The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Jewel-Osco Supervalu / security nightmares

1 1224 South WabashChicago, IL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

Jewel-osco location: 1224 south wabash, chicago, illinois [protected]

Jewel-osco loss prevention associate: christopher mendoza (witness to disorderly and battery) he may be a chicago police officers

Monterrey security guard: kerry kielbon (witness to disorderly and battery)

Jewel-osco cashier: linda william (witness to disorderly)

Jewel-osco night manager: tampa sanders (witness to the disorderly)

Jewel-osco pharmacy: kenneth puleikis ( witness to disorderly)
-----------------------
On march 19, 2007 between the hours of 12:00am to 1:15am i went into jewel-osco, which is located at 1224 south wabash, chicago, illinois [protected] to grocery shop. Normally, the self-check out lines are open because at night because there's only one cashier but the self-check out station were closed. I asked linda william (jewel-osco cashier) if i could speak to a manager to open the self-check out line because there was 10 to 15 people in line. Linda william (jewel-osco cashier) directed me to the customer service desk to speak to the manager on duty by the name of tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manger) but she was in the back room of the customer services desk and choose not to come out to assist me. Outside of the customer services office there's an additional camera and the manager can view any customers standing at the customer services desk for assistance.

Jewel-osco video #9 shows me walking over to jewel-osco customer services help desk as i was instructed by linda william (jewel-osco cashier) to speak to tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manger). Normally when a customer ask for a manager the non-mangement employee calls from their register. At 1:08am you can see linda william (jewel-osco cashier) receiving a call from the customer servfice desk.

Jewel-osco video #10 shows i was approached by an unidentified male by the name of christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate). At first i assumed christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) was a customer hanging around the customer service desk because he did not have on a uniform, no name tag, did not give a name and did not show any form of identification to let me know who he was. Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) approached me and said, 'what can i do for you?' i told chris mendoza i was looking for the store manager and he said, 'i can help you.' i told chris mendoza i would like to speak to a store manager about opening up the self-check out line because there's always a long line of black people after 1:00am and i don't think it's right to put everyone in one line as a security tactic and that's what you have cameras for. Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) smiles as if my request was a joke. I told christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) that it's was not right and the self-check out line should be open because of the long line. I was denied a manager by christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate)

Jewel-osco video #10 shows christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) stood directly in my face and smile after i made the following comment. I said, 'do i have to go down the street and wake up some of my white friends to get the self-help line open?' this comment made christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) angry and christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) said, 'i don't want you in my store." and stood directly in my face. I told christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) i've done nothing wrong i was only speaking of the self-help line and it's my right to ask for customer service.

I walked away from christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) and stood back in line because i had groceries in my hands and i did not want to create any problems. This was a matter for the manager on duty and not loss prevention.

Jewel-osco store video # 9, #3 and #4 shows christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) walking agressively behind me after i walked away to pay for my groceries. Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) put his walkie talkie on his belt and checked for his handcuffs as he walked behind me. Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) had his mind made up that he was going to arrest me for no reason.

Jewel-osco store video #9 and #10 will show there was no way i could have been disruptive in line because i was never given a chance to stand in line to pay for my food.

I was having a conversation with another customer when i was approached by christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate). Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) said, i don't want you in my store. Jewel-osco store video # 10 and #11 shows christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) approach me in line full customers blocking my passgeway. Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) stood directly in front of me and said, 'i don't want you in my store. . When he stood directly in front of me it prevented me from moving forward and the pop machine blocked my rear which made it hard for me to leave the store. I was not trespassing because i had no where to move, i was held against my will, i was invited into the store to shop, i did not break into the store becuasae the door open automatically when i entered jewel-osco. I told chris mendoza i want to pay for my food so i can leave and i'm not trying to create any problems. Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) came closer to me and i told christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) if he touch me he will lose his job and beside i'm a customer and it's a liability to touch a customer. Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) smiled again and had a look in his eye as if he was going to try something. He bumped into me because he tried to provoke a fight and i told christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate)i was not going to fight him and that he must be crazy because customer are looking and the camera's are rolling. I was scared because he was harassing me in front of all the customers in line. There are a set of camera from the east and west view that will give a clear view of what happen but i don't have those tapes because jewel-osco choose not to give up that view. Note: jewel-osco will not give you this angle because it's going to incriminate christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) but you can see the harassment from jewel-osco cameras #9, #10 and #11.

Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) tried to knocked my food out of my hands. Chris mendoza said, "that's it you are going to jail." i told christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) i did not do anything wrong.

Christopher mendoza has a history of harassing homeless black customer in the south loop.

Jewel-osco store video #9 and #10 shows christopher mendoza push me and grabbed me by the upper arms and pushed me toward regiester 3&4 very agressively. Once i got to register 3 & 4 the jewel-osco store video camera #10 & #11 shows christopher mendoza holding me by the arms, turning me around and grabbing me from behind. I had peanuts in my right hands and orange juice in my left hands. Store video camera # 11 shows a clear view of christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) lifting me up from behind and body slamming me to the floor on my back. As i was lying on my back christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) put his knee in my chest and stomach and i was yelling to everyone to call 911. The store video camera # 10 and 11 shows kerry kielbon (monterrey security) come in from the parking lot to assist christopher mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention associate). For a moment you will see kerry kielbon (monterrey) stand and look confused because he did not know was going on. Kerry kielbon (monterrey) grabbed my left arm to assist christopher mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention associate)

Jewel-osco store video 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 shows i kept my hands to my side and i was telling the christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) he hurt my back and to call 911, instead, christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) said, "there's nothing wrong with your ###." christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) was trying to handcuff me while i was on my back. I continued to yell for help and someone to call 911. I kept my hands to my side because i was scared because christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) refused to call 911 after he attacked me. The customers were standing around taking pictures and yelling at christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) and kerry kielbon (monterrey security) and one customer said, 'if he stole something i'll pay for it'. I yelled to the customer that i was not stealing and pleading to anyone to call 911.. I yelled and cried for help several times and the christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) and kerry kielbon (monterrey security) kept telling me to shut the ### up so they can take me into loss prevention office. I yelled please any one called the police i need help and i asked the kerry kielbon and christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) to call 911 and christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) said, 'we're taking you into the loss prevention office first.' they were trying to take me into the loss prevention office because there are no cameras and anything could happen. There would be no record of any activities that happens in the loss prevention office.

I told christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) and kerry kielbon (monterrey security) i was on medication and my mouth; i was in need of water and to please call 911. Kerry kielbon (monterrey security) got tired and rested his need in my chest. I yelled because i was not able to breath because he put all his weight in my chest. (kerry kielbon (monterrey security) weights about 240-260 lbs). I continued to yelled for someone to call 911 because of the abuse and the customer were getting more upset when they witnessed kerry kielbon (monterrey security guard) rested his knee in my chest because he got tired.

I told christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) i'd give him one hand to handcuff if he gave me some water to drink. I gave christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) my right hand to handcuff because i assumed he was giving me some water because my mouth was dry. Instead of giving me some water christoper mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevetion associate)got angry and pulled me by one handcuff as if he was pulling a laundry bag and.

Jewel-osco store video #10, #11, #12, #13 and 14 shows christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) ssociate) and kerry kielbon (monterrey security guard) drag me from regesiter #3 to register 4, 5, 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10. Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion a christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) ssociate) and kerry kielbon (monterrey security guard)

Kerry kielbon (monterrey security guard) pulled my left arm and christopher mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention) pulled my right arm by the handcuff which cut into my skin. I told christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate)of jewel-osco and kerry kielbon of monterrey security i could not breathe because of the medication and kerry kielbon of monterrey security said, "there's nothing wrong with you,' and smile and continued to pull me toward the jewel-osco loss prevention office.

Jewel-osco store video #10 will show kenneth puleikis of jewel-osco pharmacy walked over and i told him i took adrerall for adhd and i need water because my mouth is dry from the medication and i can hardly breath. I also asked chris mendoza jewel-osco loss prevention associate and jewwel-osco loss prevention and kenneth puleikis of jewel-osco pharmacy to call 911 so i can get medical attention and help from the chicago police department. The jewel-osco pharmacy manager kenneth puleikis said, 'we will give you some water if you get up and go into the office.' i told kenneth puleikis that there are no cameras in the office and they can say and do anything to me. The jewel-osco pharmacy manager kenneth puleikis said with a smile, 'oh well' and walked away. Kenneth puleikis of jewel-osco pharmacy told the illinois department of professinal regulation that he tried to call 911 from the loss prevention office but was not able to call out.

I yelled because the one handcuff placed on my right hand by christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) of jewel-osco loss prevention was cutting into my skin and it seem it did not matter to any of the jewel-osco employees. Christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) pulled me with a lot of power because he was angry and the customers became more upset and was yelling at kerry kielbon (monterrey security) and christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) about the abuse and said it was not right

The customers were yelling at christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) and again christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) pulled me about 3(three) feet out of anger trying to pull me into the loss prevention office. The customer were yelling that this was race related because i did nothing wrong and christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) was pulling me by one handcuff which was cutting into my skin.. One unidentified jewel-osco stock clerk got into a verbal argument with a customer because the customer was recording the incident with his cell phone. Jewel-osco video camera #13 and #14 show an unidentified jewel osco stock clerk telling a customer he could not take any pictures and the customer said, 'what you guys are doing is illegal.' jewel-osco video camera #13 and #14 the same unidentified employee who was trying to intimidate the customer get into an altercation with another customers because of the incident. Kenneth puleikis(jewel-osco phamacy department manager) had to restain the unidetified employee from fifhting a customer who were upset of the incident.

Jewel-osco store video #14 shows a customer called 911 for me because i was attacked in line by christopher mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention) , body slammed to the floor and dragged by 1(one) handcuff which cut into my skin. I requested a copy of the 911 call through the office of emergency management and communication under the freedom of information act. The customer said to the 911 operator, 'they are beating up a guy in front of jewel'. Jewel-osco video #14 shows an unidetified employee putting his hand in a customer face after the customer called 911 and another employee telling a customer to put his camera up. I have a copy of the 911 call and the customer said, 'these guys are beating up this guy in front of jewel.'

The two unidetifed officer who arrived on the sence of the incident first and athe customer were telling the officer i was attacked by the christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) and kerry kielbon (monterrey security. People were so disgusted with the matter you see a young girl crying because of what happen to me. The unidentified customer who called 911 was trying to explain to unidentified police officer he called but the officer continue to walk pass the customer. The unidentified chicago police officer approached the crowd but only listened to the two security guards but did not listen to the cusomters. The customers did not leave because of what they witnessed and the chicago police choose not to take their statement. Why? In the video clip you can see the customers reaction when two security guards were given the chicago police officer their verson of what happen. The unidentified chicago police officer asked christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) and kerry kielbon (monterrey security) is i was shoplifting and christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) responds was, 'no, i don't want him in my store.' and the unidentified chicago police officer said, o.k we can arrest him for trespassing. The customers were trying to explain what happen to the chicago police department but the chicago police department choose not to listen to the customers. Why? The unidentified office tells me to turn over on my stomach and when he noticed the marks on my arm the unidentified chicago police officer said, 'the arresting chicago police officer said, 'dam'!!! We are going to put in the report that our cuffs did not cause those marks and swelling. In the police report r. Lee(badge #17554) and r. Davis(badge #7558) did not write i had marks on my arm but r. Lee(badge #17554) and r. Davis(badge #7558) put into the final approval arrest reporting, 'event#00943 in summary, above offenders is being arrest on signed complaints in that while he was attending above location, he was asked to leave after become irrate in line. Security tried to cuff offender and a scuffle ensued causing offender to have marks on heis arm. Offender was placed in customer and transported to 001 for processing after being ream mirandia waring per preprinted card. Name check clear, victim give all court information.'

Jewel-osco store video #14 shows christopher mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention) jerking me by the hand cuff while carrying on a conversation with the unidentified chicago police officer.

Jewel-osco store video #14 show the customers were trying to tell the unidentified chicago police officer that i was the one attacked and i was not shoplifting. The customers got upset because i was getting arrested for trespassing. You will see the unidentified chicago police officer tell the customer who were witnesses to go back to shopping. The customer who called 911 is standing next to the unidentified chicago police officers but no statements were taking from the customer. What about my rights? I assumed it was who called first? Where's the investigation? Again you see the customer with the strip shirt who stayed with me the entired time. My rights were violated by the chicago police department.

R. Lee(badge #17554) and r. Davis(badge #7558) wrote in their report they were responding to a battery call. This called was placed from a sprint wireless phone at 1:21am. Jewel-osco store video #14 will show several customers calling 911 and the other customer telling christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) and kerry kielbon (monterrey security) to leave me along because i did nothing wrong. The customer stayed with me because christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) and kerry kielbon (monterrey security) were trying to pull me into the loss prevention office.

Instead of getting protection from the chicago police officer, question one of the chicago police officer yelled for me to turn over on my stomach. Jewel-osco store video #14 shows christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) holding me by the handcuff while i was on my back talking to the chicago police officer. The arresting chicago police officer was exchanging handcuffs because the one handcuff on my right wrist belonged to chris mendoza of jewel-osco loss prevention the arresting chicago police officer said, 'dam'!!! We are going to put in the report that our cuffs did not cause those marks and swelling.

Jewel-osco store video show christopher mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevention associate) jerk me by the handcuff while talking to the unidentified chicago police officer.

Jewel-osco store video #14 shows christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) removing his handfuffs while the chicago police officer held me down. The chicago police officer asked chris mendoza if i stole something and christoper mendoza ( jewel-osco loss prevetion associate) replied, 'i don't want him in my store.' the arresting chicago police officer said, o.k. We can arrest him for trespassing. I told the chicago police officer to look at the videotape and to ask the customer because they stood around but the officer refused to ask the customers any questions. A few customers tried to give their statements but the chicago police officers refused.

The chicago police department responded to the call as a battery but when they arrived i was arrested for criminal trespassing to land. First christopher mendoza of jewel-osco loss prevention wrote he gave me the trespass warning at 1:20am but changed it to 1:25am. According to christopher mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention associate) i was given a trespassing warning because of disorderly conduct. I should have been arrested for disorderly conduct also but i was not. The disorderly charge came 40 days later by a cashier by the name of linda williams.

We going to put in the report that our cuffs did not cause those marks and swelling. I told cpd to get me to a hospital because i had breathing problems and my wrist was hurting. I was told to quit acting and i told the police i take medication and that my mouth is dry please give me some water. I take adderall which has amphetamine in it and it makes your mouth dry as if you're eating sand on a hot day. I told the cop my mouth is dry and that's why my lips were turning white and the cop response was, "you're faking it." i said please help me take me to a doctor because i can't breath and my wrist is hurting. He said he's going to jail and they put me in the police wagon. I assumed i was going to the hospital but i went straight to the police station. I begged for water for about 15 mins and there was one cop asking me if i was on cocaine and i told him no and i've tried drugs or drinking. I was searched and i bagged for water and the cop said you can drink out of the dirty facult. I went to the dirty facult and drink and another cop came with a cup of water and i was drinking fast and the cop said, "slow down before you chock." this is when they realized i was telling the truth and they became nice to me. I explained the situation to the cops and the medicine i was taking because they never heard of it before. I asked the cop why did i get arrested and you should have looked at the video. He said, "that not my job and if you think you were treated unfairly get a lawyer."

I asked the cops when will i go the doctor and at that time it was 3am in the morning. I told the cops i could not miss work because i will lose my job. So the cop said, if we take you to the doctor you are not going to make it to work on time. It will be easier to go through the process and go yourself. The cop ask me if i was denying medical help at this time not knowing they were compromising my time and their time to avoid taking me to the doctor. I said ok, so i should be out of here before 5am and i was told yes. As the cops were leaving i told them not to forget to lock my doors because all my personal items are in there and they said, "we will take care of you.

I got out of jail at 6:30 this morning and i went to the jewel to get my truck and it was towed. The security guard changed tours and the new guard said, "we towed your car about 10 minutes ago because it should not have been parked here and that's a fact. Enjoy your day." the female security looked at me and smiled and said, "sorry." i said the cops told them not to touch my car and the male security guard said, "i have nothing else to say. We towed it and now what?" he walked off again and that was it. I paid my last money to get my truck out of the pound.

On march 20, 2007 christopher mendoza(jewel-osco loss prevention associate) filed charges of criminal trespassing to land only.

On april 30, 2007 i went to court to fight the charges of criminal trespassing to land which was filed by christopher mendoza(jewel-osco loss prevention associate). Illinois assistant state's attorney martin mcgrory said, 'you honor, my clients would like to file additional charges of battery and disorderly conduct. Attorney martin mcgrory filed additional charges without looking at the video tape. Had martin mcgrory looked at the jewel-osco video tape he would not have allowed jewel-osco to file additional charges of battery and disroderly.

Linda williams (jewel-osco cashier)

On april 30, 2007 the illinois assistant state's attorney martin mcgrory said, 'my client would like to file additional charges of disorderly conduct.' linda william (jewel-osco cashier) signed a complainant claiming disorderly conduct which was filed in the state of illinois cook county circuit court. Illinois assistant state's attorney martin mcgrory did not view the video tape but allowed the additional charges to be filed. Linda williams waited 40(forty) days to realize i prevented her from doing her job. She stated, 'knowingly acted in such as unreasonable manner as to disturb another and to provoke a breach of the peace in that defendant was screaming and yelling which prevented the complainant from performing her duties as a cashier for jewel.' the charge of disorderly is false. The jewel-osco store video #9 and #10 shows linda williams (jewel-osco cashier) given the chicago poilce her verson of what happen and her number as a witness.

Linda williams (jewel-osco cashier) waited 40 days to filed a malicous charge of disorderly conduct in court on april 30, 2007. Linda williams claims my yelling for someone to call 911 and yelling for help after chris mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention associate) slammed me to the floor and dragged by one handcuff which cut into my skin stop her from doing her job. The charges were filed because jewel-osco was hoping i take a plea for the lessor charge which is trespassing. The criminal trespassing charge was the orginal charge filed on march 20, 2007 by chris mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention associate).

Jewel-osco store video #9 and #10 show linda williams (jewel-osco cashier) checking out customers at her station and she did not leave her station. The jewel-osco video #10 show linda williams ( jewel-osco cashier) checking out customer doing the entire incident which occurred between the hours of 1:06am ' 1:35am. She stopped working for for about 20 seconds because she was explaing the incident to tampa sanders ( night manager).

Jewel-osco store video #9 and #10 shows i was attacked in line, pushed from register #1 & #2 to register #3 and at register #3 and #4 it shows christomper mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention associate) turn me around, picked me up from behind and body-slammed me to the floor. Linda williams (jewel-osco cashier) said, 'customer told him that if he touch him he would fall to the floor and scream for his life and proceded to do so. I was on register 1 checking out customer to keep the confusion down but the man go louder and louder screaming fomebody call 911 for help.' linda williams lied about the incident.

On april 4, 2007 linda william wrote, 'in attention to my statement only 1 register was open which i was on the only line was loud and customers were companing about the line but there was no help i had no extra bodies to performed the job and this is on of the reason whey this preticker customer was so angry. I was also consider for the customer and myself at this point i just wanted the problem to end as soos as possible.' linda williams stated she was not able to do her job and she had no extar bodies to perform the job. When i entered jewel-osco the line was long.


Tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manager)

Tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manager) gave false information as a witness for disorderly conduct. Camera #9 and #10 shows tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manger) did not come out of the customer services office until 1:20am after the incident occurred. If i was loud you would have seen a reaction from the customers. Tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manger) claim to have been on break at the time of the incident. Tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manager) wrote a statement claiming she heard a man talk about his displeasure with jewel-osco of the treatment toward black customers. Inside the customer services office there's a camera that let's the manager know when a customer is standing at the customer service desk for assistance. If tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manager) heard anyone complanting about the customer services she should have came out to see what was going on. She did not come out of the office to see because she never heard or witness the incident. Jewel-osco video camera #9 you will see linda william (jewel-osco cashier) explaining the incident to tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manger) who claim she heard the conversation but choose not to come out. Durning that conversation you will see linda williams (jewel-osco cashier) and tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manager) making fun of the situation.

If tampa sanders (jewel-osco night shift manager) heard me complaing about the customer services she should have came out of the customer service office because i was told to come to the customer service desk by linda williams (jewel-osco cashier) after i requested for a manager.

Kenneth puleikis ( jewel-osco pharmasist department) said, 'as an audience started to grow myself and tampa tried to breakup the crowd but due to the mans yelling & screaming for 911 they were staying.' the store video will show tampa sanders (jewel-osco night manager) did not go near the incident and she did not go near any customers because she was in the customer service office. You will also see tampa sanders making fun of me as if i dropped to the ground on my own as linda williams explained to her what happen.

Va
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Va
      16th of Feb, 2008
    0 Votes

    Continue...

    Kerry kielbon (monterrey security guard)

    Kerry kielbon of monterrey security claims to be a witness to battery and disorderly conduct charges against me and he is also listed as the person who reported this offense to the chicago police department on march 19, 2007. Kerry kielbon wrote a false statements in the loss prevention report, monterrey security report, jewel-osco loss prevention report and he gave the chicago police a false statement. In the chicago police report kerry kielbon or chris mendoza did not tell the chicago police officer i swung at anyone. The video will show i did not swing at anyone. I was only arrested for criminal trespassing to land.

    It's was impossible for kerry kielbon to be a witness to the incident because he was in the parking lot doing the time i had a conversation with christopher mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention associate).

    Jewel-osco store video # 10 and #11 clearly shows kerry kielbon looking directly at me when i was slammed to the floor by chris mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention) and i was no where near any customers. Kerry kielbon (monterrey) said, 'i entered throught he exit vestibule to see as the unknown subject swing at mendoza. Mendoza turned him around to escort him away from the cusomters. At this point the man dropped to the ground of his own will and starged to scream.'

    Jewel-osco store video # 10 and #11 by chris mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention) with his left hand holding me in my upper body on my left sidef turning me around. I had peanuts in my right hands and orange juice in my left hands. There was no way i could have swung at chris mendoza because after he turned me around he wrapped his arms around me.

    On march 19, 2007 kerry kielbon and chris mendoza told the chicago police department, 'subject started screaming thes lines move to slow ans started shouting prfanities. At this time subject was asked to leave premise, subject refused stating he would make a scene if security touched him. Subject was asked again to leave and refused, at this time security attempted to place subject into customdy, scuffle ensued while handcuffs were being placed on offender. Jewel-osco store video#9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 will show there was no scuffle.

    I filed a complaint against kerry kielbon of monterrey security with the illinois department of professional regulation in reference to his role of my arrest. Kerry kielbon became a witness when i filed the complaint against him.

    Chris mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention)

    March 20, 2007 christopher mendoza of jewel-osco loss prevention filed charges of criminal trespassing to land in the court of cook county, illinois. This was the only charge he filed on that date. Jewel-osco store video evidence camera #9, #10, #11, #12, #13, #14 and #15 will show i was not given a chance to leave because i was attacked in line and i had groceries in my hands.

    First christopher mendoza of jewel-osco loss prevention wrote he gave me the trespass warning at 1:20am but changed it to 1:25am. According to christopher mendoza (jewel-osco loss prevention associate) i was given a trespassing warning because of disorderly conduct. I should have been arrested for disorderly conduct also but i was not. The disorderly charge came 40 days later by a cashier by the name of linda williams.

    On april 30, 2007 the illinois assistant state's attorney martin mcgrory said said, 'my client would like to file additional charges of battery' . Christopher mendoza of jewel-osco loss prevention (jewel-osco loss prevention) signed a complaint in the circuit court of cook county, illinois. Chris mendoza waited 40(forty) days to realize i swung at him. Illinois assistant state's attorney martin mcgrory did not view the video tape but allowed the additional charges to be filed. In his signed statement christopher mendoza of jewel-osco loss prevention said, 'that he intentionally or knowingly without legal justification made contact of an insultuing or provoking nature with the complainant in that the defendant swung fist at complainant hitting complainant in the arm.' but on march 20, 2007 christopher mendoza of jewel-osco loss prevention wrote in the loss prevention report, 'he gestured as if he was going to strike me, i blocked his arm and tried to handcuff the subject, kerry kielbon (monterrey) assisted me. In the jewel-osco video eveidence it does not show i gestured as if i was going to hit anyone or swung at anyone.

    Battery is when you actually touch someone and assualt is when you attempt to touch someone. The wrong charge was filed.

    Christopher mendoza of jewel-osco loss prevention and kerry kielbon (monterrey) told the chicago police , 'above subject started screaming these lines move to slow and started shouting profanities. At this time subject was asked to leave premise, subject recused stating he would make a scene if security touched him . Subject was asked again to leave and refused. At this time sucurity attempted to place subject into custody, scuffle ensued while handcuffs were being placed on offender. (note: camera 4, 9, 10 and 11 will show i was slammed to the floor by chris mendoza, i was never disruptive in line, i was not using profanity.) the chicago police went into the officer and only arrested me for criminal trespassing to land. The additional charge of battery and disorderly was filed because jewel-osco was hoping i plea for the lessor charge which is the orginal charge of criminal trespassing land.


    Kenneth puleikis pharmacy department

    Kenneth puleikis (jewel-osco pharmacy manager) became a witness after i filed a complaint against him with the illinois department of professional regulation because he did not call 911 after i told him i was on medication. Kenneth puleikis (jewel-osco pharmacy manager) lied to the illinois department of professional regulation.

    In the evening of march 19th around 1:10am iff kenneth puleikis pham d. Heard loud yelling coming from a male in front of the store by the registers. I briefly left the pharmacy to see where the yelling was coming from and as i walked around the corner saw the store's loss prevention associate chris mendoza in the process of apprfehending the yelling indiidual (whom was on his back, i heard chirs asking the person to stand up but he just refused. I walked away returning to the pharmacy. A few moments later the yelling grew louder and move frequent. I checked a second time and at this point chris was tryint to handcuff the man but he was resisting. He kept yelling saying chris was hurting his wrist. At no time did from what i saw did chris force his (the mans) wrist at an awkward position or intnetionally hurt him. I walked over to chris when the man started yelling- 'call 911.' this was in response to chris supposedly hurting his wrist. Itold chris he probably should call 911 and let the police take him.

    'i noticed the mans wriste were un-abraded w/no laceration and it seemed clear that the man was yelling and attracting an audience purely for show. As an audience started to frow myself and tracey the nicght crew manager tried to dial 911 in the lp office but could not dial out. I returned to chrs to as when a customer had called 911. Myself and tampa tried to breakup the crowd but due to the mans yelling & screaming for 9111 they were staying. I left back for the pharmacy and returned in 3-4 police arrived. When the police handcuffed the man he readily let the officer w/out struggle. He got up easily and it was clear he wan't as 'hurt' as he was shouthing.* in my opinion the loss prevention personnel handled the situation appropriately. At no time did he use excessive force, purposely humiliate or verbally abuse the person from what i witness to.'

    Signed kenneth puleikis

    'the man had comment that he was on medication and the has a dry mouth. He did not state what if any the medication were. The police man who handcuffed him rplied if his mouth was so dry, he sure didn't have any trouble yelling. At this point they took him into the lp office.'

    'at approximately 7:55am on wed morning. I received a call in the pharmacy from a person named andrea cruz claiming to be form the illinois department of professional regulations. She asked if i worked the night of 3/19/2007 and if i remembered the incident in which a male was apprehended by security and i dinied calling 911 for him. Isadi i did remember the male but that i did not not deny calling 911. I actually tried to call 911. She also asked if i spoke to the male directly. I said i did not that i talked only to security b/c i didn't know why the male was being apprehended. She said, so that's not the case? I said no, she thanked me, i got her name & we hung up.'

    Kenneth puleikis 4/25/2007

    'on the morning of friday 4/27 aroun 7:50am i received a second call from a lady who said her name owas andrea cruz from il dept of professional regulation. Unlik the first call when she had told me ab out a complaint against me and asked me if i had in fact refused to call 911 for the apprehended man, this call she askd if the gentlman told me he was on adhd meds & that he needed water. I told her i never spoke directly to the man only to chris and that he never mentioned any specific medication. She thank me and i asked if everything was okay. She said she was 'closing the complaint and i had nothing to worry about.'

  • Je
      3rd of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    I read this story and I think names should have been left out for privacy reasons...

    I think the ppl in Jewel need to make an immediate aplogy to this man for the

  • Na
      13th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    post the videos and we will all know what really happened

  • Jo
      18th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    I was found not Guilty of all charges on May 16, 2008


    I was arrested for Trespassing on 3/19 and 6 weeks later charged with battery and disorderly conduct. The stories of the Security Guard from Jewel Foods and Monterrey Security guards was totally different from what they wrote in their incident report, the Chicago Police Report was different, their written statements were different and on 5/16/2009 their testimony in court was totally different from all the evidence. I was found not Guilty of Trespassing, Battery and Disorderly Conduct.



    This entire incident started because I questioned the customer service of Jewel Foods and I was denied a manager by the Jewel Foods Security Guard. When the Guard denied me a manager he smiled as if it was a joke. I told the security guard, "What do I have to do? Do I have to go down the street and get some of my rich white friends and come back so you can open up the self check out line? That comment made the Jewel Security Guard mad and he followed me to the grocery line and blocked me in, knocked my orange juice out of my hands, grabbed me by the arms and pushed me out of the line. I was pushed to register #3 where I was picked up and slammed to the concrete floor where I yelled for help because I was in pain. I was dragged from register #3 to Register #10 by a Jewel Food Security Guard by one handcuff which cut into my skin and I was dragged by a Monterrey Security Guard by the other arm. I was yelling because I was in pain because of the slam to the floor and the handcuff cutting into my skin while I was being dragged. The security guards were trying to pull me into the Loss Prevention Office which the customer did not allow that to happen because they witnessed the security guard touching me for no reason.



    A customer called 911 and once the Chicago Police arrived the customers were trying to explain to them what happen but refused to listen. The customer who called 911 tried to explain to the Chicago Police Officer he called 911 and the officer choose not to listen. In the Chicago Police Report it states, The Reporting Officer Was responding to a battery: The customer who called said, "They are beating this guy up in front of Jewel." I'm wondering why did the Chicago Police refused to take a statement from the customer? Did the Chicago Police look at the video evidence?



    I went to court on 4/30 to fight the Charges of Criminal Trespassing and the Jewel Foods filed an additional charge of Battery and Disorderly Conduct.





    3/19 Criminal Trespassing to Land: "KNOWINGLY REMAINED UPON THE LAND OF JEWEL FOODS LOCATED AT 1224 S. WABASH AFTERRECIEVING NOTICE FROM OWNER/OCCUPANT.AGENT TO DEPART."



    4/30 Battery: The Security Guard signed a complaint in Court claiming Battery. "Intentionally or knowingly without legal justification made contact of an insulting or provoking nature with the complainant in that the defendant swung fist at complaint hitting complainant in the arm."



    4/30 Disorderly Conduct: The Cashier signed a complaint in Court claiming Disorderly Conduct. Knowingly acted in such an unreasonable manner as to disturb another and to provoke a breach of the peach in that the defendant was screaming and yelling which prevented the complainant from performing her duties as a cashier for Jewel.



    Go to Youtube and type in "Jewel-Osco Security Guard Gone Wild"



    Video #1 and 2 will show the Security Guard following me to the grocery line.



    Video # 3 will show the Security Guard grabbing me and pushing me out of the Grocery Line.



    Video # 4 will show the Security Guard lifting me up from behind and slamming me to the floor.



    Video # 4, #5 and #6 will show I was dragged by the security guards.



    Video # 7 will show I was dragged and jerked by the handcuff and arrested by the Chicago Police Officers.





    The Trespassing Charges


    The security guard told the judge he told me in the Grocery Line that if I could not keep quiet he would have to tell me to leave. The Judge asked the Security Guard, "So you gave the defendant a condition?" The security guard said, "Yes."



    1st My attorney asked the security guard to read the Trespassing Warning in court and when he read the warning he did not know what time it was given to me. There's two different times on the warning.. 1st It states it was given to me at 1:15am and 2nd It states it was given to me at 1:25am. There was no way I received any Trespassing warning because at 1:15am I was grabbed and pushed out of the line and slammed to the floor at. Then I was dragged from register 3 to 10 by one handcuff.



    2nd The trespassing warning also state, "The above named person was advised that if he/she returns to said premises that he/she would be in violation of this Trespass Warning and be subject to arrest." In order for the Trespassing Warning to be valid I had to leave and come back onto the Premises I was band from.



    3rd My attorney asked the security guard the following question to show I was illegally detain with warning.

    A: Where was my client standing? The security guard replied in line.

    B: What was on my Client left side? The security guard replied, a pop machine and a candy rack.

    C: What was on my Client Right side? The security guard said the self-check out line.

    D: Who was standing behind my Client? The security guard said he was.

    F: My attorney said, "If my client wanted leave out of the store would he go in the direction you were standing which is behind my client or would he go in the direction the customer were facing. Better yet, would it be easier to say the only Exits would be in the front of the store and not the back? The security guard said the only Exit would be the front of the store?



    My attorney said, if you were blocking his rear, the pop machine and the candy rack is blocking his left, the self-check out line was blocking his right and the 10 to 15 customers in front of my client was blocking his front which prevented him from Exiting the Store, please explain to the courts if you gave my client a trespassing warning to leave, how was he going to leave if he was blocked in? The security guard could not answer.



    4th The security guard said they gave the Trespassing Warning to the Chicago Police after I was arrested and assumed they gave it to me.



    5th In Jewel and Monterrey Security they lied about the security guard was telling me to leave several times and that never occurred.



    6th The Security Guard from Monterrey Security was asked why did he sign his name on the Trespassing Warning as a witness? He said I was in the parking lot and I did not know what was going on?



    The charges were dropped because it showed he blocked me in, he had no reason to stop follow me to the grocery line which he told the judge he did not follow me, the times were wrong and in order for the trespassing warning to be valid he would have to word it correctly, give it to me directly and time must match.





    Battery Charges:



    1: The Video Evidence shows I never swung at anyone.

    2: The Judge looked at the Video Evidence and said, "It clearly shows the security guard grabbed the defendant and there is not proof of the defendant swinging according the the video evidence."

    3: The Security Guard from Monterrey Security wrote in his statement, "At this point the man dropped to the ground of his own will and started to scream."

    4. In court the Security Guard told the Judge he could not remember because it's been so long but later said, "1st it look like he dropped to the ground on his own. 2nd it look like Christopher Mendoza laid him on the ground and 3rd I did not have a clear view."

    5. The video evidence shows I was slammed to the floor by Jewel Loss Prevention and Monterrey Security Guard was standing directly in front of me.



    On May 16, 2008 Christopher Mendoza told the Judge that I swung at him with a bag of Pistachios Nuts and when he blocked my swing with his arm and the Pistachios Nuts when everywhere on the floor. The Monterrey Security Guard support the story also.



    March 19, 2007 Christopher Mendoza wrote in his Loss Prevention Incident Report, "He Gestured as if he was going to strike me, I blocked his arem and tried to handcuff the subject. Kerry Kielbon (Monterrey Security) assisted me."



    March 19, 2007 Christopher Mendoza told the Chicago Police, "At this time subject was asked to leave premise, subject refused stating he would make a scene if security touched him subject was asked again to leave and refused, at this point security attempted to place subject into customdy, scuffle ensued while handcuffs were being placed on offender."



    April 30, 2007 Christopher Mendoza filed a complaint in court stating, "Intentionally or knowingly without legal justification made contact of an insulting or provoking nature with the Complainant in that: The defendant swung fist at complainant hitting complainant in the arm.



    May 16, 2008 Christopher Mendoza told the judge I swung toward his face with a bag of Pistachios and he blocked the swing with his arm which made the bag of Pistachios fall on the floor.



    My attorney asked where did the allege swing take place and the security guard was not able to give that information. My attorney asked did this take place after you tried to arrest my client or before you tried to arrest my client? The Security Guard from Jewel Foods said, "It took place before I tried to arrest him." So my attorney said we should be able to see Pistachios Nuts everywhere on the floor, Correct? The Jewel Food Security Guard agreed?



    We showed the Video Evidence from Line #1 Which show no punches were thrown and it clearly showed he grabbed me and pushed me out of the line. We paused the video which showed I had Pistachios in my hand and we showed the floor area where Pistachios show have been and there were not Pistachios on the floor because I had the bag in my hand. We showed Video Evidence from Line #3 which show the Jewel Foods Security Guard picking me up from behind which holding my arms in the air. We pause the video and it showed I had Pistachios in my hands and there were not Pistachios on the floor. We were about to show more of the video and the Judge said, "That's Enough." I'm sure she was in disbelief of what happen and the video showed they were lying..

    The judge looked at the video and said, It clearly shows the security guard grabbing the defending and pushing him out of the line. There is no proof showing the defendant swing at anyone and there are no Pistachios on the floor.



    The Jewel Security guard was asked if I was handcuff and he replied, "No". The video evidence showed the security guard dragging me from lane #3 to lane #4 and you see customers taking pictures with their phones because he was dragging and jerking me by the handcuff.





    Disorderly Conduct:



    The Jewel Food Cashier claimed my yelling for help and 911 stopped her from doing her job. The video evidence clearly show she never stop working and did not witnessed the incident.



    The cashier wrote the following statement on 4/3/2007: "I was the only line open and the line was long and customers were complaining about the line but there was no help I had no extra bodies to perform the job."





    The cashier did not show up to court on April 1, 2008 and on May 16, 2008 my attorney asked to have the disorderly charge dropped but a Manager in the Loss Prevention Department said Linda Williams passed away. The Judge allowed the Disorderly Conduct to stay because the Loss Prevention Manager stood in her place. The charges were later dismissed because there was no proof of Disorderly Conduct I did not need to show any video evidence to prove my innocence.





    Jewel Foods and Monterrey Security tried to intimidate me not to come to court and I was harassed for about 8 months. I was also told by the Loss Prevention Manager if I sign a letter no to file Civil Suit they would drop the charges. The Loss Prevention Manager also stated, " Beside, I'm 22 and Zero when I come to court." I told him the charges are weak and false and I'm going to fight this in court.



    On May 16, 2008 I was offered a plea of 3 months supervision from Jewel Food Loss Prevention. I was also offered to plea no Contest and to stay out of Jewel. I told my attorney no because I did not do anything wrong and I would rather fight this in court.



    On May 16, 2008 I was found Not Guilty of all the charges filed against me.



    I was found not Guilty of Criminal Trespassing to Land
    I was found not Guilty of Disorderly Conduct

    I was found not Guilty of Battery




    The Court Transcript will show the Security Guards lied from day 1 and 95% of their statement was conflicting.

  • Jo
      27th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    I was found Not Guilty of all the Bogus Charges on May 16, 2008

  • Bl
      6th of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes

    Funny there's nothing on you tube under that heading. And by the way, ever hear of hooked on phonics?

  • Be
      12th of Nov, 2010
    0 Votes

    Wow you are such a fool and an embarassment to the human species. These people that you were harassing make really low wages. Your real [censor] for making their lives harder for them. With the exception of the pharmacist none of the employees make more than 12.00 an hour. Even the supervisors only make around 10. They should have killed you to save others from having to endure being on the same planet as you.

  • Pa
      30th of Jun, 2011
    0 Votes

    I agree with the individuals complaint, their very unprofessional. I know first hand, I'm an experience Security Officer. They offered no training and just put you out their. they talk themselves up, when some of the officers are not trained to deal with the public or the client itself.

  • Ro
      24th of Sep, 2012
    0 Votes

    the jewel food store on york and butterfield rd in elmhurst ill always have food that is always close to the expriaton date always

  • Ro
      24th of Sep, 2012
    0 Votes

    the jewel on york and butterfield rd in elmhurst ill. always have products that are close to the expriaton date

  • Ti
      18th of Sep, 2018
    0 Votes

    Wow. I'm so sorry this happened to you, I'm an x-jewel employee who quit because they would not give me a break, not sure if you can see my complaint about them, they are a horrible company period.

Post your comment