SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Halstead Communications / worse service ever +

1 PA, US Review updated:

I ordered Direct TV after being a Dish customer for years. Had heard how they really "take care" of their customers. Halstead Communications was sent for the installation. Old equipment from 8 years prior (a different tenant in the house used) was left, no phone lines run to recievers, would not take the time to program the remote controls, very rude installer stating he was in a hurry to "be somewhere else", 2 hours late for install time, no instructions on how to use direct tv and more... When I phoned Direct TV is was very difficult to get resolution on the problem, took several weeks to get a return call which they said they didn't know about, had to speak to three supervisors to get satisfaction and direct tv didn't seem interested in helping with the problem. Wouldn't recomment direct tv at this time and certainly wouldn't take direct tv is Halstead Communications is going to install. I am located in Lock Haven Pa close to Williamsport and the installation company is in upstate New York?????

Ts
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Te
      May 21, 2009
    Halstead Communications - Bad service
    Halstead Communications
    United States

    I have been a loyal DirectTV customer for almost five years. I recently purchased an HDTV and on December 22, 2006 ordered DirectTV HDVR service and received an installation date of January 27, 2007. My credit card was promptly charged on December 23. On January 27, a technician from Halstead Communications came to my house and informed me he did not have a ladder long enough to reach my roof (which is three stories up). In the years I have lived in my house, none of the various roofers, chimney sweeps, and two previous DirectTV installers who have had to go up to my roof ever had a problem with going up to my roof or warned me that my roof was particularly hard to access.
    After about 45 minutes on the phone with DirectTV and a most unhelpful supervisor at Halstead I was told that the next installation date was April 21. The technician told me that I could re-schedule for the April 21 date, receive the order number and he would come back the next day with the ladder if I paid him $150. I had, and have, no interest in paying Halstead "under the table" for a service DirectTV claims is free for existing customers. I lodged a complaint with the Better Business Bureau against DirectTV and received an e-mail to the effect that DirectTV had "fixed" the scheduling problem.
    Hope springs eternal and so I re-scheduled for Thursday, February 15, 2007 and told the installation department to make a note that the technician would need to bring a 40-foot ladder. I received a $50 rebate from DirectTV for my troubles. On February 15, a technician and his helper from Halstead Communications and promptly decided their ladder was not long enough and it was too dangerous to go up to my roof. I called the installation department at DirectTV who asked to speak to the technician and told him he needed to do the installation -- especially since I had taken the day off for the installation. The technician complained about not wanting to go up on the roof, ran back to his van with his helper, talked to someone on his cell phone for 15 minutes and then sped off. DirectTV assured me that Halstead would send someone back out. Halstead did not and informed me that the next installation date would be March 21. After more complaints to DirectTV I wrested a tentative agreement from them to find my own installer and they would give me $100 toward the installation. In addition, the customer service representative at DirectTV suggested that because I had complained to DirectTV about Halstead Communication's behavior the technicians would be likely to damage the equipment.
    Strangely at about 6:30 pm on February 15, a very apologetic Candida from Halstead Communications called me to beg for another chance to install the system I had originally ordered on December 22. She promised someone would come on Friday, February 16. Since I had not engaged another installer, I agreed to give Halstead one more chance -- and decided to take another day off. On February 16, a tech and his helper came out to my house and promptly told me that my roof was too high for them -- even though they had a 40 foot ladder. They dismissed the fact that a DirectTV dish was already perched on my roof by telling me that Halstead does not provide adequate equipment. Before fleeing, the tech informed me that I would get a call to re-schedule. When the call came, I said I wanted nothing more to do with Halstead Communications. Halstead's response was to say sorry and express surprise that I did not want to immediately re-schedule -- I have no interest in giving Halstead another opportunity to waste another vacation day for me.
    I am now exploring having FIOS TV installed and ditching DirectTV and Halstead Communications for good...
    Caveat emptor!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Aug 12, 2009
    Halstead Communications - Worst service ever
    Halstead Communications
    United States

    I don't have enough time to tell you why I'm am so utterly aggravated with Halstead Comm (and with DirecTV for even doing business with them), but I can tell you Halstead Comm is the most unreliable and undependable company I ever been in contact with. Their technicians are rude, messy, slack and as unreliable as the company who hired them.

    DirecTV may be cheaper, but service like this makes me want to stay with the more expensive Cablevision.

    0 Votes
  • Di
      Oct 13, 2009

    We have also had a negative experience with Halsted Communications and Directv. After two years of excellent service from Directv (with initial installation by different company), our reception has gone down hill. Our picture, particular on live sports shows, breaks up. Directv sent a Halsted employee to our home to fix the problem. He installed a new B-Band box and in the process left a cable unattached. He told us that we would be able to see our game as soon as the system completed reprogramming and then left. When the reprogramming was done the problem was still there.

    We called the next day to ask Directv to send a different service (preferably the one that installed our service) to correct the problem. We learned that Halsted is now the only company that services our area (Central PA). We have been charge $42.95 for the ineffective service call. An email of complaint to Directv has gone unanswered. We would switch to another service today, if there were another one that carried the YES (Yankee) channel.

    Diane Donato

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Jan 06, 2010
    Halstead Communications - Terrible service
    Halstead Communications
    United States
    halsteadpr.com

    Have tried to get DirecTV/Halstead service for over 3 weeks. After waiting 4 hours, they never showed. I called - they said I cancelled my appt. They rescheduled a week later. They showed in the rain and tech said wouldn't do the work but would come back the next day. Never did. After waiting on hold for 40 minutes, their phone system kicked me out. Got referred to 'case manager' who rescheduled me for today. Waited for hours, no one showed. Called to find out and was told my appt. isn't until next week. No one is 'authorized' to resolve this, not even the 'resolution specialist' I spoke to after 45 minutes on the phone (again). DirecTV and Halstead simply move you back and forth between 800 numbers but never resolve anything. The ludicrous thing is that they keep thanking me for being a "loyal customer".

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Jan 13, 2010
    Halstead Communications - Horrible, horrible, horrible
    Halstead Communications
    United States
    halsteadpr.com

    Horrible, horrible, horrible. Don't know why I'm giving them a second chance. after waiting six weeks for an appointment they canceled me. told me I was on a list for next available appt. when I checked for more info. I was told my appt. request was closed. now I am waiting for another six weeks.

    Wake up DirecTv I am now shopping around for different service. whoever shows up first wins.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      May 05, 2010
    Halstead Communications - I would never work for a company like this
    Halstead Communications
    United States

    I applied for a job with this co.and after going though all the interviews and urine screens they say there not hiring.The girl I talked to cory says they just get names and info for future use what a bunch of BULL ###!I guess they never know when they'll need someone so they get a bunch of apps and call when someone doesnt show up.Id never work for a company like this.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Sep 20, 2010
    Halstead Communications - Nightmare for Service
    Halstead Communications/Direc Tv
    Connecticut
    United States
    halsteadcommunications.com

    This is the most unprofessional company I have ever dealt with. Their service Technicians are polite but have no knowledge of their jobs. The company never ever keeps an appointment. They always call and cancel during the time your tech should be at your home giving you service. I have had appointments from 8-12 (mornings) and they always call between 10:30 and 11:30 am and give a reason why they must reschedule your appointment. And today they sent out a Technician who had no idea of what he was supposed to do, I was only upgrading my box from regular satellite to HD /dvr box. I already have Directv service and I already have an HD box was upgrading a different one, during the time he was here he first needed to look and see how they hooked up the first box, then he drilled a hole in the wall put the wire through went out to the satellite dish was out there for a while, came back asked my husband to come out and said well there is a tree here ( small mind you was there when they installed it. And said well I think you will get a weak signal so I cant out the box in you need to cut down the tree because the branches me get in the way and then call and reschedule. Is he serious? No I will not cut down another tree we cut down 50. They should have not put the dish in the woods. All that open field and they chose to put it back there and I already have the same exact box with no signal loss. I called Directv who asked if the tech was still here and of course I said no. They tell me well he should have hooked it up because they see no signal loss on their end. Well 6 hrs later I still have no anwer from Halstead except to tell me they will get a supervisor out here within the next 72 hrs and he can take a look. Well he needs to come and move the dish out of the woods since his techs put them in there. This is the absolute worse company. I had an even worse time with the initial installation job. If you ever get Directv in Connecticut do not use Halstead Communications they are just not professional very unhelpful, poor at answering phones and even worse and returning calls. I am seriously considering cancelling my Directv and changing to a local cable service provider.

    0 Votes
  • Rw
      Sep 25, 2010

    has anyone even looked to see if she even had directv what a line of bs

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Jun 03, 2011
    Halstead Communications - Breach of contract, non-payment
    Halstead Communications
    United States

    I have had the worst experience as a technician working for this company. They advertised for work in the Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania area on Craigslist. The rates they offered were very attractive and pretty much unheard of industry-wide. They tell you that you can come up to PA for 30 days, prove your abilities and then return to work for MobilPro (Halsted) in your state of residence. For anyone who doesn't know.. this industry doesn't pay it's technicians until 3 weeks out (3 weeks "in the hole"). Well, after getting to PA and working for almost 45 days I discover MobilPro has actually lost it's license to install in the state of Maryland and Washington DC. THEY WERE OUSTED! After millions of pleas, emails, and texts to their President Deloris Blackmon (Roger Meaders) I saw no resolution in sight. I was in jeopardy of losing my home. They also promise the tech's hotel stay will be paid for. No such thing ever occurs. I was forced to pay a mortgage and hotel costs. Finally, I was forced to quit. But they don't care..they actually welcome this because remember- you're 3 weeks "in the hole!" They now owe you upwards of at least $3, 000, which you will NEVER see. This is the battle I'm presently facing with this company. A breach of contract is evident many times over..but how can I get through all the red tape and bureaucracy to bring these people to justice?! Obviously they've just picked up in a different state and have continued their "business as usual".

    0 Votes
  • No
      Jun 19, 2011
    Halstead Communications - Incompetent Employees
    Halstead Communications
    United States

    I recently worked for this horriable company, sad to say and i just wanted to say if you are a customer i feel very sorry for you if your getting direct tv cause the techs DO NOT care about ruining your home or canceling your service cause they want to get home early.

    0 Votes
  • Uu
      Oct 18, 2011
    Halstead Communications - Incompetent Employees
    Halstead Communications
    United States

    The installer was from the long Island, NY's office; he spent all two (2) hours on the phone during install. When it failed to pen out, he told e to burry my TV in my backyard. Yes, I kid you not. According to him that was the TV fault. Mind you, the TV may have lasted longer than he did. He got fired. An upstate tech was sent to my house; then fixed the problem. It had nothing to do with the TV.
    The last straw was when I called him out on how incompetent he was, he walked out while the software was still being loaded on the receiver.
    So much for ignorance and added to that unprofessionalism . What a nightmare that was.

    0 Votes

Post your comment