be wise to have your beauty advisors use the products themselves, so they can fully back them when trying to sell them to new customers.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 03, 2011

    As everyone else here I agree that Macy's is by far one of the worst places to work. The company does not care about their employees. I worked in their Loss Prevention department so I was able to see a lot of the ### they pull. Although I loved many people I worked with, the company itself screws you any chance it gets. There are many bad apples that work in these stores and being in LP I didn't have to take their ###. But step on someones toes higher than you and kiss your ### goodbye. I've seen people get fired for one thing then another person does the exact same thing or worse and they still have their job. I am one of those people. An accident happens and I was made the example for everyone else. People have done much worse yet they still work there. I too called the "IN STORE SOLUTIONS" because my situation was complete horse [censored]e and everyone (including managers and even corporate people) knew it. Lot of good they did for me. I bled for this company...a lot, only to be screwed. Hell, even the guy who tried to get me fired got fired. They get away with what they want because make their own definitions to the terms they hold you to, so if they decide they don't like you anymore...theyll find a reason. I STRONGLY suggest not to work for MACYS.

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 03, 2011

    I can't speak for every LP department but I can say that you can't speak to what you DON'T know, and I know LP. For all the employees who get fired or questioned by LP...it's not for TWO samples or "oops, I didnt know I couldnt adjust the price. There's always more to it. If you got fired...accept responsibility for what you did. No LP department is going to talk to you just because you took 2 samples. Thats what your mngr is for. LP deals with patterns of policy violations and things that relate to theft. If you didn't read your policies or handbook that's nobodys fault but your own. And being a "legit officer" has nothing to do with it. I'm not bashing you, just stating what I know. True there are a lot of LP Dbags that have a power trip and need to be put in their place, but don't label us all for the [censored]es that somehow manage to get hired. I've done LP for a long time now and I love the job, and just as much as I love catching dirtbag thiefs I love having the ability to protect the people I work with. Macy's still blows, just not everybody that works there is bad.

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 04, 2011

    "No LP department is going to talk to you just because you took 2 samples."

    Ours did. It was a huge production... To put an end to taking samples period.. Questioning the masses, pulling us all off the floor one by one.. for hours at a time.

    What's up with the handcuffs that they keep in the LP dungeon? Do they ever actually use them? If I get called back to talk to LP and he won't let me leave, can I call 911? Can they actually use force? You would be a wealth of knowledge if you actually check back on this board.

    It's not that I do anything that directly violates Macy's policies, I just get sick of being treated like a criminal every day I work.. and it's only fair for me to annoy and hassle them, as much as they annoy and hassle me. I realize that their biggest loss (or so they say) is employee theft, but to treat everyone as a theif is just... ugh... frustrating.

    As as far as all LP being dbags, I haven't met one that wasn't. I've worked in retail for almost 10 years now.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Aug 24, 2011

    I worked for a Macy's in New Hampshire in women's shoes, and found it to be a horrible place to work. The turnover rate for associates is ridiculous. They are so desperate to have people work there, they don't even interview you. People are hired on the spot with no background, reference or employment checks whatsoever. All associates are treated as potential thieves. You have to carry a clear handbag so they can see the contents. If you do any shopping there, whether on your workday or day off, you have to call security so they can inspect your bags before you leave. The pay is slightly above minimum wage, but during the morning rallies, the store manager would tell employees to buy Coach handbags, fine jewelry and high end cosmetics to help them out with sales goals. The so-called managers there were unprofessional, poorly trained and often rude and condescending to associates. The few times I had to call a manager for assistance with a customer (which was always done as a last resort), my call was answered with an audible sigh. Some other associates were afraid to call a manager because they would get yelled at. I have had several bad experiences while employed there including witnessing associates bullying new associates and being a victim of bullying by other associates, being assaulted by a customer (he hit me with a box of shoes), and being interrogated by security for over an hour and a half without cause. All of these issues were escalated to upper management and HR and nothing was done to resolve them. As for the bullying, I was told that there was nothing they could do and that in most stores, you have to be a real [censored] to be hired in women's shoes so suck it up. Other associates that were bullied were told they should find other employment because they weren't tough enough to handle working there. After I was assaulted by a customer, the manager on duty told the customer "If you would like to file a complaint, I would be more than happy to assist you with that." I met with that manager, my manager and HR about that and the response was "I'm sorry your experience made you feel bad, but we have legal issues to consider when dealing with irate customers.". When I spoke to HR and my manager about the interrogation, all they said was "Sorry. We know you didn't do anything wrong. I'm sure you are very upset by this experience and that's a bad way to feel.". HR has a bad habit about talking about your feelings instead of what actually happened, as if what happened was not really wrong, it just made me feel bad. That was the last straw for me. I actually put my 2 weeks in before I secured other employment because it became so intolerable.

    +1 Votes
  • Mr
      Nov 01, 2011

    I applied for a holiday temp position but did not qualify. Well from what I am reading it must be the company that has all the faults. Really, does it take much efort or experience in retail to give the customer what they deserve. Also, I do not understand how a company can treat employees like criminals without cause, as it sounds like they do. I should count my blessing for not working for this Macy's.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
      Feb 28, 2012

    Wow i can really relate to everyones comments! I have worked at macy;s for almost 10 months and it has been miserable. The other associates are major two-faced backstabbers who pretend to be nice to your face while the whole time are stealing your customers and sales for themselves. The managers are mean and rude and i have been yelled at in front of customers, also was screamed at when my car broke down on icy roads on the way to work. I have had to go on anxiety medication due to the extreme stress of working there.I have noticed extreme favortism between the managers and certain co-workers.If you hang out at the bars and drink with the managers you are more valued than someone who is there to support her family.I am truly disgusted by what i have had to put up with and would never recommend macy's as a place to work unless you have already lost your mind and therefore will not be effected by this poor excuse for a career!

    +1 Votes
  • Do
      May 12, 2012

    Oh my goodness these are so true! Right now I'm a part timer in LA, CA Macy's. Last time during holidays when I was a recovery associate there, I had no idea that there are so much crap going on if you're a sales associate. Other associates were nice and still there are some. Back then I really enjoyed working there. That's the reason I wanted to work there again. But now I'm facing so many issues to work for Macy's. First of all they call so many associates for one single area in one shift and then expect us to meet our individual sales goal while using 1/2 registers. That's just so outrageous, right? And about the training, they don't give a ### how well we get trained. All they want us to "do" the video training so we can catch customers on the floors as soon as possible. After reading someone's mail here, now i know I have to do 12 credit on the next 90 days otherwise I'll get fired. Already i was thinking to quit and this credit thing will only speed it up for me. I also got anxiety attack, I even cried while coming back from works. So it's taking a big toll on me. At this point I think I would love to work in an environment where there is some decency and respect towards the employees even if they pay me less than the CA minimum wage. I'm done working at Macy's. And one last thing, like someone else has already said, I won't reccomend Macy's to work for and also tell everyone I know to not to shop in Macy's as well.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Nov 19, 2012

    i worke at the sanford fl location, they moved me around alot so i knew almost every dept, including mattresses and the soccr program.i was hired for assecoeries and eventually ended up there, i usually tripled my sales goals, custs always said how helpfull i was and the managers said i was great.i loved this job so much i wanted it to be my life, my career!i opened my cc accounts and thanks for sharing every week, like i said, i LOVED this job.one day "my" manager came to me and said-all the managers here know your name and really like you and want you in there dept, but i want to keep you here so im offering you a full time position in fine jewelry and in 6 months you will be a gsm(i think thats what their called, the ones who walk around checking on you) i was so happy to hear thy liked me so much, a few days before this i was working in mattresses and did well and found out there was an opening for a specialist, i mentioned offhandily to another mngr that id like to work in mattresses f/t and that i enjoyed it, the next day that same mngr gave me an instore app for that dept, wich i turned in to h.r.i didnt turn down the fine jewelry position, i just didnt like the thought of being behind a counter all day and wanted to do more research, i acually enjoy being "on the floor" assisting custs that way, something you cannot do in fine jewelry.well all of a sudden i started feeling like the mngrs were treating me different somehow, i cant explain it, i just felt it, on the day i was fired i worked all day, my full shift, tripled my goals, opened a cc, ", for some reason it didnt give me credit for opening that cc or macys money, so i told mia, my mngr and she said shell get me my macys money, i only wanted the credit for it proving i met my goal, all day was good, mia kept telling me thank you and good job, so on and so on.i noticed she was training someone in fine jewelry and thought"good, she found someone else i guess"i was told by that other mngr carmen how much id be making in mattresses and figured i got the position, boy was i wrong!after my shift mia said she has to speak to me, we went into h.r, she printed a paper out and said due to my attendence points she has to terminate me.WHAT??i didnt say a word and walked out.i alredy heard her saying earlier she "had" to close fine jewelry that day and was none to happy to be stuck doing that(not being able to sit in her office sucked i guess)i kinda felt responsible for that for some reason.there were times that as soon as i walked in a cust would approach me and i wouldnt clock in till i was done assisting them, within 10-15 min sometimes, also i use public transportation and they all knew that.the bus is late sometimes and i cant control that aspect, wich i always informed them of.to go from cloud 9 to devastation that fast really hurt me, everyone there loved me and i was good at my job and they knew it.another employee said i made a BIG mistake by applying for mattresses after mia offered me a position with her, she is th type of woman that has made many girls cry over their job performance, i believe she took it as a personal insult, wich it wasnt at all.if i was in jepordy of losing my job why didnt anyone speak to me?1 day i look at my points its fine, the next day, im negative points.how does that happen so fast ppl??im going to do the instore open door resolution and i pray it works.i am a single mom with 3 kids, i dont get child support or nothin.i live paycheck to paycheck and now what am i going to do?im asking them from 1 human to another to give me another chance, i dont even know how im going to pay my bills, let alone get my kids anything for x-mis.cant they write me up?or suspend me first?why fire me so fast?just days after 2 promotion offers!im desperat for any helpfull advice, thank you all-lost in florida_

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Dec 26, 2012

    I worked for macys 10 years if you include robinsons may, Without getting into too much detail, I was one of macys strongest associates I sold over 600, 000 dollars a year and opened 12 macys accounts per week, I loved my job, my only mistake, being Transexual, , Its probably not just macys cause everybody hates Us.But I would've hoped with my stellar performance and dedication my gender would've been overlooked, I recieved alot of harassment throughout my tenure and macys finally found a excuse to fire me, thanks macys, I dedicated my life to that job and being a 2nd class citizen the odds of unemployment for a freak like me is pretty low, so now pretty much my life is over, gave my life to that company, worked every shift every time, rarely ever missed a day, did everything I was asked, didn't do anything when I was demoted for changing my sex, opened as many as 14 accounts in one day, This person puts they opened 200 actual credit cards, try opening 600 credit cards. What a great way to treat a human being, now I have nothing and probably never will again

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Dec 28, 2012

    Is there any hope for a class action law suit against Macy's? Will a move on. org petition help to get this started?

    0 Votes

Post your comment