The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Jazeera Airways / waiting refund for cancelled flight

1 United Arab Emirates Review updated:

Hi everyone,

Ref: booking rer# w9kqac - dxb-cok-dxb - flno: j9486 dtd: 15.02.2008

I am writing this mail in hope of reaching someone who will be able to resolve this issue or creating awareness amoung people about the way jazeera as a budget airlines work.
We booked jazeera from dubai to cochin for travel on 20/02/2008 and upon reaching airport to board the flight was informed that the flight is being cancelled and you will get a refund within 7 days to your bank accounts. Believing this we took another flight. When we returned back from india, we still didnt get the refund. Upon contacting their help desk via email we were told it takes 35 working days. We waiting 45 days before contacting again and since then after numerous mails, there has been no reply from their help desk and an amount of 2000dhs is yet to be refunded till date 27/05/2008.
We are very frustrated by this and advice anyone who wants to travel by budget airlines to think twice before dealing with such dodgy airlines.
Personally that is the first and last time for me and if anyone is listening... Give my money back!!!

To helpdesk,

Don't copy paste emails to all customer!! If you got some shame remaining.. Reflect it on my bank account.

Please also find details of my communication so far with jazeera airways pasted here... And



Dear jazeera airways help desk;

Ref: booking rer# w9kqac - dxb-cok-dxb - flno: j9486 dtd: 15.02.2008

In regards to the above, pls note even after several reminders we still have not received our refund of aed 2146. As per your earlier communication it was informed to us that the payment has already been processed on the 20th of feb 2008 and a delay of 35 days was expected, even though your dubai station informed that the refund will be processed in 7 days, now its been more than 60 days and still no news regarding our refund.

Hence we request you to please urgently look into the issue and kindly inform us the status of our payment at the earliest. Your earliest response in this regard would be highly appreciated.

Thanks & regards,

Fidha sharaf

From: helpdesk [mailto:helpdesk@jazeeraairways.com]
Sent: tuesday, march 04, 2008 9:21 pm
To: fidha sharaf
Cc: 'helpdesk'
Subject: re: refund for cancelled flight

Dear sir/madam,



We are sorry for the inconvenience caused but the refund process from our office to the passenger's bank usually takes 35 days.



Kind regards,

Commercial team

Jazeera airways (k.S. C)



Kuwait customer support phone: 177

International call center number: [protected]

Fax :[protected]




This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to which they are addressed and may be legally privileged and/or confidential. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible for delivering the e-mail to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination or copying of this e-mail or any of its attachment(s) is strictly prohibited. Any unauthorized use or disclosure may be unlawful. If you have received this e-mail in error, please immediately notify the sending individual or entity by e-mail and permanently delete the original e-mail and attachment(s) from your computer system. Any opinions contained in this message are those of the author and are not given or endorsed by jazeera airways, unless otherwise clearly indicated in the message, and the authority of the author to so bind jazeera airways is duly verified. No warranty is given as to the legitimacy of e-mail content transmitted over the internet.




From: fidha sharaf [mailto:f. Sharaf@boydenme.com]
Sent: tuesday, march 04, 2008 3:07 pm
To: helpdesk
Subject: re: refund for cancelled flight

Hi,

I really appreciate taking time to respond.

Then why was I misled by your al jazeera office in dubai international airport, saying it will be refunded to me in 7 working days??

It is indeed an inconvenience and I don’t see why it should take 35 days to refund this amount in this electronic age. I need a more convincing explanation to understand a delay of 35 days!!

Thanks in advance

Fidha


From: helpdesk [mailto:helpdesk@jazeeraairways.com]
Sent: tuesday, march 04, 2008 3:55 pm
To: fidha sharaf
Subject: re: refund for cancelled flight

Dear sir/madam,



We are sorry for any inconvenience caused, kindly note that the refund was processed on the 20th of feb. 2008, 2146 aed full amount, and it needs 35 working days to be in your account.





Thank you

Kind regards

Commercial team

Jazeera airways (k.S. C)

Kuwait customer support phone: 177

International call center number: [protected]

Fax :[protected]




This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to which they are addressed and may be legally privileged and/or confidential. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible for delivering the e-mail to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination or copying of this e-mail or any of its attachment(s) is strictly prohibited. Any unauthorized use or disclosure may be unlawful. If you have received this e-mail in error, please immediately notify the sending individual or entity by e-mail and permanently delete the original e-mail and attachment(s) from your computer system. Any opinions contained in this message are those of the author and are not given or endorsed by jazeera airways, unless otherwise clearly indicated in the message, and the authority of the author to so bind jazeera airways is duly verified. No warranty is given as to the legitimacy of e-mail content transmitted over the internet.



From: fidha sharaf [mailto:f. Sharaf@boydenme.com]
Sent: tuesday, march 04, 2008 11:26 am
To: helpdesk@jazeeraairways.com
Subject: refund for cancelled flight

Hi there,

I regret having to write such a mail.

This is the first time I booked a flight on al jazeera airways and my experience was extremely disappointing.

I had booked on 22nd jan 2008 two return flight ticket from dubai to cochin and back, the payment was made online using my emirates bank card. I have attached the ticket mailed to me for your reference.

The scheduled flight from dubai to cochin was on 15th feb and upon reaching the airport we were informed that the flight was being cancelled due to technical issues and the alternative was to travel after 3 days or ask for a one way ticket refund. Since we had to travel urgent we contacted the jazeera airways office in dubai international airport and made arrangement for one way ticket to be refunded within 7 working days. (this I have signed and stamped from your office on my ticket). I was unhappy that this wasn’t informed to us earlier and we had to reach airport to find out about the cancellation, but in spite of that we decided to use the ticket for return journey.

A day before the journey (28th feb 2008), I had the good sense to check online if the flight is traveling as per schedule and I couldn’t even find my booking.

Upon contacting your al jazeera office in cochin I was informed that our tickets were cancelled for both ways. This was extremely frustrating and I checked my bank account for refund and this hasn’t reached my bank account till date!! Your cochin office had asked me to get in touch with kuwait office and they won’t be able to help me with alternative arrangements or won’t be able to tell me why my refunded amount hasn’t reached my bank.


To this end, I would request you to make arrangements for refund at the earliest possible to my account.

Regards,

Fidha sharaf

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Su
      22nd of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    I cancelled my ticket on 17th of April 2008 and they promise me to refund with 35 working days, today is 22 July 2008 still i am struggling to get my refund. With every single email and call they have some excuse. I dont know when i will get my money refund.

  • An
      24th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes
    Jazeera Airways - Excess of charges
    Jazeera airways
    Kuwait

    Jazeera airways cheats customer by charging excess money in credit card than the actual fare..I had been travelling with jazeer airways since last one year between Dxb-Del-Dxb..
    Fortunately i had a chance to compare the my credit statement with actual ticket value..The difference varied from 30 to 50 Dhs ( 600 INR) on each purchase of tickets..I had made some 15 bookings including my family members..So i lost around 750 Dhs ..This is very rediculous on the part of airlines to cheat the cusotmer in this way..

  • Kh
      8th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    your ticket price become over, and your offer just talking or jocking, problem with Alexandrya booking and always out from any offer, also you have no long time servies, only by avilable chances, we can't depend on you .

  • Sa
      11th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    can i know is there any cancellation in flight from 01 june 2009. if there plz forward the information . my mail . sangeeth_subhash@yahoo.com i am waiting for reply

Post your comment