SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Ja AlternativesPoor Quality

Jo Marlton, NJ Review updated:

Ja Alternatives use to be the one of the best hair systems for men in the Tri State area. I have been going there for many years. The past year I have noticed that their quality has gone down hill and their business shows it. I have noticed that this company has lost alot of business.. In the past year I have had alot of problems with their systems. The hair starts falling out in a week.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Marlton, NJ I feel that they are selling rejects to get their customers to come back to have hair added and charge out rage pricing. I feel that this is a way that they are recovering their lost of business. I was just there a week ago and the hair is coming out a lot again. I have spent $3, 000.00 and feel that I have been ripped off. I don't recommend anyone to do business with any of the Ja Alternative locations.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Di
      Oct 27, 2012

    The fact is, JA has been ripping off the public since inception. For example, in 2000, they
    Introduced "Paragon". What was Paragon? A stock hairpiece that they purchased for
    $60 and resold for $1700 with payment in advance. You could actually
    see the machine lines in the base, a blatant short cut from a custom-designed
    Hair piece.
    They also were charging, a decade ago, $100 for service that glued
    The hairpiece on. End results: nightmares-hairpiece falling off.
    This is modus operandi of the owner, Jane Genesi (nee Arce)
    She looks for ways to make large profits with outrageous cost-cutting measures.
    S

    +3 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @dick hertz Fake review. No need to look further than the fake name of the reviewer.

    +2 Votes
  • Je
      May 21, 2018

    @JA Alternatives I wrote that review. Used an alias since I was a former client

    I got smart. I took my own measurement (or you can send your unit to the vendor) I now purchase a 100% lace hairpiece by mail for 1/7 the price of JA, pay $35 for a cut-in. No more $200 services. I replace every 2-3 months

    -1 Votes
  • Je
      May 21, 2018

    @Jewdacrys p.s If you want fake, look at their operation. They prey on men with low self esteem. You want Fake? Look at the owner/actress in her infomercials. She's laughing all the way to the bank. Some years ago, when her controller nearly embezzled her into bankruptcy, she actually was humane for a minute.
    Btw her husband is bald.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 14, 2018

    @Jewdacrys What a joke. "Jewdacrys" "dickhertz" or what ever you call yourself, if you want to make a a legitimate complaint and have your review taken seriously why not leave your real name ?? Fake names, fake reviews. No one should take this person seriously.

    JA Alternatives has been in business for over 35 years. We have 7 locations, thousands or clients and we see over 1000 clients a week! We have a Steller reputation and are the best in the business. Most of our clients have been with JA since day one !

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 14, 2018

    @Jewdacrys If you want your review taken seriously, it would be "smart " to post your real name. Perhaps you can post a picture as well to show how "great" you hair that you purchase online looks.

    If anyone wants to see great hair please check out jaaalternatives.com we have tons of before and after photos .

    0 Votes
  • Sy
      Jun 16, 2018

    @JA Alternatives With proper lighting, and three stylists working on the client, of course it looks good.

    My last service visit was in the Manhattan office, and what I saw in the waiting room was frightening. The clients can't maintain the overpriced $2, 500 EHK unit. In a last ditch effort, they tried to sell me a stock unit, which costs you sixty bucks, with detectable machine lines, for $600.

    My 100% swiss lace unit is stellar. I wouldn't share any info with you, only to tell others caveat emptor.

    Farell manufactures domestically, not in a third world country, exploiting slave labor.

    -2 Votes
  • Ra
      Aug 25, 2018

    @JA Alternatives Hi jewdacrys I’ve been a hair replacement stylist for 25 years I have my ownn private practice with 75 happy clients .Ishow my clients where to purchase the best quality hair online about 180 a system and I just charge service fee if you or any body interested my salon in north shore I’ll leave email address for contact come for free consultation and see quality of my hair

    -4 Votes
  • Ke
      Jun 20, 2019

    @Rachael350 Very interested in your service. Please contact Ken Thompson at [protected] or [protected]@verizon.net.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Jul 29, 2019

    @Rachael350 Please let me know how I can contact you. My email is [protected]@gmail.com. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Sep 22, 2019

    @dick hertz An Open Message to any JA Alternatives Clients.

    The majority of these negative reviews are fake. JA Alternatives sees over 1500 clients a week. The majority of our clients have been with JA for 20 to 35 years. If there are any JA Alternatives clients that are unhappy with anything, please reach out to us anytime 24/7 at

    201

    368

    8900

    Ext. 39

    We will make it right at at ZERO COST TO YOU!!!

    Sincerely,

    JA Alternatives

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 21, 2013

    " i agree 100%, i was getting ripped off for years, now i found a company in pa. that is better and cheaper, and the hair comes cut and styled at no cost ! "[censored] JA and that phony jane !

    +1 Votes
  • Je
      May 21, 2018

    @marks222 Good for you. Wish I had known earlier

    +1 Votes
  • Le
      Sep 05, 2014

    I agree with the others in what they complained about. I purchased two replacement contracts. It cost me about $5000.00, only with each service having them to add hair, but to get it back with little or NO hair added.When the contract ended I would spend at least $300 to $500 each time I went for service. I had nothing but problems. All the ladies are very nice; BUT JUST TO YOUR FACE. I ; at one time, thought that JA was the best around. Not any more . Its not only Jane that is a PHONY, her employees too . My happy location is at 12E 46th St. Manhattan. I would trek from Staten Island, just to get ripped off ... THIS WILL SOON END.

    +1 Votes
  • Le
      Jan 07, 2017

    @Lester McCarthy This matter has been resolved

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @Lester McCarthy Thank you Lester. We are happy that your issue had been resolved.

    +1 Votes
  • Md
      Apr 27, 2015

    I couldn't agree more have been going there over twenty years and found in the last several years that the quality has fallen off drastically! I can't even wash it the replacement is dry and brittle and the hair falls out leaving massive bald spots and this on a new replacement! keep getting the run around as to why a new replacement is so dry and tangled, never used to be like that. often hear technicians talking poorly of other clients. when I threaten to call the main office to get answers I get standard evasive answers to my problems. can't believe I have to do comb overs with a new replacement in a matter of a month. what's the answer? they blame china and the process in which they produce them! what!. where's quality control in the organization?

    +2 Votes
  • Le
      Jan 07, 2017

    @m desousa Thanks to Jim McGowan & Lee Prayer this matter has been resolved.

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @m desousa Manny, it is unfortunate that your account was hacked and a fake review was posted. Thank you for being a loyal and happy client of JA Alternatives.

    -1 Votes
  • Fa
      Nov 16, 2018

    @JA Alternatives You actually are claiming that this persons conputer was hacked and login credentials stolen just so they could leave a fake review instead of just making an account? JA you’re better off not replying to any of the negative reviews. It’s bad marketing

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Sep 18, 2019

    @FaKe AcCoUnT/s To Fake account.

    Yes . This clients account was hacked. Please feel free to reach out to me anytime and I can put you in touch with this client or you are welcome to meet him in person in our office!! If you are legit let’s set it up !! I await you call.

    201

    368

    8900

    Ext. 39

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Apr 29, 2015

    OK KIMBERLEY HUG HERE IS ANOTHER COMPLAINT WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO SAY TO THAT. YOU ALL SUCK.

    +1 Votes
  • Md
      Jul 15, 2015

    unauthorized complaint on m desousa re; ja alternatives disregard. I have been completely satisfied with there work ethic and product. thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @mdesousa Thank you Manny for being a long term and happy client of JA. Unfortunately there are many fake reviews online and we are sorry that your account was hacked

    0 Votes
  • Md
      Jul 15, 2015

    furthermore I think sandy d. should get a lot of credit for the amount time, effort and support she gives on a day to day basis! I have been going there for years and she has been great to me. sorry someone accessed and used my name to bad mouth this company.

    0 Votes
  • Hu
      Dec 25, 2016

    @mdesousa Yes, Sandra Duva (nee Nowakowski) has been with Jane since inception. When she took maternity leave, she was demoted to technician, and has been one ever since. I guess when her husband built a beautiful custom-made home in Haledon that rivaled Jane's in Rockland, Jane pulled a power play. And Jane's husband is balder than a billiard! Talk about a gold digger.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @mdesousa We agree. Sandy Duva is a fantastic technician and manager. She has been with JA Alternatives for over 30 years and is truly a master of her craft. We are sorry that someone illegally accessed your account and left a fraudulent review .

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @HughGRection Fake review !!! "HughGRection". Come on!! You can't make this stuff up!! It is really said that some people have nothing better to do than to write fake reviews with even crazier screen names.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
      Nov 16, 2018

    @JA Alternatives mdesousa and m desousa are two different accounts lmfao YOU made a new account and used his name to creatr a fake review saying it was hacked. Lmfao this is [censored]ing gold

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 11, 2015

    I so concur with all the various comments from above. I had been a customer of JA in Marlton for more than 10 years. I started with Paragon and tape to hold it in place and then switched to a more updated product that had a thinner base and used all bond. I had nothing but issues for the last five years or so while a customer. I literally spent $3000 to $4000 a year for services, hair replacement, color, etc. The product was inferior. Hair would start falling out a month or so after I had the new unit installed. Jane had the audacity to say I was being rough with the hair. I am anything but rough while combing my unit. I always used a wide tooth comb and blow dried it softly. Also, I was constantly having to have color added. I would go for a service every three weeks and each service costs me over $200 between the hair adding and color replenishment. I complained to a friend of mine who is a hairdresser and knows of Jane's business and told me that she dropped the manufacturer of her hair units and bought a factory in China where she has the hair units made for cheap and inferior and charges exorbitant prices. The manufacturer found out and will no longer sell to her. She cuts corners at every chance and charges for services that are inferior. I have a friend that was a customer of her Manhattan location and he said he had the same problems, namely, hair falling out after a month and he was buying four units in one year! They are supposed to last much longer time than that. The staff is friendly, but false as well. I guess they have to be to keep their jobs. I found an outstanding hair replacement salon in Medford, NJ. I HIGHLY recommend it. I travel all the way from Blue Bell, PA. I would travel 1000 miles. This place is terrific and the hair units are superb and never lose hair. The owner and staff are wonderful and make you feel like part of the family. The salon is called Revive and I urge anyone who is not happy with JA to give it a try. You won't be sorry.

    +3 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @Daniel Cedrone Thank you Daniel for being a 10 year client of the JA Alternatives Marlton location. JA Alternatives has been in business for over 30 years and we have thousands of happy and satisfied clients. We would like to give a credit of $500 to trade in your current hair replacement from Revive toward our EHK hair replacement which is the most natural in the Industry. Please feel free to reach out to us anytime.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Oct 29, 2018

    @Daniel Cedrone I was also client of JA for 10+ years and were having the same issues as Daniel did and after looking else where we too became a client of Revive. Been with her for 2 years now. We highly recommend this salon for hair systems. They know how to style hair and keep you up to date with new styles and really spend time with you. They care that you are happy with the results.

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Jan 02, 2016

    I went to jail back in 80's or early 90's. I got the clip on hair price for 3000.00. I had changed the color of my hair and this piece couldnotbedyed it was not real hair. I went back to them and was going. To charge me again for another clip on
    So now I'm dealing with thinning hair. Today all I saw on tv was jam alternative. I'm Nottingham. Need to find another place.

    +2 Votes
  • Ch
      Feb 19, 2016

    Ja alternative needs someone to go under cover and find out for themselves!!

    +1 Votes
  • Pd
      Sep 27, 2016

    I have to agree wholeheartedly with Daniel Cedrone above who found his hair salon nirvana as did i and I have to thank him for leading me there.
    Interestingly I had been going to a salon and I employ the word loosely, called; Hair for Life in Englewood, NJ, which was the absolute worst experience in my life as a wearer and with that said, I would hasten to say, PLEASE stay away from their supposed "Interlok" system which is a joke and god awful ripoff, though for the record they did attempt a make good with two conventional hair replacement systems and the supposed make good was like a bad dream that just got progressively worse.
    So I'm at my dentist's office one night about a month or so ago and see the ad for J.A. then upon doing my due diligence and research I happen upon these complaints and read them all, however the most most intriguing and profoundly impacting one was Daniel's, which lead me to call Revive and first impressions being what they are, mine could not have been better - made a consultation appointment and the rest as some say is history for all that tried and failed me. I can not say enough superlatives to describe how much I love Revive in Medford and the entire staff.
    I have finally found a home for all my hair restoration needs and would HIGHLY recommend anyone and everyone looking to be treated with respect, compassion and the utmost professionalism, to call Revive, today!

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Nov 07, 2016

    I went to JA from 1987 to 1999 all of the complaints above are true, I had them all, I spent thousands every year, in Paramus, NJ.
    Walking out one day a guy stopped me and asked how to you like my hair I used to me a customer here.
    I said it looks great, he said I went to a doctor in Garden City LI. He did a surgical procedure taking hair from the back of his head down by the neck, those hair folica never die. Long and the short of it I went twice at 3, 000 a pop, in 1999 and I still have almost a full head of hair. I don't remember his name you'll have to google him this is the best thing I ever did for my self, stop getting ripped off by Jane the nasty lady.
    Now a question, when I first starting going their they put the piece on with silecon, they stop that saying there was problems with it. They then starting using a glue it was like crazy glue. Now 17 years later the spots that they put the glue on itch like crazy anybody else having this problem?

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @Maywood This review is laughable . A client of Paramus NJ walks out of the office and there just happens to be a client who used to go to JA who had a transplant and approaches him and recommends a Dr . In Garden City Long Island. Really??? This fake review was posted in November but should have been for "April Fools"

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Nov 07, 2016

    This is the place for hair replacement in LI.
    http://hrcli.com/
    He does a great job it looks great not like Bosely, check it out you'll be much happier and save money in the long run and it's all your own hair. I go to a barber instead of paying JA $300 every three weeks.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @Maywood Fake ad by competitor!! What a joke!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Nov 07, 2016

    Sorry that's not the place above after looking further into it. This place is like JA but in the same area the Doctor I went to is in.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jan 07, 2017

    A few years ago, I posted a complaint. Now, thanks to Jim McGowan & Lee Prayer the matter has been resolved. I am also happy to say that I will be returning to J A Alternatives with in the week. Plus J A has the best replacements I have tryed

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @Lester McCarthy Thank you Lester for your kind review

    0 Votes
  • To
      Nov 08, 2017

    I had been a customer of JA Alternatives in Paramus, N.J. for over 20 years and, really never had any problems or concerns with the quality of hair or, their service. However, a few weeks ago, I had booked an appointment for a replacement hair piece and, was informed that, I could come in and pay for the piece but, it would be a 3 month wait before the piece was available. That is when I took the advice of the poster on this forum and visited Tara at Revive By Tara in Medford, N.J.
    After a very pleasant complimentary consultation, Tara explained to me that, she could have the piece in a week. I just couldn't believe that this relatively small salon in comparison to JA Alternatives would be able to satisfy me so quickly.
    I returned to the salon yesterday, Nov. 7, 2017 and, received the installation. Tara's service was very professional and, un-hurried. But, most importantly, the hair piece came out magnificent...I'm so glad that I found her information on this board...Tony Shans

    +2 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @Tony Shans Hi Tony,

    Thank you for being our customer for over 20 years. I'm not sure why you were told that it would take 3 months for your hair to come in? JA Alternatives has its own factory and with seven locations we can have hair for you most times on the same day you come in! We welcome you to come back and experience our EHK hair replacement which is the best in the industry. JA Alternatives will give you a $500 credit toward an EHK when you trade in your current hair replacement from Revive.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Mar 25, 2018

    I have been a customer of JA Alternatives Paramus Office for almost 15 years. Hands down this is the best hair replacement company around. The product looks great, and the staff treats you like family. You can also reach the owner Jim any time as his cell phone number is prominently displayed at the front desk. The manager Lee who has been with JA forever gives the clients his own cell number as well and he will responsed to any questions or concerns literally 24/7!! I give JA 5 stars all the way around. They are In a league of their own!!

    +2 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 11, 2018

    @Timothy O' Thank you so much Tim for the 5 star review . JA Alternatives has been in business for over 30 years and we always strive to give our customers a five star product and experience .

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Sep 09, 2018

    This company is beyond amazing.!! I was going out of state on a last minute business trip. I called for a same day service appointment on a Saturday at the Paramus Office so my hair would look great for my trip. They were full booked and did not have any available appointments . When I explained that I was leaving that night they said that that they would stay open after hours to accommodate me. The office closes at 2pm on a Saturday and they stayed open until 6pm so I would be able to come in and get serviced. When I asked what the extra charge would be for them staying open 4 hours after closing they told me that there is no extra charge and it was their pleasure to accommodate me. Wow!! It gets even better. I was in a rush to get to the airport and I forgot my shampoos and products that I purchased at the office. I called and asked if they can mail it to my destination. The manager Lee told me not to stress and that he would personally drive to the airport and meet me so i would have my products and I would have peace of mind on my trip. He met me at the airport and delivered my products. I was flabbergasted !! This type of personalized service from such a large company is unheard of these days. I can't thank JA Alternatives enough!! I highly recommend this company to everyone . They will exceed your expectations ten fold. JA Alternatives, you guys are amazing!! Best of the Best and then some !!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 05, 2019

    @Timothy O' Sadly, not what they used to be. I have used them for over20 years. This past year and a half I have seen the quality of their product decline. Each of the following has occurred: hair fell out of one of the replacements; hair has a very synthetic look (cheap wigs look more natural); cap fittings are off; etc. I am now researching to find an alternative to JA Alternatives.

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Sep 18, 2019

    @MarlowM Hi Marlow M,

    I can not find your name in any of our offices data base. If you are an actual client please reach out to me anytime and we will make it right at no charge to you. Please call anytime at 201

    368

    8900

    Ext 39

    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Sep 22, 2019

    @MarlowM Marlow,

    I respectfully disagree with you. JA is 5 Stars all the way! I’m not sure what location you go to but I go to the Paramus Office. The manager Lee who has been there for over 20 years goes above and beyond to satisfy clients. He is available 24/7. I once texted him at 3am in the morning with a minor issue and he responded within 10 minutes and resolved my issue beyond my expectations!!! The EHK replacement is the best hair in the industry and I have tried other places before JA and they can not compete with JA. I would give them a call and ask to speak to the manager Lee. I guarantee that he will do what ever is possible to make you happy . I can’t thank JA enough for giving me my my confidence back!!

    +1 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 13, 2019

    I've been at JA for over five years and the product and service has been great. I started on the Concentrix system and then upgraded to the EHK. It's amazing, it's so real it's like having your own hair. The staff is great, and I have met the owner Jane several times and she is a lovely lady who's always willing to listen and help out if you have any concerns. I can tell you personally after speaking with her that she really takes pride in her product and strives to deliver the best hair systems in the business. And the EHK is the best out there! Everyone says my hair looks amazing! I've seen some of the other competitors hair systems and they are not even close to the authenticity and quality of the EHK. I'm on a service plan so I pay once yearly and then get coloring and hair replacement as part of my service at no extra charge. The support staff, Lee and Sandy, go out of there way to take care of their clients. Look, I can be a fussy person, and not always the easiest to please, but JA has never let me down and even surpassed my expectations in service and product quality. Most importantly to me, JA has given me something I haven't had since I was a teenager, A GREAT head of hair! So for me, finding this company was like a dream come true. I Couldn't be happier! And if you need to speak with me to verify this is a genuine review, JA has my permission to give my number out so I can personally attest to there product and service and be of help to anyone looking for a great hair replacement option. Sincerely, Dan McCaffrey

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Sep 18, 2019

    @dan mccaffrey Hi Dan,

    Thank you so much for the 5 Star review!!! It is so nice of you to offer your number to speak to potential clients about your fantastic experience at JA. We see over 1500 happy clients a week . It is a shame that there are so many false reviews on this site. The majority of the negative reviews are false and they are not from actual clients!!! If there are any actual real clients in this site that had a negative experience please reach out to JA anytime at [protected] ext 39. We will make it right guaranteed !!

    Thanks again Dan. You are an amazing client and we all thank you for your business and friendship.

    Sincerely,

    Lee

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Sep 18, 2019

    @JA Alternatives You can us at any time

    201

    368

    8900

    Ext 39

    0 Votes

Post your comment