SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

LifeTime Fitness / convicted felon employees

Dublin, OH, United States Review updated:

I was horrified to find out that one of the personal trainers working at this club is a convicted felon.
I used to go to the club and have my nails done in the salon multiple times a month. In this salon I heard gossip about the staff upstairs and was shell shocked with what came out of a patron's mouth. She said, "My friend used to train with a guy upstairs until he was busted for over $700, 000 of mortgage fraud tax evasion."

The sad thing is, this man still works there. He is a personal trainer. His name is John Shonkwiler. This is public information and is posted on the local Columbus news websites. (google his name)

How nice is it that I was a patron of a fitness club who hires convicted felons. The sad part is, he still works there. From reading other posts about this gym I gather they promote sales fraud and lies. Maybe the manager of the club is convicted of illegal activity as well? I will have to get his name and look! Do you best and quit your Lifetime Membership like I did. They will not be taking my money any longer. I told my friends to avoid this gym and stay away from the felon.

LifeTime Fitness

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ra
      Dec 10, 2012

    Just Remember: Check all activity on your account fevery month for the next 10 years. Those gyms will persistently try to draw on your account no matter what you told them regarding cancelling your membership. To those crooks, memberships are all "lifetime" i.e., never "cancelled" far as they are concerned.

    +2 Votes
  • Ro
      Dec 10, 2012

    Clearly he is not in the same business as he was before. People still need to eat, pay rent etc. You can't expect people to live off of welfare forever because then you would have more things to complain about. Grow up.

    +1 Votes
  •   Dec 10, 2012

    His past is none of your business, and does not affect you - whether you work out there or not.

    +2 Votes
  • Va
      Dec 10, 2012

    Felons like him helped spur the problem in the mortgage industry which put a lot of people out of there homes. Now he is working in another industry, conveniently "selling" things again. What about the people he cons out of thousands of dollars who can't get out of their training contracts? Oh, let's not worry about them because he has to make money. Crooks should be in jail where they can't steal from the innocent. A crook is a crook. Felons should not be convicted while working at a job and promoted into management. No wonder why America is going broke. What ever happened to making an HONEST living?

    +3 Votes
  • At
      Apr 01, 2013

    I train with the guy. He is Awesome! and like most of the others said...it is none of my business as to what he was before. He is one exceptional Trainer and he knows his stuff. Stop spreading rumors an stop playing with people lives.

    +2 Votes
  • Gy
      Apr 02, 2013
    Best Best Advice

    It sounds like this John Shonkwiler guy loves money. I have read over 15 complaints about Lifetime Fitness on both this website and google reviews: They stink! This company employs crooks and criminals who enjoy taking advantage of members who are barely able to afford their memberships. Lifetime Fitness FIGHTS people who are trying to quit. They make it all but impossible to let members out of their montly gym contracts. Why? Because it is $$$

    It is very appropriate that they would hire a man who has been publicly convicted for a felony. Felony tax evasion is no joke. Especially when it is 3/4 of a million dollars... This is something you just look the other way as if he stole a pack of gum at the local grocery store.

    I also googled that John Shonkwiler guy. Ouch. What Vanessa said is true; he is a convicted felon! He skipped out on over $700, 000 of back taxes. Not exactly an honest guy. I would not want this guy to be my trainer, my mortgage underwriter, or ever my dogsitter for that matter!

    I would avoid Lifetime Fitness and the crooks they employ like the plague!

    +4 Votes
  • Fi
      Apr 17, 2013

    I currently train with him and he's not only an awesome trainer but a very nice man. I know he has paid his debt to society. Move on! He has never been anything but professional and motivating in my fitness routine! I wish him the best of luck!

    +1 Votes
  • Va
      Apr 17, 2013

    Here is the story. Sales and crooks are like oil and water, in less of course, you work for Lifetime Fitness.

    Dublin Man Pleads Guilty To Filing False Tax Returns
    Posted: Apr 21, 2011 3:34 PM EDT - PUBLIC INFORMATION ACT -
    By Denise Yost

    A Dublin man pleads guilty to two counts of willfully filing a false federal income tax return with the IRS.

    John C. Shonkwiler, 41, faces a maximum prison sentence of three years and a fine of up to $100, 000.

    In addition, his plea agreement requires Shonkwiler to file a correct and accurate federal income tax return for the tax years 2004 through 2009.

    According to court documents, during the years 2004 through 2006 Shonkwiler was employed at State Street Mortgage, also known as Platinum Mortgage, as a loan originator. Many of the real estate transactions with which Shonkwiler was associated included kick-back funds from the sellers that were undisclosed to lenders and not included on the HUD-1 settlement statements. These funds, together with certain interest income, loan commissions and loan origination fees that Shonkwiler also received through his employment, he intentionally omitted from his income tax returns for those years.

    Shonkwiler reported $60, 522 in total income on his 2005 federal income tax return, but his actual total income was $525, 685. He reported $199, 309 in total income on his 2006 federal income tax return, but his actual total income was $362, 883. As a result of this willful activity, Shonkwiler failed to pay $194, 850 in income taxes to the IRS for 2004, 2005 and 2006 income tax years.

    "To build faith in our nation's tax system, honest taxpayers need to be reassured that everyone is paying their fair share, " said Jose A. Gonzalez, Special Agent in Charge, IRS, Criminal Investigation. "The IRS-Criminal Investigation Division, together with the U.S. Attorney's Office will investigate and prosecute those who violate our tax system."

    story from NBC4i.com

    +1 Votes
  • Va
      Apr 17, 2013

    Dublin Man Pleads Guilty To Filing False Tax Returns
    Posted: Apr 21, 2011 3:34 PM EDT - PUBLIC INFORMATION ACT -
    By Denise Yost

    A Dublin man pleads guilty to two counts of willfully filing a false federal income tax return with the IRS.

    John C. Shonkwiler, 41, faces a maximum prison sentence of three years and a fine of up to $100, 000.

    In addition, his plea agreement requires Shonkwiler to file a correct and accurate federal income tax return for the tax years 2004 through 2009.

    According to court documents, during the years 2004 through 2006 Shonkwiler was employed at State Street Mortgage, also known as Platinum Mortgage, as a loan originator. Many of the real estate transactions with which Shonkwiler was associated included kick-back funds from the sellers that were undisclosed to lenders and not included on the HUD-1 settlement statements. These funds, together with certain interest income, loan commissions and loan origination fees that Shonkwiler also received through his employment, he intentionally omitted from his income tax returns for those years.

    Shonkwiler reported $60, 522 in total income on his 2005 federal income tax return, but his actual total income was $525, 685. He reported $199, 309 in total income on his 2006 federal income tax return, but his actual total income was $362, 883. As a result of this willful activity, Shonkwiler failed to pay $194, 850 in income taxes to the IRS for 2004, 2005 and 2006 income tax years.

    "To build faith in our nation's tax system, honest taxpayers need to be reassured that everyone is paying their fair share, " said Jose A. Gonzalez, Special Agent in Charge, IRS, Criminal Investigation. "The IRS-Criminal Investigation Division, together with the U.S. Attorney's Office will investigate and prosecute those who violate our tax system."

    story from NBC4i.com

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Apr 29, 2014

    Good Lord, get over it. People deserve second chances and why dont you take a look at yourself in the mirror? He who is without SIN???? Sound familiar? Get off your high horse. Maybe he didnt have the money to pay it. Who the hell are you? WHO CARES, he still has bills and possibly a family. HAHA you talk about him like he has a damn disease...those felons.. 99% of the politicians are felons... LOOK IT UP yet you vote for them every election.

    +1 Votes
  • Be
      Mar 03, 2015

    Vanessa is right. No need to judge. This man is convicted of stealing money and conveniently ends up working for a company renown for dishonesty and greed. He is where he wants to be: With the corporate greed. He will fit in well.

    Funny thing when people try to misdirect the mans criminal ways into politics. When you have a weak argument try to distract! Not too easy when this Vanessa has laid out multiple facts. The criminal's supporters speak of generalizations. Again, a good way to pose a weak non-existent vague argument. Maybe they should all run for Congress! Thanks for pointing out the trash Vanessa!

    +2 Votes
  • Ye
      Mar 05, 2015

    Had way too many friends complain about gyms hiring trainers who do nothing but pressure people to sell. Appears this Lifetime Fitness recruited this man strictly because his criminal skills. Quit my gym nearly 15 years ago. Working out at home is cheaper. Plus no criminal attempts to muscle you into ridiculous contracts and scammy sales pitches. Wow. Typical corporate America! Way to go Lifetime! You pick the real winners

    0 Votes

Post your comment