The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Koo Koo Bear Kids / Do Not Buy From This Company

1 12060 Etris RoadRoswell, GA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 1.800.475.6909

I have purchased a lot of things in my life and have had some bad customer service before but I have never had any as poor as Koo Koo Bear Kids. If you take on thing from this review, DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THEM!

When it came time to buying a Crib and other furniture items for our nursery we found a set we liked and searched out online retailer of that brand and set. We found Koo Koo Bear kids and ordered the furniture on November 12, 2009. After ordering online I called Koo Koo Bear to add an item to the order and was told 6-8 weeks for delivery just as the website told me.

Well, 6 weeks came and went and so did 8 weeks. After that I decided to call Koo Koo Bears kids and ask them the status of my order. I was told at that time it will be shipping within a week. Well, a week came and went and once again, nothing. So I called again and this time I was told that the manufacturer was having delays and it will be another week. Well, you can see where this is going and I could as well.

So after getting the run around from Koo Koo Bear week after week for three to four weeks I contacted the manufacturer of the furniture and talked with a nice lady who let me know that they had my items in stock and have for many weeks and Koo Koo Bear has not released the furniture for shipment yet. WHAT? Are you kidding me? We had paid for the items! To top it off she informed me that they only had 1 crib in that style left and that the retailer (Koo Koo Bear) needed to get it released or it might be many many weeks until they make that style again.

So, I got on the phone with Koo Koo Bear and got the good ol run around again. After many phone calls the shipment finally was “released” and was supposedly going to ship immediately. WRONG!

Let’s back up a minute here and I want to share some info I found out from talking to some people in my journey to get our furniture and some things I have read online about Koo Koo Bear. The real reason for these major problems is simple and a money issue. When a person purchases big item from Koo Koo Bear they send the order to Stanley furniture and then use the money to pay for something on order from another person (probably somebody who has been calling for weeks and wondering where their order is). It is a vicious cycle because Koo Koo Bear is probably financially unstable. So my money I bought my furniture with was used to release a previous order and my order was stuck in limbo.

So, back to the story (and I am sorry this is so long). After I was told the order was released it was not and the next week I had to make calls again to both Koo Koo Bear and Stanley Furniture the order was released and put on “priority” (whatever that means). Well, this was on February 4, 2010. That is 4 weeks late after the 8 week delivery time, so 12 weeks from time or order. You think we got our stuff the next week? Nope!

After the furniture was released for shipping it sat in the warehouse at Stanley Furniture for 1 day and picked up by the delivery company on February 5 to be shipped to their distribution center to await shipment to us. After it was all said and done we received our furniture on February 25, 2010 (dealing with the shipping company was another nightmare). That is 7 weeks late and 15 weeks from time of order when we were told 6-8 weeks. That is ridiculous!

Throughout this whole process, Koo Koo Bear was unhelpful and consistently blamed Stanley Furniture, the manufacturer, for the issues with our order. I know this is not true because the people at Stanley were very helpful and aided me in getting my order and stated that they have had my specific furniture in stock ever since the order was placed. It was Koo Koo Bear who had not released the furniture. If I had not contacted them I would still be waiting like some other people I have read about online who have ordered from Koo Koo Bear and have not gotten their furniture for 4-5 months.

To top it off, the crib mattress ordered from Koo Koo Bear never arrived to us. After our furniture arrived and the mattress did not I called to cancel the mattress and was told that it comes from another warehouse and could be on the way. Nope…cancel it because Koo Koo Bear will never get my business again and should never get yours if you are reading this.
I have purchased a lot of things in my life and have had some bad customer service before but I have never had any as poor as Koo Koo Bear Kids. If you take on thing from this review, DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THEM!

When it came time to buying a Crib and other furniture items for our nursery we found a set we liked and searched out online retailer of that brand and set. We found Koo Koo Bear kids and ordered the furniture on November 12, 2009. After ordering online I called Koo Koo Bear to add an item to the order and was told 6-8 weeks for delivery just as the website told me.

Well, 6 weeks came and went and so did 8 weeks. After that I decided to call Koo Koo Bears kids and ask them the status of my order. I was told at that time it will be shipping within a week. Well, a week came and went and once again, nothing. So I called again and this time I was told that the manufacturer was having delays and it will be another week. Well, you can see where this is going and I could as well.

So after getting the run around from Koo Koo Bear week after week for three to four weeks I contacted the manufacturer of the furniture and talked with a nice lady who let me know that they had my items in stock and have for many weeks and Koo Koo Bear has not released the furniture for shipment yet. WHAT? Are you kidding me? We had paid for the items! To top it off she informed me that they only had 1 crib in that style left and that the retailer (Koo Koo Bear) needed to get it released or it might be many many weeks until they make that style again.

So, I got on the phone with Koo Koo Bear and got the good ol run around again. After many phone calls the shipment finally was “released” and was supposedly going to ship immediately. WRONG!

Let’s back up a minute here and I want to share some info I found out from talking to some people in my journey to get our furniture and some things I have read online about Koo Koo Bear. The real reason for these major problems is simple and a money issue. When a person purchases big item from Koo Koo Bear they send the order to Stanley furniture and then use the money to pay for something on order from another person (probably somebody who has been calling for weeks and wondering where their order is). It is a vicious cycle because Koo Koo Bear is probably financially unstable. So my money I bought my furniture with was used to release a previous order and my order was stuck in limbo.

So, back to the story (and I am sorry this is so long). After I was told the order was released it was not and the next week I had to make calls again to both Koo Koo Bear and Stanley Furniture the order was released and put on “priority” (whatever that means). Well, this was on February 4, 2010. That is 4 weeks late after the 8 week delivery time, so 12 weeks from time or order. You think we got our stuff the next week? Nope!

After the furniture was released for shipping it sat in the warehouse at Stanley Furniture for 1 day and picked up by the delivery company on February 5 to be shipped to their distribution center to await shipment to us. After it was all said and done we received our furniture on February 25, 2010 (dealing with the shipping company was another nightmare). That is 7 weeks late and 15 weeks from time of order when we were told 6-8 weeks. That is ridiculous!

Throughout this whole process, Koo Koo Bear was unhelpful and consistently blamed Stanley Furniture, the manufacturer, for the issues with our order. I know this is not true because the people at Stanley were very helpful and aided me in getting my order and stated that they have had my specific furniture in stock ever since the order was placed. It was Koo Koo Bear who had not released the furniture. If I had not contacted them I would still be waiting like some other people I have read about online who have ordered from Koo Koo Bear and have not gotten their furniture for 4-5 months.

To top it off, the crib mattress ordered from Koo Koo Bear never arrived to us. After our furniture arrived and the mattress did not I called to cancel the mattress and was told that it comes from another warehouse and could be on the way. Nope…cancel it because Koo Koo Bear will never get my business again and should never get yours if you are reading this.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Em
      20th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    To comment, I bought Stanley Furniture from another company, which I will not mention, and had a similar problem. I have shopped at KooKoo Bear Kids many times and have had a great experience. I feel that KooKoo Bear Kids should not be to blame for the transions within the Stanley company. I feel that this company really does have good customer service and I personally have always been happy. I would recommend this company to all my friends.

    Emily

  • Th
      9th of Apr, 2010
    0 Votes

    After my last review I was contacted by the owner of Koo Koo Bear and was offered a compensation for my troubles. After a long conversation with her, while I am still disappointed with their customer service, I applaud their efforts to try and win back my business and sympathize with them in these hard economic times.

    I would like to thank Koo Koo Bear and their owner Tara for answering my unanswered questions and for the compensation for my troubles.

    I would like to say the quality of the product is top notch and, while it was a headache to get the items, it is an amazing nursery set.

  • Gi
      24th of Jun, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Along with many friends, I have purchase furniture and other items from KooKoo Bear Kids and have loved everything about the experience. The customer service was impecable and all my items arrived in a timely manner. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchases and decision to use KooKoo Bear Kids.

  • Pa
      12th of Nov, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I used to be an owner of a shop just like this in another state. It went under due to the economic state. That period in time made hell seem like a resort.

    The average consumer has NO CLUE how tough it is to be on the other side of the counter.
    1 month customers come in and buy.
    The next month the media scares consumers into submission.
    The 3rd month you are trying to figure out how you are going to get merchandise to your customers.
    All you can do is hope that the 4th month people start spending again.

    Oh, and never believe a word that manufacturers say. Especially ones who do not sell directly to the public. They will lie straight to the consumers face 99% of the time in order to make themselves look like the hero. Especially Stanley, Munire, Babys Dream, Pali.

    What makes it worse is this country's instant gratification.

    And if you don't like how it takes so long, blame that on all the manufacturing going over to places like china and Vietnam.
    Oh heres another one, I used to open every case piece to inspect it prior to customer pick up. Otfen there would be foot prints on them, small foot prints.
    The odds are that children are making furniture for your children. Think about that the next time you show off your nursery to your friends.

  • Be
      20th of Jun, 2011
    0 Votes

    My experience with the organization has been horrible. My mother was kind enough to order a custom glider/rocker from KooKoo Bear kids on March 29th. At the time of the order we were told 10 to 12 weeks for delivery, which brings us to June 21st. In May I followed up on the Little Castle chair order with KooKoo Bear and had a very difficult time learning the status. When I finally received a call back from somebody (after being promised 3 different times), I found out there was a delay in the fabric I had chosen. They apologized. How nice of them but never offered to explain why no one called me to alert me to the issue?? Oh wait, they had my Mom's money. What did they care and they don't have a baby coming. I had to call everyday and have my mom stop by the store to get any status update on the chair because no one calls you back. Finally, someone said they would "rush" the chair's production in order for delivery to occur by the 12 week mark... June 21st. I followed up every week to ensure we were making progress and the chair was picked up from Little Castles last Wednesday BUT it won't get to me until maybe the end of next week. Apparently, my chair has to be shipped to NC from CA then put on a truck to Chicago where I reside. Then, the Chicago company will call me to schedule delivery but they have 48 hours to call after my chair gets to Chicago. Who knows what their local delivery schedule will be. I will have my baby and not be able to nurse in my Nursery thanks to the incompetence of KooKoo Bear Kids. RUN FAR AWAY FROM THIS STORE. THEY DON'T DESERVE YOUR BUSINESS!

  • As
      1st of May, 2012
    0 Votes
    Koo Koo Bear Kids - Horrible quality and customer service!
    United States

    I wish I had read the reviews before we decided to purchase our baby furniture from Koo Koo Bear!
    When you have struggled for years with infertility, getting pregnant and finally being able to purchase furniture for the nursery you always dreamed of is such an exciting time and you expect everything to be perfect. Well, sadly our experience with Koo Koo Bear has been so far from perfect! we ordered the furniture Feb. 11, 2012 and it is May 1, 2012 and we are STILL waiting. After about 6-7 weeks I called several times and we were able to pick up our entire order from the warehouse but once we opened everything up to put it together we were shocked to see every single piece was damaged! I was in tears looking at the furniture I had waited so long for and it was not at all the quality we were promised! There were dents, scratches, the finish coloring was horrible, the hutch (which is what we are STILL waiting for) was defected and would not sit properly on the dresser, the foot board was so damaged there was no way to put the crib together even if everything else were right; it was just unbelievably horrible! I would expect this from yard sale furniture or maybe even Walmart or Target but was mortified that I paid triple the price of those places and had such terrible quality!! I called customer service and was transferred to Tara at the Norcross store and she began to "try to figure out what was going on" as if this doesn't happen often, which is what we were repeatedly told; however reading these reviews I now know differently! We were told they would send out a truck early the next week to pick up our damaged furniture and deliver new pieces they had in stock (everything but the hutch). When the delivery guys came they agreed that the furniture was damaged and were very friendly. The only complaint I have about them is that they did not bring new side rails for the crib and put the old ones on the crib and did not tell us. Once they were gone and we were looking at our furniture we noticed the same imperfections in the finish but since they were minor compared to the other damages and I was so tired of calling to complain and seeming to get one run around after another I figured we would just deal with it since its hardly noticed unless you know it is there. I did call to speak with Tara about 4 weeks later to check on the status of the hutch and to mention the side rails and of course she could not be reached, but I was told the hutch would be ready 6 weeks after it was reordered. That was heart breaking since I would not have the nursery ready to show off for the baby shower like I had planned by ordering the furniture early. I called again today to check on the status and it's the same run around; " a truck is scheduled to deliver to the warehouse this week sometime, but I can't tell you when or what exactly will be on it, but we are hoping the hutch will be here this week", so I ask if my hutch can be delivered this weekend and I am told probably not and that I will receive a phone call later this week; which I highly doubt because I have been promised a return call several times and never received it. So here we are still waiting...
    Everything was paid in full on February 11 and we were thrilled to start preparing our miracle baby's nursery and here we sit still waiting 12 weeks later. I guess we would have been better off getting our nursery furniture anywhere from Walmart to Babies R Us.

Post your comment