SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

H&R Blocktax error

Review updated:

I was notified by the irs that h&r block, the company that did my taxes, made a significant error on my 2017 tax return. Due to the h&r block error, I ended up owing $12, 900 more to to the irs including penalties. The person that did my taxes forgot to include income from a real estate partnership.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Las Vegas, NV Granted, under the peace of mind program I expect to receive the full $5, 000 reimbursement from h&r block plus payment for interest and penalties, this still leaves me owing $3, 900 to the irs. Also I don't know how much I might end up owing in state taxes. I feel that h&r block was negligent in figuring my taxes out and made a blatant and ovious error. I was wondering if I should receive funds to cover my full liability to the irs from them or who I can complain to.

Tt
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sa
      Mar 24, 2008
    H&R Block - scam and rip off!
    H&R Block
    Douglasville
    Georgia
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    The IRS submitted my tax refund to H&R Block Bank on February 25, 2017. It is now March 24th and I still have not received my refund. I have been transferred so many time I lost count. I have been on hold an excess of 1 1/2 hours with H&R Block Bank and to date have still been unable to reach someone concerning my refund.

    THIS IS A BIG SCAM... THEY ARE NO MORE THAN THIEVES and I WILL TELL EVERYONE TO BE WARE AND NOT TO EVER USE THIS SERVICE!!

    I am going to contact an attorney tomorrow and see what I can do.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Apr 02, 2008

    I also filed my taxes on feb 27th and i finally recieved them april 1st the catch is that i filed them so that i would recieve them back in 8-15 days. hahaha! what a fool was i to trust h&r block. after calling several time complaining that i was charged a fee to recieve my taxes back quickly they assured me that the amount would not be taken from my taxes but guess what they took the fee anyway. how can they get away with this. this tax year has been a complete headache for everyone and i will never use h&r block or their services again.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Apr 14, 2008
    H&R Block - they really aren't professionals!
    H&R Block
    United States

    I Have my own accountant and have used them for years. Had them do my own taxes but needed to file my girlfriends. She moved to the USA from Canada half way through the year and my accountant said no problem but it will have to be after the 15th when things open up. So I called H&R. Well when I got there and they saw there was another country involved they freaked. They called one person locally and asked what they should do. That person said that I would have to go to some main office 30 miles away. Even they made it sound to be big thing but couldn't fit me in. The office I went to was drab. No magazines, only two people working there that also had to answer calls and they could only do the very basics. This was the final days before the 15th and they only had 2 people and no one answering phones or greeting anyone. Cheap Bs. I'll never go to H&R again. Just imagine if they did do the taxes. They would screw up the write offs and who knows what. Just find a real accountant that people recommend and have been using for years.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 26, 2008

    I have gone to H & R Block for tax preparation for years and customarily pay no more than $400.00 for the year's tax filing. This year on 4/7/08, I was charged $823.00!

    0 Votes
  •   May 06, 2008
    H&R Block - you don't have people
    H&R Block
    United States
    www.hrblock.com

    I used H&R Block because I couldn't get a hold of my usual tax-preparer. The agent set my bank account routing number from a drop down window, and I said that we should check it because my account was with a subsidiary of the bank in question. I retuned with my check book and gave him the CORRECT routing number and was assured that my 1040 would be updated before it was sent out.

    My tax rebate and 2017 incentive package never arrived because the routing number for my bank account was wrong. Instead the IRS is sending a check and I can't afford the airline tickets that I desperately needed for my wife and me to come home!

    They offered me no refund for preparation fees and refused any attempt at rectifying THEIR mistake. With H&R Block you DON'T have people!

    0 Votes
  •   May 15, 2008
    H&R Block - we're disappointed
    H&R Block
    United States
    www.hrblock.com

    Mrs. M slang and ibonnie s. Greinerthave not receive our new client check in the mail yet. We both saw greg j. At the hr block office on 27thstreet across from wal-mart. We both in apartments at 2240 w. Layton ave. Milwaukee, wi.53221bonnie greinert#218and mrs. M slang #208. Thank you for your help. Bonnie greinert

    P. S. We saw greg j. A senior account at hr block the first part of march of 2017. When will receive our checks. Mrs. M. Slang is very upset about not receiving her check yet. She will not go back to hr block again.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      May 28, 2008

    From what you say, you have a very valid complaint. H&R Block's rules (which might be IRS rules too, I'm not sure) are to obtain a voided check and get the routing numbers off the check. Even a deposit ticket is not supposed to be used, only a check. I'm not sure entirely from your complaint where the routing number originally entered came from, but it does not seem to be from the actual check. This was a mistake on H&R Block's part and since there would be no way to rectify it after it was sent to the IRS, at the very least, you should have your fees refunded. If you can't get satisfactory results from anyone in the office, you should take your complaint to a District Manager.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      May 28, 2008

    Foreign source income can be complicated. Learning tax topics like this is not something that is tackled until a preparer has been working a few years. It would have been unprofessional for the preparers in the local office to prepare your girlfriends return if they were not skilled in foreign source income. Directing you to a main office where there was someone skilled in this area was in your best interest, and the right thing to do. Instead you seem put off. Taking a complicated tax return to ANY preparation company only a few days before the 15th is not wise, as they are all going to be busy. For all you know, the office might have been short handed due to illness or some other matter.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Jan 30, 2009
    H&R Block - ral rip off
    California
    United States

    I paid h&r block for the rapai refund that was supposed to be deposited on and emerald card. They denyed me the ral loan. H&r block has not adjusted what they were charging me for the ral. I have been having them do my taxes for the past 5 years wiht no problem. I want to know why I did not get the loan, and where my money from my taxes is. I want to know what is going on with them. I also want my money back that they charged me for a service they did not perform.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Jan 31, 2009

    Yea same thing here...filed taxes on January 14, IRS accepted them on the 19th. If I was turned down for the RAL I would then get the RAC which I was to recieve no later than January 30th. I called and spoke with H&R block about this and was told there was an error in the computer system as far as the rebate was concerned and that I wouldnt get my refund until Febuary 24th. I also paid $262.00 to have my taxes done by them, I am very upset due to this being my only source of money coming in. I have a good job, however due to the lack of work I have been layed off until May with only $98.00 a week coming in. I think they should have to give us some kind of a discount on our taxes at H&R block due to not being able to fulfill their obligations to us as customers. I keep telling myself ...shoulda, coulda, woulda, filed them some where else and at least I wouldnt feel like I over paid someone to do my taxes. I only went there because I need them now, wasn't prepared to have to wait almost 2months for H&R block to get my refund at such a costly expense. Good luck to you, hope all works out.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Feb 02, 2009

    their inability to deliver a service that they offer is a complete scam, I hope enough people are able to get together to get to the bottom of this problem, which seems to stem back to hsbc bank and thier recent undisclosed changes to (RAL) loan criteria, hope this gets resolved for others sake

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Apr 06, 2009
    H&R Block - emerald green card
    H & R Block
    Tampa
    Florida
    United States

    I received my tax return on the "Emerald Green Card" with H&R Block. I mysteriously have charges on my account that I did not make. They cannot verify them and say they were not posted although it shows it ran through when you call the 1800 number for Transaction History. They are Scamming Moneys

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Sep 29, 2009
    H&R Block - beware
    H&R Block
    United States
    hrblock.com

    My husband and I filed our taxes for 2017 at h&r block in feb. 2017 and we always have had a decent experience. All the times we go we get an anticipation loan and we wait to see if we are approved. Then when we are we get our $. And we always were. But this time the lady (Darlene shrag) had said that we "can get a check today" with the anticipation instant loan... Wich we thought was the same exact loan we have always received, "anticipation loan" just faster (In an instant) , instead of 2days-2wks for approval, we got it that day. Well were we wrong, it was an instant anticipation loan but a different type an anticipation loan. It is not approved, h&r block basically "does a gamble on you" (The distric manage georgette rollin explained, after everything was said and done) "they say you guys are good customers" and we are basically good for it. I was not informed of this, neighther was my spouse. Everything was already said and done and I called to complain about it. When I was signing papperwork she (The receptionist at h&r) said nothing of the sort she just said that "the instant anticipation loan is so you can get your check today instead of waiting". I was under the impression that this was already approved and we (And our taxes) were good for it. But it was not that at all, and it wasn't explained like this, otherwise I would've said no thank. And that is because I have some back taxes I know could show up at any time when we do our taxes, I told the district mngr. "and if I knew that h&r was just" "gambling" (I quote dist. Mngr. Georgette rollin) "with it's customers I would've refused and it would have been completely out of the question. "

    After we did our taxes at h&r, several weeks later irs sent us a letter stating that we have back taxes and owe them our tax returns, and the letter stated it took all our returns! I couldn't believe what was going on! And this is after we had already paid our current bills with the "instant anticipation loan". So the loan people didn't get paid by our tax returns and are telling us to pay them $597.00 as a first payment to start paying them there $ that was loaned thru h&r. After speaking with the manager at the h&r on 35 ave I asked why it wasn't explaid this way she said, "i don't know I wasn't there" and I asked her why they approved me for a loan I shouldn't have been approved for? And she said "how can I believe you I wasn't there" and she also said "i don't know" when I told her why wasn't the vital information explained to us? And it is now putting us in further with back taxes, and when I asked if her 2 employees that assisted us knew how to do there job, she said "idon't know, I don't care" so I asked well are you not the manager? And she was about to hang up because I had all these questions and concerns along with complaints. So in the end of talking to her I asked if there are a lot of complaints about these types of things and she said, "no".

    But when I called the district manager she said, "unfortunately we get a lot of complaints and phone calls about this". She told me she would have to do some research about this and get back to me.

    I am very upset by the fact that we go to these tax places for them to help us and explain to us what is going on and we trust them to know what we need to know... All the details.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Oct 26, 2009
    H&R Block - do not go there!
    H&R Block
    Plano
    Texas
    United States

    I went to H&R block for the first time 11 years ago. It's been a nightmare ever since. I paid my fee to the agent helping me each time 150+ dollars for each year. Turns out the IRS has sent me bill after unpaid with interest bill for almost every year because something wasn't paid for filed in a timely matter. This is absurd and the bills from the IRS just keep pouring in. $5, ooo later and I have a new bill for $670. It's crazy, all this time I thought I was paid, clear and doing the right thing in trusting H&R block!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Mar 21, 2010

    I'm not sure what to make of your complaint. The filing deadline is usually April 15th.
    Are you going to the tax office before or after that date. If you are going in after and you owe the IRS on your return, you can expect a late filing penalty and interest. If you are self-employed you should be making quarterly tax payments. If you are truly doing everything correctly on your end and H&R Block has failed to file on time for 11 years, then for god's sake man go to Liberty Tax Service or a CPA or something.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Mar 22, 2010

    Oh boy. Let me get this straight. You thought you could cheat the United States government by not paying the taxes you owed and now you want to cheat H&R Block by not paying for the tax preparation you received? You say H&R Block didn't explain "vital information", but apparently you thought it was ok to omit vital information from your tax pro when you failed to tell him that you had back tax issues with the IRS. Amazing!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Oct 20, 2010
    H&R Block - incompitence
    H&R Block
    Buford
    Georgia
    United States

    This office does not understand the First Time Home Buyers Tax Credit. My 21 year old son bought his first house and met all of the qualifications for the tax credit. He bought the home along with his older brother, who does not qualify for the tax credit. Under the IRS guidlines, unmarried co-borrowers can still qualify for the tax credit...with the full credit going to the tax payer who qualified. In contrast, married co-borrowers must both qualify or niether tax payer qualifies for the credit.
    My son has gone into the same office three times and has recieved three different outcomes. First they told him that, since he and his brother weren't married, he didn't qualify. Next, he was told that he didn't qualify at all, married or otherwise. And yesterday he was told that he will recieve a $4700 refund/ credit! They based the $4700 credit on a calculation that since he only owns half of the house he only recieves half of the credit! He should recieve the full $8000 credit. I even attempted to read the preparer the code straight from IRS.Gov, Forbes.com, Bloomberg.com and other publications.
    My son heard the preparers refer to other similar instances where married couples, where only one qualified, recieved the tax credit ( whistle blowing!...can you hear it?) and how others like him did not...( how much money has this office cost other filers or how many future audits did it cause?). My calls to 1-800-hrblock have only frustrated the situation by requiring me to talk to a woman ( Britany) who was more interested in talking over me and at me than she was in answering a simple tax question related to the tax credit. Interestingly, every main H&R Block office ( Atlanta, Savannah, Augusta, Columbia, etc) that answered my question..."Hey, I bought a house with my brother and met all of the requirements for the tax credit, but my brother does not...do I qualify for the credit? Yes. Can you do my ammended return? Yes.
    We will straighten this out...but beware. H&R Block almost cost my son $8000. By the way...the Buford, Georgia office ( the one that got paid for services) has yet to call us back as promised and advised us to go ahead and file the $4700 ammended return and ..." if we find out that we were wrong...come back in and we will file another ammended return for you".
    Ron Peavey
    Buford, Ga.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Oct 21, 2010

    I will never go to H and R Block again. One year, my ex husband and I were told that we had to pay out four hundred dollars in taxes. Thank goodness the IRS caught the stupid tax agent mistake and sent us back our money! When we went back to demand a refund, for the man's mistake, they refused. These people are totally incompetent!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Oct 21, 2010

    This credit has been a source of confusion for many tax preparers. The original credit was in fact a loan. The Homebuyer Assistance and Improvement Act of 2017 has modified the credit yet again. I pray for the day when the government stops inflating the mortgage bubble, but that's a topic for another day.

    U.S. tax code is so complex at this point, that no one understands all of it.

    Regardless, I am sorry to hear that your son's preparer dropped the ball.

    With that said, every taxpayer should learn as much as they can.

    Whether we like it or not the IRS will hold every individual responsible for their own return, regardless who actually prepared it.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Jan 07, 2011
    H&R Block - not fast or accurate
    H&R Block
    United States

    Last year I decided to do my taxes online with H&R Block because they "guaranteed" a "fast and accurate" return. I paid for their premium program. After entering in all my info and answering the questions, I e-filed my return. Upon reviewing it, I realized that I had been given a credit that I didn't qualify for. I went back and reviewed my answers just to make sure that it wasn't my mistake and then got online with one of their tax experts. After about 45 min., she told me via email that it appeared to be a software glitch and she was going to notify the tech dept. so they could get it fixed right away. Except now I had just paid for faulty software and have to repay $1000 and go through the hassle of ammending my taxes next year. After a number of phone calls where I received the run around, I sent a copy of the email and my complaint to corporate asking for a refund, given that they did NOT stand by their guarantee. That was 10 months ago. No answer and no effort to fix things. There are a lot of free tax prep programs online. I would NOT choose to go with H&R Block online in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
      Feb 05, 2011
    H&R Block - taxes
    H&R Block
    Cheyenne
    Wyoming
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    I think your a rip off and a fraud you falsly advertive and u rip young women off... ### u people you lost a lot of people on my end... ### yourselves verry much choke on a ###!!!

    0 Votes
  • To
      Feb 05, 2011

    ###ing amen brother. ### em!

    0 Votes
  • To
      Feb 05, 2011

    ###ing right on. Fully agree!

    -1 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 05, 2011

    oh dear heavens .. if you have a complaint atleast explain it... not just curse alot and leave it at that you trash talking twit. Im sure H & R Block is real worried about an upstanding woman such as yourself who speaks so well. ( and the tons of people who would have you as thier friend)

    +2 Votes
  • Fa
      Feb 05, 2011

    ### off it was my sister they made promices and ripped her money off might as well be that ### we got for a president and my freinds would take your life...eat a dick

    -4 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 05, 2011

    great arguement fastcat... there is a way to prove your point. foul mouth and racist... and H & R Block is what is wrong with this country . RIIIIGHT!

    +1 Votes
  • Fa
      Feb 05, 2011

    I'm a discruntle male you dumb ### stealth pilot! And my sister works for great lakes airlines she's verry much a legal worker what are u a boarder jumper or a doon coon I bet huh ###

    -2 Votes
  • Fa
      Feb 05, 2011

    No H&R Block is one of my last straws with this country and no I'm not raceist there's a ### in every croud! I'm as black as it gets

    -2 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 06, 2011

    Then get your ignorant, non spelling behind on the closest plane and move to another country. Im sure they would be glad to have you and your sister.

    +2 Votes
  • Ma
      Feb 10, 2011

    WTF is a discruntle??

    +3 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 10, 2011

    probably the same as a doon coon .. LOL

    +2 Votes
  • Mi
      Mar 11, 2011

    H&R Block's guarantee is that they will pay any Penalties and Interest that is a result of their mistake. If there was a software glitch, that would fall under the guarantee. Once you amend your return (they should do that for free - and don't wait until next year GET IT DONE NOW), and return the extra 1000 that you received, the IRS will send you a bill for any penalties and interest. Take that bill to your H&R Block's DISTRICT office and they should pay it for you. There is no "guarantee" that you will recieve a refund of your fees or anything else, although receiving your fees back would be something I would do. Don't email them stuff or even rely on phone calls especially to Corporate - GO PHYSICALLY TO THEIR DISTRICT OFFICE IN YOUR AREA!!

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Aug 09, 2011
    H&R Block - poor service
    H&R Block
    United States

    I wouldn't go to H&R block ever again. THey didn't put a form in with the paperwork that was sent to the IRS. Now due to their mistake it will be a 5 month delay. We should have got the money back in april but now its going to be august. All they can telll me is that their sorry and that they pray i can get it sooner. To top it off a lady out of texas was supose to call me by 5pm. She did call but it was at 11pm that night. To top it off they charged me to do our W2's and turned around and charged us again to do the first time home buyers credit. I will not be going back to them ever. I would never recomend anyone going there.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
      Jan 27, 2012

    Agree I had to call them several times for a problem they started. I looked up my account the other day and everytime I called them there was a $1 - taken off. Also we were told the funds would be posted on the 25th now here it is the 27 still no $$$ wheres my money H&R. I had had H&R do my taxes for over 10 years, and this will be the last.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jan 30, 2012

    Their error cost me a thousand bucks. They're incompetent.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Feb 02, 2013
    H&R Block - tax return
    1894 Dooley town road
    Statham
    Georgia
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    I have been using h&r block for 18 years. But this year I moved to ga the person who did my taxes was not very good. He seemed to be upset because I had some from nh and some from Georgia. I don't believe he did it right, never asked about head of household or anything. I am getting back the same amount as someone who made a third of what I did. I am not satisfied with h&r this year next year I will seriously think of going elsewhere. Just letting you know.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Feb 04, 2013

    I am living in Richmond, VA. There are several h& r block stores in my city. I had a very bad experience with the willow place shopping center office this year. The person who did mine is the manager there. She is a very rude person. She does not know much about tax at all. It is so easy for her to mess up and she always tries to confuse us. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PERSON!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Apr 18, 2013

    Rita, it will not make any difference where you go, if you are going to sign off on a return when you know it is not correct. You should have had them bring up your 2017 return and show you line by line why the 2017 return is different. If they are unwilling or unable to do that, then get up and walk out. It really is as simple as that. Good Luck!

    0 Votes
  • 13
      Feb 03, 2014

    So are all people from Wyoming ###ed inbred ### or is that just fastcat85? It's a shame that such a beautiful state is filled with so many brain dead cowboy ###ing, sibling raping, goat roping ###. They fail so hard at life and can't figure out why they suck. All they seem to be capable of is being stupid and blaming anybody brown for any and all of their problems. While I don't really care about that, I just pray that all you sheep raping ###tards stay in your ### hole state and stop polluting the rest of the country with your ###ed, ###ed up ideas and generally [censored]gy ways.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Feb 13, 2014
    H&R Block - holding hostage
    Texas
    United States

    IRS sent refund to H&R block as fees were to be taken out. Refund was sent by IRS on the 12th to them and they should have been deposited into my account this morning. No refund. Called IRS and they assured me it was sent on the 12th. Called HR Block and they gave me the number to the bank to see where it was. Got through pretty quickly to rep, but then was told they didn't have it. When I told them the IRS said it had been sent the rep said, "The IRS can say they sent it, but they have no way to prove we got it." Pretty much just flat out insinuated that they could hold it like they wanted and say they haven't got it since the IRS "had no way to prove it."

    0 Votes

Post your comment