SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Kindercaretermination

Re Indianapolis, IN Review updated:

I worked at KinderCare for almost two years before I was let go in April 2009. I had a lot of concerns with the center I worked at prior to my termination. These concerns happened when we switched center directors in early 2008. This particular center director transferred from another center nearby. From that point on, I was out of ratio on days when I had almost 20 children during the early morning hours with little or no help.See Top 10 Worst Companies in Indianapolis, INI got fired because of a blog I posted on a popular social networking site regarding my frustration with the company. Nonetheless, I got suspended without pay. I was not paid any personal time that was still unused nor did I get any severance pay upon my termination from KinderCare. The staff is treated like [censored] and management does not even care about the families or the hard work that staff has put in for their children. I would NEVER recommend anyone working at KinderCare or have their children enrolled there. It is the worst child care facility on the planet.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Pa
      Mar 29, 2009

    I was terminated from a Kindercare center after reporting an incident that I felt totally inappropriate for 22 month olds to be engaging in. The day after I filled out the incident report and reported it to my superiors I was accused of saying inappropriate things to the mother of the child (by the mother). There were no witnesses...or so they say. I happen to know there was a witness and in order to protect this individual I will not disclose a name...however, let it be known that the "investigation" that cost me my job failed to recognize a "witness". This mother has a history of being dishonest with the center. When asked if I knew of any reason that the mom would make up things I told the truth...NO. The fact is she wanted ME to be the victim rather than take the responsibility for her child's action.

    As a child care organization, EVERYONE is mandated to report ANY suspicison of child abuse. When I reported this I was informed it was NOT sexual! When I was terminated I was informed they were" SUSPICIOUS AND KEEPING A CLOSE EYE ON THE FAMILY". My bosses, too are MANDATED to report"!.

    What's wrong with this picture??? I suspect, I report, I am fired and accused of saying inappropriate things. Hmmmmm
    When I asked what I could do to remedy or oppose this descision I was told "nothing". No griveance procedure?

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      Mar 29, 2009

    No, no grievance procedure as employment is "at will" and can be terminated at any time for any reason (except discrimination).

    You correctly filed with your supervisor, however, your mistake was in also talking with the mother. Your supervisors should have been the ones to decide anything further on the issue.

    0 Votes
  • Cd
      Mar 29, 2009

    True to the "at-will" statement, however one must take into consideration why a person gets fired for inappropriate behavior. I dont like seeing anyone lose their job in today's market - but at the same time I also know that companies do not hire to fire. There is under normal circumstances a valid reason why a company feels it necessary to terminate one's position - despite the "at-will" clause that an applicant is under. Whether that be insubordination, failure to comply to company policies, putting people around you or in your care at danger, drugs/alcohol/weapons brought into the workplace in your possession or in your system, not meeting requirements of your position, or found doing things which conflict with company interests.

    Despite any person's grievance for termination - there is typically more to the story than meets the eye, such as the statement suggested which in itself is contradicting "This mother has a history of being dishonest with the center. When asked if I knew of any reason that the mom would make up things I told the truth...NO" ... Sounds to me like there might be something else going on here - but that's just my opinion.

    Given the nature of your claims, and the center's decision to terminate - unless you are legally qualified to make such evaluations and observations, the center could have very well been in their rights to justify your dismissal. So many people these days are quick to point the finger at what they believe to be right or wrong - but judging by your statements, the nature of your dismissal, and the fact that you said a 22 month old child was engaged in something "sexual" - I would have to side with the facility. Without knowing the specifics, children of that age are in the early exploring stages - finding themselves, touching themselves, and the like... It is the adult mind which would pervert such actions - in which case, there is not necessarily something wrong with the child's actions as much as their is for the adult's mindframe. Children of that age, even those which are or have been sexually abused, do not have the mental nor emotional capability of being "sexual". My question for you would be, if the child was given the ability to "explore" as I stated above, where was the caregiver? was the child stopped, or was the child just allowed to continue in his/her action? In a care facility, constant supervision is necessary in order to maintain your credentials - and especially with toddlers - failure to do so jeapordizes any child in the care of the caregiver which is not what any care center with any sense of morals will allow to continue without firm disciplinary action.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Aug 13, 2009

    Kindercare will fire anyone to protect themselves from a possible lawsuit. They will manipulate their investigation to best serve the company. They will fire employees so that when licensing comes to investigate they are no longer at the center and licensing at least here in Texas will not seek out that individual to speak to them so whatever is told to them by the person in charge is what they go by.

    Kindercare has changed so much over the last few years. As the company has grown so has the mentality that making money is what the employees are there for and the children come second. They will say we have enhancment programs(that cost extra) for your child, but it is really charging you again for what they should be doing in the classroom everyday. Ok yest the ratio for the extra classes is very small, but what are they doing all day with the children.

    The teachers do not have time to do alot because they are short staffed since payroll is so tight and teachers are not coming to work because they are tired of the conditions. The children are moved from room to room during the day to help keep the ratios right. Kindercare would never have an extra teacher on staff to cover when a teacher is absent. Many days the Director is cooking or on a bus run. Try calling about the time school is starting or ending chances are you will not get an answer. I would say that most Kindercare are out of ratio 75% of the time between 7:30 and 8:15 while the morning bus runs are taking place.

    Kindercare did not give employees raises last year so if they told you that when they raised your price for the fall it was not true. MONEY not your child is the most important thing.

    +1 Votes
  • Ju
      Sep 01, 2009

    This company cares nothing for the children. I have been reading the complaint boards and am realizing that it is the same no matter where you are. Children are constantly moved, there is no consistancy and there is a high turnover in teachers, they don't care for their teachers or their students...just the money. I resigned my position with KinderCare due to the horrible things that were happening. I watched all of the teachers being overworked and stressed out to the point that they were making mistakes and being fired for them. The environment is terrible for the children and I can't believe how long they have fooled licensing. Unfortunately, I have seen many great teachers get terminated or quite due to all of these things over the years, which has left the children with ... well...lets just say not the best preschool education...especially for the high price that parents are paying

    0 Votes
  • In
      Feb 24, 2010

    Oh Yea Its all about the money. I was fired because they had to cut hours and guess what? I was supposedly warned5 months ago that I was going to be fired but somehow they didn"t get my signature on the documentation and was asked to sign it the day I was fired. The kids are in denial asking for me every day. Some of the staff including management are so ghetto when we went to CPR class they tried to make sexual innuendo out out of everything the instructor said, It was an embarrassment. I have heard the office talking about their partner"s private parts with the door to the classroom only a yard away open. But they didnt think I worked sanitary enough for them even though no complaints from parents, supervisors or health dept. I must say though that most of the teachers really love the kids and do their very best for the kids and yes they are pressured to do alot off the clock. Even the management has gone beyond the call of duty for certian parents who have a hard time. It's just that no matter how well you fit into the company you will be sacrificed if A higher up thinks something is threatening their job. It's the old dog eat dog. No loyalty, No conscience.

    0 Votes
  • In
      Feb 25, 2010

    And "butwhy" is wrong. It should not have been left up to the supervisor to take the matter further. All employees are mandated reporters. My relative was fired from a management position at Kindercare because she reported a child's spoken concern to her supervisor who did nothing about it. Pamela should have gone directly to the proper authorities with her suspicions so she could not be accused of breaking the law. Unfourtunately Kindercare employees can be fired for not "doing their job", which sometimes means breaking the law, as well as for breaking the law, which sometimes means "doing their job"

    0 Votes
  • Nl
      Jun 15, 2010

    I have been with kindercare for awhile now. I was let go because i didn't label a baby bottle. I had told the teacher who came in after i did whose bottle it was and she responded with "ok" and looked directly at it. The parents had labeled every bottle except the one bottle they have given me. I got very busy at the moment, they gave me the bottle and set it on the counter (without notcing the bottle wasnt labeled.) so i could get a toddler off of a baby. I never had a write up, suspension, or any complaints. A few weeks before this incident, they tried getting me to quit because i told them i wouldnt give the managers 100 percent but i was gonna give those children 100 percent because the managers didnt support there staff. A few months back in march a manger had left our building usafe and a child unattended but was never fired. The person who found the kid threatend to call DCFS but never did cause the district manager talked her out of it and the incident was never brought up to HR. They are always leaving rooms out of ratio and telling teacher to pretend they are in ratio. I also had found out that there was a adult sex offender walking into the building. If you ask me every teacher and parent have the right to know if someone like that is coming into the building. The managers got mad at the staff because eventually all of the staff found out about it. The managers have a sex offender list that they are suppose to look at every so often. so how in the world did they not know about it? if anything i believe i should have got a write up or suspension but not fired cause i didn't label the bottle but i did communicate with the other teacher whose bottle it was and she responded back

    0 Votes
  • Di
      Mar 28, 2012

    What you did was very dangerous and unhealthy. Also according to our records there have also been incidents when you have left a a baby alone on a changing table while you left the washroom to talk on your cell phone for just a few minutes. This was also very dangerous as the baby could have rolled over and got injured. You were warned and written up about that incident. The situation where you did not label the bottle is also very dangerous since we have children with allergies and drinking from the wrong bottle could send them to the emergency room.

    0 Votes
  • Nl
      Mar 28, 2012

    For one I didn't give the baby the bottle. So what I did was not harmful to the kid because I didn't do anything besides telling the teacher who acknowledged what I had told her. Second of all I NEVER had a write up or got suspended before my termination.I also never left a child on the diaper changing table and suddenly just left the room. I have always watched the children while up on the diaper changing table .So before you want to run your mouth on here giving false information get the story straight if your trying to defend the company you work for.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 20, 2012

    Termination: I was recently wrongfully terminated as well and the District Manager seemed to not even care. I actually beleive she was behind all of this herself. I'm highly educated and is a great teacher, that a good rapport with most if not all of my parents. I moved her from another state and from day one I had been harassed, singles out and mistreated because I was the only teacher with a degree. It was even brought to my attention and I quote that, "Think I'm white" because I have all these degrees. I went to the Director on numerous occasions and she did nothing because I later found out that the person who was making the center such an hostile environment was suppose to have been her God daughter; therefore, I now understand why she allowed and did nothing about the complaints I brought to her attention. It was a personal. KinderCare is a good organization to work for, but the employees are terrible. My Director is a very passive person who allowed thing to be brushed under the rug. I beleive if KinderCare teacher's had a union, they would be better supported in incidents like this. Sorry to say but Parents are not always right. Teacher's need a voice of reasoning with the company and it is truly sad that corporate do not support their teachers. It's all about money with this business and not about the lively hood of the teachers.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 20, 2012

    The reason they terminated me was because I had an argument with on of my co worker and called her a ###. They said that this was not a very good role model for the children. At this point the children were not even at the center, then another time they fired me because I slapped a child for not doing as he was told. They automatically fired me without checking to see why I slapped the child. They also used the incident where I called one of the workers a ### to fire me.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 20, 2012

    Tasha, the person who just posted this is not me, and I have no idea who would do this. So who ever it is is childish an immature...I pray for them.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 22, 2012

    Some people have nothing else better to do..God help them. Just got done finishing a nine page paper for the Master's program that I'm, and will have my Master's in December of this year. Tasha, if that's even your name, I'm not going to engage in your ignorance. God Bless and you have a good life...

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Jul 21, 2014

    I was terminated for separating a child from a situation for 5 minutes so they would stop biting the other children. My CD told me she didn't want to terminate me and it was the District Manager that was telling her to fire me. I had written the incident reports up immediately after they happened after tending to the children and handed them to my CD. I was never told any policy had been violated. They fired me the next day and then denied my unemployment stating that I violated a company policy that I had never heard about let alone had been trained on. When I appealed my unemployment denial i finally got a copy of my termination paper and they altered it after I signed and left.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Nov 04, 2016

    I worked for KinderCare for two years and during that time I was one of the most valuable employees they had at this location. When Parent's were asked to recognize the teachers with a statement of recognition, I received more than most of my peers. This comment was only to prove a point as I demonstrate my loyalty to this company. I was a very dedicated employee and parents told me all the time, "how they appreciated the changes they saw in their child's life. A total of three times I should have been sent home ill and wasn't allowed. The first time I had chills, fever, tremendous aches and pains all over my body from my head to my toes. I was energetic and rarely sat down. However, I could not do anything except sit freezing in a chair while wearing my jacket ant a blanket over my shoulders. The next day I called in and let my boss know I had to get to the doctor because this was something I could not treat at home with any success. I was diagnosed with Shingles. Wow, I had no idea what was going on with me as I noticed this rash and the system were severe. The second time, it was lunch time and I was putting a bib on a child and my back went out. I knew the safety rule to bend at the knee, but this time it just didn't make a difference. I could not move and immediately tears were there swelling up in my eyes. I was 56 years old during that time. My co-worker asked me if I was ok, and I could not speak the pain was so bad. For the duration of the day, I shuffled my feet and pivoted around very slowly. I was trembling with fear that one of the children would bump into me and exasperate my pain. The third time I took a muscle relaxer at 7:00 p.m. because my sciatic nerve flared up, and the back of my left leg was tingling. I thought if I took the muscle relaxer early enough it would be worn off by the time I had to report to work. It wasn't worn off, but I went to work and told my boss immediately as to my condition. I informed her that I might not be myself today because I took a muscle relaxer in hopes it would be worn off. I let her know I was extremely sleepy looking for some ray of support. I mentioned it to my co-worker and others. We cared for one another and when we didn't feel out best we would be sure to bless one another with a thoughtful word of kindness. So, they said they would pray for me and keep me on track. It was outdoor play time around 9:00 a.m. Before heading out we would line the children up and count each one and note the time. Upon returning to the classroom the children were gathered and instructed to line up for a count before going back inside. This was the first time I had forgotten to count my children. As soon as I got inside I noticed I was short and within seconds I opened the door and little Christian was playing with a ball with a big smile on his face. I was so shocked and very worried about losing my job, how could this happen. Right then at that very moment in thought I remembered my foggy brain and I thought to myself, why didn't my director care? My co-worker told the director and I was suspended for three days while they investigated the incident. I received a phone call that I was fired. I had never been fired and I had retired from EDS, Electronic Data Services after 24 years. I had a highly respectful work ethic, because, I worked unto God. I always knew to have a job was a blessing. After this, I fell into depression and had to get away so I went to visit my daughter who lived out of town. I was embarrassed, humiliated, so sad, and shocked about the whole situation for a very long time. This company was notorious for allowing their employees to remain at work with terrible illnesses. I learned to resent this company and I have zero respect. I witnessed an employee kick a child who was on the floor crying and he wouldn't stop. This was abuse to me and I took it to the office. The director at the time, asked me, why she kicked the child. I said so there are exceptions. I know, this is too long of a story. Thanks for reading.

    0 Votes
  • Op
      Feb 20, 2017

    @towerball was this in Michigan? I think I know what Kindercare you worked at if it was in Michigan. I just quit from there because the company doesn't care that their teachers yell at and humiliate the kids.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Aug 01, 2017

    This is a complaint to inform you that KinderCare should be careful when it comes to hiring teachers because a teacher needs to have common sense as well as book sense. One of your teachers located in Greenville, NC was horrible, had an extremely terrible attitude the whole while I was there, mean to students, incompetent, and sent a deeply dreadful report filled with unethical comments to my college. My college professors gave me an A anyway because of all my hard work and effort... If KinderCare keeps hiring unprofessional teachers like this one, they could end up facing a civil lawsuit... This teacher made all sorts of allegations about me that wasn't true. Teachers need to understand that just because you hold a position titled teacher doesn't mean it's okay to look down on others. After working at your establishment for two days only I was heartbroken the way some of your employees treated me. The teacher was very rude and mean and talked about me to the other employees. In the comments to my college I was called names and did not get my credit for the two days I worked at your facility. Also, because of the allegations in my school report, it was not signed I received no credit for working at KinderCare. The director believed these terrible fabrications and they were directly sent to my professor. The teacher called me incompetent and wrote incidents in the report that never occurred as well as called me names such as old school teacher. After reading these terrible allegations I tried to contact the director and she refuses to call me back. Employees should never, ever be allowed to treat people uncivilized and unethical especially a place where learning is engaged an established.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment