Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Honda Jazz / having to buy new door locks on five year old car

92% 25
Contact information:
I bought a Honda Jazz from the Rochdale branch. Feb. 2005.

10 Months ago my lock on the drivers side stopped working, three months ago, the boot lock stopped working, I went to Honda and they said it was not under warranty and would cost me 258.00 pounds to have the locks done.

I am a pensioner and could only afford the one lock to be done, it cost me 120.00 Pounds. This was a week ago; today the passenger lock has stopped working, so again I only have one lock for the car, and cannot afford to pay for another one at this time.

I have only done 22000.00 mils and had three services and all MOTs done on the car.

I went on your web site and told you the trouble I had with the car and the way I was treated by the staff at Rochdale, as far as customer service they was very bad.

So I still have one lock on the car Honda is supposed to be a good name so why have my locks been so bad and cost me so much money.


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
N  9th of Mar, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Dear Sir,

I own a Honda Jazz Car in my wife's name R. Velvizhi bearing Regn. No. TN 72 AE 0177.

I would like to share some of bitter experiences at my first and second free services.

I own Maruthi SUZUKI vehicles from 1995 and TOYOTA Qualis from 2004.

I am very much satisfied with Maruti and Toyota service networks.

I own Honda Jazz from October 2009, from TVS - Madurai.

For my 500 Km service, I was advised by your sales executives to have the service at my
home town Tirunelveli. But my car was water serviced at a Truck cleaning Ram.
I consoled myself that you people do not have facilities at Tirunelveli and I thought I should
never leave my car at Tirunelveli TVS and planned for Madurai TVS for my second service.

I left my car at Madurai TVS on 23.02.2010 for my second service and took the vehicle back
on 26.02.2010. But I was not satisfied with your service there.

The car was not properly water serviced. The interior of the car especially the dash board was
in the same condition when I left the car. The door pads on the right and left doors had all the
dirt and mud.

And to my surprise, when I went inside at 1.30 PM, the service man who entered the car to have
a final cheakup, (I travelled some 200 KM from my hometown Tirunelveli and reached your service station
at the time informed by your service co-ordinator Mr. Anandaraj) was wearing a very ugly dress
(probably washed a month ago) with dirt, oil and grease causing my car interior a bad odour.
With his ugly hands he spoiled the doors with oily dirt.

Other service men roaming around were also wearing ugly dresses (which I never witnessed in
a Suzuki or Toyota service stations). When I insisted on cleaning the car exterior, a boy
cleaned with a rotten ugly cloth and I got worried. And I was given my out pass only at 4.30 PM
after waiting for a valuable 3 hours.

I am very much disappointed by the world class Honda car company's very poor service at
Madurai service station. And I shall never have the interest to recommend any of my friends
to buy a Honda Car for your neglected services.

I bring this to your attention, to invite you take special and sincere interest in this matter,
to satisfy the Honda car owners, who think they are proud to be a Honda owner.

With Regards,

N  8th of Apr, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
i get the same problem with my locks too.
i contacted the manufacturer honda. i get their number at Arnold clark honda rochdale.
i give them a call and explain the situation with my honda jazz 2005, their offer to repair it for me at no cost.
they take my detail and send me to the neirest honder mecanic with a reference number.
they are now trying to fix my car for free all cost pay by honda including curtasy car while they are fixing it.
see your honda dealler for more details.
or visit honda manufacturer website.
so please contact them have nothing to loose.
A  22nd of Apr, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
i have got the same prob with honda jazz...1st under warenty the drivers side went . I took it back to gordons in bolton the honda dealers but they said it would cost me. being skint and a single mum i decided to live with it then the boots went and now the passangers going so i have to leave it unlocked...the warentties run out ...and so have the locks :(((((( not happy honda
A  19th of May, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
i have got the same problem with my Honda Jazz, the drivers side door lock will not move at all and hasn't for about two years but decided to live with it because of cost, i now find the ignition lock is playing up to, total cost for the two locks to be replaced at Honda Dealership £570!!!. Looking online at just how common the door lock problem is surely Honda should admit theres a fault and put it right!!!
A  22nd of Aug, 2012 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have had similar problems with my 2009 Jazz purchased in Manchester. Since May 2011 I have had 5 door locks replaced, even one of the replaced locks has failed. When I go to the garage they tell me they never have problems with locks, they said that the first time and it took several visits for them to diagnose the problem, the actuator, as it was an intermittent problem at first. By the time they found the problem and were ready to replace it the second lock had failed so they replaced both as it was still under warranty. A few months later a third one failed, again problems with diagnosing, which they say they have to do to replace under warranty, even though the exact same problems. When it went for its third year service/MOT in March 2012 the problem was eventually diagnosed and replaced and within a month or so, now out of warranty one of the first door locks replaced went. I did complain in May to Honda but was not happy with the response and they said they would look into any further problems if they happened, they said they would be surprised it it happened a gain. What a surprise when in July number five went, which was the only original lock still on the car. They did replace free, but it took over six weeks as they first had to get authority to replace as out of warranty and then had problems sourcing the part and then when it went in to have the part replaced on Friday after the removed the faulty part they found the replacement part was broken. They did provide me with a courtesy car and the next day the door was eventually fixed. No complaint as such with the garage as they have been fine, but I have just put in yet another complaint to Honda as not at all happy and now waiting for their response.
N  27th of Jan, 2014 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
3 Jazz door locks down the line with the same problem! Even the new ones are off poor quality as the tumblers last months only. My lock is starting to go again and I read that if you take it to a locksmith he will replace Honda's soft metal tumblers at a fraction of the price with proper hard ones. My local independent garage said that someone with a Jazz came in with his Key STUCK in the lock and no way of getting it out. Shame on Honda for ignoring this problem that is so easy to fix!
A  3rd of Aug, 2014 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Honda are a disgrace
we have had numerous locks replaced
and now ALL of them have gone including the steering one
Quoted £1000 plus to replace the lot ...ive owned the car from brand new its an 04 and only done 80k
Ive owned all sorts of cars in the past and this is the only car ive owned with door lock issues !!!
Honda need to get this sorted and accept there is an issue
N  1st of Jul, 2015 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
This is very discouraging. I have Honda Jazz 2004, which in all other ways I am totally happy with. This year my locks have failed one by one.
I know in the past it was due to superglue as could see traces, and it was fixed under guarantee at the time. Sadly, it is too old to do so now, and as such a common problem, i agree, it is something that needs to resolved, once and for all.. It is not really acceptable, and Honda I believe should be trying to fix this problem, if not for free, for a much more modest price, given that it is something within the structure.

Post your Comment

Honda Motor Logo Honda Motor
Customer Care Service
2-1-1, Minami-Aoyama, Minato-ku
Japan - 107-8556
+81 334 231 111
+1 310 783 3023
View Full Information

Reply to