SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Kindercare- Gum Streetunprofessional

Review updated:

This school is so unprofessional...the teachers wash there personal clothes in the laundry in the babies room. The classes are always out of ratio...The Director is never there nor does she repremand her staff they get away with murder and cover for each other. In my opinion they need to be shut diown or have new mangers and district manger.See Top 10 Worst Companies in Alexandria, FLThe pre-k class has gone down since the regular teacher went to finish school they put a new teacher there who does not have a clue and does nothing but sit and eat according to my child. I would rather have there teacher back part time then to have that uneducated one. Don't get me wrong Ms. Sonia the asst. teacher is great, and worked well with Ms. Nikki. This center is hands down nasty, unprofessional, and not safe. I will not rest until not only my shild but all the children are cared for and taught right. As well as have a brand new staff of managers and teachers.

Om
Jan 07, 2013
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • 1t
      Apr 01, 2013

    I started my child here almost a year ago, and I really wish there was somewhere else I could take her that is convenient. Within the first 3 months I was so pissed with this school!! I made a complaint that they needed to take care of the mosquito infestation they have during the summer. They told me to bring mosquito repellant. I was ticked because I asked where is the one I brought, they said she never had any. My child has been coming home reeking of that stuff. and I know I supplied it. Their cover up was "well maybe you were smelling it because she was hugging and holding onto the other children that have it on them. 0_o First off as strong as it was it was sprayed directly on her, I had to scrub it off of her during bath time. Second, if you're saying I didn't supply it, then whose were they using., and lastly there is only so much repellent that is going to keep those mosquitos away. Unfortunately because they didn't want to do anything about it, I demanded my daughter had to stay in quite a few times. Another incident occured when they couldn't tell me how my child ended up with bleach on her clothes. Every excuse began with "maybe". I don't want to hear maybe!! You are her teacher. Where were you when she was playing with it?!? Another incident occured in September, when I asked my mother to drop her off at school. My mother was carrying her in her arms and tripped over a part of the sidewalk that is raised. My mother fell down on my 2 year old daughter ontop of the concrete. Can I just say I have asked mutltiple times when they are going to fix the sidewalk since this happened, and Niclaire the center director keeps passing the blame. I have not been reimbursed my money for the ER visit for my daughter, nor have they still fixed the sidewalk.
    You also want to make sure you watch your account closely. They will swear up and down that you owe money that you have already paid. I had to constantly stay ontop of them, and the center director was always telling me no, its correct, until one day she finally looked at what I was saying.
    There are a couple of teachers who are always on their personal phones. If you call the front office you can only hope that someone will actually answer the phone, and if you want to speak to someone in the office mainly the center director or her assistant, or have them return your call, well lets just say you have a better chance playing the scratch lottery and winning a $2 prize.
    I don't feel their curriculum is as advertised, there were things that I felt my daughter should have known or learned at certain points in her age. So I taught her.
    I agree with the previous post that they all cover for one another and there is no kind of discipline amongst the staff. They are all very fake when it comes to your concern (and believe me, you can tell). If you have a concern about your child and you bring it to theri attention, 9 times out of 10 the response begins..."Well, my son/fdaughter..." Quite frankly I don't care about your child, I am talking to you about my child. The one I am paying you all to look after, and educate.
    I could go on and on about this place. If it wasn't for the type of job I work and the hours, and some of the things they offer that the other centers in my area don't, my baby girl would have been out of there a long time ago.

    0 Votes
  • Ku
      May 11, 2013

    As a reader of these comments and a teacher at this center I am extremely offended. I will only speak for myself, no other teacher, but I love and care for every child as if they are my own! In my classroom curriculum is taught and displayed EVERYDAY! Sometimes your parents are too "busy" to stop and look around observe what's is being taught. The previous comment was written by my former students' parent and unfortunately she was a parent you couldn't please no matter what. There NEVER was a bleach accident! LIE! Her daughter was a pleasure in class and participated very well, too bad her mother feels she's lacking. Overall my center is thriving and my class is and will always remain most popular. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  •   May 11, 2013

    ^ Unprofessional response by an employee, and one I'm sure that isn't condoned by the company she works for. Overall, a poor representation of the company, and one that should be brought to the attention of the director and corporate, by emailing them the link.

    0 Votes
  • Ku
      May 11, 2013

    I am sorry if you view that as unprofessional Brenda. It definitely wasn't my intention. But my coworkers and I work hard to ensure the best care and to let parents know their kids are in good hand while they are away. So to mocked and bullied online, called "fake and uneducated is hurtful, unfair and unacceptable.

    0 Votes
  • Ku
      May 11, 2013

    Hooray for kuteacher! So many people leave faceless comments and are reckless with the things they say. This time they were caught. Good for the teacher standing up for herself. And posters beware, businesses can now sue you if they feel like your comments hurts or defame their business.

    -1 Votes
  •   May 11, 2013

    Pro tip kuteacher - When you post comments pretending to be someone else agreeing with yourself - use a different user name. Epic fail.

    +1 Votes
  • Ku
      May 11, 2013

    @ Brenda-Purposely done. It was meant to me written in 3rd person. No fail. But thank you nonetheless. You have a great weekend and stay blessed and positive.

    -1 Votes
  •   May 11, 2013

    Legal Information -

    KinderCare respects your privacy like we care for your child, with care and caution. Safety and security is integral in everything we do, which is why we protect your family in person as well as your privacy online. And, we support every family’s situation fairly and equally because everyone is unique in their own way.

    - Sent the link to corporate and will follow up with a call and email to the director on Monday.

    0 Votes
  • Kt
      Jun 25, 2013

    This place really is as bad as other complaints about it on this board. The rooms are almost always out of ratio. The teachers do not have education or certification. Minimum standards and requirements are pretty much a h.s. diploma and a few months experience. The turnover is horrible. The good teachers end up leaving because this place is so poorly run. I've had 4 of my child's clothing items go missing in a span of two months. The center didn't seem to care and refused to credit me for the cost. I would bring my child in wearing an outfit and pick her up in something completely different and the original clothes would not be in her bin. The teachers would always feign ignorance or say they weren't on duty. They are always shifting blame. I agree with the billing complaints. They break up the base fee so it's confusing and you are paying a month in advance in some cases. They always double charge you. Not run honestly.

    I've seen them force toddlers to sit at a table with magazines so they can clean the rooms and reprimand the child when they tried to get up. I had to speak with the Director about this SEVERAL times and once a teacher even became argumentative with me saying she had to clean the room. You are paid to care for my child. A child under two shouldn't be made to sit at a table so you can clean.

    The last straw was another teacher telling me that my child was mistreated and the offending teacher trying to spin it into something else. You do not force a crying child on a potty and then tell the parents she refused. The teacher did not want to potty train my child and set her up for failure and used the potty as punishment to get out of training my child. Reprehensible. I pulled my child out of this place. Please read their violations on the CPS site before sending your child. Too many red flags and the little ones have no way of telling you how they are being mistreated. These people are warm bodies and not fit to care for children. The Director does not want to spend time recruiting and hiring more staff and so will not do anything to fix the situation. The child's best interest is not considered. This place is nothing more than a warehouse. I have also seen teachers just sitting around and not engaging with the children.

    0 Votes
  • Rk
      Aug 11, 2013

    This place is a dump. Please I repeat do not take your kid here. When you come for a tour they will play the roll that they are great teachers and they are always engaging with the kids. Not thats just a fake. These teacher care about drama more than the kids. They are always one there phones. Or they are always feeding there faces. My kids never like going to this school they would scream and cry when they would go. And this was there second center they had been to. So I pulled them out. The price is ridiculous for the care that you receive. And the center is very old and dirty. I felt as the the toys was never clean. The infant was a very good class one my kids where in there the teacher love and cared for my kids. The director and assistant director don't care what goes on in the center. This place just plain out suck. Please tour other Kindercares there are better centers out there.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Apr 15, 2014

    I had my infant daughter here for several months in 2013. While I was pretty happy with the teachers in the infant class, I saw some things of concern in the two toddler classes I had to pass through to get to the infant room. In the toddler class, they would often have the children sitting at tables leafing through catalogs. Shopping catalogs! Not educational materials like age-appropriate books, and the teachers were not engaging with the children at all while they did this. It was a bit heartbreaking to see this and I remember thinking to myself that I would change day care centers before my daughter ever reached the age where she would be moved to one of these classes (thankfully, that did happen). Also, one day, I came in early to pick up my daughter and as I passed through the first toddler room I saw a teacher walking through the napping children and forcefully kick one of the cots out of the path -- sleeping child and all. I don't know what the experience and/or education requirements are for this place, but that behavior and curriculum is worrisome. And it's not like the weekly rate is low. Lastly, I also found the center's Director to be rarely present whenever I dropped off or picked up my daughter. I would recommend any parent to try to find another center if you can.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Mar 05, 2015

    If you love your child, Keep them away from that hell hole of a place. I've witnessed a teacher falling asleep while feeding a baby.(several times) I've witnessed a toddlers teacher yelling at a parent. The two's teacher is the most unprofessional piece of garbage ever. The assistant director has no brain of her own and the director seems to lack confidence. All the other teachers seem to be operating from a pace of fear and stress.

    0 Votes

Post your comment