Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Lufthansa / Lost Baggage - Poor Customer Service

United States Review updated:
4.3
I put in a claim for $2949 for baggage lost during a flight back in July. I have just received a check for $500. This is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS and extremely insulting. I have contacted customer service twice via email and mail, and have heard nothing back. They do not respond. There is no phone number to call and the main office in Germany has been no help whatsover.

The amount I submitted was already low for the contents of the baggage. I am disgusted with this and the poor customer service. It is the worst customer service experience I have ever had.
Ad
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
Pr
  18th of Feb, 2009
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I encourage every one to Boycott the worst world wide airline:

Lufthansa German shoddy predatory greedy Airline !!

Let them as they are planning to do ... dream to acquire other airlines and to destroy the competition: Air Austria, Air Italy, LOT, Swiss Air.

Would you fly to be screwed, arrested and even jailed?

Only than Fly LUFTHANSA!

Lufthansa apparent Customer Service and Marketing Plan: Screw them!
LUFTHANSA CEO WOLFGANG MAYRHUBER Marketing Plan:
Hire the cheap incompetent idiots as stewardeses and ###s as captains, for your money they will help you to be arrested jailed and fined, just for supporting and flying on shoddy LUFTHANSA Airlines in old tradition of SS!
On February 10, 2009 the people of Poland were told and had the best proof how well the employees of LUFTHNSA are carring about passengers, when member of Polish parlament, candidate for polish Premier, Jan Maria Rokita on Lufthansa flight LH3336 first was assaulted by Lufthansa stewardess, than late after her racist behavior and fraudulent claim to aircraft captain, he and his wife were denied boarding and due to fraudulently claimed alleged “agressive behavior“ wrongfully arrested by evidently racist German police.

Lufthansa Airlines confirmed that on 10 of February, 2009, the passenger was escorted by the German authorities from the aircraft on flight LH3336 between Munich and Cracow.
Unfortunatelly the idiots from Lufthansa did not know the gentelman whom they assaulted, was11.07.1992 - 26.10.1993 Chief of the Office of the Council of Ministers, the potential Prime Minister of Poland, Member of Parliment, and his wife Nelly Rokita, who is the adviser of Polish President Lech Kaczynski, but the polish citizens know very well his always set back and restrained behavior. In 2003, Jan Maria Rokita was awarded “Man of the Year“ title, which is a very prestigious award.

That is the marketing act of the century!

Lufthansa latest Marketing slogan:
We hope that in spite of the irregularities you had a successful and pleasant trip and you will choose Lufthansa again in the near future.

Really?

I hope you will be soon out of business, you damn german crooks!


My best LUFTHANSA EXPERIENCE:

Canceled flight LH 9052 on trip to Honolulu, Hawaii:

Iterinary:

GDN LO 359, Saturday, December 27, 2008

FRA UA 901 / LH9052, Saturday, December 27, 2008

SFO UA 79 / LH9136 Saturday, December 27, 2008

HNL UA1036, Saturday, January 17, 2009

SFO UA 0906, Sunday, January 18, 2009

MUC LO 396 Sunday, January 18, 2009

Lufthansa knowingly abandoned the passengers, failed to inform them of their rights, than refused to pay mandatory cancellation compensation.

The governing laws:

● Regulation (EC) No 261/2004, being valid from February 17, 2005, establishing common rules on compensation and assistance to passengers in the event of of cancellation of flights. In case of flight cancellations, the operating air carrier is not obliged to pay compensation in accordance with article 7 of Regulation (EC) No 261/2004, only if it can prove to the Luftfahrt-Bundesamt (LBA) that the cancellation is caused by extraordinary circumstances which could not have been avoided even if all reasonable measures had been taken, and this definitively is not the case.

● European Court of Justice: case Wallentin-Hermann v Alitalia—Linee Aeree Italiane SpA (Case C-549/07), December, 22, 2008. The European Tribunal of Justice (EJC) on December 22, 2008, in Wallentin-Hermann case closed the loophole of always abused frivolous interpretations used by the airlines of “technical or extraordinary circumstances“, when further defined and limited the use of such defense. Finally the definition of “technical and / or extraordinary circumstances“ by the ECJ court now stands firm and solid. Any carrier must prove that the alleged mechanical problem leading to the cancellation was “beyond its actual control, ” the court affirmed in a statement.

Complaint:

In case of any flight cancellation for whatever reasons the airline(s) are required to provide passengers with:

• emergency flight booking, and an alternative transport to final destination, what was not at all done by either of the airlines.

Canceled was the segment (UA 901 / LH 9052) of my multiple segments flight, starting on December 27, 2008. The flight operator is United Airlines (UA 901) while the contractual booking carier is Lufthansa with flight number LH 9052.

My reservation was through Lufthansa airlines on Lufthansa flight LH9052, I am entitled to claim compensation from Lufthansa, the airline with which I have the contract, for breach of that contract.

The governing laws:

● Regulation (EC) No 261/2004, being valid from February 17, 2005, establishing common rules on compensation and assistance to passengers in the event of of cancellation of flights. In case of flight cancellations, the operating air carrier is not obliged to pay compensation in accordance with article 7 of Regulation (EC) No 261/2004, only if it can prove to the Luftfahrt-Bundesamt (LBA) that the cancellation is caused by extraordinary circumstances which could not have been avoided even if all reasonable measures had been taken, and this definitively is not the case.

● European Court of Justice: case Wallentin-Hermann v. Alitalia—Linee Aeree Italiane SpA (Case C-549/07), December, 22, 2008. The European Tribunal of Justice (EJC) on December 22, 2008, in Wallentin-Hermann case closed the loophole of always abused frivolous interpretations used by the airlines of “technical or extraordinary circumstances“, when further defined and limited the use of such defense. Finally the definition of “technical and / or extraordinary circumstances“ by the ECJ court now stands firm and solid. Any carrier must prove that the alleged mechanical problem leading to the cancellation was “beyond its actual control, ” the court affirmed in a statement.

Flight Cancellation (Article 5): Cancellation is the non-operation of a scheduled flight on which at least one place was reserved. From this, claims for compensation and assistance under Articles 7, 8 and 9 of the a.m. EC Regulation will arise (see summary in the attached table). Under extraordinary circumstances, the operating air carrier is partially or totally exempt from the obligations under the a.m. EC Regulation. Examples: Political instability, meteorological conditions incompatible with the operation of the flight, security risks, unexpected flight safety shortcomings, strikes, etc.

Disclosure:

The operating air carrier is obliged to comprehensively inform the passengers of this EC

Regulation. For this purpose a notice at check-in is required and in addition a written

description of the rules for compensation and assistance in the case of denied boarding,

cancellation or a delay of more than two hours is to be handed over to each passenger

concerned. At the same time the passengers shall be informed in writing of the responsible

body for complaints.

Derogating or restrictive clauses in the contract of carriage cannot limit or preclude the

contents of the Regulation.

Policy enforcement: The Luftfahrt-Bundesamt (LBA) is the competent authority for the implementation of Regulation (EC) No 261/2004 in Germany. Under this task the LBA analyses on the basis of the complaints the individual air carriers’ policies and causes the air carriers to eliminate systematic infringements of the EC Regulation. If necessary, sanctions will be imposed consisting of fines. The aim is to ensure proper implementation of the consumer protection regulation according to EC law in Germany and to reduce the causes for passenger complaints.

Rights to compensation : Under the following conditions, compensation or assistance according to the EC Regulation (Article 3) may be claimed:

1. The passenger is departing from a German airport or the passenger is departing from an airport in a third country, the arrival airport is a German airport and the operating air carrier is an air carrier licensed under the Council Regulation (EEC) No 2407/92.

2. The passenger has a confirmed reservation and presents himself/herself for check-in at

the time indicated in advance or if no time has been specified, not later than 45 minutes before the published time of departure or the passenger has been transferred by the air carrier or the tour operator from a booked flight to another flight and presents himself/herself for check-in at the time indicated in advance or, if no time has been specified, not later than 45 minutes before the published time of departure.

Determination of compensability: In case of flight cancellations, the operating air carrier is not obliged to pay compensation in accordance with article 7 of Regulation (EC) No 261/2004, only if it can prove to the Luftfahrt-Bundesamt (LBA) that the cancellation is caused by extraordinary circumstances which could not have been avoided even if all reasonable measures had been taken.

The reasons leading to the flight cancellation shall be given in the form of the statements as requested in this form and shall be verified by appropriate documentation. LBA will resolve upon the acceptance of the statements on the basis of the information and documentation provided.

Information about the kind of documentation that is to be provided as means of proof is given in the note boxes coloured in grey (see below) in each section. If more than one complaint refers to the same flight, it is sufficient to fill out the just once. In this case, however, the LBA reference No of the complaints concerned shall be stated in section 3.

This form is to be signed in section 8 by the person acc to article 63d lit. 4 of Luftverkehrs-Zulassungs-Ordnung (German Air Navigation Certification Order) being the competent person for clearing and accepting complaints in your company.

Changes concerning this person and/or in the contact addresses are to be declared in writing to LBA without delay. If your company has not yet provided this information, the person and/or the contact address are to be announced in writing to LBA without further delay.

If one is refused entry to flight because of overbooking or find that your flight has been cancelled, the airline must hand you a leaflet explaining your rights and describing how much money one is entitled to. The rates are: ● Flights of 1, 500 km or less: € 250 ● Flights between 1, 500 km and 3, 500 km: € 400 ● Flights of more than 3, 500 km: € 600

It is up to enforcement agency LBA to determine if airline is obliged to pay compensation, not by Lufthansa customer service office clerks (Fabian Herrmann and Janine Seidel) or United customer relationship.

Airlines liability insurance minimum coverage: The law requires mandatory insurance for each airline against liability as follow: In accordance with Article 6 of the Regulation (EC) No 785/2004 and §§ 45-47 Luftverkehrsgesetz (Air Navigation Act) the minimum liability insurance cover in respect of passengers, baggage and cargo shall be as follows:

● 250.000 special drawing rights per passenger for bodily injury

● 4.150 special drawing rights per passenger for delayed carriage of passengers

● 1.000 special drawing rights per passenger for damage to baggage and delayed carriage of baggage ● 17 special drawing rights per kilogram for damage to cargoBoth, Lufthansa Airline or United Airline never handed to any of the passengers as required liflets and / or explaining customers rights.

Passengers rights enforcement:

The competency to deal with passengers complaint is with the national enforcement body where the flight - segment problem had its origin, and / or where the airline is domiciled.

Consequtly I have requested mandatory compensation from Lufthansa airline as the result of canceled one of the segments of my on round trip flight from Gdansk (GDN) Poland, to Honolulu (HNL), Hawaii, USA.

The European Court of Justice assured that the airlines must pay up, unless the technical fault was due to “exceptional circumstances“ exclusively defined by the court, such as an act of terrorism or deliberate sabotage.

Further the compensation may be refused only, if the technical problems stem from events which, by their nature or origin, are not inherent in the normal exercise of the activity of the air carrier, are beyond its actual control.

Both airlines in violation of Regulation (EC) No 261/2004, negligently abandoned the passengers. Both United Airlines as well as Lufthansa are jointly in contempt of the European Court of Justice. The final decision in Wallentin-Hermann case final verdict, was delivered in mid December of 2008.

The law requires that in situation like this airlines, not the passengers themselves, arranges reservation service as the replacement for cancelled flights, what was never offered or done. Both United Airlines as well Lufthansa not communicating with each other, are “Star Alliance“ members.

Over public announcement service we were informed to seek the hotel Steigenberger, and no one who is not familiar with the town could not locate them. We were only told where to go to the exit, nobody assisted us to find hotel shutlle bus-stop. We were running to and from seeking that bus stop. There was no any form of help to direct us in the right direction.

All Lufthansa did is to tell all passengers to call toll free number: 00 (1) (800) 538 2929, to United Airlines located “somewhere“ in all center in the United States.

Consequently as many passengers were calling at the same time it was impossible to get to United Airlines employees, the phone were busy, the waiting time was tremendous, mobile (cellular) telephone bill as the consequence are enormous.

If someone was lucky and get connected after several hours of trying, than United told Lufthansa passengers, that have no records of any passengers booked as Lufthansa passengers, and in my cast I am not listed on United Airlines Flight UA 901 passengers list, only due to incompetence of airline employees causing counterproductive tremendous stress, aggravation and tremendous general confusion.

My flight was more than 3, 500 km and as the boarding was denied, I am entitled to the regulatory damage of not less than € 600, plus any and all the expenses on any consequent flights.

In addition should any airline flying from EU airports responsible for the delay or cancelation of the flight anywhere in the world, passengers are entitled to claim 4, 150 SDR (Special Drawing Right), which at the currency exchange rate was about 4, 897.00 €, equivalent of about 6, 300.00 U$, (the exchange rates needs to be prorated to actual currency exchange rates on the day of occurrence, December 27, 2008).

Both airlines after the incident caused only by airlines negligence, ground support mechanics damaged the winglet of the aircraft, negligently abandoned all passengers.

Incident was clearly preventable, was caused only as the result of not following by airline(s) personel mandatory operating safety procedures on the airport ground, tarmac, by ground support crews. The parties are governed by the binding contract and whenever a passenger purchases a ticket, he does so for a comfortable journey.

Travel time: As the travel took from 05:00 am Friday, December 27, 2008 Polish time, (06:00 pm Friday, December 26, 2008, Honolulu time) with the arrival (landing) at 11:55 am, Sunday, December 29, Polish time (Sunday, December 28, 2008 10:55 pm Honolulu time), with consequently lost luggage which was delivered at the local address, which I have received later at 4:00 am Honolulu Time, all time being sleepless. My entire hardly earned vacation were ruined by flight delay. That is almost 58 sleepless hours in transit or travel.

Compensation entitlement: Regulation 5 (EC) No 261/2004, European Court of Justice in Luxembourg: Case Wallentin-Hermann v Alitalia—Linee Aeree Italiane SpA (Case C-549/07), December, 22, 2008.

Justice agreed that any technical issues during aircraft maintenance don’t constitute “extraordinary circumstances” that would allow airlines to avoid paying passengers compensation for canceled flights.

In its judgment, the Fourth Chamber of the Court of Justice held:

“Extraordinary circumstances” was not defined in the 2004 Regulation, but the phrase was to be interpreted narrowly since article 5(3) constituted a derogation from the principle, indicated in recitals 1 and 2 of the preamble, of protection of consumers, in as much as cancellation of flights caused serious inconvenience to passengers.

In addition to denied boarding on flight of more than 3, 500 km, compensation of not less than € 600, I am entitled also to claim flight cancelation 4, 150.0 SDR (Special Drawing Right), of about 4, 897.00 €. I am also entitled to any and all incurred travel expenses, and any legal fees I should encounter.

Airlines failed to provide mandatory accommodations after flight cancellation. No notifications, no refreshments (until 18:00 - 6:00pm with first and quite late meal), no flight reservation service.

Travel expenses (reconstructed or estimated): Phone calls expenses related to notifying other party (long distance and rooming fees) about flight delay (air time on 2 mobile phones): lump sum of 20, 00 €. Reimbursement for the lunch at Frankurt Airport of 25, 00 € . Air time on my mobile phone for calling for seveal hours from Frankfurt to toll free number in United States lump sum of 25, 00 €. Refreshments at Frankfurt 20, 00 €. Entertainment at Frankfurt, while forced to spend night at hotel 50, 00 €. Meals while waiting at the San Francisco airport (per diem), lump sum of 35, 00 €, refreshments 20, 00 €. Taxi in Honolulu lump sum of 25, 00 € (I missed the free transpportation from Airport to residence). Refreshments and dinner in Honolulu (per diem) 50, 00 €. Recuperation from jet lag after the travel (5 days) at per diem rate of 500, 00 € per day.

Total claimed lump sump casual and ordinary out of pocket travel expenses are: 2, 9035.00 €.

Complaint preparation fees 250.00 €.


What was the air carrier’s reaction?

Lufthansa after classical stunt of denial of the compensability due to as alleged fraudulent claim “ unfortunate event was an unforeseeable, unexpected and exceptional accident“ and is now arogantly ignoring me, is NOT at all responding any more to any correspondance related to claim submitted via e-mail, or their website.

The communication with the airline is extremally difficult. Airline(s) has not informed passengers of their rights, neither has disclosed any proper procedures for submitting complaint, and such despite the demand were never disclosed to me, to properly communicate between the passengers and the carriers. Many passengers as foreign nationals were not proficient in german or english languages.

1. The flight was cancelled. Both United Airlines as well Lufthansa are Star Alliance members. Passengers were abandoned by both airlines.

2. All Lufthansa did was to provide passengers with the Toll Free number: 00 (1) (800) 538 2929, of course to United Airlines located somewhere in the United States. No efforts were undertaken to accommodate the (non English speaking passengers). Many foreign travelers couldn't also not speak German. Many were Germans, who are not obliged to speaking English in their home country!.

3. Over public announcement service we were informed to seek the hotel Steigenberger. There was no any form of help to direct us in the right direction.

4. Passengers booked on United Flight under Lufthansa were told by United that they are not on passengers list. I learnt about it after my call to United Number 001 (800) 538 2929. Only by jogging from Hotel to Airport, and between United and Lufthansa with substantial arguments the passengers were able to fight themselves for the reservations, on connecting flights.

5. The stress was building up as: Lufthansa persistently mislead all passengers claiming that it was United flight and reservations must be made with United Airlines by the passengers. United refused to accommodate Lufthansa passengers.

6. In case of cancelled flight the airline has the obligation to arrange the reservations for the passengers not the passengers themselves.

7. That is what the passengers are paying for to their travel agents. The Star Alliance members are required to settle their professional duties between themselves. Abandoning passengers in case like this raises to criminal negligence.

8. The Airline is responsible to accommodate the passengers in any way passengers may require, with no exception.

10. As it was impossible to connect with United as to many abandoned passengers were calling reservation office in the US.

11. Many people on that flight were even non English speaking people (Polish, German, French, Italians, Russians, etc.)

12. Shockingly passengers booked on this flight through exchange with Lufthansa, apparently according to United Airlines, were not on the list of the United Airlines.

13. No any form of assistance either by either Lufthansa or UNITED AIRLINES were ever offered to any passengers at Frankurt Airport. That is contrary to statments in the email. Passengers were abandoned, were forced to make their own travel arrangements, despite that they were not proficient in foreign to them language(s).

14. Considering that the damaged aircraft was Boeing 747 400 series, accommodating close to at whether they had made adequate arrangements for a substitute plane to be available. Typical seating capacity of Boeing 747- 400 series is 524 passengers. Instead of abandoning passengers after flight cancellation, carrier should immediately arrange for substitute plane through any available airline brokerage. Providing replacement booking for such a huge number of passengers on already booked flights was clearly mission impossible, arogant, unprofessional, ruthless and highly questionable regarding the airlines mission statement, its approach to passengers, and business. It well demonstrates how well the airline is organized and how really cares about its passengers.

Some passengers spent over 3 nervous days without the assistance of Lufthansa or United Airlines awaiting for the booking.

15. Neither of airlines have had a substitude stand by aircraft at any of the nearest European hubs.

Lufthansa deliberately and with malice misleads passengers, denies compensation in violation of the governing law(s) and in contempt of European Court of Justice rulling in Wallentin- Hermann v Alitalia—Linee Aeree Italiane SpA (Case C-549/07), dated December 22, 2008.


Citations from Lufthansa written response to the request for compensation: ( customer.feedback.eu@lufthansa.com ) *(for full e-mail replies by Lufthansa, please see attachments (3) on the end of this complaint.


“Our partner United has informed us about the details surrounding the cancellation of your flight UA 901 on 27 December from Frankfurt to San Francisco. During the ground operations a towing truck accidentally hit the wing of the airplane thus causing the winglet to break off. As this unfortunate event was an unforeseeable, unexpected and exceptional accident, the airline cannot be held liable in this case.“

_________________________________________________________________________________

“We are sorry that you are not satisfied with our response. However, concerning the opinion of Lufthansa the judgement of the European Court does not mean that airlines are liable for cancellations due to technical reasons which are beyond their control - as in this case. Therefore we kindly ask for your understanding that we cannot offer any additional compensation.“ _________________________________________________________________________________

“Please be advised that this will be our final response to you in regard to this case. If you have any other questions or concerns not related to the current claim, we would be glad to assist you.“

_________________________________________________________________________________ “Regarding the events surrounding the cancellation of flight UA 901 on 27 December we are unable to pay any further compensation. You are of course free to contact any aviation authority or law enforcement institution you wish to involve.“


Fabian Herrmann and Janine Seidel as the employees in charge, should be properly trained by the airline, knowledgeable about all mandatory legal requirements, helpful, and authorized to act in the best interest not only of carrier but first the passengers. Based on objective evidence and an intentional attempt to escape from liability, by any and all means, by writing targeted, predatory, purposly misleading counterproductive emails on behave of Lufthansa customer reations, resulted only in uncalled aggrevation, and substantial waste of time. Considering criminal behavior of those Lufthansa employees, who accepted on themselves to make the determination of compensability, while not authorised and qualified to do so, justify maximum sanctions of 25, 000 € to be imposed by this enforcement agency on Lufthansa.

All travel expanses are reconstructed, as it is impractical and impossible to keep exact accounting of petty cash, in many cases the receipts were lost or not provided.

Cost of living (COLA) in Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, is higher than in any other states. For tourist daily cost of surviving (hotel, meals, refreshments and entertainment) in Hawaii (per diem) is not less than estimated 500, 00 to 600, 00 U$ per person.


It is up to the carrier (LUFTHANSA) to make me now an offer that I can't refuse.

1 SDR *(Special Drawing Right) is worth about 1.18 €.

€1.00 is equal to about U$1.285.


Law and case references:


http://curia.europa.eu/en/actu/communiques/cp08/aff/cp080100en.pdf

http://www.icao.int/icao/en/leb/mtl99.pdf

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2004:046:0001:0007:EN:PDF


Consequences of flight cancellation and delay: Consequently after such extremely long travel (58 hors), I have been devastatingly exhausted and needed full week of time for after travel recovery from time change and jet lag, as due to nervous situation, I was unable to sleep either in the hotel and later on the airplane during the flight. I have been to tired to enjoy the New Year event in Honolulu, which we planned for several months before. Consequently I was than unable to travel as planed to Kuai, Maui, Molokai and Big Island of Hawaii, during my 3 weeks of vacation due to extreme exhaustion after such a long flight.



My vacation plans in Hawaii were substantially affected by the unplanned and uncalled change in flight schedule, as neither of the airlines have not timely provided a substitute plane from the nearest hub, what should be done with a minimum time delay. My vacation Plans as well as my companion arriving separately, were also totally ruined, as we were unable to enjoy either New Year, or other pre-planed trips, activities and / or business meetings.

Settlement: The amount of settlement to be paid is always subject to negotiations. I am requesting settlement as proposed below, saying so, under all special circumstances of this case, as explained above, I am submitting my non negotiable demands for compensation.

I am considering proposed below settlement terms as fair and just under any and all circumstances, in this case.

As my New Year vacation as the result of flight cancellation were totally ruined, in addition to compensation, and all out of pocket expenses as stated above, as a replacement for my totally ruined vacations, I am requesting fully paid round trip (for two) for the „4th of July“ in Hawaii, between June 27, 2009 to to July 19, 2009, with, with return booked for August 27, 2009, (subject to my approval). The trip should include at least 21 pre-paid nights (two bedrooms suite) in Waikoloa Hawaii resort on Big Island of Hawaii.

Hilton Waikoloa village in Hawaii web pages:

http://www.hiltonwaikoloavillage.com


The settlement I am seeking is travel for two value about U$ 5, 000 21 days Hilton Waikoloa accommodation for 2 in a 2 bedroom suite, value about 25, 000 U$ and than 5, 000 Euro cancellation compensation in compliance with Infringement of Article 5 of Regulation (EC) No 261/2004.


Reimbursement for lost income during 25 days of those vacation in the amount of U$ 15, 000 (self employed).


Lufthansa's response:


Regarding the events surrounding the cancellation of flight UA 901 on 27 December we are unable to pay any further compensation. You are of course free to contact any aviation authority or law enforcement institution you wish to involve.


Yours sincerely,

______________________________________________________

Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel

Customer Feedback Europe


Lufthansa German Airlines

Customer Feedback Europe

PO Box 1289

Liverpool L69 3AX

UK

E-mail: customer.feedback.eu@lufthansa.com


Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.

Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln

Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.

Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber

Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer


Thank you for your Email dated 19 January.

We are very sorry to learn about the irregularities and difficulties you experienced as a result of a flight cancellation on 27 December. For your inconvenience and your trouble we would like to apologise most sincerely to you.

As a matter of course we have already contacted our partner United Airlines and are currently researching the reasons for these unfortunate events. We kindly ask you for your patience during our handling process. We will contact you as soon as we have obtained more information.

Yours sincerely,
______________________________________________________
Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel
Customer Feedback Europe

Lufthansa German Airlines
Customer Feedback Europe
PO Box 1289
Liverpool L69 3AX
UK
E-mail: customer.feedback.eu@lufthansa.com

Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.
Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln
Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.
Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer










Lufthansa's second e-mail (2) response:

Thank you for your patience during our handling process.
We are sorry that you feel you have to write in English. Of course you can also write to us in your native language.

Our partner United has informed us about the details surrounding the cancellation of your flight UA 901 on 27 December from Frankfurt to San Francisco. During the ground operations a towing truck accidentally hit the wing of the airplane thus causing the winglet to break off. As this unfortunate event was an unforeseeable, unexpected and exceptional accident, the airline cannot be held liable in this case.

As a matter of course we and our partner still offer care and assistance to our passengers in such a situation. We very much regret that you felt that the service provided was not up to the standard you have come to expect from us. Due to the large numbers of guests who require assistance it is not always possible to honour personal requests as much as we would like to. We kindly ask for your understanding in this matter.

The ground staff in Frankfurt offered all involved passengers hotel accommodation. All major hotels operate shuttle buses from the airport that are free of charge for hotel guests. Therefore no transportation voucher was issued to you.

Since this unpleasant chain of events was caused by an accident and our partner United has fulfilled the EU regulation by offering accommodation to you, no further compensation can be paid in this instance.

We are glad that you could continue your journey the next day on LH 456 and we hope that in spite of the irregularities you had a successful and pleasant trip and you will choose Lufthansa again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
______________________________________________________
Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel
Customer Feedback Europe

Lufthansa German Airlines
Customer Feedback Europe
PO Box 1289
Liverpool L69 3AX
UK
E-mail: customer.feedback.eu@lufthansa.com

Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.
Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln
Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.
Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer

Lufthansa's e-mail response:

Thank you for your Email.

We are sorry that you are not satisfied with our response. However, concerning the opinion of Lufthansa the judgement of the European Court does not mean that airlines are liable for cancellations due to technical reasons which are beyond their control - as in this case. Therefore we kindly ask for your understanding that we cannot offer any additional compensation.

Please be advised that this will be our final response to you in regard to this case. If you have any other questions or concerns not related to the current claim, we would be glad to assist you.

It is our hope that these events will not keep you from choosing Lufthansa again for your journeys.Yours sincerely,
______________________________________________________
Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel
Customer Feedback Europe

Lufthansa German Airlines
Customer Feedback Europe
PO Box 1289
Liverpool L69 3AX
UK
E-mail: customer.feedback.eu@lufthansa.com

Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.
Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln
Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.
Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer


Lufthansa's e-mail response:

Regarding the events surrounding the cancellation of flight UA 901 on 27 December we are unable to pay any further compensation. You are of course free to contact any aviation authority or law enforcement institution you wish to involve.

Yours sincerely,
______________________________________________________
Fabian Herrmann / Janine Seidel
Customer Feedback Europe

Lufthansa German Airlines
Customer Feedback Europe
PO Box 1289
Liverpool L69 3AX
UK
E-mail: customer.feedback.eu@lufthansa.com

Incorporated in the Federal Republic of Germany with limited liability.
Corporate Headquarters/Sitz der Gesellschaft: Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft, Köln
Registration/Registereintragung: Amtsgericht Köln HR B 2168.
Chairman of the Supervisory Board/ Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
Executive Board/Vorstand: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Chairman/Vorsitzender), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan Lauer


Lufthansa German Airlines

Customer Feedback Europe

PO Box 1289

Liverpool L69 3AX

UK

Lufthansa Customer Relation:

Germany

Deutsche Lufthansa AG

Deutschland

Gütersloh

Zip Code33322

Fax+49 1805 838 005

Help all to FIGHT BACK those crooks:

E-mail Lufthansa CEO, and other employees, tell them what YOU think of that shoddy airlines:

wolfgang.mayrhuber@dlh.de, publicrelations@LHsystems.com, andreas.bierwirth@dlh.de, carl.sigel@dlh.de, carsten.spohr@dlh.de, holger.hätty@dlh.de, lufthansa.europe.uk.ie@dlh.de, stefan.lauer@dlh.de, hubert.frach@dlh.de, jurgen.weber@dlh.de,
Fr
  8th of Mar, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Lufthana is one ofthe shoddies airlines in the industry!

NO ROOM for leggs at all!
DO NOT FLY their crappy cramped aircrafts.


LUFTHANSA flies the most dangerous airplanes the AirBuses, which have very por safety record, and are known to be defective.

I rather fly Boeings than those shaky cramped Airbuses !
Id
  25th of Jan, 2011
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Greetings,

I have been patiently waiting for compensation for my lost luggage back
on 10JAN11.  I was promised I would have it settled in nine days.  This
has not happened!  My HSBC account in the UK is included in the details.
 Please advise me when this matter is settled.

Regards,


from    
to      lufthansa.dubai@dlh.de
date    10 January 2011 13:03
subject File Ref SPLLH49542
mailed-by      
Signed by       messagingengine.com

hide details 10 Jan

Hello Abdul,

I can not describe how much trouble this lost luggage has caused me
along with huge financial difficulties.  At the absolute very least, I
need to be reimbursed for what I had to replace due to the loss of
luggage.  I will not settle for less than that!!!

To sum up what happened I showed up for 0700 on the 18th in FRA to go to
AMS.  After many delays and cancellations, at 2300 I had to hire a taxi
to drive me to the Amsterdam Airport.  This meter came to 760 Euros
after traveling in blinding snow at night.  This is after buying two
business class tickets on LH to go FRA-AMS">FRA-AMS.  There are many
other miscellaneous expenses that I have not included yet such as
telephone charges directly related to this loss well in excess of 300
Euros.  My work really required me to be there to operate a flight to
Dubai.  The bag that was lost was checked into to AMS and Emirates was
not part of the booking.  The staff at Emirates helped me retrieve my
bag as a courtesy because of the difficulty of getting through to
Lufthansa agents.  I was ill advised by the LH call centre in Canada to
try to collect for my loss through Emirates.  To make matters worse,
after I returned to Dubai for a day shortly after the loss, I did not
again return until 07JAN11.  I travel extensively for a living and live
out of a suitcase.  I am required to wear a clean uniform to work
everyday and work in a close confined space.  I needed replacement
items.

Tomorrow is my last day in Dubai before I go off on another trip.  I
need replacement funds before I go.  I would like to come by today at
the end of the day to collect a check/cash.  Please advise.  I
appreciate you helping me with this claim, please feel free to contact
me at any time.

SEE ATTACHMENTS

Kind Regards,


Greetings,

I need someone to contact me now...

For the record I would also like to add a few more items to missing
contents list:

1.)  Fill Date:         03/02/2010      $10.00  $59.14  $69.14
Rx #:   6548141
Drug Name:      TRETINOIN
Quantity:       45
Days Supply:    30
Pharmacy:       PUBLIX PHARMACY #0010
Physician:      Alice R Barba

This is valued at $69.14 USD

2.)  Sun Pass Transponder for Florida toll roads.  This is valued at
$15.00

3.)  Custom vitamin cases (2) valued at $13.00.

The luggage has been missing for two weeks and even if recovered, most
of the contents will not be salvageable because it is packed with
produce that is now rotted by now.  I have been traveling extensively
ever since the loss of my baggage and had to borrow money for
replacement items that I have to pay back now.  I will also need a cash
advance to by additional items because my travel will go on for at least
ten more days.  My banking details have been supplied on the claims for
that I sent and I really need Lufthansa to send me an advance payment.
If I did not seriously need your help, I would not be writing you!

I need to know how much and exactly when I will get the funds from
Lufthansa to do this.  I need to know this now!  I am cash broke and my
salary is low!!!  I also need to salvage what is left of my luggage if
found such as my spare wallet.  Apparently my luggage has been scanned
recently and is out for delivery somewhere.  Your Canadian call centre
claims that it can not pass on any tracking information whatsoever and
the "World Tracer Services" website does not provide any detail.

If the luggage is found, I need someone to call me.

I need someone to open the bag and clean out the rotting(ed)
perishables.

I need immediate compensation for replacement items and other losses due
to this.

Someone needs to contact me and make arrangements to deliver what is
left of my luggage.

Attached is a copy of your world tracer report.  After two weeks of no
activity until now, it still remains insultingly vague!


Again, please have someone contact me ASAP and thanks again for your
hard work.


On Thu, 23 Dec 2010 06:56 +0100, linda.nanoo@dlh.de wrote:
> Dear Sir,
>
> Attached herewith is the contents list form to be duly filled/signed and
> returned to LH
> for further tracing.
>
> Thanking you
>
> Linda
>
>
>
> Linda Nanoo
>
> Lufthansa German Airlines
> AUH GR/GT
> Al Suwaidi Building
> (Near Lifeline Hospital)
> Mezzanine Office No. 01
> Al Muroor Road
> P.O. Box 26382
> Abu Dhabi
> United Arab Emirates
>
> Phone:   +971 (0) 2 / 639 4602
> Fax:       +971 (0) 2 / 639 4618
> Email      linda.nanoo@dlh.de
> www.lufthansa.com
>
>
>
>
>
>
> Sitz der Gesellschaft / Corporate Headquarters: Deutsche Lufthansa
> Aktiengesellschaft, Koeln, Registereintragung / Registration: Amtsgericht
> Koeln HR B 2168
> Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats / Chairman of the Supervisory Board:
> Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
> Vorstand / Executive Board: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Vorsitzender / Chairman),
> Dr. Christoph Franz (Stellvertretender Vorsitzender / Deputy Chairman),
> Stephan Gemkow, Stefan H. Lauer
>
> -----Original Message-----
>
> From: VASAPPA, HALEPET
> Sent: Wednesday, December 22, 2010 4:24 PM
> To
> Cc: NANOO, LINDA
> Subject: FW: Claim #: SPLLH49542 Tag #: 576962
>
> Dear Mr.,
>
> My Colleague, Mrs.Linda Nanoo will forward (If Not already done) the
> Form wherein you have to provide the details regarding the contents
> inside The missing bag.
>
> --
> Attn: Linda
> --
> Kindly do the needful urgently - if not already done.
> --
>
> With Kind Regards,
>
> Vasappa
>
>
>
>
>       Halepet  v  Vasappa
>       Senior Service Consultant
>       Lufthansa German Airlines
>       DXB GT/GR
>       Tel.:        +971 4 3739100
>       Fax:        +971 4 3739155
>       Sita:        DXBGTLH
>         e-mail:   halepet.vasappa@dlh.de
>         URL:      www.lufthansa.com
>
> www.lufthansa.com
> click, book and fly
> Just log on to www.lufthansa.com to book today
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: VASAPPA, HALEPET
> Sent: Wednesday, December 22, 2010 8:35 AM
> To: NANOO, LINDA
> Cc: MAJEED, ABDUL;
> Subject: FW: Claim #: SPLLH49542 Tag #: 576962
>
> Dear Linda,
>
> Can You kindly forward the copy of the Content List form to Mr.  please - urgently.
>
> With Kind Regards,
>
> Vasappa
>
>
>       Halepet  v  Vasappa
>       Senior Service Consultant
>       Lufthansa German Airlines
>       DXB GT/GR
>       Tel.:        +971 4 3739100
>       Fax:        +971 4 3739155
>       Sita:        DXBGTLH
>         e-mail:   halepet.vasappa@dlh.de
>         URL:      www.lufthansa.com
>
> www.lufthansa.com
> click, book and fly
> Just log on to www.lufthansa.com to book today
>
>
>
>
> Sitz der Gesellschaft / Corporate Headquarters: Deutsche Lufthansa
> Aktiengesellschaft, Koeln, Registereintragung / Registration:
> Amtsgericht Koeln HR B 2168
> Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats / Chairman of the Supervisory Board:
> Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Juergen Weber
> Vorstand / Executive Board: Wolfgang Mayrhuber (Vorsitzender /
> Chairman), Dr. Christoph Franz (Stellvertretender Vorsitzender / Deputy
> Chairman), Stephan Gemkow, Stefan H. Lauer
>
> -----Original Message-----
>
> From: GP, DXB RESERVATIONS
> Sent: Tuesday, December 21, 2010 3:19 PM
> To: VASAPPA, HALEPET
> Cc: MAJEED, ABDUL
> Subject: FW: Claim #: SPLLH49542 Tag #: 576962
>
>
>
>
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From:
> Sent: Tuesday, December 21, 2010 12:14 AM
> To: GP, DXB RESERVATIONS
> Cc: chingjfc@yahoo.com
> Subject: Claim #: SPLLH49542 Tag #: 576962
>
> Greetings,
>
> I am expecting the delivery of this bag soon.  Please release it to
> Julieta at +971 and coordinate it either being collected or
> delivered to residence in Al Qusais.
>
> Please respond by sending a claim form that will start the compensation
> process for replacement items necessary due to the luggage being
> delayed.
>
> Kind Regards,
>


10 attachments — Download all attachments
LH_hkg_clothes.pdf      LH_hkg_clothes.pdf
96K   View   Download
LH Claim Hotel and Clothes 1.pdf        LH Claim Hotel and Clothes 1.pdf
266K   View   Download
LH Claim Hotel and Clothes 2(2).pdf     LH Claim Hotel and Clothes
2(2).pdf
275K   View   Download
LH Claim Replacement Bag.pdf    LH Claim Replacement Bag.pdf
145K   View   Download
LH Claim Ticket and Bag Claim.pdf       LH Claim Ticket and Bag
Claim.pdf
291K   View   Download
LH Claim Tie Rack.pdf   LH Claim Tie Rack.pdf
266K   View   Download
LH Claim Underwear and toiletries.pdf   LH Claim Underwear and
toiletries.pdf
263K   View   Download
LH Claim.pdf    LH Claim.pdf
322K   View   Download
CONTENTS LIST FORM DEC2010(3).doc       CONTENTS LIST FORM
DEC2010(3).doc
312K   View   Download
LH_dxb_cleaning_bill.pdf        LH_dxb_cleaning_bill.pdf
81K   View   Download


--- On Tue, 25/1/11, abdul.majeed@dlh.de wrote:

From: abdul.majeed@dlh.de
Subject: FB 21176244
To:
Date: Tuesday, 25 January, 2011, 9:50
Dear Mr.,
 
Thank you very much for your email dated 10th January, 2011.  We were sorry to hear about your unpleasant experiences on your last trip to Amsterdam .  You can be sure that we would have wished your travel experience with us to be totally positive. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you incurred as well as for the less than positive impression gained. 
 
Rest assured this experience is not typical of the quality service we are known to provide.  This winter, snowfalls besieged and created mayhem all over Europe which resulted in closure of several airports and cancellation of thousands of flights.  The chaotic situations at the airports were out of control of the airport authorities responsible for flight handling.  While we realize the difficulty and disappointment our passengers experience in the event of an irregularity, "we regret this was a situation entirely beyond the carrier's control or influence."
 
We regret that your luggage was mislaid on this trip.  Luggage is normally processed with care and accuracy and the vast majority is handled without incident.  The present weather condition and its repercussions are mainly responsible for the baggage irregularities these days.   As baggage is channeled through various points which include government and security checkpoints, it is impossible for any airlines to guarantee special handling throughout the journey.
 
We offer to share your unexpected expenses for interim purchase due to this unfortunate baggage irregularity within the scope of our legal liability.  Purchase of articles for personal use while the bag was not in the custody of passenger is considered as interim purchases.  Our refund policy is 50% of the amount you spent for clothes as you can continue to use them and 100% for toiletries. You are kindly requested to forward the original receipts of your interim purchases along with the Itemized list of your interim purchase and the Property Irregularity Number at your earliest convenience.   
 
We realize that this exceptional situation has been difficult. Your continued patronage is important to us, and we are confident that your future dealings with Lufthansa will prove satisfactory.
 
Yours Sincerely
 
Abdul Majeed
Manager Customer Relations
Gulf & Pakistan
Lufthansa German Airlines
Phone: +971 (4) 3739122
Fax: +971 (4) 3739155
E-Mail: abdul.majeed@dlh.de
Dubai World Trade Centre
18th Floor
P.O. Box 9543
Dubai, UAE


To:
abdul.majeed@dlh.de
Bcc:


Greetings Abdul,

In previous correspondence I had forwarded the receipts and all other details.  I am very aware of the policy described below, also very familiar with airline operations and despite winter situation described, it is clear that your airline's winter contingency operations are lacking the "Quality Service" that your company tries to portray. 

I am losing my patience and not asking too much by requesting full reimbursement for my expenses considering the massive setback this has caused me for example:

1. Sixteen hour wait at FRA.
2. A all night taxi cab ride to Schipol Airport that cost well over 700 euros.
3. The time spent to file countless claims with LH, corresponding back and forth via email and long distant phone calls, purchasing lost items, scanning the receipts, making a trip to the Dubai Airport on my day off.  Missing a night of sleep and etc, etc.
4. Some of the items are no longer usable due to the perishables rotting in the suitcase and damaging other items.

I travel extensively for a living and please try to imagine what it would like to be me.  I am very disappointed that you are asking me to resend the files I had already sent you.  This seems like an attempt to delay paying me what little that is owed and is taking much time away from my family.  My company is a frequent user of LH and I will petition them to find alternate options if more petty delays are created in reimbursing me for what little I am requesting.  You say your apologies are sincere but by ignoring the contents of my email dated 10JAN11, your actions clearly contradict any sincerity.

If your company was at all sincere, reimbursement for the taxi ride and complimentary future travel would be offered.  My company had purchased Business Class travel for me and LH definitely has not lived up to the product that it is selling.

Please let me know ASAP when I can expect the funds to be transferred and respond to this email. 

Most Sincerely,

Post your comment

Submit
Lufthansa German Airlines Logo Lufthansa German Airlines
Customer Care Service
Overall Satisfaction Rating

98 Reviews
Lufthansa Aviation Center, Airportring 21
Frankfurt am Main
NY
Germany - 60546
+49 698 679 9799
View Full Information
     

Reply to

close
Send