The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Lexus Carlsbad / Lemon Law

1 5444 Paseo del NorteUnited States
Contact information:
Phone: 760-438-2300

Jolishippo@gmail.com
Jo Ellen Adelman
2298 Bryant Drive
Carlsbad, CA. 92009
February 22, 2010
Phone: [protected]

Lexus Carlsbad
Service Manager
5444 Paseo Del Norte
Carlsbad, CA. 92008
Phone: [protected]

Dear Carlsbad Lexus:
Before I go on, I would like to refresh your memory with the Covenant I read, believed, and trusted. This Covenant predominantly influenced my decision to buy my first Luxury Sports Vehicle from Lexus Carlsbad. Underlined and italicized are the tremendous points of comfort in which I had confidence.
The Lexus Covenant
Lexus will enter the most competitive, prestigious automobile race in the world.
Over 50 years of Toyota automotive experience has culminated in the creation of Lexus cars.
They will be the finest cars ever built.

Lexus will win the race because Lexus will do it right from the start.
Lexus will have the finest dealer network in the industry.

Lexus will treat each customer as we would a guest in our home.

If you think you can't, you won't...If you think you can, you will!
We can, we will.

Lexus has revolutionized the luxury motoring experience through its passionate commitment
to the finest products and the most satisfying automobile ownership experience.

We vow to value the customer as an important individual;
to do things right the first time; and to always exceed expectations.

We brought together these principles in the Lexus Covenant,
which inspires our dealers and associates to treat customers
as they would treat guests and to go to any lengths to serve them better.

The Lexus Covenant is the basis for every decision we make,
from cars that are designed with the driver in mind
to dealers that make customer satisfaction their most important goal.

This commitment to excellence
not only makes a Lexus more enjoyable to drive,
but also a joy to own.


November 2001: I was thrilled! My first Luxury Car! A Lexus IS 300! Imagine my consternation during the first year of ownership: My Lexus stalled intermittently. This IS-300 would bunny hop down the highway as though the gasoline was not getting to the right place. I made Lexus appointments; I would arrive on time only to then sit and wait for the promised Lexus rental car... sometimes upwards of two hours. Consistent statements from the service manager: “Your problem could not be duplicated so please return the Lexus courtesy car. This happened about twenty seven (27) times the first year: Stalling while driving, back to the Lexus service, check out the courtesy car, and then the call “Your problem can not be duplicated, so please return the Lexus courtesy car."

A continuing problem with the driver-side door stay was not satisfactorily corrected for years (since at least 2004). The door does not stay open; I have had it noted on the service docs, and the usual ‘Your door works just fine ma’am” is what I’ve consistently heard. I have a significant, permanent, scar on my left shin from the door slamming on it. In November 2009, the service manager, Justin, installed another stay after observing the scars and bleeding on my leg. The door functioned well until February 12 when the door closed again on my leg.
That was the day that my car would not start (February 12, 2010) and it was again towed in to Lexus. I now have a loaner car and I told Justin and Glenn (Superior Service Managers at Lexus, Carlsbad) that I will not bring back the rental until the issues are resolved, that I receive a courtesy call from Lexus Carlsbad, or the parent company headquarters.
The people I have worked with in the Service Department at Lexus Carlsbad, especially the Service Managers, are all stellar quality individuals who care about their customers. The professional treatment I have received from them is the ONLY reason I did not pursue measures that are more dramatic.
Each incident (failure, towing, courtesy car procedure, and pickup) consumes a minimum of 3 hours of the day and I suggest that holding my job with all these absences is a miracle. My question: What is Lexus going to do for me at this point?

Service History for VIN: JTHBD192X20035041

Legend:
Auto towed to dealer re: Dead Battery Highlighted in yellow
Customer complaint re: Navigation Incorrect Highlighted in pink
Customer complaint re: Door stay inoperable Highlighted in bright green
Customer complaint re: Poor radio reception Highlighted in grey

Service Type
Service Date
Service Provider
Mileage
Repair Order #
Service Description


Dealer Reported 11/21/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
80632 0330544 STARTER (REDUCTION TYPE)
Dealer Reported 11/21/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
80632 0330544 OTHER INSPECTION
Dealer Reported 11/21/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
80632 0330544 CAR WASH
Dealer Reported 11/21/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
80632 0330544 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 10/30/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
80316 0328616 MISC
Dealer Reported 10/30/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
80316 0328616 OTHER INSPECTION
Dealer Reported 10/30/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
80316 0328616 CAR WASH
Dealer Reported 10/30/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
80316 0328616 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 10/07/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
79860 0326091 NAVIGATION COMPUTER
Dealer Reported 10/07/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
79860 0326091 FRONT/REAR BODY
Dealer Reported 10/07/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
79860 0326091 RADIO TUNER ASSEMBLY
Dealer Reported 10/07/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
79860 0326091 BRAKE FLUID
Dealer Reported 10/07/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
79860 0326091 AC DUST FILTER
Dealer Reported 10/07/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
79860 0326091 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 10/07/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
79860 0326091 OTHER INSPECTION
Dealer Reported 10/07/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
79860 0326091 CAR WASH
Dealer Reported 06/25/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
78026 0318243 NAVIGATION COMPUTER
Dealer Reported 06/25/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
78026 0318243 RADIO TUNER ASSEMBLY
Dealer Reported 06/25/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
78026 0318243 OTHER INSPECTION
Dealer Reported 06/25/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
78026 0318243 CAR WASH
Dealer Reported 06/25/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
78026 0318243 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 03/13/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
76531 0309591 DISTRIBUTOR/HDLIGHT/T. SGNL
Dealer Reported 03/13/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
76531 0309591 OTHER INSPECTION
Dealer Reported 03/13/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
76531 0309591 CAR WASH
Dealer Reported 03/13/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
76531 0309591 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 02/25/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
76275 0308007 MISC
Dealer Reported 02/25/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
76275 0308007 OTHER INSPECTION
Dealer Reported 02/25/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
76275 0308007 CAR WASH
Dealer Reported 02/25/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
76275 0308007 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 01/29/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
75925 0305834 MISC
Dealer Reported 01/29/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
75925 0305834 OTHER INSPECTION
Dealer Reported 01/29/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
75925 0305834 CAR WASH
Dealer Reported 01/29/2009 Lexus Carlsbad
75925 0305834 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 12/15/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
75503 0302144 MISC
Dealer Reported 12/15/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
75503 0302144 OTHER INSPECTION
Dealer Reported 12/15/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
75503 0302144 CAR WASH
Dealer Reported 12/15/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
75503 0302144 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 10/17/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
74490 0296950 MISC
Dealer Reported 10/17/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
74490 0296950 OTHER INSPECTION
Dealer Reported 10/17/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
74490 0296950 CAR WASH
Dealer Reported 10/17/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
74490 0296950 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 07/29/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
72536 0289345 WHL DISC/TIRE(1 WHL)DISMOUNT
Dealer Reported 07/29/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
72536 0289345 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 06/25/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
72124 0286710 WHL DISC/TIRE(1 WHL)DISMOUNT
Dealer Reported 06/25/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
72124 0286710 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 06/25/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
72124 0286710 WHEEL ALIGNMENT
Dealer Reported 04/29/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
71444 0282348 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 04/29/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
71444 0282348 NAVIGATION COMPUTER
Dealer Reported 04/18/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
71396 0281483 DISTRIBUTOR/HDLIGHT/T. SGNL
Dealer Reported 04/18/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
71396 0281483 RADIO TUNER ASSEMBLY
Dealer Reported 04/18/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
71396 0281483 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 04/18/2008 Lexus Carlsbad
71396 0281483 NAVIGATION COMPUTER
Dealer Reported 10/25/2007 Lexus Carlsbad
68244 0264861 MISC
Dealer Reported 08/28/2007 Lexus Carlsbad
67475 0261232 INSPECT BATTERY CHARGE LEVEL
Dealer Reported 08/17/2007 Lexus Carlsbad
67282 0260300 OTHERS
Dealer Reported 06/27/2007 Lexus Carlsbad
66199 0255468 OTHERS
Dealer Reported 06/27/2007 Lexus Carlsbad
66199 0255468 WHL DISC/TIRE(1 WHL)DISMOUNT
Dealer Reported 06/27/2007 Lexus Carlsbad
66199 0255468 WHEEL ALIGNMENT
Dealer Reported 04/05/2007 Lexus Carlsbad
64521 0248422 NEW STARTER INSTALLED
Dealer Reported 08/19/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
69822 0226311 OTHERS
Dealer Reported 08/19/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
69822 0226311 WHL DISC/TIRE(1 WHL)DISMOUNT
Dealer Reported 08/19/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
69822 0226311 60000 MILE SERVICE NON WARRANTY
Dealer Reported 08/19/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
69822 0226311 WHEEL ALIGNMENT
Dealer Reported 08/19/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
69822 0226311 ACCESSORY
Dealer Reported 08/19/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
69822 0226311 NAVIGATION COMPUTER
Dealer Reported 08/19/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
69822 0226311 FRONT/REAR BODY
Dealer Reported 03/18/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
56185 0215931 MISC
Dealer Reported 03/18/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
56185 0215931 FRONT/REAR BODY
Dealer Reported 03/01/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
56189 0212901 MISC
Dealer Reported 02/08/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
56181 0212541 BATTERY/COIL SPK PLUG
Dealer Reported 02/08/2006 Lexus Carlsbad
56181 0212541 FRONT/REAR BODY
Dealer Reported 11/03/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
44762 0177226 WHL DISC/TIRE(1 WHL)DISMOUNT
Dealer Reported 11/03/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
44762 0177226 WHEEL ALIGNMENT
Dealer Reported 11/03/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
44762 0177226 MISC
Dealer Reported 09/27/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
44150 0175191 FRONT/REAR BODY
Dealer Reported 08/04/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
42799 0171690 OTHERS
Dealer Reported 08/04/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
42799 0171690 FRONT/REAR BODY
Dealer Reported 08/04/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
42799 0171690 AIR CONDITIONING
Dealer Reported 05/19/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
40205 0165311 MANIFOLD-MUFFLER
Dealer Reported 05/19/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
40205 0165311 FRONT/REAR BODY
Dealer Reported 05/19/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
40205 0165311 DISTRIBUTOR/HDLIGHT/T. SGNL
Dealer Reported 05/19/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
40205 0165311 HOOD SUPPORT ASEMBLY 1-SIDE
Dealer Reported 05/19/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
40205 0165311 MISC
Dealer Reported 05/19/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
40205 0165311 NON WARRANTABLE OPERATION CODE
Dealer Reported 02/19/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
37611 0157424 MISC
Dealer Reported 01/08/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
37506 0156680 WINDSHIELD GLASS
Dealer Reported 01/08/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
37506 0156680 FRONT/REAR BODY
Dealer Reported 01/08/2004 Lexus Carlsbad
37506 0156680 MISC
Dealer Reported 09/25/2003 Lexus Carlsbad
35159 0149534 WINDSHIELD REPLACEMENT
DRIVER DOOR INOPERABLE
Dealer Reported 09/25/2003 Lexus Carlsbad
35159 0149534 NOISE CONCERN CUSTOMER REPORTS A
Dealer Reported 09/25/2003 Lexus Carlsbad
35159 0149534 STARTING CONCERN
Dealer Reported 09/18/2003 Lexus Carlsbad
33068 0149067 STARTING CONCERN CUSTOMER STATES
Dealer Reported 09/18/2003 Lexus Carlsbad
33068 0149067 HESITATION CONCERN CUSTOMER STATE
Dealer Reported 09/04/2003 Lexus Carlsbad
32728 0148304 CHARGED BATTERY AS NEEDED
Date 09/04/2003 New Battery was installed [protected]
Date 09/07/2001 Purchased Lexus R.O. Mileage 3

Post your comment