SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

JustAnswer.comunauthorized billing

Review updated:

I asked a question on www.justanswer.com on 10/29/2008 and was asked what I wanted to pay $10, $20, $30., etc. Only $30.00 and up works on this site. I was asked if I wanted to pay extra and I clearly said NO! But I was double charged anyway and I found out when my credit card statement came.

So, on 11/23/2008 I e-mailed them since there's no phone # for the site and the # for www.justanswer.com on the billing statement, is never picked up. I requested a refund on that email and the response was that I would receive my refund.

I emailed them again on 1/10/2009 because nothing has been done about the overcharge.See Top 10 Worst Companies in San Francisco, CAIt turns out that they did not credited or refunded my money, which I'm still paying interest on in my credit card, but they did leave an 'open balance' for me on their site so that I can ask another question and get ripped off again!
I just receive an email from a 'Chase' person stating that they had reactivated my account and now I can ask another question. Do they want me to pay another $30.00 twice to ask when will they credit/refund my money? Or how can I get their greedy hands out of my pocket?
I've e-mailed every email address on that site and even the CEO Andy Kurtzing and have gotten no response other that the email from 'Chase' to come on back to get robbed again.
JustAnwer.com is a scam and all those people who are rebutting the negative comments about them must be JustAnswer.com staff, CEO and people with some investment in that thieve-infested-nest.

El
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • He
      Feb 20, 2009

    Customers place fully-refundable deposits and can read answers and respond until they’re satisfied. Customers define quality and only pay for answers they are satisfied with by clicking on the “Accept” button. A full refund is instantly available at www.justanswer.com/refund.aspx. For more information, please email our Customer Service department at [protected]@justanswer.com.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Mar 26, 2009

    Hmmm. I don't know what to think, with the number of complaints an rebuttals. I have attempted half a dozen times to login to their site using numerous passwords given to me by them and none of them have worked, so I am going to rule on the side of caution and seek advice elsewhere.
    Ken

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Jun 12, 2017

    @Kenneth May be late for this. I to got took. Used visa debit. Informed them and contacted just answer. -[protected]. They will send text with order number

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Apr 25, 2009

    Have you tried going to their refund page? http://www.justanswer.com/refund.aspx

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      May 01, 2009

    Everyone here is talking about rebuttals etc... Plain and simple, Just Answer is a company created by dishonest people and managed by even more dishonest people. They use recent grads from UC Berkeley and other top universities, pay them nothing or almost nothing and meanwhile theybrag about how their latest feature increase revenue by cheating customers. I know there are many looking taking them now by providing information to the Attorney General of different states. The CEO Andy whatever his last name is makin sure their close team comes with ideas to trick customers into depositing money for services they will never receive holding millions in deposits from customers, double charges, etc... Bottom line if you need money just make sure you claim your deposit back and stay away from this site and people. I had a chance to have a drink with somebody that know really well the company and the story was terrible..

    +1 Votes
  • Ri
      Jun 30, 2009

    Simit answered my problem with a solution which did bot work. I for the same answer on Thunderbird. I still need help but have no email address for Simit. Please help. Richard Shield. [protected]@web-access, net

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Aug 14, 2009

    i dfdid not accepted are get a anwer but now i pay for nothing i want my money back don [protected]

    +1 Votes
  • Do
      Aug 14, 2009

    they take the money but i didnt get anything for it

    0 Votes
  • Au
      Oct 08, 2009

    This web site is a rip off, i ask a question about a electric faut that i had on my car, now to get a answer to this just answer taken $25.00 of of my account if i agree to the answer, which i do not, so they took my $25.oo anyway, two months later i though i ask them another question since they own me $25.00 from last time, so i ask them a question and i agree to that which cost me $18.00, but they do not take out the $25.00 own me. Instead they bill me another $18.00 on the $25.00 and another $20.00 ontop of that, which all up $73.00 and i agree only on $18.00, so i am out of pocket $45.00. Which i have to go to the Bank filled in a form about what justanswer has done to get my money back .cancel my credit card and get a new card to stop justanswer. I am from Australia and the date is 08/10/09. Beware do use this web site or use your bank details to them

    0 Votes
  • Sp
      Dec 03, 2009

    I was charged $15 and $13.50 + for one question

    0 Votes
  • So
      Feb 09, 2010

    January 22, 2010 I submitted questions to technician for Rheem Furnace!
    I agreed to pay 15.00$ fee upfront. We resolved my issue in about thirty minutes.
    It ask if I would like to pay him a bonus . I thought this was proper because he resolved the issue and we spent extra time to do it.
    I entered 30.00$ bonus . For some reason they showed I still had a credit of 18.50$????????
    Summary I agreed to pay 45.00$ to justanswer!

    I just checked my bank summary and your company charged or debited my account 60.00$ on 1/27/2010
    I am a good customer / why did you debit an extra 15.00$ from my account
    my user name is Sonny2/ 97e73925

    Thanks Sony Marlar

    0 Votes
  • So
      Feb 09, 2010

    please note I just gave you my temporary password / my password i created is smmu994

    0 Votes
  • So
      Feb 09, 2010

    january 22nd /2010 I used your services and agreed to pay 15$ for answer. I was on with Rheem Furnace technician about thirty minutes and he solved my problem.
    You ask if I would like to pay him a bonus so I agreed to pay extra 30$ since he solved the problem and spent more time with me!

    This was a total of 45.00$ I agreed you could debit my card.

    I just checked my statement and you debited 60.00$ on january 27th.

    Why did you charge me an extra 15.00$ after I volunteered a generous bonus????

    Regards C.B. [SONNY] Marlar Jr. [protected]@aol.com [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Yu
      Mar 24, 2010

    I spent 3 hrs. trying to get an answer to a question but none was fourth.-coming I then spent 2hrs. trying to get a refund of the double billing of the $38.00 fee I had agreed to once I had a satisfactory answer to my question (total of $76.00). At this point I have no answer and I have not been able to get my money refunded. This is obviously why lawyers have the negative rerputation that they do.This sight is an absolute scam!

    -1 Votes
  • Yu
      Mar 24, 2010

    This sight is a total scam!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 27, 2010

    I and my husband both asked a question...3 of them in total...agreed to pay $17 twice and another amount for my husbands question...NO ANSWERS were EVER received and I DID not approve anything...I have been charged on my credit card for the 2 $17.00 one and my husband has been charged on his for $40.00
    I have tried and tried to contact them and when I get to the submit question it now tells me that this email address is already in their system and being used by another client...no one has my email address other than my husband and I...BUT they will not answer me..I tried to call the Legal dept in their site and cannot get through there either...however I see they do have my credit card number as it shows up on my request...THERE IS SOMETHING DRASTICALLY WRONG HERE!!...AND NO NUMBER TO CONTACT THEM TO DISCUSS THIS.

    I have used this site previously and was satisfied but these last three times are absolutely ridiculous...I do not intend to pay for something I did not get.

    I would suggest everyone be cautious, as it appears something very strange is happening with this site.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Feb 28, 2019

    @Chicaro I called 1.888.587.8220

    0 Votes
  • Gn
      Mar 30, 2010

    My problem was unresolved and would like a refund. Thank you. [protected]@aol.com

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Jun 27, 2010

    Today I had a narrow escape from a "justanswers site in the UK". The site is sponsered by a no-brain semi-pornographic newspaper, the Daily Express, owner porn merchant Mr Desmond, and the site calls itself LAW-JustAnswers.com? As I discovered when submitting a question relating to UK statues and offering to pay 30euros from my credit card the payment details where in usa layout and the web page tag kept recovering as if on a refresh activity, fortunately I exit the site and attemted to email both the UK and the USA site, but mail server was unable to send? Thereafterwards, I immediately contacted security at my credit card company, who because they said the amount to be debited from my account was in US dollars (not euros) and greater than normal, they had frozen the actual transaction. I told them my story and they agreed to cancellation of the transaction and my credit card, because it is likely that my details could be further misused. So top marks for a British financial services vendor in this instance. In my opinion, it is criminal for Newspaper to profit from services they recommend, for them to have failed to check if the UK service had a valid internet address, and for the USA entity to have been able to receive payment advice and try to collect through USA pay-pal etc. to all readers in whatsoever nation BEWARE JUSTANSWERS.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 28, 2010

    In April I asked them one question, I knew there would be a onetime charge of $45.00, I gave them permission to do so, I have been charged three different times for that one question, now trying to get a hold of them is very difficult. I have e-mailed them, calling them and trying to talk to someone is impossible, I left a message and hopefully someone will return my call. I am now dealing with the credit card company for a credit of $90.00. Needless to say I do believe this company is a FRAUD AND A SCAM. I try sending a dispute message on http://www.justanswer.com/refund.aspx . when I try sending it, this is the exact message that I receive" This email address already exists in our system.".
    THEY DID NOT EVEN ACCEPT MY EMAIL. THIS IS A FRAUD
    Email Address This email address already exists in our system. I would suggest everyone be cautious, as it appears something very strange is happening with this site.
    [protected]@hotmail.com [protected] or [protected] All I am asking for is a credit for $90.00 to my Master Card and I would like it resolve now.
    Margaret

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Sep 12, 2010

    we should all get together and file a lawsuit. asking that they pay back all fees .with intarest of 50% for everyday they go without refunds .plus bank fees over draft fees and we all should ask for a few thousand just for dealing with them.it was only 15 for me so far but it just started with me today and my bank charged me 40 for overdraft fees things like that add up its not nice of them to take advantage of us and we should fight back some of you could get a large amount of cash back like the one that had a 60 dollar charge a year ago 50% multiplied by 365 would be 10, 950 thats a nice settlement for someone taking advantage of you and maybe we can stop these [censor] holes from taking advantage of others i will try to contact as manypeople as i can or you can contact me christy [protected] leave a message and ill get back 2 you.as for just answer .com get ready for a wild ride im working on getting your personal info 2day. you should fix this on your own and leave some of us on good standings

    +1 Votes
  • Al
      Nov 26, 2010

    This site is a scam, I went in this site once, now they charge me $10 every month. We should definately file a lawsuit.

    +2 Votes
  • Ne
      Dec 30, 2010

    I paid £17 for an answer to my plumbing problem but now find I am being billed £17 per month for unlimited service which I definately didnt sign up for. The only telephone number I can find is in the States, which is great if you are in the UK. I went back into the site using a different email address etc with the same problem and the sign up definately does nopt say that the fee will be recurring. This is definately an unlwaful scam, which is a shame because the advice that I received from the plumber was good. Someone needs to put an end to this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 20, 2011

    I too have been scammed by these gangsters, I asked them a legal question early 2011, the answer was a "lame duck" variety and they charged me on my credit card, I thought that was the end of it until i received my last C/C statement where, to my surprise these crooks ripped me off for another$47.57! Apparently they intend to keep on doing so each month! They are extremely difficult, if not impossible, to contact! My only choice seems to be to cancel my card! Be very aware of their fraudulent methods, warn everyone you know! R.W.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Jun 01, 2011

    They are charging me $30 every month!! Its definitely a scam. I dont know wat to do to stop these payments.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
      Jun 17, 2011

    Hello! I feel really stupid, and all I was after was an answer to a legal question, for free it said, only pay if you except the answer, it took me quite a while to carry on, alarm bells were begining, when I reached the page where it tells you that your signed in, I pushed the pannick button and told them to stop right there, I didn't want to know what their reply was, but gone from my acount within moments was 33.00 thats pounds. If everyone on this site knows its a scam why can't we do something about it. I'ts a pretty low trick, I'm 68 and on a pension and thats real money to me .

    0 Votes
  • Lt
      Feb 17, 2012

    I paid 16 Euro via Paypal to Justanswer.com. I didn't get an answer to my question and asked for a refund. I got an email asking me if my bank would accept a payback or whatever they called it. The email seems to have disappeared and I can't find it anywhere. I emailed justanswer -and Paypal- but got no reply.
    So I've just been to the site again and after feeling I was going round in circles found the „money back“ option again, which should give me my money back. After going through the “money back procedure” I got the message "We will process your refund manually, typically within the same day of your refund request. Your credit card company or PayPal may then take up to 1-5 business days to complete the refund". So, if they say Paypal is OK, then why did they send me an email before asking if my bank would accept paybacks?
    So, now have an account with justanswer with 16 euros in it but can't get to my money and can't get an answer from them.
    I see also that the payback guarantee is only for 30 days. So now I will probably get an email telling me I've gone over the guarantee time limit. Just the time spent on all this is not worth it. I would never ever try anything like this again.

    0 Votes
  • So
      Mar 10, 2012

    Their so called Experts are for the most part totally uneducated. They have mostly people with master's degrees who seem to know nothing. There are a few well educated people with PhD's MD's and beyond. Often many of the so-called experts will just tell someone something to get an accept, otherwise Just Answer doesn't pay them. So the bottom line is don't trust this site because most of them will tell you what you want to hear so they get paid. In some categories that deal with mental health and relationships they have a car mechanic answering questions that have to do with relationships and mental health. One so called expert told the client that she knows how to help them because, she too, suffered from a porn addiction. She by the way has only a BA in sociology. Really, stay away from this site.

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Jun 12, 2017

    It took 3 times to accept debit. Took 5. Few hours later. Nothing. Logged on said i wasnt member. Then said hadnt submitted anything. Checked balance on card. There it was. I WILL GET MY MONEY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Sep 12, 2017

    This is Sept.12, 2017 and it appears not much has improved. I have a $5.00 and $26.00 chg. on my card, but when I get into the JustAnswer site and go through page after page I finally found Order History and it says I haven't asked any question in past 90 days! Why then was I charged on Aug. 12, 2017 for "deposit" and for "cat vet"? I did ask a question about specific cat care, but did not stay on site and did not receive an answer. Have contacted company several times and they keep requesting same info that was sent the first time I was contacted by them about this problem. They keep e-mailing that they can't find any account of mine! Again, if there is no account, why was I charged? And why can't they find in past history when I had contacted this same company regarding my printer? That problem was taken care of on July 9, 2016. Something is much amiss, me thinks! Lenore

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Sep 13, 2017

    @Lenore Tande Hello Lenore,

    Thanks for getting in touch with us about this. I completely understand the frustration.

    In looking at the account that you do have registered with us, it doesn't look like you've posted a question to the account since that printer question in 2016.

    What may have happened is, it's possible that you used another email to register another account, or may have miss-spelled the email address and registered again, or it's possible that you have a guest account on the site not tied to your email address. Regardless, these are all very easy problems to get past and we'll reach out to you privately in order to gather the necessary information.

    If you still need assistance, please reach back out to us at [protected]@justanswer.com or call our team 24 hours a day at [protected]

    Sincerely,

    Adam Roesel - Customer Support Supervisor

    0 Votes

Post your comment