The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Kaiser Permanente / ineligible for rehire

1 7901 E Lowry Blvd, Denver, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I worked for this company on and off for almost two years total in several different regions (California, Hawaii and Colorado). I was an Army spouse at the time and moved quite a bit during those two years. Always had great reviews from my managers stating what an excellent employee I was. When my husband finally got out of the military we settled down in Colorado and once again I applied for an on-call position and was hired right over the phone. That particular hiring manager ended up getting fired a week after I started due to reasons unknown. Before I was hired I was very open and honest about my availability and to the fact that I would be attending ultrasound school. My schooling is 18 months long and essentially the goal would be to work for Kaiser Permanente in that particular role once I graduated. The interim manager while I was on-call was great, very flexible and understanding. Then those of us that were on-call were moved into full-time positions and placed in different departments. The new manager knew all about my schooling and said it wouldn't be an issue because there was another girl in the department that worked part-time hours. So, with both of us in school working part-time hours it would be like having one full-time employee which would be great for the budget. Well, there was one day a week I had to be in lab for schooling, everything else was online. Suddenly, this became a huge issue even though I was getting the best QA scores with multiple certificates showing how well I was doing. After two months of working with this other manager she decided she didn't want to accommodate my school schedule anymore. Union reps became involved and did nothing to help, I was given no other option. I was told starting so and so date I would need to be there Monday - Friday from 8-5. How could it be that a company that supposedly promotes their employees continuing their education would do this to me? So, I gave my resignation and continued attending school. Obviously, I wouldn't miss class despite what the manager had said. About 5 months later I tried reapplying for another on-call job and was offered the opportunity, but it all came to a halt when I was called by my recruiter hours after my first day of orientation only to find out that I had been marked "INELIGIBLE FOR REHIRE". So the offer was rescinded and my dreams of continuing to work for this company were shattered. This incredibly spiteful manager had placed this in my file because of the days I missed during my "two week notice period" because I WAS IN SCHOOL! A terrible manager for Kaiser to have "leading" people.

Ma
Apr 13, 2014
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ra
      18th of Aug, 2016

    Human Resources
    Policy Title: Ineligible for Rehire Policy Number: NATL.HR.041
    Owner Department: Human Resources Effective Date: 4/10/14
    Custodian: Chair, National HR Policy
    Roundtable
    Page: 1 of 4
    Proprietary Information. Kaiser Permanente. All rights reserved.
    1.0 Policy Statement
    Any employee who is either terminated or resigns in lieu of termination for one of the reasons set forth in Section 5.1 of this policy, will be designated as Ineligible for Rehire (IFR), unless determined otherwise. In certain circumstances, employees also may be designated as IFR by agreement.
    2.0 Purpose
    The purpose of this policy is to establish consistent practices across the Program.
    3.0 Scope/Coverage
    This policy applies to all employees who are employed by any of the following entities (collectively referred to as “Kaiser Permanente”):
    3.1 Kaiser Foundation Hospitals and Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. (together, KFH/HP);
    3.2 KFH/HP’s subsidiaries;
    3.3 The Permanente Medical Group, Inc. (TPMG) [NOTE: This policy does not apply to physicians, podiatrists or Vice Presidents of TPMG, who are covered by separate TPMG policies]; and
    3.4 Southern California Permanente Medical Group (SCPMG) [NOTE: This policy does not apply to physicians of SCPMG].
    4.0 Definitions
    4.1 Human Resources Vice President (HRVP) -- Regional Vice President of Human Resources; or Human Resources Vice President and/or Executive Director of National functions
    5.0 Provisions
    5.1 The following reasons for termination (as listed in “Form 1000, Termination”, which is completed when an employee is terminated) WILL result in IFR designation, unless an exception is granted in accordance with Section 5.8:
    5.1.1 Attendance
    5.1.2 Compliance violation
    5.1.3 Failure to pass probation
    5.1.4 Falsification of records/application
    5.1.5 Insubordination
    5.1.6 Job abandonment
    Human Resources
    Policy Title: Ineligible for Rehire Policy Number: NATL.HR.041
    Owner Department: Human Resources Effective Date: 4/10/14
    Custodian: Chair, National HR Policy
    Roundtable
    Page: 2 of 4
    Proprietary Information. Kaiser Permanente. All rights reserved.
    5.1.7 Serious misconduct
    5.1.8 Refused work assignment
    5.1.9 Settlement or grievance agreement
    5.1.10 Substance abuse violation
    5.1.11 Unsatisfactory job performance
    5.2 The following reasons for termination (as listed in “Form 1000, Termination”)
    generally WILL NOT result in IFR designation (i.e., will be designated as Eligible
    for Rehire or “EFR”):
    5.2.1 Elimination of position [NOTE: If the employee receives a
    separation/settlement agreement designating him/her as IFR for a
    specific period of time, the employee’s IFR designation will be changed
    to eligible after that period expires.]
    5.2.2 End of temporary assignment
    5.2.3 Expired/revoked license/certificate/registration
    5.2.4 Failure to meet employment requirement
    5.2.5 Failure to return from LOA
    5.2.6 Ineligible for LOA
    5.2.7 Move to Long-Term Disability
    5.2.8 Unavailable for work
    5.2.9 Refused to join union
    5.3 An involuntary termination or resignation in lieu of termination that leads to an
    IFR designation for the reasons set forth in Section 5.1 above must be supported
    by the documented facts and circumstances surrounding the employee’s
    departure (for example, a completed investigation that substantiates misconduct
    or violation of KP policy).
    5.4 The fact that an employee has made a good faith complaint of unlawful conduct,
    including discrimination or harassment, will not be considered in determining the
    employee’s eligibility for rehire.
    5.5 Consistent with existing policy, the designation of IFR will not be disclosed to
    prospective employers.
    5.6 The manager, in consultation with local leadership (as applicable) and with HR,
    will include the IFR designation and the reasons for that designation in the
    termination letter that is presented to the employee at the time of termination.
    5.7 An employee who believes that an IFR designation is discriminatory on the basis
    of his/her protected group status and/or that it is retaliatory may request a
    review of this decision by submitting an Internal Equal Employment Opportunity
    Complaint form, provided the complaint is filed within 30 calendar days of the
    employee’s termination, consistent with EEO Internal Complaint Procedure,
    NATL.HR.004.
    Human Resources
    Policy Title: Ineligible for Rehire Policy Number: NATL.HR.041
    Owner Department: Human Resources Effective Date: 4/10/14
    Custodian: Chair, National HR Policy
    Roundtable
    Page: 3 of 4
    Proprietary Information. Kaiser Permanente. All rights reserved.
    5.8 If a manager seeks an exception to the general IFR/EFR designation rules in this
    Section, the manager must review the circumstances with local leadership (as
    applicable) and with the HR Vice President or his/her designee (or designated
    committee), and request that the employee be designated as eligible for rehire.
    Depending on the facts, the HRVP may determine that the employee may be
    considered for rehire in the future. The HRVP may choose to designate on the
    termination form, in the “Comments” section, specific parameters around which
    the employee could be eligible for rehire (for example, consideration for rehire
    into an individual contributor role as opposed to a manager role).
    5.9 An employee who voluntarily resigns (not resignation in lieu of termination)
    should not be designated as IFR without the manager first consulting with the
    HR Professional assigned to the terminating employee’s department and/or the
    appropriate Legal liaison counsel for the medical center or Region.
    5.10 Part of the hire and rehire process in any region must include a check by
    HR/Recruitment of the applicant's IFR status in both the region in question and
    all other regions. Employees who are designated IFR by one region generally
    should not be eligible for rehire in the same region or other regions.
    5.11 If a candidate is otherwise qualified but is rejected due to IFR status, he/she will
    be notified by Recruitment that the rejection is due to IFR status.
    5.12 If a candidate, hiring manager, or HR professional believes an IFR status should
    be re-considered, the individual submits a written request for an exception to be
    reviewed by the HR Vice President or his/her designee (or designated
    committee), and approved in accordance with regional processes.
    5.13 If it is discovered that an employee designated as IFR is rehired without the
    necessary leadership approval required by this policy, Legal should be engaged
    to review the circumstances and provide guidance as to next steps.
    6.0 References/Appendices
    6.1 NATL.HR.11, Employment Screening
    6.2 NATL.HR.13, Processing Employee Terminations
    6.3 NATL.HR.004, EEO Internal Complaint Procedure
    7.0 Approval
    In accordance with the charter of the National HR Policy Roundtable, this policy was
    approved by the following individuals representing all of the KP regions/national business
    units of Kaiser Foundation Hospitals, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc., and their
    subsidiaries:
     Colorado: Jerry Hartbarger, HRVP, 3/12/14
     Georgia: Dawn Bading, HRVP, 3/5/14
     Hawaii: Jean Melnikoff, HRVP, 3/3/14
     Mid-Atlantic: DeLinda Washington, HRVP, 3/3/14
    Human Resources
    Policy Title: Ineligible for Rehire Policy Number: NATL.HR.041
    Owner Department: Human Resources Effective Date: 4/10/14
    Custodian: Chair, National HR Policy
    Roundtable
    Page: 4 of 4
    Proprietary Information. Kaiser Permanente. All rights reserved.
     Northern California: Gay Westfall, SVP HR, 2/24/14
     Northwest: Rich Smith, HRVP, 3/3/14
     Southern California: Arlene Peasnall, SVP HR, 2/26/14
     National Functions: Chuck Columbus, SVP & Chief HR Officer, 3/20/14
    Policy Life History
    Original Approvals Update Approvals Revision Approvals
    Approval Date: 3/20/14 Approval Date: n/a Approval Date: n/a
    Effective Date: 4/10/14 Effective Date: n/a Effective Date: n/a
    Communicated Date: n/a Communicated Date: n/a

    0 Votes

Post your comment