SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Luxottica GroupFraud alert

1 Review updated:

Recently I took the plunge and "invested" in a nice pair of sunglasses.

Purchased a pair RayBan RB3320s aviators for $130.00 on June 06th.

Within 2 weeks the nose piece wire arm broke off while adjusting.

I found Ray Ban/Luxottica Group warranty info and followed instructions.

I sent the glasses, case & broken parts with a $12.50 "processing fee" as they instructed.

In mid August (2 months later) my case arrived at my home but not my glasses.

Enclosed was a note stating rim failure was not caused by a defect in product and the warranty would not cover repair to wire rims.

it would cost $87.00 to repair...outrageous.

Dumbfounded, I called [protected] to ask if lens and rim failure is not covered by warranty, what is left to warranty on a of a pair of glasses??

The standard "i apologize" prefaced each comment they made and i did not receive a single concession.

I requested they return my broken glasses and i would seek repair on my own.

Another 6 weeks later the glasses arrived but the broken parts were missing.

Now i have to call again and was informed they would contact repair dept to ask about the parts and that would take another 2 weeks.

At this point the glasses have been in their possession longer than they have been in mine.

Totally still broken and totally unacceptable.

Please "BAN" purchasing ray ban/Luxottica products.

Vi
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • An
      Jan 21, 2010

    You admit yourself that you were attempting, as an amateur, to adjust your own glasses and summarily broke them. (Because you had no idea what you were doing.)

    Why on earth should the manufacturer's warranty for DEFECTS cover your INTENTIONAL DAMAGE to them?

    You fail. I hope you get NOTHING. And next time, HAVE AN OPTICIAN ADJUST YOUR GLASSES!

    -7 Votes
  • Tr
      Feb 24, 2010

    I am also having an awful experience with Luxotica Group - I sent two pairs of sunglasses for repair - A pair of $300+ Prada glasses and my husbands Ray Bans - 6 weeks after sending them in I get a letter stating that I would owe another $20 for the repair of the glasses, that was totally fine with me, but I wasn't sure which pair they were referring to, so I called to find out and it was then and only then that they let me know that they had received the box with the letter stating that there were two pairs of glasses enclosed for repair but that only one pair had been received. I asked if the box had been received damaged, they had no idea as they don't keep the box (there goes any luck on getting an insurance claim as they need to see the box), I asked why I wasn't notified at all let alone when they realized that one pair was missing...They said that they knew that I would call in about the additional $20 needed to repair the one set of frames and I would ask about the other pair then...WHAT?
    They have no idea what happened to the Ray Bans amd no intention of helping me find out, it is my fault. I was put through to a supervisors voicemail, Carla Smith, and left a voicemail but of course, never got a call back. Now whenever I call the 800# I get disconnected, and if I get a person I am put on hold and then somehow disconnected - THis is SO frustrating and I am trying to find another contact.
    Good luck dealing with this RUDE company that has NO customer service or care in the world for their customers.

    +1 Votes
  • Am
      Sep 08, 2010

    What is their number! Cant find the paper they sent me! I am having the same problem with my D & Gs! Can you please give me their number?

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Nov 03, 2010

    I sent a pair of $200 RayBans in for warranty repair and never heard back. 90 days later they finally acknowledged reciept and told me 6-8 weeks for repair. Again, I never heard back from them. After numerous calls, they said the sunglasses were discontinued and they had the wrong address and could not contact me??? They gave me a$180.00 allowance to pick a new model. (I'm not happy with current selection) This process began in mid March 2010. I sent in $12.50 with broken glasses and another $35.00 by phone. Today is Nov. 3rd and I still have no sunglasses. After lighting up a Manager on the phone, I was told that the new pair was delivered 3 weeks ago and it was the postal services fault. They would investigate and get back to me in 30 days!!!
    Buy MAUI JIM sunglasses - although more expensive, they sent me new glasses and case in less than 10 days!!!

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Mar 02, 2011

    i too sent versace sunglasses to be repaired they sent them back to be worse than i sent them, , and claim they could, nt fix them, , i sent them back along with another check they cashed the check and never returned my glasses this is fraud...

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Jul 27, 2011

    I sent in a pair of rayban's that I broke (the arm snapped in half) Luxottica (McDonough, Ga) in Feb of 11, with a $12.50 processing fee. I recieved a letter on May 10th requesting $17 (additional repair charge) which I sent on May 20th. In June I asked for an update and was told I would recieve the glasses in July. It is now almost August and after spending countless minutes in the [protected] que only to be hung up on, or put in eternal hold, then hung up on. I have no idea if I will see my money or my glasses again. Might be a good time to contact the attorney general of Florida and alert her office to what amounts to be a scam by Luxottica. As with all scams eventually they will impact enough people, who will in turn create a demand for justice ending Luxottica's game in a most unpleasant fashion. Unfortunate to see good brands destroyed by people lacking the most basic business accumen. I look forward to the day, and it will come, that Luxottica's has to file bankrupacy protection due to the number of lawsuites. I think this might be a mob scam engineered by the Italian owners...

    +1 Votes
  • Bu
      Sep 30, 2011

    Very disappointed. I sent out my sunglasses with USPS, certified and insured on April 4, 2011. On May 3, 2011, I received a letter requesting for $20 for the repair. I sent it on May 4, 2011.

    Today is September 30, 2011 (about 5 months), and nothing received. The check was processed few months ago.

    I called the customer service today, and request for an update, and the representative told me "It is PROBABLY because your sunglasses is sent to Italy and fix it and bring back to US." PROBABLY:????? ARENT YOU SUPPOSED TO BE CERTAIN WHERE MY GLASSES ARE ????

    They said I should call back on Monday, since they will shipped out the new glasses, not the repaired one on Monday, which means I need to waste another 30 minutes on the phone with this stupid company for tracking information.

    It is sometime amazing that a size of company like Ray-Ban partners with a company like this. Shame on you both.

    0 Votes
  • Ky
      Jul 17, 2012

    Please visit :: http://www.facebook.com/LuxotticaWarrantyComplaints

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Dec 15, 2012

    I have also fallen prey to this company. I sent a pair of the larger style wayfarers in, due to the left arm never really being installed right.

    Now they no longer make them, and I for that 50% off offer, it I do the legwork and find a price and color code. I just e-mailed them back to ask for the return of my glasses. What do you think the chances are that I'll get them???????

    If no return, I'd have to go along with their offer, or I'm the one that's out!!! So much for American customer service and company relations. No wonder we're usually on the phone with Rawalpindi, Peshawar, or other places...

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Apr 15, 2013

    I'm happy you folks at least got to talk to someone. I have been trying to call the 800 number for 2 days and get nothing but a busy signal. They sure have a nice setup, you pay good money for defective products from their companies and then they get to play games with you about their lack of service. Thinking about carving a whale bone into a First Nations style pair of sunglasses and say to hell with their non existent customer service department.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Apr 08, 2014

    They are a group of scammers. I bough my Tiffany and Co. eyeglasses from LensCrafters and the left temple broke. I don't care if it is covered by warrenty or not, I am willing to pay for the damaged part - but they have been giving me such a run around. I could not get hold of anyone at Luxottica to get a quote for the part for the last 3 days! I am not comfortable sending my $400 frame to those unreliable, unprofessional scammers. I am beyond frustrated.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
      Jan 23, 2015

    The Luxottica "warranty" is less than worthless as far as I can tell.

    I bought a $200 pair of Ray-Bans. I was careful with them the whole two months I owned them. But the arm broke off one time when I (gently) picked them up. I tried to have the broken piece replaced through the warranty process, but to no avail. After several calls and emails to Luxottica, and them giving me the run-around every time, I gave up. That seems to be their business model, so I suppose they win.

    Now I avoid buying sunglasses that have a Luxottica warranty on principle. It's my tiny revenge.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Dec 30, 2018

    Have tried to fill in the warranty website no less than 3 times for LUXOTTICA LIMITED WARRANTY. Keep getting bumped back to the original screen to start all over again.

    What a SCAM warranty.

    RayBan says the website is the only way. I say keep your overpriced sunglasses and I'll seek a brand with a better warranty option.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Oct 20, 2019

    I sent my Tiffany and co. Glasses in for repair which was still covered by warranty from lens crafters. They never logged in that it was received until I called and gave them the tracking number 3 weeks later. I then waited and additional 3 weeks for the repairs to be completed. They finally sent an email claiming they shipped my glasses, no information on the carrier company and incorrect tracking code. Haven’t received my glasses and can not track them... Horrible experience!!! I wish to never have to deal with them again!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment