SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Lufthansamoney for nothing -> this can happen to you too

Review updated:

My flightrout was Cluj(ROU)-Munich(DE)-Split(HR) and I booked and payed my ticket in advance. When I arrived in Munich Lufthansa staff informed me that they canceled the flight to Split for undetermined time. But they did NOT take the time to inform me befor I flew there. Moreover, they didn't change my ticket in a way that I can fly back home, I had to pay for a new ticket and they wont give me my money back for the canceled flight nor for the hotel room fee (Of cours the next flight to Cluj was the next day). So the jurney was a total waste of time and money, at least from my point of view. I hope I'll never have to fly with this company again.

Ap
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Br
      Nov 06, 2006
    Lufthansa - Delay of luggadge
    Slovakia

    Copy of Email to Lufthansa:

    The day 20 octobre 2017 I was flying Poznan-Munich- Madrid

    Ticket Number:[protected]

    LH 3177 20 oct 2017 Poznan Munich
    LH 4426 20 oct 2017 Munich –Madrid

    Coming to Madrid 20 oct in evening I cannot take my luggadge because of the lost of the luggadge, (see copy of confirmation of lost luggadge). Stuff in Madrid announce me that luggadge will come next day ( maybe). This wos not acceptable because of in my opening Fermax official Convention 2017, the day 20 oct.2017 I needed, official ceremonial suite , that wos in
    my luggadge. After this explanation staff off Madrid airport give me advice to buy adecuate dress, and later to ask for refincialisation of it.
    So I buyed : dress-320 EUR, shirt-55 EUR, tie – 48 EUR, shoe- 111 EUR, see receipt.
    Next day in the morning I had a commercial trip to Toledo, coming back from Toledo in the evening I wos given in hotel of my lost luggadge.

    Now coming home to my country after 2 weeks trip I am sending you all documents concerning my financial expenses , that
    I neded fot buying adecuate dress. Also I am attaching a number of my bank account. Where I am asking you to pay my fees.

    Code of Bank: 7300
    Number of account : 254908
    IBAN : SK [protected] 4908

    Thanks in advance
    Best regards

    Bratislav Okal 5 november 2017, Bratislava


    Bratislav Okal,
    Zadunajska cesta 8,
    85101 Bratislava
    Slovakia, EU
    [protected]@mail.t-com.sk
    +[protected]

    Lufthansa German Airlines
    Customer Relations Centre Europe
    PO Box 9815
    Dublin
    Ireland

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Jun 19, 2007
    Lufthansa - Loosing money on booking tickets on line
    Italy

    My name is Roberta Scarselli, I did an on line booking for me and one of my friends, for the flight air from Florence to Lisbon on the 7th of august. On the prenotation mail, there was my name written two times, but after that there was a prenotation for two places on the flight, so I thought the name of my friend would have been written on the other mail. More than that there was no title before the names, there wasn't written passenger one and passenger two before the names, so it was similar to a normal prenotation.

    I think very odd that a person buy a ticket and then she cannot pass it to another person. We use money to buy tickets and so we can surely decide to give the ticket to someone else. I had to cancel one of the flight and book another one loosing more than 170 euro, and not knowing when exactly the 80 euro of taxes will be refunded to me.

    I'm a working student, and I used internet in order to save money... Otherwise I would have booked a first class flight through agency.

    0 Votes
  • Up
      Jun 02, 2008
    Lufthansa - Lost luggage, delays, bad service and No customer service
    United Kingdom

    You are guaranteed NOT to get an answer from Lufthansa Airlines for ANY of your problems.
    The "contact" address in Liverpool UK for Customer Services does NOT exist !
    You will be asked to produce inumerate amounts of paperwork that you dont have, to prove your claim if and when they contact you 5 months later !
    After producing the relevant paper work to Lufthansa they will ignore it all and say that they havent received it !!
    I hope you are able to get some answers...I certainly havent had any to date !!

    An Airline guaranteed to "SORT" you out of your money !!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 30, 2008

    Sir,
    On 7th july 2017 I have reserved my flight by Lufthansa air lines from Basel to Bristol via Francfort. My flight no. from Basel was LH 3815 and my connection flight No. from Francfort was LH 4964.

    On my arrival at Basel air port, I have been informed that my flight is cancelled and it is not possible for them to arrange another flight nor arrange hotel or train for me to get back home. This is a very bad attitude of Lufthansa and I need an explanation and compensation for the disturbances and train charges which i had to pay from my pocket

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Nov 22, 2008

    I am very disappointed at Lufthansa. I bought a ticket on 19 Nov 2017. The reference number was [protected]. I came for check in at IKA airport and they told me that YOUR TICKET IS NOT VALID. How can it be possible? They had no comment the Iranian Lufthansa people were confused and said we don't know. We don't understand. They did not have the courtesy to at least apologize and said you have no way other than purchase another ticket. I had a meeting with three companies coming to Frankfurt for a joint meeting and I had no way other that purchasing a new return ticket with the value of 1170 Euros (even more that the price I paid originally). I was so embarrassed at the airport because I did not have enough cash and I told my friends to help and ... I have to confess to my tremendous sense of anger and I'm very despair at this.

    Seyed Hamid Hashemi

    0 Votes
  • Di
      Jan 23, 2009
    Lufthansa - Stuff and Company
    Greece

    Our flight was scheduled for landing at 01:20 local time in Athens International Airport. Unfortunately the pilot could not land the plane -twice- due to weather conditions and decided to head for the Thessaloniki International Airport. Despite the unfortunate turn of events, everything seemed to be getting on quite well. The problems started when we landed at Thessaloniki.

    We were informed by the stuff that we could disembark, however on our own responsibility. The official plan was that the plane would head for Frankfurt. Although I understand that this is the company's policy I cannot understand the rationale behind this decision. At this point it is worth noticing the fact that a British Airways flight landed successfully minutes after our second failure (at 01:30 local time, there was no problem with weather conditions), raising serious concerns about the abilities of our captain. Additionally, no other flight before or after us had any problems landing, although weather conditions remained more or less the same (windy and rainy).

    All passengers that decided to disembark in Thessaloniki were afterwards informed that they could not get their baggage! Nobody from the stuff was able to explain this decision also. During these minutes the credibility of Lufthansa was seriously hurt.

    While disembarking, nobody checked our identities. That means that Lufthansa was not aware who was in Thessaloniki and who was flying back to Frankfurt. Our names were listed only after our numerous requests during the baggage claiming procedure. Many passengers left the airport without listing their names.

    The stuff repeatedly misinformed the passengers trying to convince as many as possible to head back to Frankfurt. I personally was informed that there was a bus strike in Greece therefore I was told that my best choice was to get back to Frankfurt. Of course this was a lie.

    The stuff informed us that we would have to travel to Athens by our own means. Another lie here! Lufthansa partner, Aegean, quickly informed us that we would travel to Athens with the first morning (06:00 local time) flight, free of charge. They took full responsibility of our staying in the airport, indirectly undertaking the responsibilities of Lufthansa (and admitting of course that the problem was not the weather).

    Despite our numerous questions nobody from your stuff was able to inform us about anything! Cabin crew members answered all questions by stating that this was their first time ever facing this situation. Considering the fact that Lufthansa operates numerous flights worldwide this was really extraordinary. Moreover in numerous times we were asking questions and your stuff was unable to answer or replied in a rather impolite manner.

    In the initial announcement we were told that there was no Lufthansa stuff in the airport, and this was the reason of returning back (as well as not taking any responsibility and not providing our baggage) to Germany. Amazingly, minutes later, a Greek Lufthansa representative appeared (or at least claimed to be a Lufthansa representative)…

    How can a company like Lufthansa deny any responsibility of its passengers? Being a quite frequent traveler this is the first time that I am told that if I disembark then the air company does not have any responsibility. I booked a ticket for Athens and therefore expect that Lufthansa stands up to my expectations and take me to Athens. Moreover, as a customer, I expect that this takes place in a normal time frame. Considering the fact that a trip to USA is almost 10 hours long the solution of travelling back to Frankfurt was unacceptable.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Jan 26, 2009

    I was on that flight also. It was one of my worst experiences i ever had, i travel a lot and i was never treated like that.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Jan 26, 2009

    I do not want to be repeated all the above mentioned are true...

    0 Votes
  • Pr
      Feb 18, 2009

    I encourage every one to Boycott the worst world wide airline:

    Lufthansa German shoddy predatory greedy Airline !!

    Let them as they are planning to do ... dream to acquire other airlines and to destroy the competition: Air Austria, Air Italy, LOT, Swiss Air.

    Would you fly to be screwed, arrested and even jailed?

    Only than Fly LUFTHANSA!

    Lufthansa apparent Customer Service and Marketing Plan: Screw them!

    LUFTHANSA CEO WOLFGANG MAYRHUBER Marketing Plan:
    Hire the cheap incompetent idiots as stewardeses and ###s as captains, for your money they will help you to be arrested jailed and fined, just for supporting and flying on shoddy LUFTHANSA Airlines in old tradition of SS!

    On February 10, 2017 the people of Poland were told and had the best proof how well the employees of LUFTHNSA are carring about passengers, when member of Polish parlament, candidate for polish Premier, Jan Maria Rokita on Lufthansa flight LH3336 first was assaulted by Lufthansa stewardess, than late after her racist behavior and fraudulent claim to aircraft captain, he and his wife were denied boarding and due to fraudulently claimed alleged “agressive behavior“ wrongfully arrested by evidently racist German police.

    Lufthansa Airlines confirmed that on 10 of February, 2017, the passenger was escorted by the German authorities from the aircraft on flight LH3336 between Munich and Cracow.

    Unfortunatelly the idiots from Lufthansa did not know the gentelman whom they assaulted, was11.07.1992 - 26.10.1993 Chief of the Office of the Council of Ministers, the potential Prime Minister of Poland, Member of Parliment, and his wife Nelly Rokita, who is the adviser of Polish President Lech Kaczynski, but the polish citizens know very well his always set back and restrained behavior. In 2017, Jan Maria Rokita was awarded “Man of the Year“ title, which is a very prestigious award.

    That is the marketing act of the century!

    Lufthansa latest Marketing slogan:
    We hope that in spite of the irregularities you had a successful and pleasant trip and you will choose Lufthansa again in the near future.

    Really?

    I hope you will be soon out of business, you damn german crooks!


    My best LUFTHANSA EXPERIENCE:

    Canceled flight LH 9052 on trip to Honolulu, Hawaii:

    Iterinary:

    GDN LO 359, Saturday, December 27, 2017

    FRA UA 901 / LH9052, Saturday, December 27, 2017

    SFO UA 79 / LH9136 Saturday, December 27, 2017

    HNL UA1036, Saturday, January 17, 2017

    SFO UA 0906, Sunday, January 18, 2017

    MUC LO 396 Sunday, January 18, 2017

    Lufthansa knowingly abandoned the passengers, failed to inform them of their rights, than refused to pay mandatory cancellation compensation.

    The governing laws:

    ● Regulation (EC) No 261/2017, being valid from February 17, 2017, establishing common rules on compensation and assistance to passengers in the event of of cancellation of flights. In case of flight cancellations, the operating air carrier is not obliged to pay compensation in accordance with article 7 of Regulation (EC) No 261/2017, only if it can prove to the Luftfahrt-Bundesamt (LBA) that the cancellation is caused by extraordinary circumstances which could not have been avoided even if all reasonable measures had been taken, and this definitively is not the case.

    ● European Court of Justice: case Wallentin-Hermann v Alitalia—Linee Aeree Italiane SpA (Case C-549/07), December, 22, 2017. The European Tribunal of Justice (EJC) on December 22, 2017, in Wallentin-Hermann case closed the loophole of always abused frivolous interpretations used by the airlines of “technical or extraordinary circumstances“, when further defined and limited the use of such defense. Finally the definition of “technical and / or extraordinary circumstances“ by the ECJ court now stands firm and solid. Any carrier must prove that the alleged mechanical problem leading to the cancellation was “beyond its actual control, ” the court affirmed in a statement.

    Complaint:

    In case of any flight cancellation for whatever reasons the airline(s) are required to provide passengers with:

    • emergency flight booking, and an alternative transport to final destination, what was not at all done by either of the airlines.

    Canceled was the segment (UA 901 / LH 9052) of my multiple segments flight, starting on December 27, 2017. The flight operator is United Airlines (UA 901) while the contractual booking carier is Lufthansa with flight number LH 9052.

    My reservation was through Lufthansa airlines on Lufthansa flight LH9052, I am entitled to claim compensation from Lufthansa, the airline with which I have the contract, for breach of that contract.

    The governing laws:

    ● Regulation (EC) No 261/2017, being valid from February 17, 2017, establishing common rules on compensation and assistance to passengers in the event of of cancellation of flights. In case of flight cancellations, the operating air carrier is not obliged to pay compensation in accordance with article 7 of Regulation (EC) No 261/2017, only if it can prove to the Luftfahrt-Bundesamt (LBA) that the cancellation is caused by extraordinary circumstances which could not have been avoided even if all reasonable measures had been taken, and this definitively is not the case.

    ● European Court of Justice: case Wallentin-Hermann v. Alitalia—Linee Aeree Italiane SpA (Case C-549/07), December, 22, 2017. The European Tribunal of Justice (EJC) on December 22, 2017, in Wallentin-Hermann case closed the loophole of always abused frivolous interpretations used by the airlines of “technical or extraordinary circumstances“, when further defined and limited the use of such defense. Finally the definition of “technical and / or extraordinary circumstances“ by the ECJ court now stands firm and solid. Any carrier must prove that the alleged mechanical problem leading to the cancellation was “beyond its actual control, ” the court affirmed in a statement.

    Flight Cancellation (Article 5): Cancellation is the non-operation of a scheduled flight on which at least one place was reserved. From this, claims for compensation and assistance under Articles 7, 8 and 9 of the a.m. EC Regulation will arise (see summary in the attached table). Under extraordinary circumstances, the operating air carrier is partially or totally exempt from the obligations under the a.m. EC Regulation. Examples: Political instability, meteorological conditions incompatible with the operation of the flight, security risks, unexpected flight safety shortcomings, strikes, etc.

    Disclosure:

    The operating air carrier is obliged to comprehensively inform the passengers of this EC

    Regulation. For this purpose a notice at check-in is required and in addition a written

    description of the rules for compensation and assistance in the case of denied boarding,

    cancellation or a delay of more than two hours is to be handed over to each passenger

    concerned. At the same time the passengers shall be informed in writing of the responsible

    body for complaints.

    Derogating or restrictive clauses in the contract of carriage cannot limit or preclude the

    contents of the Regulation.

    Policy enforcement: The Luftfahrt-Bundesamt (LBA) is the competent authority for the implementation of Regulation (EC) No 261/2017 in Germany. Under this task the LBA analyses on the basis of the complaints the individual air carriers’ policies and causes the air carriers to eliminate systematic infringements of the EC Regulation. If necessary, sanctions will be imposed consisting of fines. The aim is to ensure proper implementation of the consumer protection regulation according to EC law in Germany and to reduce the causes for passenger complaints.

    Rights to compensation : Under the following conditions, compensation or assistance according to the EC Regulation (Article 3) may be claimed:

    1. The passenger is departing from a German airport or the passenger is departing from an airport in a third country, the arrival airport is a German airport and the operating air carrier is an air carrier licensed under the Council Regulation (EEC) No 2407/92.

    2. The passenger has a confirmed reservation and presents himself/herself for check-in at

    the time indicated in advance or if no time has been specified, not later than 45 minutes before the published time of departure or the passenger has been transferred by the air carrier or the tour operator from a booked flight to another flight and presents himself/herself for check-in at the time indicated in advance or, if no time has been specified, not later than 45 minutes before the published time of departure.

    Determination of compensability: In case of flight cancellations, the operating air carrier is not obliged to pay compensation in accordance with article 7 of Regulation (EC) No 261/2017, only if it can prove to the Luftfahrt-Bundesamt (LBA) that the cancellation is caused by extraordinary circumstances which could not have been avoided even if all reasonable measures had been taken.

    The reasons leading to the flight cancellation shall be given in the form of the statements as requested in this form and shall be verified by appropriate documentation. LBA will resolve upon the acceptance of the statements on the basis of the information and documentation provided.

    Information about the kind of documentation that is to be provided as means of proof is given in the note boxes coloured in grey (see below) in each section. If more than one complaint refers to the same flight, it is sufficient to fill out the just once. In this case, however, the LBA reference No of the complaints concerned shall be stated in section 3.

    This form is to be signed in section 8 by the person acc to article 63d lit. 4 of Luftverkehrs-Zulassungs-Ordnung (German Air Navigation Certification Order) being the competent person for clearing and accepting complaints in your company.

    Changes concerning this person and/or in the contact addresses are to be declared in writing to LBA without delay. If your company has not yet provided this information, the person and/or the contact address are to be announced in writing to LBA without further delay.

    If one is refused entry to flight because of overbooking or find that your flight has been cancelled, the airline must hand you a leaflet explaining your rights and describing how much money one is entitled to. The rates are: ● Flights of 1, 500 km or less: € 250 ● Flights between 1, 500 km and 3, 500 km: € 400 ● Flights of more than 3, 500 km: € 600

    It is up to enforcement agency LBA to determine if airline is obliged to pay compensation, not by Lufthansa customer service office clerks (Fabian Herrmann and Janine Seidel) or United customer relationship.

    Airlines liability insurance minimum coverage: The law requires mandatory insurance for each airline against liability as follow: In accordance with Article 6 of the Regulation (EC) No 785/2017 and §§ 45-47 Luftverkehrsgesetz (Air Navigation Act) the minimum liability insurance cover in respect of passengers, baggage and cargo shall be as follows:

    ● 250.000 special drawing rights per passenger for bodily injury

    ● 4.150 special drawing rights per passenger for delayed carriage of passengers

    ● 1.000 special drawing rights per passenger for damage to baggage and delayed carriage of baggage ● 17 special drawing rights per kilogram for damage to cargoBoth, Lufthansa Airline or United Airline never handed to any of the passengers as required liflets and / or explaining customers rights.

    Passengers rights enforcement:

    The competency to deal with passengers complaint is with the national enforcement body where the flight - segment problem had its origin, and / or where the airline is domiciled.

    Consequtly I have requested mandatory compensation from Lufthansa airline as the result of canceled one of the segments of my on round trip flight from Gdansk (GDN) Poland, to Honolulu (HNL), Hawaii, USA.

    The European Court of Justice assured that the airlines must pay up, unless the technical fault was due to “exceptional circumstances“ exclusively defined by the court, such as an act of terrorism or deliberate sabotage.

    Further the compensation may be refused only, if the technical problems stem from events which, by their nature or origin, are not inherent in the normal exercise of the activity of the air carrier, are beyond its actual control.

    Both airlines in violation of Regulation (EC) No 261/2017, negligently abandoned the passengers. Both United Airlines as well as Lufthansa are jointly in contempt of the European Court of Justice. The final decision in Wallentin-Hermann case final verdict, was delivered in mid December of 2017.

    The law requires that in situation like this airlines, not the passengers themselves, arranges reservation service as the replacement for cancelled flights, what was never offered or done. Both United Airlines as well Lufthansa not communicating with each other, are “Star Alliance“ members.

    Over public announcement service we were informed to seek the hotel Steigenberger, and no one who is not familiar with the town could not locate them. We were only told where to go to the exit, nobody assisted us to find hotel shutlle bus-stop. We were running to and from seeking that bus stop. There was no any form of help to direct us in the right direction.

    All Lufthansa did is to tell all passengers to call toll free number: [protected], to United Airlines located “somewhere“ in all center in the United States.

    Consequently as many passengers were calling at the same time it was impossible to get to United Airlines employees, the phone were busy, the waiting time was tremendous, mobile (cellular) telephone bill as the consequence are enormous.

    If someone was lucky and get connected after several hours of trying, than United told Lufthansa passengers, that have no records of any passengers booked as Lufthansa passengers, and in my cast I am not listed on United Airlines Flight UA 901 passengers list, only due to incompetence of airline employees causing counterproductive tremendous stress, aggravation and tremendous general confusion.

    My flight was more than 3, 500 km and as the boarding was denied, I am entitled to the regulatory damage of not less than € 600, plus any and all the expenses on any consequent flights.

    In addition should any airline flying from EU airports responsible for the delay or cancelation of the flight anywhere in the world, passengers are entitled to claim 4, 150 SDR (Special Drawing Right), which at the currency exchange rate was about 4, 897.00 €, equivalent of about 6, 300.00 U$, (the exchange rates needs to be prorated to actual currency exchange rates on the day of occurrence, December 27, 2017).

    Both airlines after the incident caused only by airlines negligence, ground support mechanics damaged the winglet of the aircraft, negligently abandoned all passengers.

    Incident was clearly preventable, was caused only as the result of not following by airline(s) personel mandatory operating safety procedures on the airport ground, tarmac, by ground support crews. The parties are governed by the binding contract and whenever a passenger purchases a ticket, he does so for a comfortable journey.

    Travel time: As the travel took from 05:00 am Friday, December 27, 2017 Polish time, (06:00 pm Friday, December 26, 2017, Honolulu time) with the arrival (landing) at 11:55 am, Sunday, December 29, Polish time (Sunday, December 28, 2017 10:55 pm Honolulu time), with consequently lost luggage which was delivered at the local address, which I have received later at 4:00 am Honolulu Time, all time being sleepless. My entire hardly earned vacation were ruined by flight delay. That is almost 58 sleepless hours in transit or travel.

    Compensation entitlement: Regulation 5 (EC) No 261/2017, European Court of Justice in Luxembourg: Case Wallentin-Hermann v Alitalia—Linee Aeree Italiane SpA (Case C-549/07), December, 22, 2017.

    Justice agreed that any technical issues during aircraft maintenance don’t constitute “extraordinary circumstances” that would allow airlines to avoid paying passengers compensation for canceled flights.

    In its judgment, the Fourth Chamber of the Court of Justice held:

    “Extraordinary circumstances” was not defined in the 2017 Regulation, but the phrase was to be interpreted narrowly since article 5(3) constituted a derogation from the principle, indicated in recitals 1 and 2 of the preamble, of protection of consumers, in as much as cancellation of flights caused serious inconvenience to passengers.

    In addition to denied boarding on flight of more than 3, 500 km, compensation of not less than € 600, I am entitled also to claim flight cancelation 4, 150.0 SDR (Special Drawing Right), of about 4, 897.00 €. I am also entitled to any and all incurred travel expenses, and any legal fees I should encounter.

    Airlines failed to provide mandatory accommodations after flight cancellation. No notifications, no refreshments (until 18:00 - 6:00pm with first and quite late meal), no flight reservation service.

    Travel expenses (reconstructed or estimated): Phone calls expenses related to notifying other party (long distance and rooming fees) about flight delay (air time on 2 mobile phones): lump sum of 20, 00 €. Reimbursement for the lunch at Frankurt Airport of 25, 00 € . Air time on my mobile phone for calling for seveal hours from Frankfurt to toll free number in United States lump sum of 25, 00 €. Refreshments at Frankfurt 20, 00 €. Entertainment at Frankfurt, while forced to spend night at hotel 50, 00 €. Meals while waiting at the San Francisco airport (per diem), lump sum of 35, 00 €, refreshments 20, 00 €. Taxi in Honolulu lump sum of 25, 00 € (I missed the free transpportation from Airport to residence). Refreshments and dinner in Honolulu (per diem) 50, 00 €. Recuperation from jet lag after the travel (5 days) at per diem rate of 500, 00 € per day.

    Total claimed lump sump casual and ordinary out of pocket travel expenses are: 2, 9035.00 €.

    Complaint preparation fees 250.00 €.


    What was the air carrier’s reaction?

    Lufthansa after classical stunt of denial of the compensability due to as alleged fraudulent claim “ unfortunate event was an unforeseeable, unexpected and exceptional accident“ and is now arogantly ignoring me, is NOT at all responding any more to any correspondance related to claim submitted via e-mail, or their website.

    The communication with the airline is extremally difficult. Airline(s) has not informed passengers of their rights, neither has disclosed any proper procedures for submitting complaint, and such despite the demand were never disclosed to me, to properly communicate between the passengers and the carriers. Many passengers as foreign nationals were not proficient in german or english languages.

    1. The flight was cancelled. Both United Airlines as well Lufthansa are Star Alliance members. Passengers were abandoned by both airlines.

    2. All Lufthansa did was to provide passengers with the Toll Free number: [protected], of course to United Airlines located somewhere in the United States. No efforts were undertaken to accommodate the (non English speaking passengers). Many foreign travelers couldn't also not speak German. Many were Germans, who are not obliged to speaking English in their home country!.

    3. Over public announcement service we were informed to seek the hotel Steigenberger. There was no any form of help to direct us in the right direction.

    4. Passengers booked on United Flight under Lufthansa were told by United that they are not on passengers list. I learnt about it after my call to United Number [protected]. Only by jogging from Hotel to Airport, and between United and Lufthansa with substantial arguments the passengers were able to fight themselves for the reservations, on connecting flights.

    5. The stress was building up as: Lufthansa persistently mislead all passengers claiming that it was United flight and reservations must be made with United Airlines by the passengers. United refused to accommodate Lufthansa passengers.

    6. In case of cancelled flight the airline has the obligation to arrange the reservations for the passengers not the passengers themselves.

    7. That is what the passengers are paying for to their travel agents. The Star Alliance members are required to settle their professional duties between themselves. Abandoning passengers in case like this raises to criminal negligence.

    8. The Airline is responsible to accommodate the passengers in any way passengers may require, with no exception.

    10. As it was impossible to connect with United as to many abandoned passengers were calling reservation office in the US.

    11. Many people on that flight were even non English speaking people (Polish, German, French, Italians, Russians, etc.)

    12. Shockingly passengers booked on this flight through exchange with Lufthansa, apparently according to United Airlines, were not on the list of the United Airlines.

    13. No any form of assistance either by either Lufthansa or UNITED AIRLINES were ever offered to any passengers at Frankurt Airport. That is contrary to statments in the email. Passengers were abandoned, were forced to make their own travel arrangements, despite that they were not proficient in foreign to them language(s).

    14. Considering that the damaged aircraft was Boeing 747 400 series, accommodating close to at whether they had made adequate arrangements for a substitute plane to be available. Typical seating capacity of Boeing 747- 400 series is 524 passengers. Instead of abandoning passengers after flight cancellation, carrier should immediately arrange for substitute plane through any available airline brokerage. Providing replacement booking for such a huge number of passengers on already booked flights was clearly mission impossible, arogant, unprofessional, ruthless and highly questionable regarding the airlines mission statement, its approach to passengers, and business. It well demonstrates how well the airline is organized and how really cares about its passengers.

    Some passengers spent over 3 nervous days without the assistance of Lufthansa or United Airlines awaiting for the booking.

    15. Neither of airlines have had a substitude stand by aircraft at any of the nearest European hubs.

    Lufthansa deliberately and with malice misleads passengers, denies compensation in violation of the governing law(s) and in contempt of European Court of Justice rulling in Wallentin- Hermann v Alitalia—Linee Aeree Italiane SpA (Case C-549/07), dated December 22, 2017.


    Citations from Lufthansa written response to the request for compensation: ( customer.feedback.[protected]@lufthansa.com ) *(for full e-mail replies by Lufthansa, please see attachments (3) on the end of this complaint.


    “Our partner United has informed us about the details surrounding the cancellation of your flight UA 901 on 27 December from Frankfurt to San Francisco. During the ground operations a towing truck accidentally hit the wing of the airplane thus causing the winglet to break off. As this unfortunate event was an unforeseeable, unexpected and exceptional accident, the airline cannot be held liable in this case.“

    _________________________________________________________________________________

    “We are sorry that you are not satisfied with our response. However, concerning the opinion of Lufthansa the judgement of the European Court does not mean that airlines are liable for cancellations due to technical reasons which are beyond their control - as in this case. Therefore we kindly ask for your understanding that we cannot offer any additional compensation.“ _________________________________________________________________________________

    “Please be advised that this will be our final response to you in regard to this case. If you have any other questions or concerns not related to the current claim, we would be glad to assist you.“

    _________________________________________________________________________________ “Regarding the events surrounding the cancellation of flight UA 901 on 27 December we are unable to pay any further compensation. You are of course free to contact any aviation authority or law enforcement institution you wish to involve.“


    Fabian Herrmann and Janine Seidel as the employees in charge, should be properly trained by the airline, knowledgeable about all mandatory legal requirements, helpful, and authorized to act in the best interest not only of carrier but first the passengers. Based on objective evidence and an intentional attempt to escape from liability, by any and all means, by writing targeted, predatory, purposly misleading counterproductive emails on behave of Lufthansa customer reations, resulted only in uncalled aggrevation, and substantial waste of time. Considering criminal behavior of those Lufthansa employees, who accepted on themselves to make the determination of compensability, while not authorised and qualified to do so, justify maximum sanctions of 25, 000 € to be imposed by this enforcement agency on Lufthansa.

    All travel expanses are reconstructed, as it is impractical and impossible to keep exact accounting of petty cash, in many cases the receipts were lost or not provided.

    Cost of living (COLA) in Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, is higher than in any other states. For tourist daily cost of surviving (hotel, meals, refreshments and entertainment) in Hawaii (per diem) is not less than estimated 500, 00 to 600, 00 U$ per person.


    It is up to the carrier (LUFTHANSA) to make me now an offer that I can't refuse.

    1 SDR *(Special Drawing Right) is worth about 1.18 €.

    €1.00 is equal to about U$1.285.


    Law and case references:


    http://curia.europa.eu/en/actu/communiques/cp08/aff/cp080100en.pdf

    http://www.icao.int/icao/en/leb/mtl99.pdf

    http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2017:046:0001:0007:EN:PDF


    Consequences of flight cancellation and delay: Consequently after such extremely long travel (58 hors), I have been devastatingly exhausted and needed full week of time for after travel recovery from time change and jet lag, as due to nervous situation, I was unable to sleep either in the hotel and later on the airplane during the flight. I have been to tired to enjoy the New Year event in Honolulu, which we planned for several months before. Consequently I was than unable to travel as planed to Kuai, Maui, Molokai and Big Island of Hawaii, during my 3 weeks of vacation due to extreme exhaustion after such a long flight.



    My vacation plans in Hawaii were substantially affected by the unplanned and uncalled change in flight schedule, as neither of the airlines have not timely provided a substitute plane from the nearest hub, what should be done with a minimum time delay. My vacation Plans as well as my companion arriving separately, were also totally ruined, as we were unable to enjoy either New Year, or other pre-planed trips, activities and / or business meetings.

    Settlement: The amount of settlement to be paid is always subject to negotiations. I am requesting settlement as proposed below, saying so, under all special circumstances of this case, as explained above, I am submitting my non negotiable demands for compensation.

    I am considering proposed below settlement terms as fair and just under any and all circumstances, in this case.

    As my New Year vacation as the result of flight cancellation were totally ruined, in addition to compensation, and all out of pocket expenses as stated above, as a replacement for my totally ruined vacations, I am requesting fully paid round trip (for two) for the „4th of July“ in Hawaii, between June 27, 2017 to to July 19, 2017, with, with return booked for August 27, 2017, (subject to my approval). The trip should include at least 21 pre-paid nights (two bedrooms suite) in Waikoloa Hawaii resort on Big Island of Hawaii.

    Hilton Waikoloa village in Hawaii web pages:

    http://www.hiltonwaikoloavillage.com


    The settlement I am seeking is travel for two value about U$ 5, 000 21 days Hilton Waikoloa accommodation for 2 in a 2 bedroom suite, value about 25, 000 U$ and than 5, 000 Euro cancellation compensation in compliance with Infringement of Article 5 of Regulation (EC) No 261/2017.


    Reimbursement for lost income during 25 days of those vacation in the amount of U$ 15, 000 (self employed).


    Lufthansa's response:


    Regarding the events surrounding the cancellation of flight UA 901 on 27 December we are unable to pay any further compensation. You are of course free to contact any aviation authority or law enforcement institution you wish to involve.


    Yours sincerely,

    ______________________________________________________

    Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel

    Customer Feedback Europe


    Lufthansa German Airlines

    Customer Feedback Europe

    PO Box 1289

    Liverpool L69 3AX

    UK

    E-mail: customer.feedback.[protected]@lufthansa.com


    Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.

    Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln

    Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.

    Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber

    Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer


    Thank you for your Email dated 19 January.

    We are very sorry to learn about the irregularities and difficulties you experienced as a result of a flight cancellation on 27 December. For your inconvenience and your trouble we would like to apologise most sincerely to you.

    As a matter of course we have already contacted our partner United Airlines and are currently researching the reasons for these unfortunate events. We kindly ask you for your patience during our handling process. We will contact you as soon as we have obtained more information.

    Yours sincerely,
    ______________________________________________________
    Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel
    Customer Feedback Europe

    Lufthansa German Airlines
    Customer Feedback Europe
    PO Box 1289
    Liverpool L69 3AX
    UK
    E-mail: customer.feedback.[protected]@lufthansa.com

    Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.
    Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln
    Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.
    Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
    Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer










    Lufthansa's second e-mail (2) response:

    Thank you for your patience during our handling process.
    We are sorry that you feel you have to write in English. Of course you can also write to us in your native language.

    Our partner United has informed us about the details surrounding the cancellation of your flight UA 901 on 27 December from Frankfurt to San Francisco. During the ground operations a towing truck accidentally hit the wing of the airplane thus causing the winglet to break off. As this unfortunate event was an unforeseeable, unexpected and exceptional accident, the airline cannot be held liable in this case.

    As a matter of course we and our partner still offer care and assistance to our passengers in such a situation. We very much regret that you felt that the service provided was not up to the standard you have come to expect from us. Due to the large numbers of guests who require assistance it is not always possible to honour personal requests as much as we would like to. We kindly ask for your understanding in this matter.

    The ground staff in Frankfurt offered all involved passengers hotel accommodation. All major hotels operate shuttle buses from the airport that are free of charge for hotel guests. Therefore no transportation voucher was issued to you.

    Since this unpleasant chain of events was caused by an accident and our partner United has fulfilled the EU regulation by offering accommodation to you, no further compensation can be paid in this instance.

    We are glad that you could continue your journey the next day on LH 456 and we hope that in spite of the irregularities you had a successful and pleasant trip and you will choose Lufthansa again in the near future.

    Yours sincerely,
    ______________________________________________________
    Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel
    Customer Feedback Europe

    Lufthansa German Airlines
    Customer Feedback Europe
    PO Box 1289
    Liverpool L69 3AX
    UK
    E-mail: customer.feedback.[protected]@lufthansa.com

    Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.
    Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln
    Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.
    Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
    Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer

    Lufthansa's e-mail response:

    Thank you for your Email.

    We are sorry that you are not satisfied with our response. However, concerning the opinion of Lufthansa the judgement of the European Court does not mean that airlines are liable for cancellations due to technical reasons which are beyond their control - as in this case. Therefore we kindly ask for your understanding that we cannot offer any additional compensation.

    Please be advised that this will be our final response to you in regard to this case. If you have any other questions or concerns not related to the current claim, we would be glad to assist you.

    It is our hope that these events will not keep you from choosing Lufthansa again for your journeys.Yours sincerely,
    ______________________________________________________
    Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel
    Customer Feedback Europe

    Lufthansa German Airlines
    Customer Feedback Europe
    PO Box 1289
    Liverpool L69 3AX
    UK
    E-mail: customer.feedback.[protected]@lufthansa.com

    Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.
    Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln
    Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.
    Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
    Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer


    Lufthansa's e-mail response:

    Regarding the events surrounding the cancellation of flight UA 901 on 27 December we are unable to pay any further compensation. You are of course free to contact any aviation authority or law enforcement institution you wish to involve.

    Yours sincerely,
    ______________________________________________________
    Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel
    Customer Feedback Europe

    Lufthansa German Airlines
    Customer Feedback Europe
    PO Box 1289
    Liverpool L69 3AX
    UK
    E-mail: customer.feedback.[protected]@lufthansa.com

    Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.
    Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln
    Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.
    Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
    Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer


    Lufthansa German Airlines

    Customer Feedback Europe

    PO Box 1289

    Liverpool L69 3AX

    UK

    Lufthansa Customer Relation:

    Germany

    Deutsche Lufthansa AG

    Deutschland

    Gütersloh

    Zip Code33322

    Fax+[protected]

    Help all to FIGHT BACK those crooks:

    E-mail Lufthansa CEO, and other employees, tell them what YOU think of that shoddy airlines:

    wolfgang.[protected]@dlh.de, [protected]@LHsystems.com, andreas.[protected]@dlh.de, carl.[protected]@dlh.de, carsten.[protected]@dlh.de, holger.hä[protected]@dlh.de, lufthansa.europe.uk.[protected]@dlh.de, stefan.[protected]@dlh.de, hubert.[protected]@dlh.de, jurgen.[protected]@dlh.de,

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Mar 09, 2009

    oh god!same thing is happening with me!i lost my hand luggage in frankfurt...i had loads of gold jewellery in it...now they asked me to send contents list but its me whose contacting them...they said they havent received the fax...but i got the confirmation...they said liverpool doesnt have a phone number so v faxed the letter there also...now wat to do?

    0 Votes
  • To
      Jun 04, 2009
    Lufthansa - Lufthansa On-line Ticket not accepted at Oslo airport
    Norway

    I purchased a return ticket on the Lufthansa Website on 23rd March 2017 for a return Flight from Oslo to Stuttgart 26/27th March Ticket [protected] Reservation code ZZI3HH. Price of Economy a staggering €1135 (£1081.66). On arrival at Oslo airport I tried to get my ticket but SAS the Lufthansa partners advised that they could not issue me with a ticket as their system could not verify that I had paid however I could travel on the flight if I handed over my credit card and bought another ticket from SAS no.[protected] for 9902 Kr Norwegian (£1077.04) which I did. When I later checked my Visa statement, surprise surprise my account was debited by both amounts.
    Lufthansa have since admitted to a fault in their online booking system however I have not had my £1044.04 refunded, nor can they tell when they will do so and have advised that they cannot comply with my request for compensation (VISA interest charges, time, telephone calls etc.). Lufthansa Customer Feedback is not helpful and cannot give a phone number. I am aghast at the lack of responsibility, uncaring attitude and responsiveness by Lufthansa and would appreciate the next step to take with an independant body who can bring pressure to bear on Lufthansa.
    Contact Tom Brown +[protected] or mob [protected] [protected]@bp.com

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Aug 19, 2009

    I to have had trouble with this airlint and the eticket system...
    At the very least they could try and get the &%$§ supervisor at San Fransisco airport to be a little less arrogant and try to resolve issues.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Aug 19, 2009

    this is spot on, I HAVE HAT THIS PROBLEM TO

    0 Votes
  • Pl
      Sep 15, 2009
    Lufthansa - drawing
    lufthansa
    Argentina

    On 21 June 2017 I flew on Lufthansa LH 511 from Buenos Aires to Frankfurt in tourist class.

    At the beginning of the flight it was announced that the flight had been chosen for a survey on quality of services and that a questionnaire would have been distributed to passengers. Among all those passengers who had filled the questionnaire two flights would have been offered. It was not said in any way that the “lottery” was reserved to a few passengers and it was not announced how the passengers would have been chosen.

    The night came, most passengers felt asleep and no questionnaire was given.

    I slept about 4 hours and, once awake, I asked about the questionnaire. The answer was that no more questionnaires were available. The chief cabin attendant said that only 15 had been given and that the lottery was not open to everybody. I tried to obtain more information but I was treated with no kindness at all.

    The way things were done, ditribution during the night when most passengers were asleep, makes me believe that the questionnaire was given only to the persons known by the flight personnel.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Dec 11, 2009
    Lufthansa - Business travelers beware
    Lufthansa
    Florida
    United States

    I had a choice of airlines this week and chose Lufthansa because I thought they would provide excellent service. Not so - I suggest business travelers be very wary of this fading bird.

    I bought a full-fare business ticket that cost over ten thousand dollars and was served a plate of fruit for dinner and a scant breakfast and a bunch of movies that were out of date. The quality of lines was cheap and the passenger service dreadful. Cost-cutting is very clearly the priority at Lufthansa - NOT service.

    As a business traveler, I will not willingly choose this airline (and transit airport) again - especially given how much better other airlines - and other facilities - are. This is a fading brand that once used to be great (I have experienced good flights before, but this was a long time ago), and has lost its focus.

    NOTE FOR TRAVELERS GOING TO FRANKFURT: The Lufthansa Tower "lounge" at the A Terminal in Frankfurt Airport DOES NOT offer free wifi - the T-Mobile service that they do offer enables only a choice of 60 minutes for $12 or 30 days for $40. There is no other choice if you need to get work done on a non-public terminal.

    Also, the Skyline service does not operate if you arrive early at Gate B, and there is nothing to do but sit around until they decide to turn it on. Ask any of the twenty of so highly-annoyed passengers this morning and you would have heard the same story - and seen the same absolutely "I don't give two hoots" attitude from the staff. Extraordinary.

    Heathrow's new lounges makes Frankfurt look like a stop in the third world - I never thought I be placing an English airport above a German one, but there you go.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Dec 13, 2009
    Lufthansa - Not recommended for business
    Lufthansa
    Florida
    United States

    After experiencing terrible service from the Middle East to Frankfurt on a recent flight, I was interested to see if things would improve on the Germany-US leg.

    From a people perspective, the staff were indeed nicer that the grumps that transported us from the Middle East to Frankfurt. Not as grumpy or dictatorial by a long way. But that's where the good news stops, unfortunately. My take-away from the flight was that Lufthansa has forgotten how to service the business customer.

    Examples:

    1. No power for laptops in business class (astonishing - even American Airlines has this)
    2. Paper towels in the bathrooms of such cheap quality, they would make an East German nostalgic
    3. No "food on demand" (see point one - America was better by far on the way over)
    4. No priority baggage handling (my bag was the LAST out in Miami - despite GOLD status)
    5. A tired selection of movies - and even older television shows

    At the end of the trip, looking around the cabin, I came to the conclusion that the only good thing Lufthansa has left is its brand.

    Given a choice, such as the choice I had last week, between Etihad (yes!) and Lufthansa (no!), Lufthansa will not be getting my vote again in the future. I will fly them if I have to, but they will no be my primary choice for business.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
      Jan 11, 2010
    Lufthansa - delayed baggag
    Lufthansa
    England, Greater London
    United Kingdom

    I arrived in LHR at 10.00PM at 4th January 2017 after 2 hours of delay from South Korea via Frankfurt.

    the stewardess kept on telling me that i wont be able to make the transfer flight and that i would probably
    be moved to the flight the next day which worried me more because i needed to be somewhere the next day

    luckily i arrived in time for the transfer

    when i arrived in heathrow my bag did not turn up on the conveyor belt and i went to file a missing bag report.. after ringing them the day after countless number of times,
    i was treated with raised voices, i dont care attitudes and some of them even hung up when i asked them
    when my bag would be found.
    i was told that my bag was found, it was not, that it was no where to be found
    and that they had no idea where it was and said something like ' it could be in america for all i know'
    after spending about 20 pounds on just phone calls

    it was luckily found on the 6th January and that it would be delievered on that day

    NOT!!

    i had a phonecall from the courier service on the 7th that it would be delievered that day

    IT WASNT!!

    it wasnt delievered the next day neither as they told me

    9th and 10th was a weekend so i wasnt expecting a delievery but i stayed home anyway...
    now its monday
    and i cant even get through to their call centres
    so i rang up lufthansa and they said that its not in their possession so that they cant do anything about it

    to me as far as im concerned the bags are still missing and i find lufthansa is responsible for them..

    i have no idea what to do nor who to ring anymore

    0 Votes
  • My suggestion: stop calling. It's not going to make any difference anyway. If the bag has been located and send out to a courier company, then you are at their mercy... They will deliver the bag when they can. Calling the airline will do very little. Make sure to gather receipts for any expenses you had while you were waiting for your bag. If you are away from home and had to purchase items, the airline may reimburse you up to a certain amount per day... Check with the FINAL CARRIER - i.e. the airline that flew you to your final destination. They are responsible for all baggage issues.

    0 Votes
  • He
      Feb 15, 2010
    Lufthansa - Customer Service regarding damaged luggage
    helijenny
    United Kingdom

    We will never fly Lufthansa again!

    We have always seen them as a highly respected airline. But after trying for two months to get a single response to the delay and damage of our luggage, and had Cape Town and London staff members being extremely rude on the telephone, we have decided to vote with our feet and never fly with them in the future.

    After reading the other posts on this site, I see that we are not the only disappointed and frustrated customers. I hope Lufthansa management read sites like this and realise that no airline can afford to be so arrogant towards their customers. After all, they are only as good as their last flight.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
      Feb 16, 2010
    Lufthansa - Horrid customer service - missing bride suitcase for my wedding
    M. Sharma-Mehta
    United States

    We flew to India, in Business Class for our wedding and when arrived in Bombay, it was the bride (my) suitcase that never arrived. We didn't get a sorry - or a we'll locate and contact you - instead i spent the 10 hours before our first wedding function scrounging for clothes.

    I was asked why i didn't pack my clothes in my fiance's bag. WHO THE HECK HAS THE RIGHT TO TELL ME HOW TO PACK?

    We called the Lufthansa office everyday and never got a response. Their lines were always busy. I bought two sets of clothes to get me to the henna function. We never heard back, never were offered compensation and, for our honeymoon, had to cancel our plans so i could go get basic clothes.

    Lufthansa APPARENTLY has no customer service or a number to reach Ms. Cynthia Fae (a Customer Service Prof we get an email from that we've submitted claims to). Not one person we can speak to. Not one person that is willing to help or acknowledge our claims. On our flight back from India - we were treated horribly, in Business Class - no customer service, care or concern for 3 very expensive airline tickets, and at the end, a hell of a wedding, honeymoon and vacation that was consumed by finding replacements that we are still out of pocket for.

    I will NEVER fly this airline again and recommend the same to any of our friends, all of whom travel frequently through Europe and into Asia.

    I hope if nothing else, management steps up and tries to do right by their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Mar 25, 2010

    Why on Earth did you put valuables in checked luggage...are you insane.

    0 Votes
  • Ez
      Apr 04, 2010
    Lufthansa - Delay of the fly and delay of my luggage
    lufthansa
    Germany
    lufthansa.com

    In my last trip from Birmingham to Frankfurt to Tripoli:

    * 1st flight:

    Flight Number: LH4901:02-APR-2017 Birmingham to Frankfurtn (dep time:10:00, Arrival time: 12:35).

    * 2sd flight: Transit in Frankfurt

    Flight Number: LH4120:02-APR-2017 Frankfurt to Tripoli (dep:time: 13:40, Arrival time: 16:30).

    ** 1st pronlem: Delay in the second flight about 1hr, this make a problem in my day calendar.

    ** 2sd problem: in tripoli I don't find my bag, I requested this and after one day the luggage departement in tripoli call me and said that the bag was found in Frankfurt without boarding number, and after one day I get it but in baid situation.

    0 Votes
  • Sg
      Jun 23, 2010
    Lufthansa - delayed baggage
    lufthansa
    Norway

    WE were on a flight on June 14th from oslo to dusselldorf to toronto to winnipeg. We arrived in toronto to find out that our luggage was still in oslo. we were at the airport in oslo 2 hoursand a half early and we still managed to have our luggage delayed. We filed a complaint. We arrived home Mon evg the 14th at 10:30 p.m and filed another complaint. our luggage was delivered to us on wed evg. The inside of our suitcases were all wet, our clothes were soaked and our souvenirs that we had purchased had all been taken out of the wet boxes and left to be damaged. I have flown many airlines previously eq KLM, SAS and never had this happen. We were very upset and had put alot of expense into our souvenirs. What was the problem?I hope that you can send me some reassurance to ever fly with you again. Yours truly Sissel Gunderson

    0 Votes
  • No
      Aug 01, 2010
    Lufthansa - Appalling Web Site
    Freelance
    12
    London
    England, Greater London
    United Kingdom
    Phone: [protected]

    Jesus, who designed the Lufthansa website?? It has got to be the least user friendly in the known universe.
    Over the past four years, I've frequently logged in, just to see what the frostiest airline in the world was charging for its services. (I travel frequently to Germany) On no occasion have I left the site without wishing to hurl my laptop against the wall, or with clear details of pricing or availability of flights. Is the company actually trying to dissuade anyone but business travellers from ever using its airlines? It's certainly succeeded as far as I am concerned.

    Get over yourself, Lufthansa: it's not 1957 any more. We have choices.

    0 Votes
  • Nd
      Dec 24, 2010

    First time i flight i fly with Lufthansa (definetely last), first time i loose my suitcase for my Christmas holidays.
    Absolutely poor and disapointing. Never fly again with those.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
      Feb 02, 2011

    Lufthansa used to be a very good airline but I agree with you, now it is only about cost cutting, even in First. When I complained that "Fish and Chips" was not the kind of food that I was expecting in First Class for a ticket price of $ 14, 000 the answer was "sorry, you did not like our food" - what I learned from that experience was that LH obviously believes that junk food is appropriate in First and passengers who don't agree are too demanding. I remember when LH served a warm breakfast after a transcontinental flight - even in Economy (scrambled eggs), now they won't do that anymore even in Business. The "breakfast" after my last flight from Chicago to Munich consisted of a cereal bar. Why don't they make an announcement "We will serve you a cereal bar before our landing..." do they really believe that passengers are that stupid ?

    0 Votes
  • Eb
      Feb 27, 2011
    Lufthansa - Frequent Miles
    Lufhansa
    New York
    United States

    The airline did not notify me on time, that my Miles and More would expire on 6/30/10- - I called every month to make sure the 30, 000 would remain until the end of summer 2017, and found out that they were erased- or taken back the German carrier.
    Upon writing and even calling the German office, one clerk did not know from the other clerk's notes, or info. and denied the mileage accumulated.
    I suggested that the German carrier would let me buy back the miles, or offer to re-deem them, but, with their German arrogance all they would say is : Nein, Nein!!!
    I personally detest them and saw through their German cold and stoned personality, however, would have used the miles on a partner carrier. All I can say is : The hell with them!!!

    0 Votes
  • Di
      May 15, 2011
    Lufthansa - Overall and all
    United States

    I remember the times when flight attendants were pretty, food tasty, and airlines punctual. It was relatively expensive to fly, but it still is. Everything else has changed a lot.

    As a very frequent flyer (over 100 flights per year) I have to say Lufthansa remains the leader, it doesn’t fail to disappoint, over and over again. Well, one could argue that at least they are consistent in their performance.

    Almost every flight I had was delayed and I missed my connection a zillion times. I wasted hours and hours of my precious time waiting for a plane to finally depart or to get at the next available flight. A year ago (and I do not think I will ever forget this) I spent 14 hours on the Frankfurt airport (because of a delay I missed the connection flight). Why? Not because they did not have any flights in the meantime, but because Lufthansa did not want to book me a seat at a flight where only business class seats were available (I am talking about 1.5 hour flight, not London-New York business class). He didn’t even offer me a possibility to pay extra for the business class.

    And when I finally get on a plane, I have no room for my legs (they squeezed rows so much that I can hardly fit), very often there is no place for my coat or a handbag in the upper compartment (as they allow people to get in with all kinds of ‘hand luggage’) I am served something that they call food, while flight attendants typically look like they are irritated that had to show up at work, and actually earn their salaries. Staff is often arrogant and rude.

    And they couldn’t care less, because they know that our options are very limited!

    0 Votes
  • Di
      May 15, 2011

    I remember the times when flight attendants were pretty, food tasty, and airlines punctual. It was relatively expensive to fly, but it still is. Everything else has changed a lot.

    As a very frequent flyer (over 100 flights per year) I have to say Lufthansa remains the leader, it doesn’t fail to disappoint, over and over again. Well, one could argue that at least they are consistent in their performance.

    Almost every flight I had was delayed and I missed my connection a zillion times. I wasted hours and hours of my precious time waiting for a plane to finally depart or to get at the next available flight. A year ago (and I do not think I will ever forget this) I spent 14 hours on the Frankfurt airport (because of a delay I missed the connection flight). Why? Not because they did not have any flights in the meantime, but because Lufthansa did not want to book me a seat at a flight where only business class seats were available (I am talking about 1.5 hour flight, not London-New York business class). He didn’t even offer me a possibility to pay extra for the business class.

    And when I finally get on a plane, I have no room for my legs (they squeezed rows so much that I can hardly fit), very often there is no place for my coat or a handbag in the upper compartment (as they allow people to get in with all kinds of ‘hand luggage’) I am served something that they call food, while flight attendants typically look like they are irritated that had to show up at work, and actually earn their salaries. Staff is often arrogant and rude.

    And they couldn’t care less, because they know that our options are very limited!

    -1 Votes
  • Mr
      Jun 05, 2011
    Lufthansa - luggage missing for four days minimum
    Luftahnsa
    Germany

    File reference: LHR34288/06JUN11/1935GMT

    I was travelling on LH1889/02Jun/lh2482/02Jun, from Florence via Munich to LHR. My suitcase did not appear with the other cases on the flight

    I was told the case would be delivered the next day (Fri 3rd June) and I made some complex arrnagements for someone to be able to receive it. I have now been told I have to wait till 18.30 hours on Monday 6th June (tomorrow i.e 4 days)

    Obviously this is highly inconvenient, to say the least. I have had two signifcant events over the week-end (I have the evidence.. though am annoyed at the idea of needing to produce any evidence) which needed particular apparel - which is in my case. I have also needed my toiletries and further changes of clothing. I have work clothing in my casw which i need for tomorrow.

    I have thus needed to go to some considerable expense - and taken some considerable time to sort this issue out. That there are daily flights from Munich to LHR merely serve to irritate me further - as I am sure you can imagine.

    Please assure me that my suitcase will indeed arrive tomorrow (Monday 6th June) and please let me know how I can claim full compensation for the considerable inconvenience and irritation I have expereinced together with my necessary financial outlay

    Yours Truly

    Liz Best (Mrs)

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jun 30, 2011

    I am having the same problem. I have written to them twice about not being warned about the point expiration, and first time they replied your contact data must be updated, I replied it is already current, and I would like the name/numer to their supervisor, but they replied, it is your own responsibility to know when they expire. No info about the supervisor.

    If anyone knows how and where to complain about miles and more service let me know...

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jul 01, 2011

    Dream on if you think you're getting compensation - airlines aren't liable for immaterial damage, so they won't pay. Hope you kept the receipts for the clothes you bought - if you're luck you'll get half the cash back...

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Jul 08, 2011
    Lufthansa - Lost of baggage
    Savrasov Vladimir
    Russia

    My baggage was lost on the 16-th of June 2017. There were things that i bought in Paris. These things were very expensive. This is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS and extremely insulting. please connect with me and find my baggage.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Oct 28, 2011

    Dear custom officer,
    My baggage has been damaged while travelling from Frankfurt to Melbourne . I departed on 24 Th of October, at 21.55, LH778, and arrived in Melbourne on 26Th, October, via Singapore, LH 9774.
    At my arrival, at the airport I did not notice any damage, my baggage was put in the car and when at home I tried to roll it, I noticed that the handle was broken and some damage were inflicted on one side on the metal that sustain the edge.
    My name is Mariana Craciun, living in Melbourne, Australia. I am a member of STAR Alliance and hope that this matter is going to be addressed in a satisfactory way.
    I you request, I will attached photos, shortly,
    Your sincerely,
    Mariana Craciun

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Feb 16, 2012

    Agree. Their staff haven't a clue!

    After losing my bag in Donetsk the staff said to sort it out at Heathrow; at Heathrow they gave me a card with a phone number to call; when I phoned the number on teh card they said to send in an email via the website; & since then I have heard nothing...

    Perhaps Lufthansa's aim is to make the process so difficult that in the end you stop bothering... You can't even call & speak to someone who can help...

    Rubbish. Fly with a more reputable airline!

    0 Votes
  • Nk
      Jan 08, 2013
    Lufthansa - Reservation
    New South Wales
    Australia

    I called Lufthansa Miles & More to make a ticket redemption. After talking to the call centre representative of Lufthansa based in a Melbourne (Tomo) advised me seats were available for travel with Air China (Sydney-Shanghai return) on 23-27th Jan.

    As I had to arrange hotel, car transport and formalize timing of my business meetings I requested if the seat can be reserved without ticketing until a day so I can purchase ticket using my miles (excluding tax) I was advised ticket can be reserved and it is confirmed subject to me calling to issue ticket and pay taxes AU$359.58. I agreed and received a booking confirmation of my flight via Lufthansa email.

    After calling to pay the taxes and issue ticket I was advised that Lufthansa has made an error and the ticket can't be issued as the seat is not available due to blackout by Air China.

    I was not happy with this response as I had this booking confirmed to me on the phone and via an email by two representative of Lufthansa call centre based in Australia. I then requested that I like to escalate this matter to a senior manager as the representative was not offering me a solution and keep saying "sorry for this problem we caused you sir, but we can't do the ticket issuing" after several attempts and request I finally got put into the supervisor in Melbourne call centre Andy.

    Andy advised me that this is an error from Lufthansa side as everything was showing as booking is confirmed on the system but once they start ticketing they get an error message from China Air showing return date on 27 jan to Sydney as blackout. Andy advised me that he would commit to resolve this issue to my satisfaction but needed further time to communicate with Lufthansa head office. He again extended the original reservation confirmation and emailed me the booking confirmation which showed as being reserved and flight as confirmed. He requested I give him till 9th Jan (24 hours) to fix this issue and he repeatedly informed me on the phone that I should trust him.

    However after all this frustrations and time wasting I got a call on the 9th(today) at 1pm from Andy quoting" mr. Khorrami I am so sorry about your issue but unfortunately I have not got good news for you as I promised you, Lufthansa head office can't do anything for you with the redemption reservation and they advised you to go and purchase a ticket directly from a carrier if you want to continue with your travel" they will not compensate you for anything he responded. I was offcourse very disappointed and told Andy I am not accepting this very low response from a big and reputable company such as Lufthansa and I would raise this as a formal complaint. As I would suffer financially here due to an error by Lufthansa and Lufthansa need to compensate me.

    This poor response I can't bare it and need some help as to what can be done to get Lufthansa to be more customer focus and support instead of telling me to go and buy a ticket!!! Why should I be the victim of error from Lufthansa??

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jul 10, 2013
    Lufthansa - Lost luggage and no help
    Lufthansa
    Sweden

    Lufthansa lost my luggage on a flight over 2 weeks ago between Stockholm and Nizny Novgorod in Russia
    The luggage is still lost and I cannot get anyone at Lufthansa to tell me what is going on, if someone is looking for my luggage or if they have given up, how I can be reimbursed.

    I am being completely ignored and as my vacation is approaching and with that the need for suitecase and other things that was in the lost luggage I am getting more and more frustrated. But Lufthansa just does not care. I already paid for my ticket so why would they?

    0 Votes
  • Sp
      Aug 09, 2013

    email here, head of complaints, they give a response christoph.[protected]@dlh.de

    0 Votes
  • Sp
      Aug 09, 2013

    email here, head of complaints, they give a response christoph.[protected]@dlh.de

    0 Votes
  • Sp
      Aug 09, 2013
    Lufthansa - refund finally given after terrible service
    lufthansa
    United States

    After a horrible flight where my labtop was taken on the flight, I was ignored by the silly complaints set up at lufthansa. After 2 weeks I finally was given the head of complaints email - a mister christoph, and they issued a full refund for the laptop and the ticket. They were very annoyed that I had gotten through however and questioned how I got the email

    they give a great response christoph.[protected]@dlh.de

    0 Votes

Post your comment