SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

M Models And Talent Management AgencyMModels and talent Agency Toronto Scam - M Models and talent Agency is a rippoff.

Review updated:

M models is a scam a rippoff. I signed up with M Model and talent few months ago and paid them $500 for printing my composite cards. I went to the photoshoot and never heard back from them ever since. No CASTINGS, GO SEES OR AUDITIONS.

Now if that's not a scam...I dont know what isnt!

Also the photographer they used SUCKED! I was suspicious to begin with but modeling has been a dream for me so I gave it a try. Now i am sure that this agency makes their money by sending models to photographers that are ON STAFF to shoot expensive photos and produce a comp card.They sign up just anyone with a credit card and they don't make their money by booking work instead only by selling pricey photography.

I was told that I need to print 100's of compcards where as a brand new model should never print more then 100-150 cards at one shot. If you're new, chances are your first card isn't going to be strong. So, 400 or 500 cards isn't a good idea. 100-200 cards are enough to get started and they shouldn't cost more then $1.00 per card to produce.

BEWARE of MMODELS AND TALENT...

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ji
      May 30, 2010

    I have been to m models and 4 other toronto based agencies and I am confuesed. Some tell me they will pay for my portfolio I just have to pay 400-600 for the comp and head shots. Other agencies say that if they are serious about you then you shouldn't have to pay for anything.
    So please I also need help choosing.
    any info would be great.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jun 08, 2010

    No agency would cover all your cost. I was with m for almost 8 months went to 12-14 auditions landed two of them.
    I did get mad. But its not their fault. Its all up to the client. As far as i know the agency is good. These complaint board reminds me of the same complaint for sutherlands and orange agency.

    +2 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 28, 2018

    @christie111 Did you ever get paid?

    0 Votes
  • 6r
      Aug 18, 2010

    http://www.actratoronto.com/perform/agentlist/a-e.html
    List of ACTRA approved agencies in Toronto.

    1. Real agents don't guarantee work if you sign on with them.
    2. Real agents don't require you to buy services from affiliated photo studios, training schools or video producers.
    3. Real agents don't represent extras, models and principal performers in the same organization.
    4. Real agents don't advertise or hand out leaflets.
    5. Real agents make money if you make money - they don't charge you high fees if you're not working.

    +1 Votes
  • He
      Aug 25, 2010

    I HAVE BEEN WITH M MODELS FOR ONE YEAR NOW. I wasn't guaranteed work.
    Toronto agencies is not like new york agency's they cant pay thousands of dollars to scouts.
    Agency like sutherland models, orange models, icon models and many more advertise in order to find new talents.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 28, 2018

    @hero123 Did they ever pay you?

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Sep 02, 2010

    Anyone with M Models?>??? Recently signed and looking to get money back for comp cards...has anyone had any luck getting their money back from them?!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jan 11, 2011

    i currently just landed two commercials, I am doing pretty well with M MODELS.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 13, 2011

    They are crooks. Following are the few reasons why:
    If an agency has to charge money up front it usually means they do not have enough modeling work for either the agency or the model to survive on.
    You should be free to go to any photographer you want to. Legitimate agencies will provide you with a list of photographers that you could go to.

    +1 Votes
  • Ki
      Mar 19, 2011

    I really like this agency. They are the only agency that shows u what projects they submit you for. I have been with other agency's .They are the only one that actully got me decent work. This is a great agency .

    +1 Votes
  • Al
      Apr 16, 2011

    its a scam!!! I'm gonna get my money back from them!!! They agent didn't even have her last name on the card. I can't believe i felt fot their scam!!! i'm gonna get my money back and make sure everybody knows that they are scammers!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 16, 2011

    Their not scammers . I just currently met two girls that have landed big campaigns thru them. You need to do more research. I am a sick and tired of people bad mouthing the agency. I get auditions thru them. They have helped me a lot. You can go on their blog and see what work they have got for me and other talents.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 28, 2018

    @James Henry1 But have they paid you?

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Apr 19, 2011

    You are one them if you are saying they are not scammers!!! It’s funny because you just sound like them when they tried to defend themselves. However, the way the agent was defending herself and the fact that she was so scared made me sure that they are conducting fraudulent and illegal activities. How did you find about this complaint anyway?! It seems like you are one them and trying to do some research to see who is bad mouthing you guys!!! Even if they find work for some people what they are doing is against the legeistaltion.
    They tell models that they are going to invest in their portfolios and the fact that they wouldn’t charge them for anything. But after the second interview they charge the model somewhere between $650-$1350 for low quality comp cards that doesn’t even cost over $50!!! They advertise through free listings (which is against the legislation!!) and basically accept whoever who applies so they make their money from the insanely over-priced comp cards. They might find some job for a model or two but that’s just extra money for them.
    According to Entertainment Code of Ethics:
    *An agent will not advertise to the general public for the purpose of soliciting clients through advertising placed in any form of printed or electronic media (newspapers, flyers, magazines, telephones, the Internet, fax, CD-ROM or mailings, etc.)
    *It is not a condition of representation that an agent stipulates the photographer, printer, school or any other service provider for the client. Should an agent have any financial interest in above named businesses, full disclosure about said interest must be provided.
    *If an agent recommends a service provider in which they have a financial interest, it must be disclosed to the client at the time of recommendation.
    I will be calling all the authorities and have them investigated to prove my point.

    +2 Votes
  • Ne
      Apr 23, 2011

    For those of you who say M Models is a great agency...PROVE IT. What work have you done? What commercial are you in? What photos do you have to prove you have gotten work? I'd like to see that before they EVER get any more of my money. alma7 - I feel for you.

    two words M Model...


    PROVE IT.

    I don't want to see the job description...I WANT TO SEE YOU ON LOCATION WORKING.


    good luck

    +3 Votes
  • Ne
      Apr 23, 2011

    ps. During the interviews...why don't they ask you about you employment history? Work ethic maybe? Might be important since they are invested "$2000+" in your portfolio.

    No questions. Just sign here here here annnnnnnd here. Oh ya 735 dollars please.

    Shoot. Maybe I just gave them hints on how to better trick people.

    YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

    +2 Votes
  • Ne
      Apr 23, 2011

    Oh ya and James Henry - couldn't find you on their website.

    Weird.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 23, 2011

    here is all the proof you need : http://mmodels.typepad.com/

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 23, 2011

    here is all the proof you need : http://mmodels.typepad.com/
    also you should know all the talents are not on the website. You can see all the new work M MODELS HAS DONE.

    -2 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 23, 2011

    also nevergiveemmoney just want to let you know that no one is allowed on the shoots accept for the talents and the cast. But If you would like to come to an audition with me your more then welcome to. I already contacted my agents in regards to this.

    -2 Votes
  • Ne
      Apr 24, 2011

    I'd love too

    -1 Votes
  • Ne
      Apr 24, 2011

    Also. Just a question. How come when they hire you, the don't give you time to think about it and read over the contract and take it home. Any REAL legit contract/business will TELL you to take time and read it over. Not sign here and give me the money.

    +2 Votes
  • Ne
      Apr 24, 2011

    I checked out the website. There's a lot of very vague congratulating notes. Not too much proof of the model actually modeling "said products/campaign/ect".
    Luckily I have a friend that is in the business IN Los Angeles and she even said this sounds funny

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 24, 2011

    There is so many print ads and company logos everywhere. What proof do you want. Do u want them to give their clients numbers to call them ?I am going to stop commenting on this post. This agency has done well from me. I recommend any new comer to do their research. But I have to say the blog speaks for it's self.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Apr 24, 2011

    The blog doesn't say squat. It has a logo. Big deal. That's not proof. I could make a website and say I had a zillion contracts and deals with 10 major companies and post a picture of a logo. Am I really a model even though I say I am? I guess so because you seem to think this is a great agency.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 29, 2011

    No u can't. Looks like "never" you don't no ur laws. The agency wouldn't be allowed to use company logos If the job never happend. Also the print ads and commercials that are online are fake to? Please get a life!

    +2 Votes
  • Ou
      May 07, 2011

    They are a SCAM. ACTRA will not associate with them. ACTRA states that cheques BOUNCE from them. ANY agency that posts on CRAIGSLIST every day, every minute is DESPERADO. They are a SCAM. They have to business sense and soon they will be closed for FRAUD!
    See below their PATHETIC ad posted everyday on Craigslist.
    Come on CRAIGSLIST?...give me a break. Elmer Olsen is the way to go. Totally legit modelling agency.

    Mmodels is a SHAM!!!


    Seeking MEN, WOMEN, TEENS & KIDS for TV Commercials, Print Ads, Music Videos etc. (Ages 3-60)

    Fill out an Application at: http://www.mmodels.ca

    Once you have filled out an application submit a Head Shot and Body Shot at: mailto:[protected]@mmodels.ca

    Our models and talents have worked with clients such as Budweiser, Td Canada Trust, Mtv, Much Music, Virgin, Canadian Dairy Farmers, Scotia Bank, Men`s Health Magazine, Sony Ericson and Much More.

    Check out our blog for recent projects http://mmodels.typepad.com/blog/

    Serious Applicants ONLY!

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Jun 04, 2011

    They are still open ! I just landed the scotia print ad! Also they are not on the no actras chq list. I called to check also went on the actra website. Plz stop writing crap. Jusr so you know they found me from craigslist . Elmer olsen does not take commercial print models . They only want high fashion models

    -1 Votes
  • Fe
      Jul 25, 2011

    M model is owned by the zaidi family. anyone who has questions about how illegal they r just google saroor hassan zaidi or just saroor zaidi. M models is running the same scam that La cite models, Orange models and Blitz models ran. if neone has a doubt just go to orange they will give you the same story. the owner of La cite is related to the owner of M models. just google them and u will find all the info u need they change there address and name every six months. Mark Heinz to RAJ to zaidi one guy just keeps changing names, ran a big scam of montreals next top model and people who own and run M models were part of it. if i was u i would ask them abt these other scams and watch how fast they will turn on u.

    -1 Votes
  • Be
      Aug 02, 2011

    My experience with them never went that far thankfully, but regardless I found them to be thoroughly unprofessional!

    I had my second appointment set up for August 1st, the girl I spoke with actually mentioned the date, so there's no confusion. I sent in some pictures by email as requested, also confirming my appointment date and time. There was no reply correcting the appointment date, so I assumed everything's in order. I call the day of just to be sure as it is a long weekend Monday - no answer. I go down to their office for my appointment anyway, and of course nobody's there.

    I had left a message and the receptionist calls me back the day after. She asked me if it was my first or second appointment, and when she finds out it was my second she says "Oh, that explains it, nobody who had their second appointment yesterday was actually called for cancellations." In disbelief I reconfirmed what she just said - is it possible, they had second appointments for possibly 10-20 people, and none were called to let them know the office was closed?? Then her reply to me is "Well, you're the only one who left a message, so I guess everyone else just knew except you." I didn't know whether to spit or swallow.. When it comes down to it, it's my fault that I didn't guess their office was gonna be closed.

    The girl I saw on my first visit was Olga or Olivia, I assume her to be about 20 years old. She sat me down, looked at me with a smirk and a look letting me know that I'm a mere subject, then took a big breath and explained her agency's way of doing business in one long sentence seemingly without ever taking a breath, much like a machine gun that never runs out of ammunition.

    Save yourself the frustration, and go to a professional agency - someone with experience, respect and professionalism to propel your future career as a model.

    +2 Votes
  • Ou
      Aug 03, 2011

    I would go with Zameret Kleiman...([protected]@gmail.com) she books everything by email.
    She does EXTRAS CASTINGS and doesn't take a cut or percentage from you as the big big movie companies pay here to find GOOD people.
    You could send an email with your resume and a body shot/head shot and introduce yourself stating you would love to be an Extra and work with her.

    She has done a TONNNNNNNNNE of BLOCK BUSTER movies...and is currently casting Extra's for the remake of Total Recall...

    PAY IS LOW! but over minimum wage. She pays you $11/hour (again she takes NOTHING from you in percentage) and if you are on set less than 3 hours, you get paid for 6 or 8 hours minimum...you get paid by cheque...after you finish the shoot, that day your fill out a voucher and they mail you your check...I have never had any problem with getting paid or receiving my pay in the mail. You would get it within 2-3 weeks...I have been with her as a side job for about 2 years now...

    Here is a link to everything she has cast for:
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0006995/

    She also post on Craigslist under the Jobs Section>>TV FILM
    Here is her current post as of August 3, 2011...they still need Extra's for the Total Recall film...read more here:
    http://toronto.en.craigslist.ca/tor/tfr/2526775225.html
    or
    See below:
    Business types needed as extras Aug 20th and 28th on Total Recall (Toronto)
    Date: 2011-08-02
    Reply to: [protected]@gmail.com
    We are looking for upscale males and females to play business types on Total Recall Aug 20th and 28th.

    You must be available both days in order to apply.
    Ideally, you own a grey or black suit.

    If you have already been on Total Recall, please do not respond to this ad.

    Extra work pays $11.00/hour and a typical day is 12 - 14 hours.

    If you would like to apply, please email a current and clear picture.

    Location: Toronto
    Compensation: $11.00/hour

    +2 Votes
  • Ou
      Aug 03, 2011

    Take them to court if you paid for photos
    It's all over the news...people paying for photos at stupid prices and the agency does nothing
    Call this man at Global TV...he would love to do a story on them and once it's out THEIR NAME IS MUD!!!

    CONSUMER SOS
    http://www.globaltoronto.com/story.html?id=1820568
    Sean.[protected]@globalnews.ca
    [protected]@globalnews.ca
    Toll Free: [protected] ext 5467
    or if you’re in Toronto area – [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Aug 13, 2011

    I don't really have a complaint, I just want to say this...I replied to the ad that was posted on Kijiji last week, sent my two photos and they contacted me via phone. I spoke to a women named Nicole who booked me an interview with senior agency. I am to go this Saturday, late afternoon. I was completely ecstatic after I got off the phone...as the week went on I was planning on getting my hair done, my nails and find a new outfit to purchase so I could dress to impress. Then it hit me...nerves shot through me like a sack of potatoes. I started second guessing the agency, as I started to play back the conversation she and I had. she said that they only chose a selected few...but the ad on Kijiji showed 320 applicants. I started to think, how is it possible out of 320 applicants they choose me as a potential?? Then the phone rang and I froze...I later listened to the message, and it was a girl Casandra on the other end...she fumbled on the phone, said my appointment was a different time than what I was told, she said a different day then what I was told, and she paused for a moment and asked me to call back to confirm. I found that rather odd as I already had confirmed my appointment with Nicole when I spoke with her on the Monday. So the question here is, do I suck it up and go see what this is all about, or do I just turn the other way and stay put??

    -1 Votes
  • Ou
      Aug 13, 2011

    DO NOT GO!
    stay away
    they will ask you for money bla bla bla
    any agency that posts 100 times a week on kijij or craigslist is a DESPERATE FRAUD

    do you research. many good agencies out there
    go to ACTRA website and view the ones that are good

    GOOD LUCK!
    save yourself the anger and frustration
    this agency IS NOT PROFESSIONAL
    the girl that called you back on the phone
    they switch receptionist every week as everyone quits once they find out how corrupt MMODELS is!
    stay away from M MODELS
    #mmodels

    -1 Votes
  • Ru
      Aug 13, 2011

    Thank you for your advice, much appreciated..I chose NOT to go!!! Call it intuition, but I had a bad feeling after I had that follow up conversation with Casandra. After confirming my appointment with Nicole on Monday, I didn't understand the reason for the second call...which I may have mentioned, she had the wrong date and the wrong time noted! I was a bit disturbed that she would call to confirm what I already had confirmed with Nicole...the wrong information, she had my name correct but that was it. Anyways, I am really glad I found this page to read up on this company...and I hope that others do their research as well before they follow through with it...Thanks all for all your input and well taken advice!! xx

    -1 Votes
  • Ou
      Aug 14, 2011

    You can check out HOW to get an Agent and what to look out for on ACTRA: http://www.actratoronto.com/perform/index.html

    Be sure to click on the right and read about the "no cheque list" etc etc...it's under the '''Info for New Performers"

    Getting Started
    Protect Yourself!
    No Cheque List
    Agent Information
    Child Performers
    Joining ACTRA
    Industry Terms
    Brochures

    +1 Votes
  • Mm
      Aug 22, 2011

    Hi i had a interview with M models in downtown on bay street. They made me fill out an app and asked me a few questions. And they told me to come again another day so i did and they said we dont have many people liek you in this industury so they offered me a 6 month contract with them. And she let me take it home and look it over for a few days. And it said That MMT inc are not hiring the model or talent, but representing them as free lancers. So they dont gurrante you work see. and please dont say something is a scam when it clearly states the fact that They Are not hiring you. look above (:

    +2 Votes
  • Mm
      Aug 22, 2011

    Is M models a scam? Cause i dont want to lose $650.

    0 Votes
  • Ou
      Aug 22, 2011

    "they said we dont have many people liek you in this industury so they offered me a 6 month contract with them."...

    WHATEVER!
    YOU and 100 other SUCKERS fell for this line!!!
    They ALWAYS state that you are unique or different
    Of course they say they 'cant guarantee you work'...
    But when an agency ASKS you for MONEY...RUN!

    This was the whole point of the original poster.

    Agencies take a PERCENTAGE of what YOU MAKE! That's it

    To ask for money for 'photos' that a 12 year old can take is ludicrous!

    They are stuck in the 80's where agencies were scamming folks to get 'headshots' for $500-$1000 with a photographer they rave about and it turns out it's their Cousin Larry.

    Mmodels is looked upon in the industry as a total scamming JOKE!

    The END!

    +1 Votes
  • Mm
      Aug 22, 2011

    I am very confused cause more people are saying M Models and talent is not a scam and fewer people are saying so i don't know what to do? Can i call or see something that has proof that they are legit?

    +2 Votes
  • Ou
      Aug 23, 2011

    Holy Crap...do you need a hammer on your head?
    Guess so.

    0 Votes
  • Mm
      Aug 23, 2011

    Can someone just answer me?

    0 Votes
  • Mm
      Aug 23, 2011

    Can some one give me proof that M models and talent agency is real or a scam?

    0 Votes

Post your comment