SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

International Society of PoetsPoetry contests

1 Review updated:

Roksana:

No, you don't have to do anything if you didn't want to get your award! I am a distingushed member of the international society of poets and have been for years.

I have been published in the poetry books and on the tapes several times, i did purchase first book i was published in because i wanted to, not because if i didn't my poem wouldn't be published!

People amaze me, just because you recieve these offers does not mean you are being scammed, it is up to you as to what it is you want to do.

Just to let you know, that it is because of the poetry society that i actually self - published my very first poetry book in 2003.

Keep trying roksana and you will get there. Don't let your feelings turn you into a skeptic as the only thing that will create for you, is self doubt and you will not succeed in your writing endeavors.

I do have to add that i consider myself very fortunate as i travel along my path here, i have come across some very good people who have become my mentors, so i gusee what i'm telling you, if it happened for me, it can happen to you.

Go to my website and check it out and maybe you will see what i mean, ok?

Best wishes for your endeavors

Http: / / www. Cloudfreelancewriting.com

Linda l cloud

More International Society of Poets Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Mr
      Mar 29, 2009
    International Society Of Poetry - Membership & contest access
    International Society of poets
    Verwood
    England, Dorset
    United Kingdom
    Phone: [protected]
    [protected]@hotmail.com

    Access and recognition to membership and programs in general

    +1 Votes
  • No
      Jun 05, 2010

    I had my poem published in one of their books. I think it was called "footprints" Does anyone know if you can still get a copy of it? When I moved mine got lost and I would really like a copy of it.

    +1 Votes
  • Se
      Jun 10, 2010

    I was published by them a few times... One of their books actually had 3 of mine in it, and my best friend got the book and was surprised to see my writing in it... I only purchased th book from my first one, 39.99 + S&H, not a bad deal for a book of poetry to be mailed to you... Sadly enough, it is mid 2010 and I am just learning that all the old poetry that was there is gone... That sucks... I had a lot there... And as for the people all saying that it's a scam because they send invitations and bulk-work mail to people, it was an invitation thet sent to EVERYONE, and if you read carefully, it says you "COULD BE A FINALIST", not that you are... I had purchased tickets for one of them in 2004, but could not attend, so I had people go in my place, and it was perfectly acceptable since the tickets were paid for, and it was a full c0nvention of unknown poets, as well as a few well known people; musician, song writers and even a few novelists... All that stuff you got extra is just bulk mail, advertising themselves to you when you are already tryin to be part of their organization; a flawed, but legitimate, practice... I've seen many things about people calling it a scam, all for the same reasons, and what everyone needs to realize, every convention that spans accross the country is about the same cost, or more, to attend... And to be in a book with other poets, you only have to pay if you want a copy of the book. Getting free publication is a gift for those of us who can not afford to publish ourseves... Why complain about $40 for a book, when REAL SELF PUBLICATION costs upwarrds 100s of dollars? Where is the problem i this business? My only real problem is the new owner of poetry.com does not have the old poetry.com poems on record, so everything I never wrote down of mine is lost; unless someone knows where it might be online.

    0 Votes
  • Lx
      Sep 19, 2019

    @sethfear You may want to try www.archive.org to retrieve old content of the website. They keep copies for good.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Jul 23, 2010

    I had 2 poems published in the books, I am pleased that my poems were alongside of the other great poems that I read in thoose books.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Jul 31, 2010

    To: Linda

    I'm happy for you that you have had a good experience with the International Society of Poets. However, I still believe that this organization was more focused on making money off of poets rather than choosing poems based on quality and merit. I don't believe that an organization should charge someone to mail them an award that they've won.

    Congratulations on your success, and good luck in the future.

    Roksana

    0 Votes
  • Ku
      Aug 12, 2010

    I am poet of the year 2006 i won 20, 000 dollers and 10, 000 publishing but i didnt get it because i didnt do anything bout it

    -1 Votes
  • Some people need to wake up.
    Award, published, inducted into, or what may be the case, The point is not only whatever they stated about it, there is also another subject to be addressed here. They took my poem. Which were my thoughts, words, and writings, without my agreement, with no signed release forms, no correction's or as is submission form and published it in a book without my permission. They then put it on a CD. They then offered it to be put on there items through the US MAIL, internet and overseas. There was a price put on these items, not just for the people whom had poems there. Therefore I understand this to be called theft from me and money made off my property without me knowing or authorizing. I have the forms they sent, that I never returned. I printed MY POEM off their internet site of poetry.com. Oh, they had printed my name to it, I assume that is forgery and they added a copyright date. Would you like me to attend 1 of those whatever you called it, to help you understand. Wake up! They have broken law after law and you see nothing they have done wrong? You stated you have a college education! I won't touch that.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Apr 12, 2011

    i ordered the book with my poem in it and it was supposed to come with a free gift. i recived the free gift (a holder for the book with my name on the side) but still havnt gotten the book. its been over a year.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Apr 16, 2011

    I have been a "Lifetime Member" for over 20 years, but moved and have not heard from you for a long time. I went to several huge convenentions, made great friends there, and published several things with the ISP.

    I am currently working on my dissertation involving the subject of poetry. Please reconnect me to your mailing list.

    Richard A. Nelson
    13405 Old Hickory Blvd
    Cane Ridge, TN 37013

    (former address):
    6524 Holt Road
    Nashville, TN 37210 or 37211

    0 Votes
  • Su
      May 28, 2011

    Actually the only complaint I have is that I never turned up to their syposiums and conventions twice a year. I missed out on at least
    $5000 each time and awards. Many people who made complaints actually received the above money and awards. That's enough for a trip or
    a car, so what are they complaining about. I have actually spoken to people who say it was no scam but a real event twice a year - just as it said
    on their invitations they received. Talk about interpretations.
    I had poems published but have never seen them for my own eyes. I live such a long way away. I was worried I wouldn't receive their books.

    Good luck to a good society wherever they may be.

    Kindest regards
    Suzanne Bradshaw
    Australia.

    0 Votes
  • Gu
      May 28, 2011

    This organization is a scam.
    I was also "published in their books" awarded for my poetry etc.
    I ordered the book, it never came

    0 Votes
  • Gu
      May 28, 2011

    Been 10 years since I ordered my book, never got it.
    Went to two award ceremonies, .. one in LA one in DC..
    this place should be reported for abuse

    +1 Votes
  • Am
      Jun 18, 2012

    For the person that said they never added their name or copyright date. They added that as a courtesy to you. When you enter your name as the author, that means simply that you are the author of that poem. Yes, I do believe their actions to be classified as theft as far as selling the material that we had to pay for. I am still looking for my copyrighted poems, and cannot find them. It is a shame they published poetry that should've been shredded and so made all of us that actually wrote decent poetry look like fools alongside those individuals who have no true talent for writing. I apologize to anyone that may insult, but I tell it like it is. The truth is, I agree with others who have expressed that the words they wrote were their thoughts, their words, their feelings, and their property. It is unfortunate that Lulu.com is just as bad. They acquired poetry.com and along with it, the rights to ALL poetry that had previously been published on that site. It was then and remains their responsibility to rectify this. Those peoms are somewhere, and I'd be willing to bet that Lulu.com knows where.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Dec 22, 2013

    I dont agree with anything you say, I will kepp my poems and I will die with them, never again !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Dec 22, 2013

    I you think yourself to be a poet, read them for your friends and save your money, ISP stole my money and my poems. Those who are saying good things abour Mr, Howard El ET AL are complices. You believe them, you are dead. I will not send a word of insult to those sons of ...!!! Take care !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Jul 09, 2014

    i attended a convention and had a blast. It was all it was said it would be and more. The prizes were wonderful. I met people from around the world and received wonderful Bronze Medals for the years I was a member. I can't understand why people are filing complaints. It was a most memorable convention and wonderful to be among so many wonderful poets including famous poets who donated their time for workshops.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Mar 11, 2015

    I am Lewis Feinland. I was an original member of the International Society of Poets in [protected] & was honored to be offered lifetime membership, as it were. Since then, I've published my first manuscript "From the Year Infinity": available for sale on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Kindle (copyright 2013) about a timeless mission to mend the very fabric of the Time/ Space Continuum thanks to and due to time travel unto this temporal rift in writ existence beyond time and its repercussions, including the reality of events unto eventual salvation. I would be very honored to become a member of once again. I was very pleased and proud with the details and materials of my belonging, and I would like to send you my magnum opus poem, recently completed, much like the synopsis of my aforementioned SCI-FI novel. Please send the package of paraphernalia necessary with which to rejoin to the following address:
    Lewis Feinland
    37 Clifford Av
    Stamford, CT
    06905

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Sep 10, 2015

    What I want to know is when they went out of business and what became of the poems that were posted in their website.
    There is a poetry website of the same name as their site (poetry.com) but it doesn't have the poems, and is completely different.
    To think how many times I entered their contest and posted on their site, and how un-accessible my posted poems are, both online and off line, it's depressing.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Sep 14, 2015

    I had a stroke in 1996 yet I published a poem about it in "The Sands Of Time " my book is right in front of me and I've also got a plaque on my wall and I also have another poem in "Feilds Of Gold" am I being ripped off because I was going to publish 2 more poems ????
    n.[protected]@shaw.ca. Nancy- Marie Janalee Chambers ( Calgary, Alberta)

    0 Votes
  • De
      May 08, 2018

    I attended two conventions in Florida, in 2004 and 2005, received awards for 7 or 8 poems submitted to the society and which were published in hard-cover books which I sent for and paid for, delighted to discover that in each book my poem was the first of many in the book, a simple task with cut and paste computers; and yes, they were stroking my ego, but so what? I still reckon I got value. I have also recently self-published a limited edition of my own poetry.
    Sorry if anyone thought they were being ripped off, as I have no complaints - and had a ball at the conventions!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Apr 04, 2019

    I entered some poems over the years since joining and only found out recently when trying to find them on their website they are no longer there. Very disappointed as these were very meaningful to me at the time of writing and I did copyright these. Is there anything I can do to locate them?

    Any info please email: [protected]@hotmail.co.uk

    Many thanks

    0 Votes

Post your comment