Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Half Price Magazines / Never received magazines ordered!

United States Review updated:
5
Contact information:

I ordered Good Housekeeping and Automobile on June 11, 2007 . The delivery startup "wait" time was to be 8 to 12 weeks. These were charged to my credit card by never received. I placed the order through Google Half Price Magazines. I have emailed Half Price and they said it would be taken care of... that was on July 30, 2007 and I was suppose to start receiving the magazines within the next 4-12 weeks... well... still no magazines and I emailed the company again... have not heard back from them... I would not recommend using them.
Li
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
Su
  5th of Sep, 2007
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Half Price Magazines - Took money and not receiving magazines!
United States

Ordered magazines June 2nd. Haven't received the first magazines. This place is a scam. Take money and don't send magazines. Send emails and they keep saying they have resolved the problem but won't say what the problem is. Say they are resubmitting. This makes me so mad that they are people out there that are ripping people off. I am going to contact the Better Business Bureau.
Th
  20th of Sep, 2007
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have contacted the New York BBB. They have done nothing.
Li
  10th of Oct, 2007
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I ordered a magazine for halfpricemags.com in April 2007. My husband has ordered magazines from this website in the past with no problems. After I did not receive the magazine I ordered, I sent numerous emails to them. They've been telling me since July that the problem has been resolved and they're putting a "rush order" on it. I have a feeling I'll never see my magazine. Others have suggested contacting my credit card company to have the charges reversed, but their policy is that I have to contact them within 30 days of the charge in order for them to investigate. This may be an ideal scam, since it takes a minimum of 6 to 8 weeks to start most magazine subscriptions. By the time you realize you are not going to get the magazine, it's too late to reverse the credit charge! Also, when I went to the magazine's website, I found I could have gotten the magazine for the same price as what halfpricemag.com sold it to me for! Not quite half price!! So be smarter than I was and check around for the best price from the most reputable source!
Le
  17th of Dec, 2007
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
my experience has been similar to Theresa. Ordered and paid for two subscriptions in June 07 but have not received anything and it's December 16. They don't answer e-mail complaints or inquiries except to say they will do so in 4-5 days. Send them another e-mail because they didn't answer and they send you another e-mail and they tell you they'll answer in 4-5 days. My conclusion is that I'm dealing with dishonest business people here and not much I can do about it.
Da
  29th of Dec, 2007
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have subscribed 4 magazines with this merchant in June 14, 2007. It charged my credit cards immediately. I printed an electronical copy back then. Based on information on my order record on that copy, I look up its web site for "View My Orders", I see my order is in their database. I made another electronical copy. I then sent email to this merchant for its response. Yes, email from them says to wait another week or so.

Just curious if anyone of you have tried to look up your order in its web site. (Of course, you have to register as I have done.) If we all see our orders in its database, that may be a good evidence to fight. Together with these evidence, we may have a case for any further actions. Hopefully is acceptable one.

If you think this is workable and willing to help, please
1. register to its web site if you have not yet, (www.halfpricedmag.com or any other alias sites it used on your order or from your credit card statement. Like my case, it is www.my1mag.com)
2. log into and go to "View My Orders" and "View Order Details", print them in .pdf format (go to www.primopdf.com for free copy);
3. You can then send a copy to me via email.
4. Go to your credit card company (if you paid by credit card.) or go to your bank company web site (if you paid by check). print your statement records. Preferably in .pdf format.
5. send me a copy of it too.
6. I plan to act as the followings.

This is my plan:
1. send email (also USPS mail) with these evidence to this merchant for a response. Request them a response to all of us who join this effort.
2. Register this issue to BBB in New York if it does not provide an acceptable solution. (that should be a good case/ issue for anyone else to view on BBB. I bet people will think twice before doing business with this merchant.)

Advice?
David
Me
  27th of Jan, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I ORDERED ON JULY 16... STILL HAVE NOTHING AS WELL.
St
  6th of Feb, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Same here.....never got my mags.

Contacted Half Price but no follow-up. Total Scam!
Am
  7th of Feb, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I ordered mine back in sept and I'm still waiting for someone to get back to me.
Sh
  16th of Feb, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I ordered in May 2007. I'm still waiting. On February 3, 2008, they finally promised a refund in 2-3 weeks, but I'm doubtful I'll ever see it. I used them twice before with great success, but they really dropped the ball this time.
Lo
  9th of Jul, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Half Price Magazines - Charged double, never received product
Half Price Magazines
United States
www.halfpricebooks.com

I subscribed to the magazine "Quick Quilts" for a 2-year subscription on May 30, 2007 to the company, Half Price Magazines. I paid $38.92 by credit card, but I have not received an issue yet. I complained, and they said they would take care of it, but they did not. Now a year later, on April 12, 2008, they have charged my credit card again for the same amount of $38.92. Still no magazine.

The website is http://maghouse.com Half Price Magazines

Never, never buy from them.
Lo
  9th of Jul, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Half Price Magazines - Charged double, never received product
Half Price Magazines
New York
United States
www.maghouse.com

I just got charged again, $38.92 for a magazine I ordered one year ago, and I never received it. That is $77.84 for a magazine I never got. Several e-mails did not remedy the problem. - Never, Never order from them.
Lo
  9th of Jul, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
After almost a year of not receivng anything, the company credited the full amount of $38.92 to my credit card. I still can't believe! - Happy am I!
loree

Post your comment

Submit
     

Reply to

close
Send