SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

H&R Block Customer Service Departmentmoney being refunded

Review updated:

My name is lisa johnson. I have gone to h&r block for many years and have not had any real problems. That is until now. On february 4, 2011 I made a purchase from best buy for a tv and other electronic items. While I was there the bb rep asked if I was interested in signing up for cable. I went through the entire process. When it came time to run my h&r block card it would not go through; saying "unable to process. " the bb rep ran my card a total of three (3) times, each time getting the same results. The next day I realized that all three (3) times the money was actually taken off my card. It was in the "pending" status. The amount for each transaction was $118.78. I went to bb the next day (Saturday) and spoke with the manager and a directv rep. The manager called the number on the back of my h&r block card explaining the situation. The h&r block rep told the manager that the money would be released in 48hrs. The mgr asked if sending an authorization form over would speed up the process and was told that an authorization form wasnt necessary because the money would be refunded before the request was processed. The h&r rep was informed that directv was not taking the money totalling $356.34 from my account and requested it to be put back on my card. When my money did not show up in 48hrs I called h&r customer service back and was told they had to open an investigation because directv had not released the funds. I again asked about an authorization form and was told at this point an investigation was the next step. I was told I would receive an updated email every 24hrs until the issue was resolved. That was the last I heard. On 2/16/11 I called back to h&r customer service to inquire about this investigation and was told there was no investigation; that all I need is directv to send over three (3) seperate authorization forms (One for each seperate transaction) and upon receipt my money would be refunded to my card. I have waited almost two weeks for my money to be refunded. I asked twice if I needed an authorization form and was told "no" but am now being told I do. I am very upset because I could have had the forms faxed over immediately on 2/5/11 had the rep not told me and the mgr that it was not necessary. I am now waiting on directv to give me these forms. What do I do in the meantime? I need my money refunded asap. I should not have had to wait this long. And to make it worse I am having to wait longer. The rep I spoke with tonight refused to give me corporate's number so I had to look it up online. He gave me his name which is tarrell, but said he was not allowed to give me his id number. I asked him 3 times to please give me corporate's number and he refused. I don't know what is going on over in the customer service department but at this point I am certain my children could do better than the three individuals I have dealt with over the past couple weeks. I hope this letter will be taken seriously and not just simply blown off and thrown away. I have been a customer with h&r block for a long time and would like to continue with them but will not do so if this is how I will be treated when there is a problem. A problem that was not my fault.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ba
      Feb 22, 2011

    wow im going threw the same thing there customer service is a total joke they also refuse to give me any phone numbers or let me speak to someone above them and then hung up on me but i am keeping there phones busy until it is solved.

    +1 Votes
  • Ba
      Feb 22, 2011

    stealth pilot- i agree with you but when you call there support they tell you that they can do something then they dont and you call back and they tell you something completely different. its plain and simple horrible under traind disrespectful customer service.

    +1 Votes
  • Do
      Mar 01, 2011

    THIS COMPANY STINKS THEIR OWN TAX CACULATOR STATED I SHOUD RECEIVE AROUND $2400 AFTER PAY $140.00 FOR THEIR "FREE" FEDERAL RETURN I AM TO RECIEVE A HUGE $611.00. TURBO TAXES CACULATOR STATED AROUND $2600.00 AND THE I.R.S'S OWN CACULATOR STATED $2200.00 THEIR A BUNCH OF BOZOS

    +2 Votes
  • Se
      Feb 03, 2012

    My husband and I filed through HR Block this week, even paid for their "peace of mind guarantee" . The very next day, we were contacted by the region office of HR Block letting us know that there was an issue with our return and they will call our local office to inform them...(?????...) ok. We were then contacted by our local office and was informed that apparently there was a previous filing under my husbands social and so the IRS kicked our return back as rejected. She then told me we were going to have to file a paper copy and mail it in, but since we weren't filing it electronically anymore there was no way to remove their fees and so we needed to pay the fees up front BEFORE they released our paperwork to us to file them ourselves... Are you kidding me???!!! When I refused to pay anything up front the lady said she would contact IRS to see what the deal was. She called the next day to let us know that it was just an accidental duplicate entry from HR Block and that the first entry was accepted and processed and we would see our money in the expected time frame... then a few hours later she calls us and tells us that the first filing was still showing as rejected and she need us to come into the office. At the office we were on the phone with IRS and it was explained by the IRS that we would have to file our taxes by mail afterall and that it would take 10-12 weeks at this point to verify the validity of our filing since this would be the 3rd filing under my husbands social!!! WOW!!!What an incovenience! There were no apologies from HR Block at all, and even went as far as stating this was not an error on HR Block's part and that we were still responsible to pay the fees for their services. We adamantly disagreed, especially when she let us know that she found through her system that it was an accidental duplicate entry in their office that caused this whole mess in the first place.( She must have forgot she told us that) HR Block again attempted to collect fees from us up front and also attempted to have us sign an agreement to be responsible for paying the electronic filing fee once we received our return. We were so pissed off we could not see straight!!! After telling us that your office screws up and we have to do this ourselves you still intend for us to pay you for servcies you could not provide???!!! Finally my husband demanded our W2's and paperwork back from her so we can leave and she hands them to him and telss him that it would be wise to act as if we never came in there at all...we took that as do not publicly slander HR Block for this... We were prepared to pay for convenience and peace of mind, neither of which we received! CRazy! I will never return to HR Block! Turns out filing your taxes by yourself is very easy and unless you need the convenience of getting your money in 7-14 days, HR Block is a rip off and a waste.

    +1 Votes
  • Os
      Mar 16, 2012

    I filed my 2010 tax returns with the H&R Block, Rain Forest Pkwy branch and I was satisfied with the service I received. About a week ago I filed my 2011 returns online using the At H&R Block @ Home software. I called the office (Rain Forest) sometime after 4:00pm today (Friday, March 16) to ask about purchasing the software from H&R Block. The person whom I spoke with offered me the poorest customer service I have ever received anywhere. I do not remember her name but her voice indicates she was an older woman. She said " I use the company's software so I have no reason to use the one for sale, therefore I do not know the cost". That was very rude, therefore, I will purchase another company's software and have nothing more to do with H&R Block.
    If, however, my complaint is investigated and the woman reprimanded, I may reconsider my decision.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Mar 20, 2012

    I have going to the H&R Block office in Brady, Texas for the past years. In 1908, I went in and have my taxes done. As I was leaving, the accountant stated that I was to get the first time home purchasing for that year of $4500. Then the next year when I had my taxes done, she informed me that I had to repay the $4500 at $300 a year for the next 15 years. This is the first time I had heard of this. I did not need another payment of any kind, as I am 75 YOA and may not live another 15 years, leaving my children to repay this. Had I known this, I would not have taken it. Of course, again, this year she took out another $300 for this LOAN. i am so mad about this. When I asked her if other people took this and did they understand they had to repay it, she stated "yes, but they were kinda confused". What does that mean. What can I do about this. I feel she is reponsible for the payback not me. Please inform me. This is suppose to be a reputable company but with actions such as these, I fear not. Thanks for your time.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Apr 27, 2012

    They r full of pure ###

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Feb 02, 2013

    All I asked was how come the IRS has not retrieved my e file refund and what I got was call us in a week I filed January 24, 2013 all my co-workers and I went together and they all received their refund I yet have gotten an email stating its been received. Simple question I didn't need a rude answer!

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Feb 22, 2013

    Mission Douglas Plaza H&R block in Oceanside, CA is by far the worst place to go out there any one in this area considering it go to a different H&R block.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Mar 01, 2013

    Anita Hutton in the Kingston Plaza H&R Block location was so busy talking about her sick child and family's financial problems while she was supposed to be focused on filing my taxes that she entered the wrong information, thus delaying my refund. To add insult to injury, she never once attempted to contact me to either get the correct information or inform me of the issue. I recieved a letter a month after filing my taxes (2 weeks after Anita told me I would have recieved my direct deposit) informing me of the "mistake" and that my refund would NOT be directly deposited into my account, but rather mailed to me in a paper check. I will never use H&R Block again. Thank you Anita

    -1 Votes
  • Am
      Mar 04, 2013

    H&R BLOCK IS THE WORSE EVER!!! I AM A 21 YEAR OLD COLLEGE STUDENT I COME OUT OF POCKET FOR MOST OF MY SCHOOL ITEMS I WORK A CRAPY PART TIME JOB, SO DOING TAXES COMES IN HANDY WHEN MONEY IS NEEDED. THIS WAS THE FIRST AND LAST TIME I WILL EVER CONDUCT ANYTHING WITH THIS COMPANY. I FILED MY TAXES ON FEB.4 2013 I WENT TO 1023 SOUTHERN BLVD APT.2 BRONX, NY 10459, MY REP HEIDY FELIZ WAS SMY TAX CONSULTANT, BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER! NOT ONLY DEALING WITH HER BUT BEING AROUND A WHOLE BUNCH OF THOSE DUMB ### WHO WERE AS CLUELESS AS SHE WAS! SHE MESSED UP 3 TIMES WHILE PREPING MY PAPER WORK. AS SHE WENT TO FILE FOR MY SCHOOL CREDIT SHE HAD THE NERVE TO SAY I WAS ONLY GETTING $31.00 BACK, THAT WAS INCLUDING ALL MY RECIPTS I HAD FOR MY BOOKS WHICH I PAID ALMOST $500.00 FOR. A FEW DAYS LATER A CLASSMATE OF MINE INFORMED ME THAT THE SCHOOL CREDITS WAS NOT RELEASED UNTIL FEB. 14 2013!!! SO HOW THE HELL DID SHE GIVE ME ANY CREDIT IF NOTHING WAS EVEN AVAIBLE!? I WENT TO A DIFFERENT LOCATION AND EXPLAINED TO THEM MY SITUATION, AND COME TO FIND OUT SHE MESSED UP BIG TIME! IF I WOULD HAVE NEVER WENT TO DOUBLE CHECK I WOULD OF MISSED OUT ON A 1, 000 DIFFERENCE FOR THE FEDERAL AND AN EXTRA 200 FOR THE STATE. I HAD TO HAVE MY WHOLE EDUCATION SECTION AMENDED AND NOW I HAVE TO WAIT 2 MONTHS JUST TO RECIVE THAT MONEY, ALL BECAUSE OF THAT LADYS HUDGE LACK OF KNOWLEGDE. HOW IS IT THAT ALL OTHER TAX CONSULTANTS KNEW ABOUT THE CREDIT RELEASE DATE, AND NO ONE IN THE LOCATION KNEW ABOUT IT? SHE EVEN AKED A MANAGER FOR HELP AND SHE REPLIED " OOH YOUR NOT GETTING ANYTHING BACK FOR SCHOOL". THE FIRST HALF OF THE MONEY THAT WAS PROCESSED WAS EXCEPTED ON THE 15TH AND I WAS TOLD I HAD TO WAIT 21 DAYS FOR IT TO GO ON THAT EXPENSIVE ### CARD THEY CHARGED ME 35$ FOR ! BUT YET MY BEST FRIEND WENT TO AN H&R BLOCK ON THE 15TH TO FILE AND SHE GOT HER MONEY PAID IN FULL ON FEB. 26.2013 ! AND I AM STILL WAITING, BUT OOH TODAY MARCH 4.2013 I REVICED AN EMAIL SAYING MY STATE RETURN IN ON THE H&R BLOCK DEBIT CARD WHEN I CHECK THEY SAID MY FULL REFUND WAS $ 125.02 WHEN YET ON MY PAPER WORK IT SAYS MY STATE RETURN IS SUPPOSE TO BE $280.00 SO WHERE THE HELL IS THE REST OF MY MONEY?! THERE ARE MANY OF US OUT THERE WHOLE ARE FULL TIMES STUDENTS WORKING HARD TO BETTER OUR LIFE, FULL TIME WORKERS BUSSING OUR ### TO MAKE SURE WE HAVE AT THE END OF THE DAY, AND FULL TIME PARENTS TO GO HARD TO PROVIDE FOR OUR CHILDREN AND THEN THERE IS A BIG [censored] UP LIKE THIS! THAT PUTS EVERYTHING ON HOLD! SO YES NEVER AGAIN ! THIS LOCATION SHOULD BE ### THE HELL DOWN! AND ALL ITS CONSULTANTS SHOULD BE FIRED BECAUSE THEY DEFF DO NOT KNOW ### ABOUT TAX POLICES AND WTF THEIR JOB TITLES ARE!

    0 Votes
  • No
      Mar 09, 2013

    I have been going to H&R Block at the Staples Plaza center on M-21 in Owosso MI for the last 7 years. I was told this year that the education tax credit would hold up my return, but an amendment at a later time would work out just fine. My tax preparer Floyd proceeded to file my state and federal returns, before submitting them he checked to see what my education tax credit amount would be when we came back in to amend it. The amount was $1700, and we were told we could come back in mid-March to sign the amendment. My wife called today to see when we could come sign the amendment, and we were told by Floyd that he had calculated something wrong and we would receive nothing for the education tax credit!! That's a pretty big mistake for a family of 5 that was counting on that money for mortgage payment, vehicle repairs ect ect!! The apology I got was simply "sorry, I didn't put something in right" I am disgusted with the customer service I received, and I will be going elsewhere to have my taxes done next year!!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Apr 05, 2013

    I am on disability and am supposed to get a credit for my home costs. I went to the H & R Block in Sullivan, MO and was told I was getting back 750 dollars. A week later I got a letter from the IRS stating they needed more information. I got all the information that I was told wasn't needed by H & R Block and drove the 45 miles back to Sullivan. They then told me that I wasn't getting anything back and there wasn't anything they could do about it. It took me 45 minutes to get my money refunded to me in cash. I was furious. Now I keep seeing commercials about how smart and kind their employees are and it is so not true. They are rude and don't know their business. I did my own taxes with my case worker and I am getting back the 750 dollars. They need to go out of business. I also think they should refund my gas and time that I had to put in to fix their mistakes. Seeing that you can't go onto their website to file a complaint I will do it on any public forum that I can find!!!

    0 Votes
  • La
      May 06, 2013

    I have been a 10 year plus customer who has been loyal to the overcharge H&R Block for years. Every year there is some type of issue ( missing ss number, wrong address, wrong bank acct) anyway I continue to use the office as I like my tax filer. Not to mention pay to have my three 1099 ez forms filed by this office. This year I filed my taxes on January 27th. Unfortunately, I was part of the education credit issue- so my taxes were delayed. This would not have been a problem had someone contacted me. So I continue to check and check and call H&R Block help line and wait forever and decided to hang up. On the 15th of February the news announces there is an issue with the education credit forms sent in from H&R block. Not until the next day did I get a damage control email from H&R. Long and short I continued to call H&R block and made a complaint, which was sent to home product department . Now I have to start all over again- put in another complaint same day, when I call to check - there is no record of this complaint. Now I call again and I am fuming and the customer service representative is an arrogant southern woman who blames the IRS for the issue- not what I want to hear. I definitely needed my refund but more importantly I have three children who needed to financial aid information. I needed my tax transcripts and I was unable to receive as they were "in process". I missed the deadline for sending the returns to two schools and did not receive my refund until the 22nd of March. H&R block escalated ( stalled ) my case from February until March and decided not to refund my fees or give a discount of any value. The representative from escalations sounded like a teenager reading from a script. ALL DONE WITH THIS COMPANY !!! CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS !

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Oct 03, 2013

    The "plumber" that completed my 2010 return in Duvall, WA failed to include the mortgage interest deduction. An accountant was able to get me another $1000 back on my 2010 return. Attempts to speak with anyone at H&R Block are, well, blocked. My strong recommendation is to run the other way. Oh, and my accountant charges less than did H&R for a full return.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 05, 2014

    I have use H&R Block for years, but I am beyond tired of them CALLING me daily, trying to get me to make an appointment. Are they so desperate for customers that they need to call repeatly, after being TOLD to stop. This office is the MABLETON, GA., Hawthorn Plaza location. My advice DO NOT leave a phone number with them ever. They just called back for the FIFTH day in a roll, I told them for the FIFTH time to STOP calling, LOSE MY NUMBER. I think this is ILLEGAL not to mention harassment. I also think I am smart enough to make an appointment and/ or find my way as I have in the past to them. I do not know what else to do. Everyday they call same woman, does their employees not understand DO NOT CALL ME! If this who works for them, maybe it is time to find a new tax service.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
      Feb 25, 2015

    Changed to block this year after 7 years with liberty. Not only did I get my smallest return ever, unpaid $100 more than I did at liberty. Then a week after I file I see commercials that say if you are new you pay half of what you did last year. I called and asked them about it and she just laughed and said" bad timing"!. Will never go back again

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Mar 04, 2015

    I am Sandy Kuykendall. My husband and I have been using H & R Block for 20 years. This year our returned was rejected by the IRS, mistakes. We went to the office on Monday, no one could help us. Tuesday, still no one could help us so we leave our return and letter from IRS. Today I called at 1:20, I was told that someone would look at it. I called back at 3:20. Two hours and not a word. When I called, he said a box had not been checked. I asked what had taken so long, we had plans and canceled them. He was with other clients. I asked are you going to resend it? He has to talk to someone. I read the letter from the IRS, it doesn't sound like it is a box unchecked. If it is an error and I end up paying too much or not enough, who's going to fix this? The attitude, I was with another client really makes me mad.

    'Sandra S. Kuykendall

    0 Votes
  • I have a small business with 1 employee. I have paid enormous employer taxes over the years. I had planned on hiring my own CPA to do my taxes, but because I had changed my QuickBooks, getting my income/expense reports took longer than I had planned and the CPA was booked full. I went to H&R Block in Louisville, KY. I was the only person there who had made an appointment, yet I sat there for over 30 minutes while walk-ins were being escorted back. I wish this was the only problem. The "master" tax consultant was incompetent and I had to make her go over what she had done because she first said I owed $1200 to fed tax, when she went back over it with my scrutiny, it was changed to $230. I then get a call from her the next day, she said she had prepared a filing for the local Occupational tax stating I owe $175. First why hadn't she prepared it while I was there the day before for over 3 hours, and secondly, I in the mail, I received mail from the local revenue commission stating I owed $22.00, that my payroll service had made previous payments. When I went to complain why this had not been prepared while I was there, I was asked if I wanted them to fix the error. I don't trust them to do anything else, I'll fix it. They charged me over $600 to prepare something I that a CPA would have charged me half that. Please, stay away from this slip shod and extremely expensive and incompetent company who only wants to steal your money and do a horrible job while pretending to know what they are doing. I felt violated and went home with a headache from dealing with these people.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Aug 27, 2015

    I had my income tax filed in an HR Block Premium office in Lakewood Colorado in 2013. Two months ago I was contacted by the IRS stating I owed about $4, 748.00 plus interest. At the time of filing I purchased the peace of mind product. I called HR block immediately about this and they had me come in. When I went in the person helping me Bruce Neely seemed more concerned with covering up the mistakes made than helping me. He tried convincing me that I did not have a peace of mind claim. I became very irate and told him I wanted to file a claim and he finally gave in and went to talk to his manager and when he came back a claim was filed. As it turned out when my taxes were filed the HR tax person filing my taxes forgot to add a $7110.00 mortgage tax credit and did not advise me on third party sick pay I had received amongst other things. So, a peace of mind claim was filed number #645804 on 7/13/2015. It has been going on seven weeks since the filing. I have called HR Block at 1-800HRBLOCK on numerous occasions asking for the status of the claim and keep being told I would receive an answer within a few days and this was two weeks ago. According to the Peace of Mind contract it states processing takes 4-6 weeks. The operators at this number have hung up the phone on me on several occasions and seemed to be annoyed because I am asking questions concerning this. In the peace of mind contract it states that if my claim is denied that I would receive a letter as to the reason why. I have been treated very badly by these people and believe I deserve an answer from them. Can you help me?

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Feb 04, 2016

    i just called the GEorgetown, delaware office and lady their refused to give me a free estimate. Said i would be charged a 25$ fee no matter what.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Feb 24, 2016

    My husband and I had our income taxes prepared at the Baldwin Michigan office. It was a simple State and Federal procedure. We were charged $165.00. How outragieous for such a simple prep. No special needs just simple. I will never go back to them and will not recommend them.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Apr 08, 2016

    Got my 2016 taxes done at HR Block and they took 1/3 of my tax return in fees. We will never use them again, they state they get you the most money, but it is not for you it is to line their pockets. PLEASE BUYER BEWARE -- THEY HR BLOCK ADVISORS ARE JUST AS BAD AS THE SCAMMED AND CROOKS. They charged me $600.00 on a $1500.00 return!

    0 Votes
  • Ms
      Jun 14, 2016

    Never filed electronically but thought it would save me time at the post office. Didn't see after paying $9.95 to file that they had not also sent in the tax amount owed. I finally figured out after a month after not seeing it on my credit card and realized i had to go back into the software and "check Status" which led me to another site and i had to pay a $200 "convenience fee"! What a rip off. I will no longer be using this software, will go back to Turbo tax., at least they are upfront with the costs, not a disclaimer that there may be a charge to process my credit card payment. DON'T USE THIS PAYMENT SERVICE! MSP

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jul 01, 2016

    H & R Block is all about getting money from clients...even when their TAX Preparer makes the mistake. I filed our taxes for 2011 and was charged $254.75, seemed like a lot, but thinking I was paying a trained tax preparer, I paid it to ROSIE FLOREZ in Watsonville, Ca. This year, 2016 I received a notice from State FTB that we were given a tax credit we weren't entitled to and now we owe $233.44, immediately! I contacted H & R Block & told them & showed them the notice. That was Feb. 23 2016, it is now July 1, 2016 and what I have been told by SHARI CARVAHLO, manager & STEVE NORDSTROM is they could get the penalties & interest of $23.44, but that's all, even though they admitted it was a H & R Block employee that made the mistake. The reason: THEY ARE ONLY REFUNDING ON 2015 TAX RETURNS!!! How stupid is that? I just received the notice this year, I am a Senior citizen & recent widow, I don't have $233.44 to pay the State FTB. Then STEVE NORDSTROM offered a $25.00 discount on next years tax preparation. Are you kidding me? Something needs to happen to these fools, so they don't continue this unnecessary rip-off.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Mar 10, 2017

    I used to work for HRBlock and when it comes to the Emerald card HRBlock will keep the money for up to 6 days in order to draw the interest from it. It may not sound like much from one person, but think of the millions of dollars kept from their customers and how interest accrues on Millions.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
      Apr 11, 2017

    I will never pay for H&R Block tax services again! I have used Block for federal returns for years, but I have never purchased the state return until this year. I thought it would be easier, just click e-file. Wow, was I wrong. The state return didn't work, was giving me an error that I couldn't figure out what it was talking about, and I was stuck in a loop that I couldn't get out of. I called customer support, after a long waiting time, a girl tried to help me for about 1/2 hour. She gave up and said she was going to transfer me further up. After waiting on hold again for 1/2 hour, I suggested that they just refund the money I paid for the state return. The guy on the line, agent # A971337 was immediately rude and began to lecture me. I asked for his supervisor on the phone, he refused to do that, but did give me his name. Lot of good that does, can't get through to anyone there. Don't use H&R Block!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      May 14, 2017

    I have been going to H&R Block for over 30 years, never had any trouble until just year. So how my State income tax return was file twice by someone at H&R Block, which was received on JAN 24th 2017. Well as of May 10th the State never sent out my refund check because my account was flagged for having two returns. Well I finally, called the State and was told that everything was okay now and they issue my refund in 3 to 4 weeks it hit the bank ( WHICH is the H&R Block Emerald Card) So I have to wait almost 6 month for something that was not my fault. I called H&R Block and was told well you have to go to the office where my return was done at and the guy will have them call me, which they did and was more or less told OH well these things happen. Well I feel as it was their mistake and I should at least get my refund now all they could to do it put it on to my Emerald card and when the refund comes in take it. Not that hard .I will not go back the H&R Block again. I have been telling all my friends and Family (Which many I have sent to them) what they did and come to find out I am not the only one

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Aug 02, 2017

    I stopped by Alexandria, KY 41076 office location near my home but the website says they are open on Wednesday 10:00 to 4:00 but they were closed. I am very disappointed. I left work early just to go there to get things settled with IRS. I checked with BBB and was very surprised that HRBlock has lot of complaints and has only one star rating. Wow! So I'm considering to go somewhere else next year. i think they charged way too high for one hour service.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jul 15, 2018

    I have had the worst experience with H&R block. The last two years we were audited and had to pay money to IRS, after return was filed. luckily(we thought) we bought the piece of mind guarantee. This year our filer agreed and recommended that we pay the we pay the full amount. He also had forgotten to submit the piece of mind claim. It took me 8 weeks just to call and find me out, then I had to bring in my documents(again) and they had to verify the claim. After 3 months I receive a check which is lower than what a I paid the IRS, their second look cost me $900. The check I received is light, all because our original prepare that did our taxes forgot to submit the POM claim. I don't understand why I am forced to suffer when the prepare made a mistake. Now the H&R block is closed for two weeks, I can't even get my documents to take to a real tax prepare, I am considering. I have 172 days to cash the light check, I will not cash that because that means I accept their calculation. I have sent several letters and made numerous letters to both corporate and the local office. I made the complaint at corporate thru the web, there was not an adequate resolution determined. Even though a tax lawyer. would probably be more costly that the difference of the check I am seriously considering this action, however I cannot get my documents because H&R block is holding them hostage. With 2 audits the last two years, we will never use H&R Block again. I expect contact within 10 days.

    0 Votes

Post your comment