SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Kaplan Universityfraud

Review updated:

My name is Sharon Egleston. I have been a student with Kaplan since 2007. I think I have had problems in every area of this school. The most serious has been with the financial aid department and what I believe is the mishandling of my student loans. I will be finished in July with a BS in Legal Studies if they don't block me as they now, suddenly, say I owe more money.
I started Kaplan wanting to be an attorney only to discover that schools of reputation would not transfer my credits as the core courses were not approved by the American Bar Association…….More available
I have started to research Kaplan University and its unethical financial practices. I would appreciate your contacting me by writing to my email set up for those that have serious issue with Kaplan. Kaplan.[protected]@gmail.com.
I am hoping to develop a class action suit and try to help as many as I can with the financial burden and educational handicap that Kaplan has caused so many. If I can receive personal responses showing interest in this issue I know that I can find a top rate attorney to take this case. It is important that you respond so I can develop further Kaplan's unethical business practices. I thank you for your cooperation and support of a worthwhile cause.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Mi
      Oct 13, 2009

    I enrolled in Kaplan University for my BA in Criminal Justice in 2008. It seemed like a great deal and my admissions advisor told me that I could set up payments each month. As I finished my first semester, I started to get collection calls from Kaplan on a daily basis telling me that I owed far more than what I was originally told. As the calls continued, they kept telling me I would be dropped from the school for non-payment even though I was still paying the set $350/month. All of my calls to tuition and financial aid were directed to a person who was never at their desk and their voicemail was full so you could not leave a message. I ended up spending so much time working overtime to afford the school, I didn't have time to finish my school work. I decided to drop my classes. That was when things went from bad to worse. They contacted me and said they made a mistake and refunded my tuition but were working on getting it fixed. Then the calls from their collection agency started, saying that it was no mistake, they had to refund it by law and that Kaplan just said that to get me off the phone. NEVER, EVER, EVER, enroll in Kaplan University.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Nov 02, 2009

    I, along with many other students who have previously attended Kaplan, am stuck with a balance that I should not have to pay. Pell Grants and Financial Aid were supposed to cover it, but now they have reported me to a creditor and will not give me an official transcript. I now attend another university and this is keeping me from registering for further classes and is also holding me from getting my financial aid disbursement. My parents and I have decided to hire an attorney to clear this whole mess up. KAPLAN UNIVERSITY IS A BIG SCAM!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 29, 2017

    @neca04 Hi i hope u get this? Kaplan is still pulling thjeir #### and its gotten worse. Did u ever sue them?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Nov 03, 2009

    Hi, thanks for sharing. I actually wanted to enroll and start classes but then I decided not to. Only problem is I filled up my application or at least part of it online and they set it up as a "Cash pay" and asked I make an initial deposit which I did so. Now about 4 to 5 months later, my plans have changed and I dont want to start kaplan for at least another year so I called and asked to get a refund and then they tell me that "cash pay" students are not eligible for refunds.

    But how can they not refund my deposit when I never actually started any classes let alone complete my application to the school... I mean I dont understand why they say a refund cannot be made...

    Do you have any advice for me?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Dec 09, 2009

    Stay far away from this school. They only want your money. They do not care to help you towards your goals. Only to put you in debt. I tried to cancel a course I was taking with them and they did not help me to succeed at this. The course I accidently applied for was advanced..which means I could not take it. They are still charging me to this day. And that is including interest. When I signed up I thought it would be a way for me to take web design courses so that I could succeed. Find a good job. Boy, was I wrong!

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Jan 16, 2010

    hey lets get together and fight this!

    kaplanuniversityrippedmeoff.webs.com

    Kaplan university ripped me off SPREAD IT!

    Many people don't know they can do something about this!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Jul 24, 2010

    CHI Institute in Broomall is owned by Kaplan. Were you in the CHI Surgical Technology program there? Contact danny weil at [protected]@aol.com if you were. It's important.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Jul 28, 2010

    Read Daily Censored article by Danny Weil on rip-off king Kaplan University. Here's the link: http://dailycensored.com/2010/07/27/kaplan-university-blood-bank-for-the-washington-post/

    0 Votes
  • Sw
      Sep 05, 2010

    After an enthusiastic interview with a Kaplan recruiter, I was told that I was "accepted" for the online Nurse Legal Consutant program. (the recruiter told me SHE would decide if they would accept me after the interview) Then she wanted 538 dollars immediately. I told her I got paid on the following friday and I could get her a check by then. She said the deadline was that wednesday and that I would have to get a cashier's check and overnight it to her address. Why was there such an immediate and pressing deadline? What was the urgency? would i never be able to get in? Of couse, i was too excited about becoming a Nurse Consultant and didn't do enough research. I sent a cashier's check for the full tuition almost 4 thousand dollars. I haven't started the program yet and I am in the process of trying to get a refund. Something smells fishy about it. If I'm able to get my refund without difficulty, I'll be happy with no complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
      Oct 10, 2010

    I did get my refund from kaplan in a timely manner, MINUS 395 dollars for their trouble!!. I won't be going back, though. Something just didn't seem right about it.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Dec 15, 2010

    i have been attending kaplan university since 2007 and had nothing but problems with them. Besides my Tap and Pell grants i owe $45, 000 and the college $900 for my 2 year degree not yet earned. I have a 2.9 average and was kicked out of school for academic probation. I am know tring to get into another college and all my credits are lost,

    0 Votes
  • Ek
      Dec 15, 2010

    this doesn't add up to me: "I have a 2.9 average and was kicked out of school for academic probation."

    I'm not sure, but I don't think that a 2.9 is probation-worthy.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 02, 2011

    There is a group on yahoo for former/current students or faculty that have stories or experiences to share. It is: [protected]@yahoogroups.com
    I am a former student myself as I just withdrew last week because of the tantrics of Kaplan. I had issues with them not being accredited and not being able to use my degree once I got it. I also had numerous issues with financial aid. Please come join us.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
      Jan 14, 2011

    Warning!!! Kaplan University & UOP are a joke and all they care about is your money. And I would appreciate no one commenting back stating that the only students who complain are the ones who can financially support themselves or the ones who can't get passing grades. Though I don't want to pay back my loans (because I was scammed) I can... and I can proudly say that I'm on the honor's list...so take it from me...both schools are a joke. My financial advisor never responds to my phone calls or Emails, so I finally got her switched, I got a teacher who liked to drink alcohol during class and who liked to brag about it and now I'm dealing with Kaplan dropping me from classes (because of a technical error; it happened 2x, putting me so far behind in classes that I asked to take a leave of absence, which they agreed to if I paid them a large sum of money to reenter. What?! They are not honest about finances, the advisors are slackers and the teachers are not that great, so why pay thousands of dollars to receive that kind of education...

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Feb 21, 2011

    Ms. Frustrated, You are not allone in this. I started Kaplen in 2008. I was dueing very well, then due personall issues I my grades dropped, from 4.0 to 3.5. I was flunking classes, then I took one quarter off. When I statred back up, my student advisor told me everything was taken care my loans, classes, ect. I went a whole year, until Kaplen locked me out of the on-line course. When I contacted them about this, they said they did not have my primasor note and I owed them a larg amount of money. I did my note and then was told this will get you in for next term. Well that came and I called again about classes, I was informed I had more paperwork to do. This happened over and over. Finally I recieved a e-mail about paying them back. They said all I had to do was sign the paper and mail them back and then things would go back to order. Well when I read the forms I would be signing agreement to pay them back starting in six monthes to pay them back. Well, they made the mistake, not me, so I have not signed them and still waiting to hear from them again. I guess my education will stop here at Kaplen University and now I need to see if I can change to another collage and in hope they will transfer my credits. I have taken up on looking into Kaplen much closer and find they have ripped many people off, and have frued on them. This is very disharting that this is allowed to happen to us. I thought I was on the right tract, going for a degree. Wish you luck and hope things turn out for the good.
    Confuessed

    0 Votes
  •   Jun 01, 2011

    The United States government, the Department of Justice, and federal judge Patricia Seitz in Miami Florida has an avalanche of evidence to back up the accusations against Kaplan University in its Qui Tam false claims lawsuit. Consider the whistleblower trial transcripts from Federal court listed below:
    IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
    NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS
    UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
    8 EXCERPT OF THE TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS
    BEFORE THE HONORABLE BLANCHE M. MANNING

    TAX FRAUD

    18 Q. Mr. Hammerman asked you some questions about ghost
    19 employees and tax fraud allegations. Can you explain for the
    20 jury what -- can you explain to the jurors what that referred
    21 to when you talked about ghost employees and tax fraud?
    22 A. We called them Caspers. They were ghost students. What
    23 would happen is a student would drop out of school. He'd go
    24 some time, a semester or two, and drop out. Then the student
    25 would go on with their life somewhere. What we would do is we
    1 would keep recertifying their student loan application to the
    2 Government each semester until graduation. We would just get
    3 their student loan and keep it. The student even didn't know.
    4 We took tens of millions of dollars from the Federal Government
    5 this way. They were called Caspers. Sometimes the students
    6 later would find out later that they had massive debt.
    7 MR. HAMMERMAN: Your Honor, I'm going to object.
    8 THE COURT: Just a moment. Just a moment.
    9 MR. HAMMERMAN: Once again, there was a question, and
    10 he's answered.
    11 THE COURT: Yes, ask another question.
    12 MR. BRINDLEY: I'll ask another question.
    13 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    14 Q. Mr. Wilcox, you were explaining what would happen. You
    15 said the students would drop out, and then you'd keep
    16 recertifying the student loan forms. Did you participate in
    17 that?
    18 A. Yes, I did.
    19 Q. And was this something that you were directed to do as part
    20 of your work as dean?
    21 A. Yes.
    22 Q. Who was involved in giving you direction on this activity?
    23 A. Chris Caywood, David Harpool, Andy Rosen.
    24 Q. Okay. You say that the student loan forms would be
    25 resubmitted. So then did you keep receiving student loan money
    1 as if these students were still going to school?
    2 A. Yes.
    3 Q. Even when they were not.
    4 A. That's correct.
    5 Q. Did diplomas ultimately get printed out for these students?
    6 A. Yes.
    7 MR. HAMMERMAN: Objection, Your Honor. This is all
    8 leading.
    9 MR. BRINDLEY: It doesn't suggest an answer. This is
    10 redirect, first of all, but it doesn't suggest an answer. He
    11 can answer yes or no.
    12 THE COURT: I'll overrule that objection.
    13 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    14 Q. So did the students -- did ultimately diplomas and grades
    15 get produced for these students who never even attended?
    16 A. We just put the transcripts and the diplomas through the
    17 shredder after graduation because they never showed up. They
    18 didn't even know they were in school.
    19 Q. And then what would happen after that to those students
    20 that you were certifying as receiving student loan money when
    21 they weren't even students? What would happen to them?
    22 A. Ultimately, at some point they would find out they had a
    23 big bills for a student loan. Many of them sued Kaplan, and
    24 others probably still don't know to this day.
    25 Q. And, Mr. Wilcox, all that loan money when you started
    1 recertifying these forms, did Kaplan get all that money for
    2 these students when they never attended?
    3 A. It's my understanding they forwarded it to the Washington
    4 Post.
    5 Q. Mr. Hammerman asked you some questions about other people
    6 in the False Claims Act lawsuit named Carlos, somebody named
    7 Jude, and somebody named Victoria something. He was asking you
    8 about whether they've been charged with crimes. I will ask you
    9 this question, Mr. Wilcox. To your knowledge, do any of the
    10 other relators, the other people involved in the false claims
    11 action, do any of them have access to the inside documents from
    12 Kaplan corporate that you do?
    13 A. No. I took the documents. I'm the only one that has the
    14 documents.
    15 Q. And then who was the only person that you know of in that
    16 suit that is capable of interpreting what was in those
    17 high-executive Kaplan documents?
    18 A. Me.
    19 Q. Is there any other high executive of your level that has
    20 ever come forward against Kaplan to your knowledge as part of
    21 these lawsuits?
    22 A. No.
    23 Q. And if you are discredited, do you believe the lawsuit can
    24 succeed?

    90/10 Violations Testimony

    10 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    11 Q. And, Mr. Wilcox, was it part of your job as dean to
    12 maintain these records with respect to your department?
    13 A. Oh, absolutely, yes.
    14 Q. Okay. Now let's talk about Exhibit LL. What is LL?
    15 A. LL is an actual Gift of Knowledge redemption form. This is
    16 the scholarship. It's filled out and signed by Chris Caywood.
    17 This was a student that was given the Gift of Knowledge.
    18 Q. And was this one of the documents you assisted in
    19 processing and preparing?
    20 A. I did.
    21 Q. And was this one of the documents that -- was this one made
    22 in the normal course of Kaplan's business with respect to its
    23 students and the Gift of Knowledge?
    24 MR. HAMMERMAN: Objection, foundation.
    25 THE COURT: Overruled.
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 BY THE WITNESS:
    2 A. It's a standard form. This is what all the students got,
    3 the Gift of Knowledge redemption form. It tells them what they
    4 got, what it's good for, and Chris Caywood signed it.
    5 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    6 Q. And were these made and maintained by your department at
    7 Kaplan while you were dean?
    8 A. Absolutely.
    9 Q. And was it part of your job as dean to maintain these
    10 documents?
    11 A. Yes.
    12 Q. Okay. I'm then going to draw your attention to Defendant's
    13 Exhibit NN. Can you identify Defendant's Exhibit NN?
    14 A. This is an IRS Form 1098-T. This is what we reported to
    15 the IRS, that this particular student paid $17, 465 in tuition
    16 for this semester.
    17 Q. Okay. Now, Mr. Wilcox, this document that's prepared for
    18 the IRS, is this one of the documents that was prepared at
    19 Kaplan when you were dean?
    20 A. Yes. It certified right here that we prepared it and sent
    21 it to the IRS. The student didn't do this; we did this.
    22 Q. Right, right. Mr. Wilcox, were you involved in the
    23 preparation of these documents?
    24 A. I was.
    25 Q. Were these documents kept and maintained in the ordinary
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 course of Kaplan's business when you were dean?
    2 A. They were.
    3 MR. HAMMERMAN: Objection, foundation.
    4 THE COURT: I think that's what --
    5 MR. BRINDLEY: That was the question, foundation.
    6 THE COURT: I think that's what counsel is attempting
    7 to do, lay the foundation. Overruled.
    8 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    9 Q. Were these documents and documents like them kept and
    10 maintained by Kaplan when you were dean?
    11 A. The 1098-T form, yes. We had to send this in by law to the
    12 IRS.
    13 Q. And was one of your duties as dean to maintain these forms
    14 with respect to the gift of knowledge and see that they were
    15 properly submitted to the IRS?
    16 A. Yes, it was.
    17 Q. Okay. Now, Mr. Wilcox, you said that the tax documents --
    18 do they indicate -- when these documents like NN were sent in,
    19 did they indicate that the student paid a bunch of tuition?
    20 A. That one indicates 17, 000, but they were all different
    21 amounts, 20, 000, 60, 000, 5, 000, whatever the student used on
    22 their Gift of Knowledge.
    23 Q. Okay.
    24 A. We reported they paid for it.
    25 Q. Okay. Was any of that true?
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 A. It was absolutely false. It was tax fraud, straight up.
    2 Q. Then did students receive refunds for this?
    3 A. Of course, they did.
    4 MR. HAMMERMAN: Objection, leading.
    5 THE COURT: Overruled.
    6 BY THE WITNESS:
    7 A. Under the Bush administration --
    8 MR. BRINDLEY: No, I think he's answered the
    9 question.
    10 THE COURT: Okay.
    11 BY THE WITNESS:
    12 A. Yes, they received -- if you paid $17, 000 in college
    13 tuition this year, you get it back.
    14 THE COURT: All right. Just a moment, sir. There's
    15 no question pending.
    16 MR. BRINDLEY: Okay.
    17 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    18 Q. So let's just be clear, Mr. Wilcox. If you can just answer
    19 this question simply with a yes or no, did the students then
    20 get a refund for this money that you said got paid?
    21 A. Yes.
    22 Q. So were they getting refunds for money that was never paid?
    23 MR. HAMMERMAN: Objection, foundation. How does this
    24 witness know that students were getting tax refunds for other
    25 students?
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 THE COURT: The objection will be overruled, counsel.
    2 He's laid a proper foundation.
    3 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    4 Q. So, Mr. Wilcox --
    5 THE COURT: As a matter of fact, let's have a sidebar
    6 for a moment. We don't need you, Pat.
    7 (Discussion at sidebar off the record.)
    8 THE COURT: You may continue, counsel.
    9 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    10 Q. So, Mr. Wilcox, at Kaplan, is what happened that students
    11 received refunds from the IRS for money that was never paid?
    12 Is that right?
    13 A. Yes.
    14 Q. And was this all part of the plan to avoid the 90/10 rule?
    15 A. Yes, that's how we avoided or we beat the 90/10 rule.
    16 Q. And, Mr. Wilcox, did you participate in the preparation of
    17 all of these fraudulent documents?
    18 A. I did.
    19 Q. And who else participated in it?
    20 A. Chris Caywood, David Harpool, and Andy Rosen.
    21 Q. Okay. These documents we just looked at, these are a
    22 representative sampling of a multitude of documents that you
    23 have provided to the --
    24 A. That's very small.
    25 MR. HAMMERMAN: Objection, vague.
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 MR. BRINDLEY: Well, let me finish the question.
    2 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    3 Q. Is that a small sampling or a representative sampling of
    4 documents you provided as part of the lawsuit?
    5 A. That's a small sampling, yes.
    6 Q. Okay. Mr. Wilcox, based on your understanding as a dean
    7 trying to meet this 90/10 rule, if Kaplan couldn't meet the
    8 90/10 rule and this hadn't been done, this fraud that you
    9 discussed, would they be able to get student loan money?
    10 A. No.

    Recruiting violations

    11 Q. Did the HLC, the Higher Learning Commission, also have
    12 rules on the recruitment of students?
    13 A. Yes, very stringent ones.
    14 Q. And when you were at Kaplan, did you participate in the
    15 violation of these rules?
    16 A. We made a mockery of them.
    17 Q. And when you say "we, " who is the "we"?
    18 A. Myself, Chris Caywood, David Harpool, Andy Rosen, and a
    19 multitude of recruiters.
    20 MR. HAMMERMAN: Your Honor, can we have a foundation
    21 for this instead of just conclusions?
    22 MR. BRINDLEY: Okay.
    23 MR. HAMMERMAN: I'm objecting to this.
    24 MR. BRINDLEY: We'll talk about the specific conduct.
    25 That's where we're going, Your Honor. It was sort of
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 preliminary in nature.
    2 THE COURT: If that's an objection, it will be
    3 overruled.
    4 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    5 Q. Mr. Wilcox, could you describe what the Higher Learning
    6 Commission's rules for recruitment are as you understand them
    7 when you were working in this field?
    8 A. Well, all schools have recruiters. Recruiters are people
    9 that respond when a student makes an initial inquiry into a
    10 school: Hey, I hear you have a certain program at the
    11 University of Michigan. I'd like to know more about it.
    12 They tell them about it. They help try to match
    13 students to what they're seeking educationally.
    14 Q. I understand. My question for you, sir, maybe it wasn't
    15 clear enough. What were the rules for the HLC? What is it
    16 that you had to do to properly do recruiting?
    17 A. Well, there's really only one rule, and that is that they
    18 have to be paid employees, salaried employees. They can't be
    19 salespeople. They can't be paid on a commission basis.
    20 Q. You're talking about the recruiters.
    21 A. Yeah, a recruiter can't be paid based on how many people he
    22 does or doesn't bring in. He's just paid to advise them and
    23 bring them in.
    24 Q. At Kaplan when you were dean, did you direct the
    25 recruitment of students in your department?
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 A. I did. That was one of my jobs.
    2 Q. Did you do this along with any other people?
    3 A. Well, yes. The recruiters when I was at Kaplan were put
    4 into teams. In other words, you'd have recruiters that recruit
    5 for medical programs, recruiters that recruit for business
    6 programs, and I had a large group of recruiters that recruited
    7 for law and legal studies programs.
    8 Q. Okay. Did you direct your recruiters -- well, let me
    9 phrase it in a different way. Were your recruiters paid on a
    10 bonus system?
    11 A. Oh, absolutely.
    12 Q. Describe that system.
    13 A. The system was very simple.
    14 MR. HAMMERMAN: Your Honor, I'm going to object,
    15 foundation. How does he know how they were paid?
    16 MR. BRINDLEY: Okay. I will ask him that question.
    17 THE COURT: Lay a better foundation.
    18 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    19 Q. Mr. Wilcox, when you were working as dean at Kaplan, did
    20 you oversee the facilitation of your recruiters' receipt of
    21 bonuses?
    22 A. Yes, I did.
    23 Q. Okay. Were bonuses made to your recruiters at your
    24 direction by way of you filling out forms?
    25 A. Yes.
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 Q. And can you describe for the jurors what kind of bonuses
    2 the recruiters received?
    3 A. They received cash bonuses, literal, not checks, literal
    4 cash bonuses in envelopes. They received expensive watches,
    5 cruises, trips around the world, calling cards, gift cards to
    6 high-end department stores. Those were just some of the kind
    7 of things that was done for achieving well in recruiting
    8 students.
    9 Q. Okay. Was all of this in violation of the Higher Learning
    10 Commission's rules?
    11 A. Yes.
    12 Q. And did any of your supervisors work with you on
    13 facilitating this process in paying the recruiters bonuses for
    14 bringing in more students?
    15 A. It was already in place when I got there.
    16 Q. And who else worked with you in this capacity with respect
    17 to recruiters?
    18 MR. HAMMERMAN: Objection, vague.
    19 THE COURT: Pardon me?
    20 MR. HAMMERMAN: Vague.
    21 THE COURT: Vague?
    22 MR. HAMMERMAN: Yes.
    23 THE COURT: Who else worked with him in
    24 participating?
    25 MR. HAMMERMAN: Yes, with respect to not the "who"
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 part, but what they did. It's totally wide open.
    2 THE COURT: Well, you'll have an opportunity to
    3 cross-examine.
    4 MR. BRINDLEY: I can rephrase it more specifically if
    5 that's going to help.
    6 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    7 Q. Mr. Wilcox, were there any other supervisors at Kaplan who
    8 worked with you to provide these bonuses to these recruiters?
    9 A. The lead recruiter. They were in teams, so they had a lead
    10 recruiter which had usually worked his way up to be the lead
    11 recruiter. Then myself, David Harpool, and Andy Rosen.
    12 Q. Okay. Now, did you oversee the conduct of the recruiters?
    13 A. Yes.
    14 Q. Did you direct the recruiters to lie to students?
    15 A. Yes.
    16 Q. What kind of lies did you direct the recruiters to tell?
    17 A. Well, they weren't really good at remembering a lot of
    18 them, so I laminated them and made them a notebook. It said
    19 things like: If a student has this object in coming to school,
    20 if they say this, you say that. If they say this, you say
    21 that. If they say this, you say that.
    22 I laminated it, made a book out of it, a manual, if
    23 you will, and the lies were encompassed in that so that they
    24 could remember them. Things like we're accredited the same way
    25 Harvard or Yale is accredited, we would tell them that. If a
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 student says he can't afford the $95 application fee, we would
    2 say: Well, is there a family member who can loan it to you?
    3 Is there a friend you can borrow it from? Is there something
    4 you can take to a pawn shop?
    5 If none of those worked, we had an agreement with a
    6 credit card lender, one of these credit card lenders where you
    7 pay $100 and then you got a credit card that's got like $300
    8 credit on it. We would secure that credit card. We'd secured
    9 a credit card for them and give it to the student. Of course,
    10 the first thing we did was take the $95 off the credit card and
    11 say: Now you've paid your application. Congratulations.
    12 You're student at Kaplan University.
    13 Q. Okay. Mr. Wilcox, when you were doing this, when you were
    14 giving out these credit cards and were lying to the students or
    15 directing your recruiters to do so, did you direct them to
    16 target any certain category of persons?
    17 A. That was one bit of research we had spent an extensive
    18 amount of time on.
    19 Q. And when you say "we", who's the "we" that researched and
    20 determined who Kaplan's recruiters should be targeting?
    21 A. Myself, Chris Caywood, David Harpool, and various others.
    22 Q. Okay. Who did you direct the recruiters to target?
    23 A. We knew who our students were. Our student was typically a
    24 female, divorced, widowed, single, recently separated, two
    25 children, 2.1 children -- how that worked out I never totally
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 understood -- 2.1 children, typically working one or two
    2 minimum-wage-paying jobs, a typical student that knew that they
    3 needed education to better their life but had no way to take
    4 time out from their life and providing for their children to go
    5 to school. So they would be interested in going to school
    6 online where you could go when you wanted to go.
    7 Q. And is that who you targeted?
    8 A. We targeted them relentlessly.
    9 Q. All right. Are you talking about poor people?
    10 A. Poor people.
    11 Q. Are these the people who you said you directed the
    12 recruiters to lie to?
    13 A. Sure.
    14 Q. And is this information about how these lies were told and
    15 how the violation of these rules with respect to recruitment
    16 occurred at Kaplan, is that part of the lawsuit that you have
    17 agreed to be a witness in?
    18 A. Yes. It's heavily documented.
    19 Q. Okay. Besides you, Mr. Wilcox, based on your knowledge of
    20 this lawsuit, is there any other witness who has come forward
    21 as an administrator who can testify about the inner workings of
    22 how these recruiters were handled?
    23 A. I'm the only insider that's ever come out of Kaplan with
    24 this information and provided it.

    UNION Obstruction

    22 Q. Now, you talked about -- Mr. Wilcox, you talked on cross
    23 about your opinions about certain people at Kaplan being
    24 involved in conspiring and in illegal conduct. Now, you talked
    25 about some attorneys from Jones Day. Was the law firm of Jones
    1 Day used by Kaplan, and did you participate with that law firm
    2 in attempting to circumvent the rules for unions?
    3 A. I met with two senior partners at Jones Day, Mr. Dan Carter
    4 and Mr. Doug Towns, who specialize in union issues and labor.
    5 They're the two top labor lawyers in the United States.
    6 Q. And did they talk with you about getting around the legal
    7 requirements for unions?
    8 A. They counseled me on it and laid out a very specific plan
    9 on how to thwart the Teamsters.
    10 Q. Okay. Did you consider that to be conspiring with Kaplan
    11 to participate in these anti-union activities?
    12 A. They warned me that --
    13 Q. Mr. Wilcox, I'm not asking you what they said. I just want
    14 you to answer the question I'm asking.
    15 A. Okay.
    16 Q. Did you consider that to be them working with Kaplan to get
    17 around following the law with respect to unions?
    18 A. They were retained by Kaplan, yes. We were working with
    19 them. They worked for us.
    20 Q. Counsel asked you about some other attorney from Kaplan.
    21 Do you believe that that attorney from Kaplan was involved in
    22 making some false representations about you and what happened
    23 to you in federal court?
    24 A. She lied about me and was later proven to have been lying
    25 about me.

    HLC and Accreditation Fraud
    2 Q. Mr. Wilcox, without talking about what the Government
    3 wants, why is it important for a for-profit school like Kaplan
    4 to be able to get student loan money from the Government?
    5 A. Because they can't exist otherwise.
    6 Q. Why do you say that?
    7 A. Well, because their tuition, for instance, Kaplan runs from
    8 $40, 000 to $60, 000 or more to complete a degree program.
    9 That's a lot of money. Most people don't have that kind of
    10 cash. Where do they get that kind of cash if they can't get it
    11 from their family or they don't have it? They get a student
    12 loan. Most every school is in that same boat.
    13 Q. And when you were at Kaplan as dean of legal studies, were
    14 you able to see where the bulk of the resources in the legal
    15 studies department were coming from?
    16 A. Yes.
    17 Q. Where did they come from?
    18 A. They came from student loans, almost 100 percent.
    19 Q. Now, you said part of your job was to make sure that Kaplan
    20 was able to get student loans for its programs. Is there some
    21 sort of a governmental body that polices whether or not schools
    22 meet requirements for getting student loans from the
    23 Government?
    24 A. Primarily two.
    25 Q. And what are these bodies?
    1 A. The Department of Education in Washington, D.C., and the
    2 Higher Learning Commission, what we call the HLC, which is the
    3 accrediting body.
    4 Q. And in order to be able to receive any of those student
    5 loan dollars, does a company like Kaplan have to meet the
    6 requirements of the Higher Learning Commission?
    7 A. Yes. If they don't meet those requirements and they're not
    8 certified as accredited by the HLC, the Department of
    9 Education, they're specifically not allowed to receive student
    10 loan money.
    11 Q. So when you worked at Kaplan, did you have to become
    12 familiar with the HLC's or Higher Learning Commission's
    13 requirements?
    14 A. I became somewhat of an expert at it.
    15 Q. And was meeting those requirements what you did on a
    16 regular basis?
    17 A. It was the daily goal of mine.
    18 Q. Let me ask you a general question first, Mr. Wilcox. When
    19 you were at Kaplan working on meeting these requirements so
    20 that they could get all this student loan money, while you were
    21 there and working there, did Kaplan meet these rules on your
    22 watch honestly?
    23 A. Not even close.

    Student Loan Fraud
    13 Q. Now, why was it, Mr. Wilcox, that you left Kaplan?
    14 A. Well, while I worked at Kaplan, I became aware that Kaplan
    15 corporate was involved in multiple schemes to defraud the
    16 Government and the taxpayers of the United States of
    17 approximately $1 billion. That's why I left Kaplan.
    18 Q. Did you engage --
    19 A. I became aware of the fraud, most, if not all, of the
    20 fraudulent schemes that they were involved with to steal money
    21 from the Federal Government.
    22 Q. Did you engage in a series of disagreements with your
    23 supervisors over these fraud issues?
    24 A. I did. I called it to the attention of my supervisors,
    25 Chris Caywood and David Harpool, certainly, who was the
    1 president of the university, and multiple times to Andrew
    2 Rosen, who was the CEO. I pointed these legal problems out.
    3 Q. Okay. Now, Mr. Wilcox, after you left Kaplan, did you ever
    4 tell anyone about the fraud that you had observed?
    5 A. Yes. When I left Kaplan, I turned over some thousands of
    6 internal documents to the Department of Education, United
    7 States Department of Education. I also turned over thousands
    8 of documents and hundreds of e-mails to the Office of the
    9 Inspector General, to the EEOC, to the Higher Learning
    10 Commission, the HLC. Then I contacted a world-renowned false
    11 claims qui tam law firm in Tampa, Florida, and provided the
    12 documentation to them to file a false claims action on behalf
    13 of the taxpayers of the United States for $1 billion in
    14 fraudulently received funds, to retrieve them.
    15 Q. And, Mr. Wilcox, did you agree to become a witness in that
    16 lawsuit?
    17 A. Yes. At that point, I had become a whistle blower, what
    18 the court has since said and certified me as.
    19 MR. FERRARA: Objection, Your Honor. It's hearsay as
    20 to what the court said.
    21 THE COURT: I'll sustain the objection as to what
    22 they said. He can describe what happened.
    23 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    24 Q. Mr. Wilcox, can you describe what happened? Without saying
    25 what any court said, what have you done with respect to
    1 becoming a witness in this lawsuit?
    2 A. I'm the whistle blower and the original source of the
    3 documentation to prove the fraud of Kaplan University for a
    4 billion dollars worth of stolen money from the United States
    5 Government and the taxpayers.

    Grade inflation

    20 Q. Okay. Now, Mr. Wilcox, you mentioned that on Exhibit WW
    21 the faculty pay is listed. Is there a correlation between the
    22 pay the faculty received and the grades that the faculty gave?
    23 A. Clearly, yes.
    24 Q. And what is that correlation?
    25 A. If you gave good grades, you were rehired for the next
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 semester and you were given a higher rate of pay. If you gave
    2 bad grades, you possibly weren't asked to teach the next
    3 semester and you certainly weren't given a raise.
    4 Q. And is that information illustrated by these documents that
    5 you've discussed?
    6 A. That's what it tracks.
    7 Q. Okay. Mr. Wilcox, are these a representative sample of
    8 some of the documents that you provided of part of the lawsuit?
    9 A. That's four documents of about 2, 000.
    10 Q. And, Mr. Wilcox, these kinds of documents that we've just
    11 looked at, is there anyone else in the lawsuit that's come
    12 forward that's capable of -- as you know, that was an
    13 administrator who could interpret the meaning of these
    14 documents and the correlation with the grading inflation
    15 besides you?
    16 MR. HAMMERMAN: Objection, foundation.
    17 MR. BRINDLEY: I asked if there was anybody he knew
    18 about in the lawsuit. He said he's participating in it.
    19 THE COURT: The objection will be overruled. He may
    20 answer if he can.
    21 BY THE WITNESS:
    22 A. I'm the only insider that's ever gotten out of Kaplan with
    23 those kinds of documents.
    24 MR. BRINDLEY: One minute, Your Honor.
    25 (Discussion off the record.)
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 MR. BRINDLEY: Your Honor, could we take a brief
    2 recess? Could we take a break? Is that possible?
    3 THE COURT: How much longer?
    4 MR. BRINDLEY: Your Honor, I have a lot. There's a
    5 lot more to go here, Your Honor. We have a lot more topic
    6 areas to cover.
    7 THE COURT: Let's have a brief sidebar without the
    8 court reporter.
    9 (Discussion at sidebar off the record.)
    10 THE COURT: We're going to take about a ten-minute
    11 break, ladies and gentlemen. We'll call you back momentarily.
    12 (Jury out.)
    13 THE COURT: Court stands in recess.
    14 (Recess.)
    15 THE COURT: Ready to proceed?
    16 MR. BRINDLEY: I am, Your Honor.
    17 THE COURT: Okay. Schedule-wise, why don't we step
    18 over here for a second.
    19 MR. BRINDLEY: Sure.
    20 (Discussion at sidebar off the record.)
    21 THE COURT: Okay. You can bring them in.
    22 (Jury in.)
    23 THE COURT: You may be seated.
    24 You may continue, Mr. Brindley.
    25 MR. BRINDLEY: Thank you, Your Honor.
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    2 Q. Mr. Wilcox, you indicated that the policy of Kaplan as
    3 indicated by some of the charts that you discussed was that
    4 professors were to inflate the grades, is that correct?
    5 A. That's correct.
    6 Q. As a result of that, I mean, what value do the degrees have
    7 if the grades are inflated?
    8 A. Well, the purpose of inflating the grades were to keep the
    9 students enrolled and thus retaining student loan funds coming
    10 into the school.
    11 Q. Okay. As a result of doing that, what value do the degrees
    12 end of up having?
    13 A. The degrees at Kaplan have very little value.
    14 Q. Okay. Now, Mr. Wilcox, when an instructor -- was there
    15 ever an instructor who refused to inflate grades? Did that
    16 happen?
    17 A. Yes.
    18 Q. And when that happened, were steps taken to change that
    19 instructor's grades?
    20 A. Yes.
    21 Q. Okay. Did you participate and observe the actual changing
    22 of instructors' grades when they refused to inflate them?
    23 A. Yes, I did.
    24 Q. And can you tell me who actually physically changed the
    25 grades?
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 A. That I witnessed, Chris Caywood did.
    2 Q. And did this happen on more than one occasion?
    3 A. Yes.
    4 Q. And did you observe that?
    5 A. I did.
    6 Q. And some of these changed grade reports, have you included
    7 those in the materials that have been provided with the
    8 lawsuit?
    9 A. Yes, I have.
    10 Q. Now, Mr. Wilcox, you've looked at some documents today.
    11 Regarding this fraud, is it fair to say that these are a
    12 representative sample?
    13 A. Yes, it's a representative sample.
    14 Q. Okay. The great majority of the documents that you've
    15 turned over, where are they now?
    16 A. They're in the possession of the Department of Education,
    17 the Department of Justice, and the Andrews Law Group that's
    18 overseeing the qui tam action.
    19 Q. So the documents that we talked about in specific, are
    20 those the ones to which you have personal access now?
    21 A. Yes, these are the ones I still have now.
    22 Q. Okay. Now, the inflation of grades and the documents
    23 underlying that, is that another part of the lawsuit that
    24 you're a witness on and the documents that you've provided? Is
    25 that part of that same thing?
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 A. Yes.
    2 Q. Now, Mr. Wilcox, we've discussed a multitude of different
    3 kinds of fraud that you participated in at Kaplan, and it seems
    4 like you were involved in unrelenting fraud when you went to
    5 work there. If you can tell the jury, why did you do it?
    6 A. I was making a lot of money. I mean, I wish I had some
    7 better explanation. I wanted to keep my job. Coming out of
    8 state schools not making much money, I made a lot of money. I
    9 wanted to keep my job.
    10 Q. Now, Mr. Wilcox, you mentioned that you had problems with
    11 this unionizing -- this leader of the union effort, Carlos
    12 Diaz. Did you have other problems with Mr. Diaz related to the
    13 inflation of grades?
    14 A. Yes, he refused to do it.
    15 Q. Did you personally put pressure on Mr. Diaz to inflate
    16 grades?
    17 A. In every way I possibly could.
    18 Q. Did you direct his supervisors to put pressure on him to
    19 inflate grades?
    20 A. Yes, I did.
    21 Q. And did Mr. Diaz refuse?
    22 A. He absolutely refused.
    23 Q. Did Mr. Diaz threaten to turn you and Kaplan in for the
    24 pressure being put on him?
    25 A. He threatened and filed complaints.
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 Q. Okay. This is the same guy that was trying to organize the
    2 union.
    3 A. Yes, he was.
    4 Q. So when Mr. Diaz was trying to unionize and filing
    5 complaints, at that time did you have any actual justification
    6 that could have justified terminating Carlos Diaz?
    7 A. At that time, no.
    8 Q. Okay. Was Carlos Diaz a good instructor?
    9 A. Carlos was a very good instructor.
    10 Q. Did he receive positive reviews? The real reviews, were
    11 they positive?
    12 A. His immediate supervisors gave him very good reviews.
    13 Q. Okay. So, Mr. Wilcox, when there was no grounds to
    14 terminate him and you had been directed to terminate him, what
    15 actions were taken? Well, let me rephrase that. Were actions
    16 taken to try to manufacture a reason to terminate Mr. Diaz?
    17 A. Yes, that's what we began to focus on.
    18 Q. And do you remember a specific incident in which any false
    19 communications were produced for the purpose of manufacturing a
    20 reason to terminate Carlos Diaz?
    21 A. Yes, I do.
    22 Q. All right. Now, Mr. Wilcox, could you describe for the
    23 jury what happened in this incident?
    24 A. We referred to it as the Jodi Dufrane incident. Jodi
    25 Dufrane was the student involved. Ms. Dufrane was a student of
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 Carlos in one of his courses. Kaplan is an online university.
    2 Everything is done online. So tests were given online.
    3 Ms. Dufrane had filed a complaint against Carlos, and it had
    4 come up through his supervisor to me as the dean. So I
    5 investigated the complaint. Along with the vice-president of
    6 academics, Chris Caywood, we investigated the claim.
    7 Q. And did your investigation indicate that Mr. Diaz had done
    8 anything wrong?
    9 A. No. Ms. Dufrane, she had taken a test in his class. It
    10 was a 100-point test. She had scored a zero. She had somehow
    11 managed to take a test and not get any answers right. She was
    12 very upset about this because it failed her. She had filed a
    13 complaint that had come up to me, and her complaint was that
    14 the professor had posted a test one evening, he had posted the
    15 test, she took the test, and then he took that test down and
    16 put up another test. All the other students took that test and
    17 got their respective grades but, of course, she had taken the
    18 wrong test, and thus her answers were bad and she had failed.
    19 She thought this had been done maliciously, and Mr. Diaz was
    20 unrelenting in failing her. So she complained to me, and I
    21 investigated the complaint with Chris Caywood.
    22 Q. Okay. Based on your investigation, what did you determine?
    23 A. What I determined is that Ms. Dufrane had hacked back into
    24 an old class and secured an old test back from the semester
    25 before. Oftentimes professors will give the same test over and
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 over and over and over again, and at some point they change it.
    2 She had secured a copy of the old test and a copy of the old
    3 answers.
    4 What I learned from my investigation was that if you
    5 laid the old answers over the old test, Ms. Dufrane would have
    6 scored a 100. She would have aced the test. But when you laid
    7 her answers over the new test, because it had been completely
    8 changed, she scored a zero. What I ascertained wasn't that the
    9 instructor had done anything wrong. He had only posted one
    10 test. What I had ascertained was that the student had cheated.
    11 Q. Okay. After ascertaining the student cheated, did you and
    12 Mr. Caywood support Mr. Diaz's allegations that he hadn't done
    13 anything wrong, or did you do something else?
    14 A. No, we saw this as an excellent opportunity, a windfall to
    15 us. We supported the student fully. We said that her claims
    16 were correct, that the professor had, in fact, probably
    17 switched the test maliciously for various reasons, and then we
    18 went and set about to discredit Mr. Diaz, the instructor.
    19 Q. And who was it that took these steps to try to discredit
    20 Mr. Diaz in relation to this incident?
    21 A. That was Chris Caywood, vice-president of academics.
    22 Q. Okay. In fact, this incident with Ms. Dufrane, was it
    23 documented in a memorandum at Kaplan?
    24 A. It was.
    25 MR. BRINDLEY: May I approach the witness?
    B. Wilcox - direct by Brindley
    1 THE COURT: You may.
    2 (Discussion off the record.)
    3 BY MR. BRINDLEY:
    4 Q. Mr. Wilcox, I'm showing
    STATES D

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Jul 22, 2011

    I also went to Kaplin University. At first I loved it I was a straight A student and did great in my classes. The financial aid people told me everything was covered. When I enrolled for another semester they said I owed $1860 for the semester I just completed. I asked how and for an itemized bill. They would not give me one. They said I could not enroll for another semester until this was paid. I did not have the money and was about to get another pell grant. I called fafsa and the BBB and fafsa told me to switch the school code so they did not get the pell grant. I had more than enough monies in my student loan to cover my tuition. I had to drop out of Kaplan and now they are holding my transcripits hostage. I tried to enroll in my local community college and cannot until I get my transcripts from Kaplan. Kaplan will not release them until I get my money. It does not seem legal that other schools can even act as collection agencies on behalf of a fraudulant school. I am now in the position I can not go back to school. Beware of Kaplan.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Aug 05, 2011

    You should report them to https://ombudsman.ed.gov/OmbudsmanWebApp/do?action=getRequest
    I just was advised to do so by my student loan lender. My tuition was paid and they are harassing me.

    0 Votes
  • An
      May 17, 2012

    It's perfectly legal. You owe - you pay, or you don't get your transcripts til you pay. It's KU discretion. You signed an enrollment agreement outlining costs, smh.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Aug 16, 2012

    I am having the same problem they have blocked my classes saying I owe the 1388.00 which they cannot substantiate they have filed for ED. Expense loans on my behalf and keep the biggest part of the money I have filed a FAFSA and the government accepted them at no contribution from me meaning they would pay all tuition but kaplan keeps saying I owe them money and when I asked for a complete record of my aid received I have not heard from them for over a week now. They are thieves and they will not release my transcripts and when I told them I was withdrawing and going to Phoenix they said I could not transfer my 75 credits. I am looking for an attorney involved in a current class action suit now

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Dec 18, 2016

    I am having a problem now with them believe I didn't receive all my stipends they said I received 6 I told them I wanted to see copies of the checks. They sent me copies of three then changed it from 6 to 5 when I asked about copies of the other checks were told they were to old to get but the thing is the stipends mailed out were 12/09 and the last was 12/10 if they were able to obtain a copy of 12/10 they should of been able to get the ones before that. They are lying to cover themselves.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Dec 18, 2016

    Here a conversation between and the student relation specialist
    Good morning Ms. Mcgee,

    Please reference your ledger card which was previously provided to you. There have been no changes, furthermore the Office of Student Relations is the primary office of the University and will provide the same response to any inquires received regarding this matter.

    Thank you,

    AI

    On Fri, Dec 16, 2016 at 12:01 AM, kelly wrote:
    Also now you are only showing 5 checks what happened to the 6th check you said there were 6. Figures keep changing. I'm going to have to contact someone to look into this further for me things just aren't adding up and and keep changing.

    On December 14, 2016, at 4:34 PM, Annemarie Ingino wrote:

    Good afternoon Ms. Mcgee,

    The dates of the stipends as shown on your ledgercard are the dates in which the stipend was sent to you via U.S. Postal Service.

    Please note the check number for each date entered. You will see more than one line for the same check number this was included in that check. The dates of these checks were 12/23/09, 3/10/2010, 9/22/2010, 8/18/2010, and 12/7/2010.

    Thank you,

    AI

    On Tue, Dec 13, 2016 at 7:38 PM, Km22479 wrote:
    This makes no sense. attached you will find a copy of my ledger report that i printed on 11/20/2010 there was no stipends sent to me before 12/23/09 there for how could you have provided me one copy of this check but cant provide copies of the three missing checks they had to be after this date. if a stipend was sent out it would be noted on the account before 12/23/09 if you look closely it had three stipends for 12/23/09 im guessing the other two had to be after 6/17/2010 seeing I don't have after that date. i would like an explanation to when these checks were supposedly sent out seeing the four dates I have are three stipends on 12/23/09 one on 3/10/2010 and i'm sure the other two were after graduation of 8/2010

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Annemarie Ingino
    To: kelly
    Sent: Tue, Dec 13, 2016 8:43 am
    Subject: Re: Copies of Stipend checks received.

    Good morning Ms. Mcgee,

    After further investigation, we have confirmed the checks #255117, and 264740, and 2389396 are not outstanding, therefore they were cashed. We are not able to provide copies of these checks due to the age. Because these checks were not reported lost or missing by you and because they are not outstanding to date, you will need to contact your bank for further investigation.

    Kaplan University considers this matter closed and will not be reissuing these checks.

    Thank you,

    AI

    On Tue, Dec 13, 2016 at 8:25 AM, kelly wrote:
    Please let me know what happened to those other checks for as u see they were never received or cashed. So that means money is due to me.

    On December 9, 2016, at 9:45 AM, Annemarie Ingino wrote:

    Good morning,

    Ms. Mcgee please see attached he copies of the stipend checks issued and received.

    Thank you,
    You will clearly see she changes her story regarding owing me money.

    0 Votes

Post your comment