SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] Harbor Touch / useless in all catagories

GA, United States Review updated:

This company started out great, we had a good demo and signed all the contracts, at the time of install we had to sugn a 5 year lease that was never mentioned at all prior. After install and going live all that was promised by the system was never delivered, after 4 days of use and numerous attempts to communicate with both HarborTouch and United Bank Card n ot a voicemail or e-mail has been responded to, every single department is useless, as soon as you sign they will have you, and they make you sign personal garantee, one would not mind that if the system would function, to all potential byers, they are cheap thats why its a free system to lease, Useless and scam clients, STAY AWAY

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • Harbortouch Payments Customer Care's Response, Oct 17, 2011

    You must work for another Point of Sale Co. and just pissed you can't compete. I am a Rep for Harbortouch and United Bank Card and I'm an Employee. All my customers are happy and would never go back to their old company. There isnt any truth in ANYTHING your saying!!
    Sadd that you have to stup so low.

  • Harbortouch Payments Customer Care's Response, Oct 26, 2011

    All contracts that provide a service have a clause to cover cost in the event costs change and need to be adjusted. At which time you can opt out if you don't agree with the new change. Just like your credit cards. If the rate goes up you can cancel the card if you don't like the terms. Once a cost or price has changed the contract is void in most cases unless you continue with the service. You have every right to walk away with no penilty.
    Like they say; you can please most of the people most of the time, but NO ONE is going to please all the people ALL THE TIME. With that being said maybe its time to just move on!

  • Harbortouch Payments Customer Care's Response, Sep 09, 2012

    To: "REALDEALPOS" -

    So to summarize your post.
    1. You are a competitor.
    2. You have so many reasons not to do business with my company you could write an article.
    3. You are a competitor.
    4. You are completely wrong about the terms of our agreement or our pricing.
    5. I know nothing about the POS market. Strange, since I deploy over 1000 POS Systems per month and have been one of the largest credit card and POS companies in the country for 13 years.
    6. You are not loosing clients to us. Yet you went out of your way to research our product, misconstrue our terms and contribute to a public forum.
    7. You are a competitor. I got it.

    Sincerely,

    Jared Isaacman
    CEO
    Harbortouch
    [protected]@harbortouch.com

Sa
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Cr
      Jul 28, 2011

    United Bank Card, Inc. (UBC) currently serve over 125, 000 merchants, and while we strive for perfection, we realize that it may be impossible to satisfy all of our customers at all times. We take customer service very seriously and work diligently to resolve any complaints in an expeditious manner. I am reaching out to you to try to resolve the issue you have had with our company. Despite our greatest efforts, we recognize problems or misunderstandings may still arise. We have noticed that in many of the complaints posted online, the customer is actually unhappy with an independent sales representative, a leasing company or some other third-party entity that is not controlled by United Bank Card or Harbortouch. We regret that these situations occur and will work diligently to resolve them when they do. United Bank Card sincerely tries to do the right thing in every situation. This approach is how we have consistently maintained an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau in addition to receiving numerous awards for our quality operations and service including awards for “Best Customer Service” by the Green Sheet, our industry’s leading publication. We are also a five-time consecutive Inc. 500/5000 honoree and have been ranked on Deloitte’s “Fast 50” list of fastest growing technology companies. In addition to our accolades in the business world, we also try to make a difference as a responsible corporate citizen by supporting various charitable causes. Through our “Pennies for Humanity” program and charity poker tour as well as other initiatives, we have helped raise tens of thousands of dollars for a number of philanthropic organizations. I hope that this message has conveyed the standards that our company strives to uphold and has convinced you that any issue you may have had with us was an isolated incident. Please feel free to contact me using the contact information below and I will do my best to resolve your issue in a professional and timely manner. Customer satisfaction is the highest priority at United Bank Card and I look forward to helping you resolve your problem

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
      Aug 30, 2011

    The original point brings up several valid points. The response from the vendor contains inaccuracies, mistruths, and a lot of deflection. What does the philanthropic work of a company have to do with an inability to answer phones?

    Lets get a few thigns straihgt:

    1) UBC only sells through independent agents. Without independent agents, UBC would have zero sales. So dismissing a complaint as dissatisfaction with an independent agent is misleading.
    2) UBC finances internally. So if a customer is angry at the leasing company, they are angry at UBC. Again, this is very misleading.
    3) UBC does make customers sign a 5 year contract, with draconian penalties for cancellation. The rates that UBC charges for merchant processing are sometime double the rates offered by most companies. One need only do the math, over a 5 year period, and see that you will pay as much as 4 times the sticker price for an identical system, when counting these somewhat hidden fees.
    4) And, no, once the contract is signed, they never answer the phone. There is a reason there are hundreds of complaints that say the same thing.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Oct 11, 2011

    Don't know anyone who would sing the contract who has actually red the entire thing!
    Did you know they can increase the rate anytime just by giving you a 30-day notice?
    Did you know that if you miss a payment, then they stop whatever service they supposedly give you?
    Did you know that if you don't notify them exactly 60 before the expiration of the 5-year term, you are locked in for another 4 years automatically!
    ALWAYS READ THE FINE PRINT!

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Oct 25, 2011

    Read the contract.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
      Oct 25, 2011

    Straight from the Harbortouch Contract:
    Paragraph 7. Term: This Agreement shall become effective as of the date accepted and signed by Harbortouch and shall continue for an initial term of five (5) years from the Commencement Date (“Initial Term”), unless earlier terminated pursuant to this section. This Agreement shall auto renew for a period of four (4) at the end of any term unless the terminating party provides sixty (60) days' prior written notice to the non-terminating party in accordance with the provisions of 10.6 hereof of its intent to terminate the Agreement prior to the end of the then current term.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Oct 25, 2011

    Straight from the Harbortouch Contract: They can raise the fee as they like:
    Paragraph 4.3 Adjustments: Harbortouch may adjust the monthly service charges in Exhibit A upon thirty (30) days written notice in accordance with the provisions of Section 10.6 hereof.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
      Oct 27, 2011

    No other POS company's contract has such a clause when they can raise your fees will. This is only a scam that CC companies play with. Please point us to the area in the contract which states what happens once the fees are adjusted.
    The problem is that HarberTouch is owned by a CC company to begin with. Same companies that have enslaved people with high debt while they got a bailout when they were in trouble. What is the average rate CC companies borrow money at 0.25%. What is the average rate they are charging today? Over 15%. That is a 6000% profit.
    Want a POS, go with a POS company.

    -2 Votes
  • Cu
      Nov 04, 2011

    justnormal & TheAdvisor123,

    Please know the agent has full control over the credit card fees that the merchant pays. I for one am completely willing to negotiate. As a matter of fact, I've placed a few franchises with some VERY thing margins, hoping I will land the other franchisees. The $59 monthly & $59 quarterly for the warranty & support on the POS is nonnegotiable but the credit card fees certainty are!

    As I mentioned in another post, it is important to go with an agent that will take care of you. If you are not getting great service from UBC or Harbortouch, that is where your agent comes into play and goes to bat for you! I personally have over 200 active merchants with them and put in a lot of effort to make sure all of my clients are always happy. The reputation my company has online says it all. Just make sure you are dealing with a good ethical agent.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
      Nov 07, 2011

    I would agree that you should always deal with an agent you trust as there are great reps and so-so reps with all companies. The program is competitive with most all in the field and has to make a profit but more importantly has to keep customers happy as this business is so dependent on referrals for survival and growth. This has the rancid smell of a competitor wanting to tear someone up for taking their business. I am betting you can call UBC anytime and get this problem resolved quickly if that is indeed what you are after.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Nov 30, 2011

    Dear jdfromatl, Can you please enlighten us with your wisdom of how one should make sure they are dealing with an ethical agent? How do you know he is honest if by the time one finds out that they are in a terrible contract, its too late.
    Harbortouch does not depend on referrals. They deceptive practice of advertising "Free POS" and counting on the fact that most consumers will not read the pages of fine print is what makes it profits. Even here where the contract is being discussed, they are trying to shift blame.

    An honest agent cannot operate under an unethical umbrella.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Nov 30, 2011

    Breaking News: On 11-29-2011 S&P downgraded the rating for the banks. Look for more fees coming your way. Maybe this is a reason for Harbortouch to raise your fees.

    Maybe if you are with Harbortouch, they will ask you for a bailout, just like the banks did.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
      Nov 30, 2011

    As I mentioned in another thread, UBC is NOT a bank and has nothing to do with banks or credit card companies. They are simply a processor. Please make sure your facts are correct before posting.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Dec 01, 2011

    Looks like a pointless war of words. I am trying to sell my harbortouch system. It is simple enough to use but the fees are ridiculous. I either use UBC to process credit cards or use stand alone terminals. The only reason I went with harbortouch is because the leasing companies wouldnt finance my start up, I didnt have much choice. I now can afford a real point of sale system but I have to give up my first born to get out of this one. If someone will take over my payments, please contact me or search for my system on craigslist.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Dec 02, 2011

    Advise to Restaurant Operator: Contact your Attorney General's (AG) office. Not only is the contract biased, also the "Free POS" trick is considered deceptive and predatory. There are several AG office looking into their practices. Just look at the way they span Craigslist. They circumvent the Craigslist no spam policy by various unscrupulous means.

    0 Votes
  • Cq
      Dec 30, 2011

    WOW I WILL CHIME IN ON THIS REAL QUICK ... PLEASE KNOW THAT ... Deuteronomy 25:15
    You must have accurate and honest weights and measures, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you...YOU SHOULDN'T BE SURPRISED AT PEOPLES ACTIONS ...
    Jeremiah 17:9

    New International Version (NIV)

    9 The heart is deceitful above all things
    and beyond cure.
    Who can understand it?
    James 1:19
    [ Listening and Doing ] My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, ...
    WE MUST USE THE LORDS WISDOM IN EACH BREATH WE TAKE.

    Deuteronomy 32:29
    If only they were wise and would understand this and discern what their end will be!

    AS THE BOSS YOU ARE LIKE A KING OVER YOUR EMPLOYEES OR LIKE A GOVERNOR OVER THEM.
    1 Kings 3:9
    So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong. For who is able to govern this great people of yours?”...
    HAVING DISCERNMENT IN YOUR PERSONAL AND BUSINESS MATTERS HELPS YOU GOVERN OVER YOUR HOUSEHOULD AND EMPLOYEES.
    IT ALL STARTS HERE...
    Proverbs 1:7
    The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction.
    IF WE ARE LIVING OUR FAITH WE WILL BE OPEN TO HEAR AND SEE THE WARNING SIGNS ...HECK WE MAY EVEN FEND OFF EVIL THINKERS BY OUR INTEGRITY..

    Proverbs 3:5

    New International Version (NIV)

    5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;

    AND OF COURSE THE 2 GREATEST COMMANDMENTS GIVEN TO US ARE...
    Luke 10:27
    He answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’ ; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ ”
    John 14:6
    Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

    WE ARE TO LIVE IN LOVE AND FORGIVENESS BUT DON'T BE A FOOL.


    Romans 12:19
    Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay, ” says the Lord.

    I WORKED IN THE HOSPITALITY BUSINESS FOR 15 YEARS AND IN THE MERCHANT BUSINESS AND POS BUSINESS FOR 11.
    UBC AND COMPANY ARE OK WITH ME, THEY ARE FAIR AND IN BUSINESS TO MAKE MONEY HELLO, IF WE LET US COMPANIES MAKE A BUCK THEN WE CAN KEEP SOME JOBS OVER HERE.
    I HAVE FOUND THAT MOST PROBLEMS COME FROM THE SALES FORCE BEING DIRT BAGS.
    AND 5% IS CORPORATE ISSUES BUT NOTHING IS PERFECT I WORK WITH MULTIPLE PROVIDERS BECAUSE EVERY COMPANY GIVES IN A DIFFERENT AREA.
    BUT OVERALL UBC GETS A SOLID "A" GRADE FROM ME.
    I FIND THAT'S IT'S LIKE THE GIRL WHO DATES THE JERK WHEN THE GOOD GUY IS RIGHT THERE. YOU PROBABLY TURNED AWAY THE GOOD GUY NUMEROUS TIMES?
    [protected]@CQSBUSINESSSOLUTIONS.COM

    0 Votes
  • Al
      May 16, 2012

    The advisor123, you must work for a different bank . Everything you're saying is taken out of context. First, it's not a lease. I own mine. Second, The rates are better than my last merchant account fees. So, WTF ?

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jun 19, 2012

    To those concerned about Harbortouch:

    I can't help but think how many of these posts are from competitors that are unhappy with our free POS business model. For decades now, the POS industry has existed by selling or leasing touch-screen POS Systems for tens of thousands of dollars. This resulted in absolutely enormous commissions to the sales people and merchants stuck in a VERY expensive investment.

    In January 2011, I announced the free POS initiative. Since that time period we have deployed over 11, 000 free POS systems. Those merchants, prior to that initiative, presumably would have paid tens of thousands of dollars to the traditional POS resellers and vendors. The reason those deals came to Harbortouch is because we are substantially less expensive. We give the hardware, software, support, onsite installation, onsite training free of charge. Yes, there is a service agreement of $59/month. It is really no different than the free cell phone you get when you sign a Verizon or AT&T service agreement. The difference is, you would have had to pay for service with any traditional POS reseller in ADDITION to the very expensive cost for the hardware and software. There is no denying the dramatic economic savings a business owner will realize when they sign-up with our program compared to the more traditional options. That is the driver behind our growth.

    When you realize that we have signed over 11, 000 free POS merchants in the last 18 months, you must consider that is 11, 000 lost opportunities to our traditional competitors. It is not surprising that many of them are upset about that loss of business. Especially considering the enormous commissions that are associated with the traditional lease/ purchase method of selling POS Systems. It is not surprising that many of them would come on this complaints board and write these anonymous and frankly false representations of our service. None of the complaints have any real contact information or e-mail addresses.

    Harbortouch is not a new phenomenon. I am the founder and CEO of the company and we have been in business for 13 years. We handle the credit card processing services for over 140, 000 merchants nationwide and processing in excess of 10 billion dollars a year annually. We have been named to the Inc. 500 list of fastest growing companies in America for five consecutive years. We have over 300 employees, 24x7 technical support and nationwide onsite service. Since we have launched our free POS initiative in the beginning of 2011, we have deployed over 11, 000 touch-screen POS systems. We have numerous business, media and professional accolades. We are not a start-up that just threw together this crazy idea of free POS systems and then failed to stand behind it. The program is a tremendous success and it appears our competition is not very happy about that.

    I am constantly working and always available to field e-mails personally from interested merchants. Similarly, any merchant that is not fully satisfied with our service is welcome to contact our 24x7 technical support department or e-mail me directly.

    Sincerely,

    Jared Isaacman
    [protected]@harbortouch.com
    CEO
    Harbortouch

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Sep 04, 2012

    This comment from the CEO is a perfect example of what to expect from HarborTouch. Don't tell you customers the real truth about what they are paying and lies about how much his competition is making in commissions. Jared obviously knows nothing about the POS market. Tell the Truth Jared, Say "We are using a Free POS System and a Deceiving Contract to trap restaurant operators into using our Merchant Services forever." Prospective clients please read the fine print on the documents Also Google your local POS provider and Credit Card Vendor. See if you find literally thousands of Hits on Google for complaints on them like you do for UBC/Harbor Touch. ( Real Deal-The service agreement of 59 dollars a month is per terminal per month (708 per year) add an 236 dollars per terminal per year support fee, contract for a 5 year term with auto renew for 4 extra years(60 day notice). if you do a 5 year TCO it is much more than a traditional POS from a knowledgeable local vendor that sells POS for a living and not cut and run credit card services...(notice i didn't even mention the complaints against UBC for charging unapproved fees to clients accounts?" Their are so many reasons to avoid this company i could have written and article. And yes i am a traditional POS vendor. (But no I am not loosing clients to UBC)

    0 Votes
  • He
      Sep 14, 2012

    I am not a competitor Jared, I am a VERY dissatisfied customer. I run a small retail store and in this economy I am struggling to keep my doors open.

    Unfortunately I didn't google your company and I bought into your "Free" system. Now I am stuck with fees that are more then a small burden for me to carry.

    I experienced the technical problems in the beginning and called for technical support. MANY TIMES. When I never got through and never received a call back I resorted to email. This went on for weeks with no response!! I finally did get a response, but buy then I had figured out the issue myself and fixed it.

    I called today to cancel, and was told I had signed a three year contract. I NEVER would have signed a three year contract. I have a four page contract and apparently at the bottom of the fourth page there is a clause that states I agree to terms and conditions that are not in this actual contract. Holy Crap.

    This is Utah buddy. A contract is a contract, and all the terms and conditions are supposed to be in the actual contract. I will be contacting the State Attorney General. I will also be looking into setting up a class action suit against your company.

    You should not be allowed to offer "Free" stuff, when it isn't free. The random "buy the way you are in a three year contract because you should know what the secret terms and conditions are (even though they are changeable after the fact) isn't allowable. Theoretically, you can change that "Terms and conditions" to state I owe you my first born child, and I would liable to ship her to you. You could even make me responsible for shipping and handling, which is why it is not okay.

    Your company is very, very crooked, and I will do everything I can to make sure this does not happen to some other unsuspecting merchant.

    Not to mention this "Free" system cost me 99$. I could have (and should have) just bought the system outright from Staples for 199.00 The Square is free, even though the per transaction fee seems quite high, there is nothing else.

    As a customer who is currently being royally screwed by your "Terms and Conditions" I can say with ABSOLUTE certainty that REALDEALPOS isn't making stuff up to make himself, or his business look better.

    0 Votes
  •   Dec 28, 2012

    Check us out... we don't have any smoke or mirrors.
    Our current and future goals are to continue to service all companies and make products and services that were otherwise too expensive much more affordable.

    At Quality POS Systems we help business owners eliminate the time-consuming and costly process of choosing a Point of Sale System. Our systems are controlled directly by the user and is entirely self contained, making it the easiest Point of Sale System to use on the market.
    Once it is purchased, leased or special financed there are no ongoing fees for its use or charges associated with technical support. (Ask for details).
    1-800-987-1506
    [protected]@qualityPOSsystems.com

    -1 Votes
  • Bj
      Mar 19, 2013

    How I wish I had found this message before I signed on with these crooks!! It is not made for retail! I have had the system for 11 months and not process even ONE sale!! They don't care as long as they get my 139.00 per month for their P.O.S. ( and i don't mean point of sale)! Have been promised a tech would come to my business, never happened. Always promised return phone calls, never happens. I have contacted the snake oil salesman to tell him my dissatisfaction in this product, no response!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cu
      Mar 19, 2013

    Email service at harbor touch dot com. That email is monitored by supervisors, the same email the CEO uses to escalate an issue. Their retail software is designed for retail stores. You can even watch their training software videos on my web site: http://www.harbortouchs.com/retail-demo.php. They will take care of you and do everything they can to accomplish that task. They are always working on improving communications and keep track of everything. At this time, email is best to ensure you are taken care of if it is non-urgent.

    Curtis Stevens
    Harbortouch Agent
    www.harbortouchs.com

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Aug 17, 2013

    There are basically three ways to deal with these crooks: 1. File a complaint with ConsumerFinance.gov/complaint/ 2.Call your State's Attorney General 3. Sue them for deceit and fraud. Get every penny of your "Free POS" back from them.

    0 Votes

Post your comment