The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

HalfPricedMags.com / Hopefully others won't lose money from this cheating company!

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I placed an order with halfpricedmags.com on August 3rd, 2006. After waiting the 8-12 weeks for my subscription to arrive, I began contacting the company to attempt to resolve the problem. I just submitted a fourth request today in an attempt to get either my subscription or my money back. I've not received a response to any of my previous communications so I'm not holding my breath--hopefully others won't lose money on this same scam from this cheating company.

Va
Sort by: Date | DownRating

Comments

  • Br
      19th of Jan, 2007
    0 Votes

    Just a purely evil company, imho. they take your order, then keep jerking you around about why your order is late. (and, of course, the order never comes.) i have my cc company (citibank!) on the case, thank goodness.

    The fact that these dirtbags aren't in jail is horrifying. some credit card processing company is facilitating their fraud.

    Do not buy ANYTHING from halfpricedmags.com, magsforless.com my1mag.com, or snappymags.com -- they're all part of the same criminal enterprise. also, beware these dirtbags troll the internet posting FAKE reviews showering the company with praise.

  • Do
      7th of Feb, 2007
    0 Votes

    In August I ordered four magazines via this site . I had subscribed once before using the site, with no problem. This time it is a complete stonewall. The site, I am certain, is bogus. Any attempt to research status of your order disappears with a note that a customer service operator will contact you. This is right up there with the Nigerian $$ scam. Have contacted BBB but have received absolutely no response. Hope others will avoid this rip off.

  • Va
      12th of Feb, 2007
    0 Votes

    On June 19, 2006 I ordered Cruising World and Sail Magazines for my father for his birthday. After not receiving them, in October I contacted the Company (via e-mail as there is no phone number to get in touch with them) and was informed that there was a processing error with my order that had been corrected and that the magazines would start coming in the next 6-8 weeks. It is now February, 2007 and my dad still has not received a single issue. The Company is not responding to my e-mails but they had no problem taking my money via my credit card. This company is a scam - DO NOT BUY MAGAZINES FROM IT. I have filed a complaint with Google and also the Better Business Bureau. Don't be a sucker like I was.

  • Di
      21st of Feb, 2007
    0 Votes

    I ordered 3 magazines last Sept. and have yet to received any of them. I have checked several times and with no phone number to call, I have not received any word. I did call one of the magazines company for which I ordered their magazine and asked them to check and see if they received an order from Halfpricemags and she said no, also that it could take up to 16 weeks!! Nothing yet! Would like to know what I can do next!!! This was a gift for someone and it makes me very mad not to be able to have this be sent to the person I promised this magazine to. Now that person has moved and that could cause another problem.

  • Cs
      28th of Feb, 2007
    0 Votes

    Same here. This is an organized SCAM.

    Filed a complain with BBB and in parallel requested a refund from my credit card. The credit card refund me temporarily until they finish the investigation. The BBB is investigating and seems to work. After all complains I received an email from Rhonda Wall - Customer Support claiming they FINALLY found my order and they are issuing a credit (I believe the credit card company made their job). Interesting this customer support comes from a DIFFERENT domain: [email protected] what make this even more fishy.

    If you fall in this scam:
    1- file a complain with your Credit Card
    2- File a complain with the BBB
    3- write them and let them note that additionally to those you are filing a complain with the attorney general in NY.

    Does anybody knows a good lawyer to initiate a class action lawsuits???

  • De
      4th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    halfpricedmags.com is for sure a scam website!!!!!!!! I ordered magazines for my daughter as a christmas gift and they never came so I researched on the website and the site said they were due to arrive on Jan 20, 2007 after I ordered them in Nov 2007. There is no contact information or address of any kind and if you click on the Help or FAQ or similar link they are blank. I wrote numerous emails with of course no relpy... I am reporting this and taking it all the way so they can pay for the crime they are comitting. I never thought a magazine website needed to be investigated ahead of time.. from now on I will investigate any purchases I make online.

  • Ly
      14th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    I ordered The New Yorker in November 2005, and the magazines arrived on time throughout the year. I went back Nov 8th, 2006, and ordered The New Yorker from them again. I have emailed them 3 times, asking for the status of my order, but they have replied to none. Last time I told them that if I didn't hear from them in 3 days, then I would take further action. Guess what...no reply. Today I have reported them for internet fraud. This was a birthday gift for someone, and it has been totally embarrassing. I agree with everyone...they are scam artists. They suck you in one year and scam you the next.

  • Ro
      14th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    I want someone to get in touch with me a.s.a.p.

  • Je
      11th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I read on another website http://timharrisportfolio.com/wordpress/?p=174 that the NY Attorney General is currently investigating Simkhai.

    If this is true, and you have not already, please consider sharing your story with the NY AG at: www.oag.state.ny.us

    It only takes about 10 minutes, but your complaint can really make a difference. You will need the following information when making the complaint:

    Joel Simkhai
    41 W 72nd Street, 10G
    New York, NY 10023
    888-720-6298

  • Fr
      4th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am trying to get my money back that they took out of my bank account how do i do it? www.everprivatecardservice.com

  • Ro
      4th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am trying to get my money back that they took out of my bank account.

  • Ka
      6th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    I did not authorized any thing to come out of my account now it is - i work hard for my money and ### like this really makes me sick. No one has called me back the phone numbers i have can not be reached form my calling area. I am going to call the bbb about this matter.

  • Ro
      20th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    This company is a scam and uses deceptive advertising practices. I am waiting for a refund from a unauthorized charge to my account. This action stems from a payday loan application yet the charge is supposedly for a prepaid credit card which I did not apply for.

  • Da
      28th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    This is a complete rip-off enterprise. I too placed an order and never received a thing. They charged me, but I have never received any communications with the company after complaining. There is no response to e-mails, and the number that is placed on the credit card asks you to leave a voice mail, but then you receive a message that the voice mail box is full.

    Stay away from these crooks.

  • El
      11th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    I ordered 8 magazines from this company (Halfpricemags.com) in April 2007. When I did not receive any of them by July 07 I send 3 e-mails with no response. Today I called to my credit card company and put this charge on dispute. My credit card company refund my money and the money already back to my account. Anyway I will file complains in every possible place because people like that should BE PUNISHED!!! Please do the same. It is NOT about money it is about justice!!!

  • Mr
      2nd of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    Same as everyone else. We ordered once a year ago and it went fine. This time - no mags. Contacted online support and got an answer that they would fix the order. Still no mags. Now I can't get a response. Also the online access to manage tickets for the most part won't let you log in. Another delay tactic I would assume.

  • Ap
      5th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    I ordered 4 magazines from half priced mags around 7 months ago and have receive nothing they took my money. Every time I try to contact them they tell me the same thing. I will have to have a new ticked and wait 6-7 more weeks... So now I warn everybody online to watch them they are ###.

  • Da
      17th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    I ordered several magazines from Half Priced Mags in October 2006 for Christmas presents last year and I have been totally frustrated at all the contacts I have tried with them. I was out about a hundred dollars and a lot of embarrassing comments from the ones who were suppose to receive the subscriptions as gifts. You can be assured that I will be contacting the New York State Attorney General's office. The company should be banned from any advertising.

  • Ly
      28th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    I agree with your post and hope that others are not ripped off by this company. I order 2 subscriptions in July '07 and as of Nov had not received anything. I tried contacting the company thru their website, which is a joke and then I turned to the Internet to see what experiences others had. In the process, I found the following post:

    "This is Joel Simkhai the owner of MagsForLess.
    Please email me directly at [email protected] if you have any open issues. I will make sure that your issue is resolved to your satisfaction. "

    I e-mailed this address on 11/15/07 and had a return e-mail and money returned to my bank account within 5 days. I would advise giving it a try. Make sure you include your order numbers in your e-mail.

    Hope this helps you guys out!

  • Je
      23rd of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I too was ripped off by this website and its owner, Joel Simkhai. If you have not already contacted the NY AG, here is the information to file an online complaint:

    http://www.oag.state.ny.us/online_forms/complaint_alert.jsp

    It only takes about 10 minutes. You will need the following information:

    Joel Simkhai
    41 W 72nd Street, 10G
    New York, NY 10023
    888-720-6298

    Also consider filing a complaint with the FBI's Internet Fraud Division at: www.ic3.gov

Post your comment