SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

lacie / drive faulty/not replaced after warantee expired

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

tony v.
Posted: February 1, 2010 @ 5:45 PM
have 2 porche drives that used to work till i upgraded to windows 7, then the problems started, ironically, the 2 other lacie drives work !!! tried the usb cords, it was not the problem & either the power cord, so it must be a driver issue, would love to fix it cause i do have important info on the drives ! please help !!! anything to help will be a blessing !!! many thanks, tony velez, owner of 4 lacie usb drivee p.s. they show up on desktop, but will not open up !!!

Bob M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 3, 2010 @ 6:44 AM

Good Morning Tony,
My name is Bob, and I will be more than happy to help you with your LaCie Hard disk Porsche design. First of all I would like to thank you for choosing LaCie, and we appreciate your patience and trust in our products. I am sorry that you face issues with your LaCie Hard disk Porsche design. I see that you have 6 LaCie products two are hard disk designed by Porsche and 4 USB keys. I suggest try the devices using another operating system like windows Xp or vista and feed me back with the results for the above procedures. If the issues still there feel free to contact me, Thanks.

Yours,
Bob

tony v.
Posted: February 3, 2010 @ 7:30 AM
bob, thanks for the info, but unfortunately, i cannot revert back to win xp or vista, doing so i must format my main drive to do so, so if you have any other suggestions, please send them to me & i will try them, still helpless, many thanks, tony

tony v.
Posted: February 3, 2010 @ 7:31 AM
bob, do you have any firmware updates that might help? please let me know, thanks, tony

Bob M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 4, 2010 @ 6:50 AM

Good morning Tony,

I just need a valid serial number in order to troubleshoot with you in a professional way also i want to know which type of the hard disk designed by porsche is it USB only or Firewire only or supports both anyway here's a link for updating the firmware http://www.lacie.com/us/support/drivers/driver.htm?id=10065, Thanks.

Yours,

Bob

tony v.
Posted: February 4, 2010 @ 8:33 AM
bob, many thanks on emailing me, i have a usb porsche drive, serial # 's 1178705310057c3s 3u2s3 11286110115117c3p 3u2f 1140704130319c5s 3u2s3 thanks again for your help, hoping this will solve my problems, truly, tony

tony v.
Posted: February 4, 2010 @ 8:35 AM
bob, another question, will the firmware work with usb drives ? let me know, thanks again, tony

Bob M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 7, 2010 @ 1:07 AM

Good morning Tony,

Thanks for your reply and i am very sorry for being late while responding to you. No the firmware for the firewire drives, Thanks.

Yours,

Bob

tony v.
Posted: February 7, 2010 @ 7:03 AM
bob, so what do i do about this problem ? please let me know, truly, tony

Bob M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 7, 2010 @ 11:33 PM

Good morning Tony,

YOu can windows vista in a virtual environment in order to connect the USB drive that doesn't work with Windows 7, Thanks.

Yours,

Bob

tony v.
Posted: February 8, 2010 @ 2:21 AM
bob, windows vista was a problem, that's why i went to windows 7, so my problem will continue till i go to virtual environment ? no thanks ! i guess my luck here is not good in solving my problem, so i will now search on the web to anyone who has the same problem & see if i can fix this, thanks for your time & help, pissed, tony

Bob M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 8, 2010 @ 2:48 AM

Good morning Tony,

Thanks for you response, You can use windows Xp in a virtual environment as this will help you fix the issue, Thanks.

Yours,

Bob

tony v.
Posted: February 8, 2010 @ 2:56 AM
bob, did you read any of the comments on my problem ? i am not using windows XP or Vista, i am using windows 7, so i'm getting the feeling these are automated responses, so you know, i will not use virtual enviro or revert back to winXP or Vista to fix the problem, now, i know someone there does know how to solve the problem, please tell me you understand? thanks, tony

Bob M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 8, 2010 @ 4:38 AM

Good morning Tony,

We are not automated resposnes and i read what you wrote. I suggest windows xp just as a troubleshooting step that's it. Also you have the freedom which operating system you want to use, Thanks.

Yours,

Bob

tony v.
Posted: February 8, 2010 @ 6:24 AM
bob, i know you understand my frustration concerning this problem i have, having files i cannot get to before this problem occurred, my hope was that lacie would create a patch to fix the problem for usb drives under windows 7, or a firmware update for usb drives, as other companies have done, so bear with me & tell me should i delete the driver software & hope windows 7 will search for a new one ? let me know, thanks, tony

Tom N.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 9, 2010 @ 5:49 AM

Good morning Tony,

Let me begin by introducing myself. My name is Tom, and I’ll be helping you until a solution is found for you. I’m sorry you are having trouble with your product. If I understand your problem correctly, you seem to be having an issue using the LaCie drive. I read the earlier posts with Bob and I suggest that you update your copy of Windows 7 and check their web site for the latest updates and drivers and it will resolve your issue.

Thank you for your patience and for contacting LaCie technical support.


Thanks,

Tom

tony v.
Posted: February 11, 2010 @ 8:51 AM
hey tom, thanks for your response, i'm still having the same problem my hope was that lacie would create a patch to fix the problem for usb drives under windows 7, or a firmware update for usb drives, as other companies have done, so bear with me & tell me should i delete the driver software & hope windows 7 will search for a new one ? let me know, many thanks, tony

Tom N.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 12, 2010 @ 3:25 AM

Hello Tony,

Thank you for your suggestions. I will escalate your suggestions to my superiors to take it in consideration and I asure you that they will work on it. I assume that deleting the might work and we have nothing to lose so please try this idea for now and I will try to find a solution for you very soon.

Thank you for your patience and for contacting LaCie technical support.


Thanks,

Tom

tony v.
Posted: February 18, 2010 @ 8:34 AM
hey tom, it seems i cannot delete the drivers for the lacie drives, i unlocked the driver folders so i can do that & it will not let me delete it !! i have 2 lacie drives that still work & the other 2 don't !! i guess my only thing to do is either upgrade windows 7 & hope that fixes the problem !! if not, then i'm stuck with a non-working drive ! help me !!! many thanks, tony

Tom N.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 25, 2010 @ 4:36 AM

Hello Tony,

I apologize for the delay. I assume that the drive is 100% compatible with w7 and you can check the link below to check for compatibility.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/windows-7/en-us/Details.aspx?type=Hardware&p=LaCie%20250GB%20F.A.%20Porsche%20USB%202.0%207200RPM%20External%20Hard%20Drive&v=LaCie&uid=300728U&pf=6π=1&c=Storage%20Devices&sc=Hard%20Drives%2c%20External&os=64-bit

Any way, I think you have to upgrade your motherboard, and the USB Host controllers of your W7.

Thank you for your patience and please update me with the results.


Thanks,

Tom

tony v.
Posted: February 25, 2010 @ 4:43 AM
huh ?? upgrade the motherboard !!! ok i have a AMD Phenom X3 processor, i would think & hope that is sufficient !! it worked before with windows 7 & my guess is one of the automatic upgrades stopped them from working together, so i know it is a driver problem, please tell me something different !!! many thanks, tony

Tom N.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 25, 2010 @ 6:12 AM

Hello Tony,

Thank you for your reply. I apologize for the misunderstanding, but I meant to upgrade the software (BIOS) of the motherboard and the USB host controller.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Automatically-get-recommended-drivers-and-updates-for-your-hardware

Thank you for understanding and contacting LaCie technical support.


Thanks,

Tom

tony v.
Posted: February 26, 2010 @ 8:04 AM
thanks tom, did as you suggested & still the same problems, recently installed win 7 build 7600 32 bit, hoping that would fix the problem, no dice, so my last resort is to take the lacie apart & install it in my PC & see if that works ( the HD That is ) but before i do that, i will test it on my wife's mac & hope it shows up there, i will keep you posted on the results, ok thanks, tony

Tom N.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: February 28, 2010 @ 5:33 AM

Hello Tony,

Thank you for your reply and I really apologize for the incovenience. Please update me with the results of connecting the drive to your wife's Mac, but just for your information, if the drive is NTFS formatted then you will not be able to see it on the Mac as it is an incompatible format, it works only with Windows, but if it is FAT32 formatted there will be no problem. Please contact me before opening the enclosure of the product.

Thank you for your patience and for contacting LaCie techncial support.


Thanks,

Tom

tony v.
Posted: March 5, 2010 @ 9:31 AM
hey tom, you are correct on the fat or ntfs format issue, i recently bought a dual deck port with usb hookup & hope that works, i'm trying everything possible to get these drives working, my last recourse which i hope i don't have to do is send it to a date recovery center which will cost me money which i'm trying to not do, so please bear with me & i thank you for any help or suggestions you have, truly, tony

Tom N.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: March 6, 2010 @ 5:41 AM

Hello Tony,

Thank you for your response. I recommend that you contact http://www.drivesaversdatarecovery.com/ if you need a trusted LaCie's third party recovery professional company. I hope your last troubleshooting efforts work out to resolve this issue.

Thank you for contacting LaCie technical support. Please keep me update to assist you further.


Best regards,

Tom

tony v.
Posted: March 6, 2010 @ 6:51 AM
tom, thanks for the info, but if you can, to please let me know about any free data recovery software that is approved by lacie ?? seems i have to spend as much as the drive costs, which kinda stinks !! truly, tony

Tom N.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: March 8, 2010 @ 1:22 AM

Hello Tony,

Thank you for your response. I'm afraid I cannot recommend any free softwares, but please try the link below. To be honest the data recovery software are not as much as accurate and reliable as the hardware recovery.

http://www.prosofteng.com/lacie

Thank you for your patience and please update me with your decision to assist you further.


Best regards,

Tom

tony v.
Posted: March 16, 2010 @ 7:40 AM
hey tom, i went to newegg, bought the ide adapter cord, got one drive running, now waiting for the sata adapter cord to come in & see if i can get the other drive working, many thanks on your help, truly, tony p.s. i will keep you posted on the results of the other drive !

Tom N.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: March 17, 2010 @ 5:46 AM

Hello Tony,

Thank you for keeping me updated. I would be more than happy to assist you further, so please don't hesitate contacting me when you receive the other SATA adapter cord.

Thank you for contacting LaCie technical support.


Best regards,

Tom

LaCie Support

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: April 7, 2010 @ 7:04 PM
Dear LaCie Customer,

We’re sorry that you had issues with your LaCie product, and wanted to follow up with you. Has your issue with your product been resolved? If so, please take a moment to check the “My question has been answered” box and click the “Add Reply” button.

If your issue has not been resolved, please reply to your ticket so we can further assist you. Unless you post a response, your ticket will automatically close in one week. Don’t forget that you may be able to find an answer to your question by exploring the LaCie Knowledge Base as well as our comprehensive Troubleshooting area. To learn more, simply visit your product’s page on lacie.com, and click on the “Support” tab.

Thanks for choosing LaCie!

Best regards,

LaCie Technical Support Team

tony v.
Posted: April 8, 2010 @ 6:51 AM
hey tom, sorry for the lack of notes, been trying to fix the problem, got the sata /usb cord, hooked it up, but no response on the hard drive !!! it is kind of ironic that the older lacie drives are still working but the newer one not working? i'm going to see if samsung (the Mfg of the drive) is having a recall on it ? the drive is only 3 yrs old & i have other drives older than that still working, also tell me if lacie will help me out with this faulty drive? thanks, tony

Tom N.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: April 9, 2010 @ 2:26 AM

Hello Tony,

Thank you for getting back to me. It is seems that the hard drive is not in warranty anymore, but we can repair the drive if you wanted. It would make me more than happy to assist you with a repair order.

Thank you for your patience and for contacting LaCie technical support.


Regards,

Tom

tony v.
Posted: April 9, 2010 @ 4:15 AM
hey tom, thanks for the note & the offer, here's the question, how much will it cost to repair the drive ??? I've heard costs just to repair the drives are more than the drives cost ??? please let me know, thanks, tony

Graig M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: April 11, 2010 @ 4:24 AM

Good morning Tony,

My name is Graig, and I will be happy to help you with your LaCie product. First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing LaCie, and we appreciate your patience and trust in our products. I believe you want to be informed about the repair cost of an out of warranty product will be starting $99. If you agreed, please contact me again and I will be more than happy to creat a service order to send the drive to the repair center, Tony.

Thank you for contacting LaCie technical support team,

Graig

tony v.
Posted: April 11, 2010 @ 1:04 PM
graig, thanks but no thanks to the offer, that is what the drive costs, i rather take the loss & try to take my business somewhere else, what should have been offered to me was a replacement to the drive at a cost reasonable to what the price was for it at the time ( i will look in my records to see the cost of the drive )& will hope we can reach a reasonable solution to the faulty drive, as i have said before, i have older lacie drive that are still working (seagate) so now let's see what lacie can do for a faithful customer, for ALL my external drive are LACIE !!! saddened by the response, tony

tony v.
Posted: April 11, 2010 @ 1:13 PM
graig, here is the info on that particular drive : this is my wife's account with buy.com :

Visa - 7840 BARBARA VANORE 2614 S ISEMINGER ST PHILADELPHIA, PA [protected] Listed below are the individual charges that have been applied for this order to date. Date Sku Title Product Shipping & Handling Tax Total 7/10/2007 [protected] 500GB LACIE USB 2.0 7200 RPM EXT $119.99 $9.50 $0.00 $129.49 TOTAL $119.99 $9.50 $0.00 $129.49 Please note that we bill for each product as it ships.

let me know of your response, tony

Graig M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: April 12, 2010 @ 3:55 AM

Good morning Tony,

Thanks for the additional information. The replacement HDD was going to be sent free of charge if only the existing LaCie was within the warranty period. You were only going to bear the cost of shipping the LaCie drive to the repair center and it was going to be returned at our cost. After sale offers is beyond our control as we are technical support team of LaCie.

Thank you for contacting LaCie technical support team,

Graig

tony v.
Posted: April 16, 2010 @ 7:42 AM
thanks for the answer i was not expecting, your co. has definitely lost this customer, i will take my business elsewhere, you see in good faith, could have done something to keep me as a customer, but your support is much to be desired, lost faith in your company, saddened, tony

Graig M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: April 19, 2010 @ 2:12 AM

Good morning Tony,

Please forgive my late response to your post. As you may know, we were working on finding a solution for the product issue; I am pleased, nonetheless, to respond.

And I would like to let you know that we thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that it fails to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know.


We’re sorry that you received service that prompted you to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that your experience has caused you.

In fact we are not taking your dissatisfaction lightly. Your post has been forwarded to several key people in our organization, including the product line manager. We are already working to find a better solution for this issue, and I hope you will bear with us as we develop a better approach to handling this specific issue that arise with your drive.

Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you.


Thank you again for bringing these matter to our attention and we are waiting for your kindly reply.


Thanks,
Graig


tony v.
Posted: April 19, 2010 @ 11:47 AM
thanks graig, let's hope your company comes up with an solution as i have 500gb drive that is useless at this moment, i have tried anything & everything to get it working to no avail, so you can understand my frustration of this dilemma, as you know, people in basic buy these drives to save all types of data so they can avoid any problems with their main HD's & for the external to fail is a problem !!! so please help me out with this, thanks, tony

Graig M.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: April 20, 2010 @ 11:24 AM

Good morning Tony,

Thanks a lot for your response I really appreciate that. Regarding this issue, I really want to assist you further and provide a better service specially for you but my hands are tied and I will do my best to help a valued customer like you Tony. I will escalate the case to the authorized department and a second management level. Once I get a suitable solution, I will contact you again.

Thank you for contacting LaCie technical support team,
Graig

tony v.
Posted: April 21, 2010 @ 2:19 AM
graig, many thanks & much hope for me to see your company give me hope in helping me with the problem, i will keep an eye to any notes being sent & hope one is the solution to my problem, many thanks, tony

Adam H.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: April 26, 2010 @ 5:54 AM

Good morning Tony,


Thanks a lot for your response, we are working on finding solution for this issue.
You will be contacted shortly with results.

Thanks,

tony v.
Posted: April 26, 2010 @ 9:56 AM
graig, many thanks on keeping me posted on this situation, looking forward to your response, truly yours, tony

Jeremy S.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: April 27, 2010 @ 12:50 PM

Hello Tony, and thanks for your patience! Our sales team has a customer loyalty program that offers discounts on replacement items for customers that have products which have failed out of warranty. Please call our sales department [protected]) and reference your ticket number. It can save you some money on a replacement product bought from us.

Thanks for your patience!

tony v.
Posted: April 28, 2010 @ 12:47 AM
jeremy, thanks for the reply, but that is not what i had in mind, i have spent money already in trying to fix a faulty drive your company has sold me, let me ask you this, if you buy a lemon vehicle, what do you do to rectify the problem ? you replace it with a new one to keep the customer happy & wanting to give you their business purchasing your products, so sorry but this is not the answer i expected from your company, i will wait for your reply & consider if your company is worth my time, which has already wasted plenty of trying to fix your faulty drive your company sold me, sorry to reply this way, but if you were me, you would understand my frustration, not happy, tony

Jeremy S.

Was this helpful? Please click on the stars.


Posted: April 28, 2010 @ 8:22 AM

I do apologize for the frustration but this is the only offer I can provide as of this point. Thank you for your understanding and patience.

tony v.
Posted: April 28, 2010 @ 3:38 PM
jeremy, so your company thinks this is the best solution to my problem ?? selling faulty drives & not rectifying the problem is the solution ??? what a shame, as i do promise this situation will make sure you lost this customer, so i have wasted money on buying your crappy faulty external drives ( 2 work, 1 i had to take apart to make it work & the 500gb drive is dead ) your company should be ashamed on how to treat loyal customers, so i will make my complaints but will post them on complaints board so EVERYONE who thinks of buying a lacie drive will see it is not worth the hassle & aggravation, your company sucks, tony velez

To
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Al
      16th of Feb, 2011

    My name is Allen and I work for Milberg LLP, a consumer protection law firm. Your issue with Seagate seems to be similar to a case we recently settled against NVIDIA relating to defective hardware that affected CPU performance. You can take a look at the settlement agreement here - http://www.nvidiasettlement.com/. If you would like to discuss your issue further, please contact us at https://www.milberg.com/contact/contact.aspx or send an email to [protected]@milberg.com.

    0 Votes

Post your comment