SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

La Petite Academy / Stay away

1 Review updated:

She puts on a phony smile for you when you first walk in her door. Once she has you where she wants you, her true colors come out. I was employed here for about 2 months till I had, had enough of her lies and neglect. Children are abused here, filthy and not cared for right.I have personally seen a teacher grab a child as young as 3 yrs old, drag her across the floor to a corner of the room because the child was just dropped off by its mother and the child was crying.I reported place so many times, only to find out that the Director was good friends with people from the state and the regional director in town. Mrs Gann has never been cited for violations, even though there were many. She is friends with people in all the right places, so she gets away with it every time. Sometimes she gets very angry and you can hear her yelling and screaming at the top of her lungs to her own children, who are often brought in by her husband. One day, in front of the staff and other children; she slapped the living heck out of her own son! I was shocked to see this happen and it frightened me.

Ja
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sa
      Jan 29, 2011

    I agree... Everything here is true... Staff complains everyday about rude management and are not happy working here. They seem to only care about money and not kids education... The kids are out of control because there are so many per teacher, and they do not learn... What they know comes from the parents... The kids are mistreated and get hurt on daily basis... LaPetite 183

    +1 Votes
  • La Petite is a HORRIBLY UNSANITARYplace, they do not follow sanitary practices at al so they are getting all the kids sick and then do not follow their own sick kid policies for those kids that are sick and allowed to stay and get the rest of the kids and staff sick instead they get the kids sick from the infestation of filth and unsanitary practices/constant cross-contamination, etc. and then to top it all off they put all the kids outside without gloves, warm sweaters, hats, etc on freezing and near freezing days with super cold windchills etc OMG, instead of having them burn off some energy with some indoor exercising, dancing, etc they get the kids sick with their numerous unsanitary ways and then have the nerve to throw all the kids outside for 30-60minutes inproperly dressed with runny noses, sneezing, coughing, etc in 30 degree weather with a windchill of like 5, so many little kids cry and complain how cold they are, they cannot even move because they are SOOOOOO COLD LA PETITE USES THIS AS A FORM OF PUNISHMENT FOR 1, 2, 3, and 4 year olds who are so helpless and need a strong voice to advoate for them!!! IF IT GETS TOO LOUD OR OUT OF HAND IN THE CLASS ROOMS (BECAUSE THE MANAGEMENT/STAFF ARE INCOMPETENT, INCAPABLE, AND JUST RELY ON ABUSIVE TACTICS!!!) THEN THE DIRECTOR AND STAFF TEACHERS PUT FREEZING LITTLE HELPLESS INFANTS and TODDLERS OUTDOORS IN NEAR FREEZING TEMPERATURES W/OUT GLOVES, HATS, ETC TO TORTURE THEM!!!..THIS IS CLEAR ABUSE!!!...LA PETITE Director, management are ABUSING these poor little innocent children RUTHLESSLY whose little bodies can SO QUICKLY become severely and fatally hypothermic in temperatures like this!!! DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT TAKE YOUR KIDS TO THIS FILTHY UNSANITARY LA PETITE CHILD (ABUSE!)DAYCARE. LA PETITE ONLY CARES ABOUT MONEY AND NOT YOUR CHILDS HEALTH, SAFETY, AND WELL-BEING! THEIR EXCUSE FOR TAKING THE KIDS OUTSIDE EVEN IN FREEZING TEMPERATURES IS TO RUN, EXERCISE, PLAY: (PRETENDING AS THEIR EXCUSE, YEAH RIGHT!!!) THEN LA PETITE SHOULD BUILD A GYM (THEY HAVE THE MONEY TO DO SO BUT ARE WAY TO MONEY HUNGRY AND CHEAP TO DO SO) SO THE KIDS CAN RUN AROUND/EXERCISE INDOORS WHERE THEY ARE NOT BEING FORCED TO BECOME SUSCEPTIBLE TO HYPOTHERMIA/FROSTBITE, OR ENHANCING AN EXXACERBATION OF THEIR ALREADY COLD SYMPTOMS WITH RESPIRATORY COMPROMISE, ETC. If you want good quality CARING NON-ABUSIVE CHILD CARE DO NOT TAKE YOUR KIDS TO LA PETITE ACADEMY, AND IF YOU ARE ALREDY A PARENT WITH A CHILD/REN ENROLLED AT A LA PETITE CENTER AND YOU'VE NOTICED THINGS THAT ARE NOT GOOD FOR YOUR CHILDREN OR ANY OF THE OTHER CHILDREN IN THE CENTER REPORT LA PETITE IMMEDIATELY TO STATE LICENSING, CYFD, CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES, THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, AND DEFINATELY CALL YOUR STATES ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE, AND YOUR LOCAL NEWS STATIONS TO PROTECT THEIR CHILDREN BY NOT EVER LEAVING THEIR CHILDREN AT ANY LA PETITE ACADEMY LOCATIONS!!! PLEASE BE AN ADVOCATE AND REPORT LA PETITE ACADEMY AT ONCE, DO NOT ALLOW HELPLESS LITTLE VICTIMS WITH SMALL VOICES BE VICITMIZED ANY LONGER BY THE BEASTS WHO HURT OUR PRECIOUS LITTLE CHILDREN!!! WE MUST DO THE RIGHT THING AND BE ADVOCATES FOR OUR PRECIOUS, LOW VOICED LITTLE TODDLERS/INFANTS SO REPORT! REPORT! REPORT! OMG PLEASE PROTECT YOUR CHILD/CHILDREN AND DISENROLL THEM FROM LA PETITE AT ONCE!!! DON'T PAY THEM ANOTHER CENT INSTEAD LETS SHUT THEM DOWN AND PRAY THAT THESE UNSANITARY RUTHLESS BEASTS DON'T GO TO HELL FOR THE PAIN AND SUFFERING THEY HAVE SUBJECTIVE HELPLESS INNOCENT LITTLE CHILDREN TO!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Completely AGREE...LA PETITE ACADEMY needs to be reported to everyone and news channels as well so that way everyone will know..and I agree disenroll at once to put them out of business, what they deserve for how they mistreat poor innocent little children!!! Lets EVERYBODY BOYCOTT LA PETITE NAST-CADEMY!!! FORCE THEM OUT OF BUSINESS WITH NO ENROLLEES!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ae
      Mar 16, 2011

    Friend of mine child (one yr old) was there for ONE DAY and the mother said NEVER AGAIN WILL I TAKE MY CHILD THERE. During the day somehow the child fell and hit her head on a table (so they say). They said they put ice on it and the child seemed to be alright. When she was picked up later that afternoon she had a black eye(they said from the fall) and the collar of her onsie was ripped(they said that happened when a worker tried to catch her from falling).I guess just because it's very expensive doesn't mean it's superior.

    0 Votes
  • In
      Apr 19, 2011

    Which locations are you talking about? Mobile, AL?

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Jan 11, 2012

    Does anyone have any experience with La Petite in Bedford, TX???

    0 Votes
  • St
      Aug 01, 2013

    My son goes to the Hampton, Va academy. This place is the worst! When I first enrolled my son, I was told that I would receive a 10% military discount. Once I went to pay for my son's first week of daycare; I was told that that was a mistake. The staff did apologize, but when it comes to money, an apology is not good enough! They offered to give me 1 free week after 10 weeks of enrollment, but I don't think I will be keeping my son in this school for that long. I have had countless incidents with my breast milk. The first was when they fed my son 4 times (according to my son's daily sheet), but he only had 3 empty bottles. God only knows where that 4th bottle came from. The second incident was when they called me saying my son needed a bottle because he had none left. I was then called back 2 minutes later so the director could tell me that "They found the bottle." The third was just today when I got home and realized that I was missing a whole bottle of my breast milk from my son's bag. Also, they place your infant's clothing items under his or her crib, but the babies crawl around the room pulling the clothes out of the drawers that are located under the individual cribs. Why aren't these drawers locked? And why are these babies aloud to crawl around the room like that? My second day there, I found my son's clean clothes thrown around the crib area of the room. Days after that, I found another child's clothes in my son's drawer. Two days ago, I went to pick up my son and the day care provider was caring my 7 week old son in one hand and the vacuum in the other hand! This place is 100% unprofessional. I am currently looking for a new child care provider. I hate this place!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 13, 2014

    I CANT STAND LA PETITE ACDEMY because my baby is too cute for dat and they aint bout to let my child get get in troble cuz he didnt eat all his food! They gave anything and everthing to eat .i am UNENROLLING my baby right now!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Dec 11, 2014

    My experience with the academy was very mixed. My son went to saber spring one, San Diego. We sent him only for a month and then we moved him to another daycare.We joined him when he was 5 months old. Initially I was prepared that he would cry till he would get used to the place. After almost like a week and half the teachers there would complain to me that he needs more personal care, he likes to be held and doesn't play by himself. They made me feel guilty for dropping him at the daycare and going back to work. They would say that I should stay with my son and 5 months is too young for him to join any daycare. They would give recommendations to hire a personal Nanny or send him to a home based daycare.

    The teachers they are nice but I guess they were not able to manage the 1:4 ratio for infants. With the new infant the extra care and the crying I think it was tough on them. It was very hard on me, as a mother to see your child with swollen eyes when you pick him up. I am glad I decided to move him out of La Pettie.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Mar 23, 2015

    My Experience was in Miami, Florida. My son was there for only 4 months. In that time he had 2 ER visits for head injuries. My son was always picked out for being "hyper", which I warned them about and was told they could handle. He was allowed to play with blocks that he threw, and when I told them not to let him play with them they told me they could not dictate free play. For 3 weeks the daycare had rooms that were stacked half way up to the ceiling with furniture and the kids played and walked past that area (something could of fallen on them). For 2 weeks during that time the teach told me she could not give lessons due to the furniture move, but they school still billed the state for VPK. Workers that have left told me that they have left children naked on the tables and made comments about the parents. I've seen with my eyes as they drag the kids around. When we went to corporate to report the issues and the director, the very next day child services was waiting for me saying my son told them I'm abused and he is abused. this coming from a kid they claim can't talk complete sentences. I guess it was a miracle because that day he told them a "story". My son is now at home with family and we are battling the after affects of this place. I go to a behavioral therapist that is doing studies on head trauma and behavior. I feel horrible that I thought the best thing for my son was to move him there, turned out to be the worst. My opinion...STAY AWAY! You will get smiles and be told all you want to hear, but your child is paying for it when you leave.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Oct 30, 2015

    I have only had good experiences with La Petite...I refuse to take my kids anywhere else. The directors and teachers at the locations I've used have been wonderful. East J street in Chula Vista and the Murfreesboro, TN location are legit in my experience.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Sep 26, 2016

    My child is recently enrolled in La Petite - mesquite, tx. I love the precious status app! I do think they are doing a good job teaching. I have two complaints : 1) the menu. It is not kid friendly at all. I can hardly believe what they are serving these toddlers. I mean, I am all about healthy cooking "sweet potato vs regular, lean ground turkey vs beef, wheat vs rye.. etc.. but they are feeding these poor babies a boiled egg and cole slaw for lunch. 90% of their meals don't include meat. Today, the menu was total carbs and sugar : Cheerios and fruit for breakfast, mac n cheese, carrots, and peaches for lunch. Is it really healthy to feed our kids carbs and no protein? Is it good to feed them so healthy that they don't eat at all? This is not kid friendly.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Dec 23, 2016

    La Petite Academy, Richmond CA (Lakeside Dr.)
    We enrolled our 5-year son who is on the spectrum in LPA in the winter of 2016. He was treated very poorly, misunderstood, labeled. We had our son's OT even write a letter so that LPA could file with the long application. We describe his abilities and disabilities; his personality...loving caring, never violent, happy child...no one ever took the time to read our detailed descriptions nor the letter from our OT. Whenever there was a complaint, I would mention the letter and always received complete blank stares, no one had a clue what I was talking about.The caregiver assigned to him who once mentioned that her passion was to "work with children with special needs" has absolutely no clue regarding the complexity that is involved with working with a special needs child, her complete lack of sensitivity with my son along with the rest of the staff, with the EXCEPTION of the assistant director and a few of the ads, was appalling. The director had a bad attitude and a lack of concern for the children, hence her staff mirrored her. Once my son had fallen, when my husband arrived to pick him up, without even looking at him, she said he fell without a care as if
    'kids fall all the time no big deal so what'
    Years ago our oldest son had attended LPA; our experience was all positive but he was normal developing. What concerns me is not the ability for these providers to care for children that are vocal and can speak up or complain to their parents but what about kids like my son who is autistic, who had a hard time explaining to us his fears, concerns, and defending himself when he was wrongly accused. Needless to say less than a year later, we had decided that enough was enough, we wrote a detailed termination letter to the director and pulled our son out.

    Autism has become an epidemic, I'm sure my son will not be the last child enrolled in LPA on the spectrum. If your child has special needs, please DO NOT enroll him/her at LPA, save yourself the heart ache and do your research, find a care provider that has experience in dealing with children on the spectrum.

    0 Votes

Post your comment