Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Google

Posted: Mar 10, 2016 by    

google play charges

Complaint Rating:  59 % with 32 votes
59% 32
2.95
Contact information:
125 Bambi Trl
Cowpens, South Carolina
United States
I went on line to check my balance and this is what I seen when I open up my account. I seen where I think it was 10 year old ADHD son. I am not sure, but didn't Google get in trouble about this once before? I am expecting my whole refund back. $148.00. And that money was supposed to have used to go toward my utilities which is $178. Now if I don't get the refund in a reasonable amount of time, my kids and I are going to be sitting in the dark.

Damn


Date Posted Merchant/ ATM Location/ Confirmation Number Trans.Type Charges Credits
03/08/2016 03:54:54, , CARD REPLACEMENT FEE $4.00
03/07/2016 20:07:10 GOOGLE *Google Play, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $9.99
03/07/2016 19:37:07 GOOGLE *Google Play, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $14.99
03/07/2016 19:35:27 GOOGLE *Play, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $5.15
03/07/2016 19:28:03 GOOGLE *Auxbrain Inc, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $3.99
03/07/2016 19:27:54 GOOGLE *Auxbrain Inc, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $3.99
03/07/2016 19:27:46 GOOGLE *Auxbrain Inc, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $1.99
03/07/2016 19:27:35 GOOGLE *Auxbrain Inc, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $1.99
03/07/2016 19:27:25 GOOGLE *Auxbrain Inc, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $2.99
03/07/2016 19:27:11 GOOGLE *Auxbrain Inc, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $1.99
03/07/2016 19:26:51 GOOGLE *Auxbrain Inc, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $0.99
03/07/2016 18:44:38 GOOGLE *Coffee Stain, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $4.99
03/07/2016 16:26:58 GOOGLE *Activision, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $1.99
03/07/2016 15:35:13 GOOGLE *Google Play, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $2.99
03/07/2016 14:08:27 GOOGLE *Google Play, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $4.99
03/07/2016 05:14:34 GOOGLE *Google Play, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $4.99
03/07/2016 00:13:52 GOOGLE *Activision, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $6.99
03/06/2016 23:57:30 GOOGLE *Gameloft Inc, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $7.99
03/06/2016 23:55:47 GOOGLE *Gameloft Inc, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $14.99
03/06/2016 18:47:49 LI'L CRICKET 38, COWPENS, SC CASH PURCHASE $20.00
03/06/2016 18:21:45 REDI MART, COWPENS, SC CASH PURCHASE $9.83
03/06/2016 18:03:36 INGLES MARKETS, SPARTANBURG, SC CASH PURCHASE $9.80
03/06/2016 17:19:51 GOOGLE *PbU, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $0.99
03/06/2016 16:49:13 GOOGLE *Zhuowei Zhang, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $3.30
03/06/2016 16:46:50 GOOGLE *Ultimate Games, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $0.99
03/06/2016 16:25:48 GOOGLE *Desno365, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $1.99
03/06/2016 16:23:00 GOOGLE *Minecraft, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $6.99
03/06/2016 16:17:50 GOOGLE *EA Mobile, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $20.79
03/06/2016 16:16:48 GOOGLE *EA Mobile, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $10.39
03/06/2016 16:11:17 GOOGLE *EA Mobile, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $10.39
03/06/2016 16:08:07 GOOGLE *EA Mobile, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $10.39
03/06/2016 12:39:54 GOOGLE *Reliance Games, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $9.99
03/06/2016 12:39:27 GOOGLE *Reliance Games, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $9.99
03/06/2016 12:33:29 GOOGLE *Reliance Games, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $9.99
03/06/2016 12:31:58 GOOGLE *Reliance Games, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $4.99
03/06/2016 12:16:03 GOOGLE *Reliance Games, g.co/payhelp#, CA CASH PURCHASE $9.99
Complaint comments Comments (19) Complaint country United States Complaint category Software & Games

Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
A  24th of Mar, 2016 by    0 Votes
I received a g.co/payhelp#GB with "Play G Payhelp" name on my credit card statement. for .64. Huh? What's this? I don't use anything on Google to justify payment, let alone .64cents!!
N  29th of Mar, 2016 by    +3 Votes
How do u report this.
N  6th of Apr, 2016 by    +2 Votes
So Awake In The Morning. And Like Always I Check Balance Account And I Saw Something About Google.. Charging Me 1.99 Two Time I Don't Know Why Google Is Charging Me Something That I Don To What The Heck. It Was.. If Anyone Knows How Can I Report This? please Let Me Know.. I Even Take A Picture So Y'all Can See.


N  11th of Apr, 2016 by    0 Votes
My son asked if he could use $10.00 off of my debit card for a game on Google. I watched him enter the information, and made sure it was only for $10.00. Then I told him to take the debit card information out, and I watched him do it. Today I checked my checking account balance, and have 3 charges from GOOGLE *EA MOBILE G.CO/PAYHELP# CA, totaling $70. This is the 2nd time the same 3 charges have been deducted from my account. I did some research and even though my son took my debit information out of his phone immediately, Google still has the card number. This is illegal, and I have reported Google to the BBB. Stay away from putting credit or debit information for anything having to do with Google! They deduct money ILLEGALLY from your account, and trying to get it back is not easy. No, it isn't a one time mistake, it's a scam to steal money from people who trust, in my case, Trusted, Google because it's a large, well known company. Don't let that fool you!!! My advice, STAY AWAY FROM GIVING GOOGLE CREDIT / DEBIT INFORMATION!!
N  20th of Apr, 2016 by    +2 Votes
I have been charged 5 times @ $14.99 when I only payed for one game. I will report to my bank. That is ###.
A  21st of Apr, 2016 by    0 Votes
Everyone who has posted on here, including me, is being scammed!! I called and got all but $21.00 back. It took a few days to get into my account. BUT, the day after it was credited to my account, it came back out again!! Cheree, I agree, straight up ###!! I am filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, it's easy. Fill the form out on line. Found several article on line, I copied and pasted 1.


Skip navigation
Federal Trade Commission: Protecting America's Consumers
Main Menu
Search
Utility menu

Contact Stay Connected Privacy Policy FTC en español

Search form
Search

About the FTC
News & Events
Enforcement
Policy
Tips & Advice
I Would Like To...

You are here

News & Events » Press Releases » Google to Refund Consumers at Least $19 Million to Settle FTC Complaint It Unlawfully Billed Parents for Children’s Unauthorized In-App Charges

Google to Refund Consumers at Least $19 Million to Settle FTC Complaint It Unlawfully Billed Parents for Children’s Unauthorized In-App Charges
FTC Order Requires Google to Change Its Mobile App Billing Practices to Ensure Consumers’ Consent Is Obtained Before Charges Levied
For Release
September 4, 2014

Tags:

Technology Bureau of Consumer Protection Consumer Protection Credit and Finance Payments and Billing

Note: A conference call for media with FTC Chairwoman Edith Ramirez will occur as follows:

Date: Sept. 4, 2014
Time: 1:30 p.m. ET
Call-in lines, which are for media only, will open 15 minutes prior to the start of the call. Chairwoman Ramirez and FTC staff will be available to take questions from the media about the case.

Google Inc. has agreed to settle a Federal Trade Commission complaint alleging that it unfairly billed consumers for millions of dollars in unauthorized charges incurred by children using mobile apps downloaded from the Google Play app store for use on Android mobile devices. Under the terms of the settlement, Google will provide full refunds – with a minimum payment of $19 million – to consumers who were charged for kids’ purchases without authorization of the account holder. Google has also agreed to modify its billing practices to ensure that it obtains express, informed consent from consumers before charging them for items sold in mobile apps.

The Commission’s complaint against Google alleges that since 2011, Google violated the FTC Act’s prohibition on “unfair” commercial practices by billing consumers for charges by children made within kids’ apps downloaded from the Google Play store. Many consumers reported hundreds of dollars of such unauthorized charges, according to the complaint.
The FTC infographic 'Keeping Up With Kids' Apps', which includes information on 4 things your kids' apps might do but might not tell you, and what you can do at the online app store, on your couch, and on your phone or tablet.
Keeping Up With Kids’ Apps infographic – click to view full-size.

“For millions of American families, smartphones and tablets have become a part of their daily lives, ” said FTC Chairwoman Edith Ramirez. “As more Americans embrace mobile technology, it’s vital to remind companies that time-tested consumer protections still apply, including that consumers should not be charged for purchases they did not authorize.”

This marks the Commission’s third case concerning unauthorized in-app charges by children. In January, the Commission announced a settlement with Apple Inc., requiring Apple to provide full refunds to consumers who were billed for unauthorized charges by children – paying a minimum amount of $32.5 million – and obtain express, informed consent for in-app charges. And in July, the Commission filed a complaint in federal court against Amazon.com, Inc., similarly seeking full refunds for consumers and an order requiring informed consent for in-app charges.

In-app charges are a component of many apps available from Google Play and can range from 99 cents to $200. In many apps used by children, users are invited to accumulate virtual items that help them advance in the game, though as the FTC’s complaint notes, the lines between virtual money purchases and real money purchases can be blurred. The FTC’s complaint alleges that Google billed consumers for many such charges by children without obtaining account holders’ authorization, leaving consumers holding the bill.

When Google first introduced in-app charges to the Google Play store in 2011, the complaint alleges, Google billed for such charges without any password requirement or other method to obtain account holder authorization. Children could incur in-app charges simply by clicking on popup boxes within the app as they used it.

According to the complaint, in mid- to late 2012, Google began presenting a pop-up box that asked for the account holder’s password before billing in-app charges. The new pop-up, however, did not contain any information about the charge. Google also did not inform consumers that entering the password opened up a 30-minute window in which a password was no longer required, allowing children to rack up unlimited charges during that time.

During this time, many thousands of consumers complained to Google about children making unauthorized in-app charges, according to the complaint. Some parents noted that their children had spent hundreds of dollars in in-app charges without their consent. Others noted that children buying virtual in-game items with real money were unaware they were causing their parents to be billed.

Google employees referred to the issue as “friendly fraud” and “family fraud” in describing kids’ unauthorized in-app charges as a leading source of refund requests, according to the complaint. The complaint further alleges that Google’s practice has been to refer consumers seeking refunds first to the app developer.

The settlement will require Google to provide full refunds of unauthorized in-app charges incurred by children and to modify its billing practices to obtain express, informed consent from consumers before billing them for in-app charges. If the company gets consumers’ consent for future charges, consumers must have the option to withdraw their consent at any time.

The settlement requires Google to contact all consumers who placed an in-app charge to inform them of the refund process for unauthorized in-app charges by children within 15 days of the order being finalized. Google must make these refunds promptly, upon request from an account holder. Should Google issue less than $19 million in refunds to consumers within the 12 months after the settlement becomes final, the company must remit the balance to the Commission for use in providing additional remedies to consumers or for return to the U.S. Treasury.

The Commission vote to accept the proposed consent order for public comment was 4-0-1, with Commissioner Joshua D. Wright recorded as recused.

The FTC will publish the consent agreement package in the Federal Register shortly. The agreement will be subject to public comment for 30 days, beginning today and continuing through Oct. 6, 2014, after which the Commission will decide whether to make the proposed consent order final. Interested parties can submit written comments electronically or in paper form by following the instructions in the “Invitation To Comment” part of the “Supplementary Information” section.

NOTE: The Commission issues an administrative complaint when it has “reason to believe” that the law has been or is being violated, and it appears to the Commission that a proceeding is in the public interest. When the Commission issues a consent order on a final basis, it carries the force of law with respect to future actions. Each violation of such an order may result in a civil penalty of up to $16, 000.

The Federal Trade Commission works for consumers to prevent fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices and to provide information to help spot, stop, and avoid them. To file a complaint in English or Spanish, visit the FTC’s online Complaint Assistant or call 1-877-FTC-HELP (1-877-382-4357 FREE). The FTC enters complaints into Consumer Sentinel, a secure, online database available to more than 2, 000 civil and criminal law enforcement agencies in the U.S. and abroad. The FTC’s website provides free information on a variety of consumer topics. Like the FTC on Facebook (link is external), follow us on Twitter (link is external), and subscribe to press releases for the latest FTC news and resources.
Press Release Reference:
FTC Approves Final Order in Case About Google Billing for Kids’ In-App Charges Without Parental Consent
Contact Information

MEDIA CONTACT:
Jay Mayfield
Office of Public Affairs
202-326-2181

STAFF CONTACT:
Duane Pozza
Bureau of Consumer Protection
202-326-2042

Jason Adler
Bureau of Consumer Protection
202-326-3231
Events Calendar
Related Cases
Google, Inc.
Related Actions
Google, Inc.; Analysis to Aid Public Comment; Proposed Consent Agreement
Chairwoman Edith Ramirez Media Statement on Google’s Settlement With FTC Over In-App Billing Practices
For Consumers

Blog: Kids’ in-app spending on Android? Parents didn’t app-rove
Understanding mobile apps
Keeping up with kids’ apps

For Businesses

Blog: 4 tips businesses can take from the FTC’s $19+ million settlement with Google
Payments and Billing

Media Resources

Our Media Resources library provides one-stop collections of materials on numerous issues in which the FTC has been actively engaged. These pages are especially useful for members of the media.
About the FTC

What We Do
Our History
Commissioners
Bureaus & Offices
Biographies
Budgets
Performance
Office of Inspector General
FOIA
Careers at the FTC

News & Events

Press Releases
Commission Actions
Media Resources
Events Calendar
Speeches
Audio/Video
Social Media
Blogs
Contests

Enforcement

Cases and Proceedings
Premerger Notification Program
Merger Review
Anticompetitive Practices
Rules
Statutes
Consumer Sentinel Network
Criminal Liaison Unit

Policy

Advocacy
Advisory Opinions
Cooperation Agreements
Federal Register Notices
Reports
Studies
Testimony
Public Comments
Policy Statements
International

Tips & Advice

For Consumers
Business Center
Competition Guidance

I Would Like To...

Submit a Consumer Complaint to the FTC
Apply for a Refund in an FTC Case
Report Identity Theft
List a Number on the National Do Not Call Registry
Get a Free Copy of My Credit Report
File a Comment
Report An Antitrust Violation
File Documents in Adjudicative Proceedings

Site Information

Privacy Policy
Website Policy
No FEAR Act
USA.gov
Accessibility
Digital Government Strategy
Open Government

Federal Trade Commission
Headquarters:
600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20580
Contact Us

Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Stay Connected

Stay Connected with the FTC
N  24th of Apr, 2016 by    0 Votes
I have had numerous withdrawals from my account for things I have not authorised and have not ever played or knew about before this such as minecraft and ODD games I have attached photos of these withdrawals that have been made without my permission and would greatly appreciate my money being returned to me as soon as possible and if this doesn't happen I will be taking it further.


N  12th of May, 2016 by    0 Votes
I have not recently used my credit card and got the statement for April. There were charges on there for $50 in which I had no idea what it was from, because ithe was from Google. Here I purchased a $4.99 boost in a game and it charged my account more than once, totalling over $70.


N  26th of May, 2016 by    0 Votes
i made a purchase of 2.99 today. When i went to check my account later not only did they charge me to 2.99. they also charged me 19.99 purchase today and tuesday that i did not make. They will never get money from me again!!! They are thieves and should be shut down!!! Also my AT&T account was charged 120.00 dollars over the last month. when i called them and asked about it they told me it was charges from GSN! I hope they plan on refunding me
N  18th of Jul, 2016 by    0 Votes
just recieved my credit card statement, there is a charge for 12.84 euros by g.co/payhelp ...i never purchased anything from google ...what is my course of action to stop this unlawfull scam.
N  19th of Aug, 2016 by    0 Votes
I see all these complaints but am not seeing any responses from Google. I have a question about a charge but it doesn't seem anyone is getting any help from Google..Has anyone ever been contacted by customer support?
N  19th of Aug, 2016 by    0 Votes
I guess my question, in case anyone is answering is how I can determine if a charge from Google on my credit card is valid?
I have a $0.99 charge from - GOOGLE *Code Sector g.co/payhelp# CA
It may very well be that I uncured the charge and don't remember but without more info, how would I know?
It isn't a lot, but I would like to know what it's for especially if it happens again and for a higher amount.
If you are listening (reading this) please respond to the email address on my account...TY
A  2nd of Sep, 2016 by    0 Votes
I just noticed 5 unauthorized charges over the last few days from Google, have no idea what this is. Total is $37, not a lot of money, but this is fraud. I have notified my bank, I have filled fraud charges and had to cancel my account, do you have any idea how inconvenient this is for me. My debit card has been cancelled and will take almost 2 weeks for a replacement { this is a credit union } How is Google getting away with this? I expect a response from this e-mail, I demand an explanation!!

Lori Russo
lruss15645@yahoo.com
A  13th of Sep, 2016 by    0 Votes
Same problem. I believe I was charged the most out of everyone here. I had charges totaling over $900.00 USD!!! Just checked my bank account tonight. I called the bank and they refunded money. Someone took my debit card, which I did not discover missing until tonight. THe merchant code on the purchases was: "GOOGLE *EA Mobile g.co/payhelp# CA 1600 Am". I had 22 charges in total from 9/6-9/12/2016. The highest single amount was $108.24 charged five times. I called google twice and both representatives said they could not find the transactions. WTF?????!!! THey couldn't even tell me what the merchant code stood for. THey knew my debit card number but could not help with anything. WHats going on?! Google should have a better handle on this S**t. This apparently happens all the time.
N  24th of Jan, 2017 by    0 Votes
@CertC I had over 1000 charges ran through my Unemployment account file a complaint with the CFPB. They nightmare I have been put through is unbelievable. I am so sorry this happen to you. Please check all of your accounts and know Google stated that no password was required for the Play store in a response to a compliant. So no password for 1000 charges to a unemployment card with no consent required. Wallet and Playstore both billed. Please check your accounts and remove your informations ASAP!
A  14th of Feb, 2017 by    0 Votes
My mother checked her debit card one day and then checked it the next day and there was $300 missing. I got online and looked and it was Google mobile esg. I add it all up and they took $750 out in a two week period. I don't understand how they got her card number she has never bought anything online. Sh doesn't even have a Google account. How can we get the money back. I don't know who to call or e mail. My mother is on social security and it took her while check.
N  8th of Jun, 2017 by    0 Votes
I didn recived book return my mony
05/16/2017
GOOGLE *PL G.CO/PAYHELP CA G.CO/PAYHELP CA
Purchases
-$38.99

04/24/17 PURCHASE AUTHORIZED ON 04/21 GOOGLE *Play g.co/payhelp# CA S587111104514072 CARD 1638 $38.99
N  8th of Jun, 2017 by    0 Votes
I didn't received book pleas return my mony two times order perches by debit card .

05/16/2017
GOOGLE *PL G.CO/PAYHELP CA G.CO/PAYHELP CA
Purchases
-$38.99
04/24/17 PURCHASE AUTHORIZED ON 04/21 GOOGLE *Play g.co/payhelp# CA S587111104514072 CARD 1638 $38.99

total $78.00
N  19th of Jun, 2017 by    0 Votes
Well after reading this page its looks like a big rip-off, I ordered a birthday gift book of learning to forge) on 5-16-2017, from PlayG.Co/Payhelp#Ca. Iv'e owned business's but people could come in or phone, now days Amazon etc. and you are unavailable!!! send my damn book or refund the $7.99 you took on 5-16-2017 NOW, I'am reporting this to Alaska's attorney general, I'm sure they have heard of you before, I will continue to only deal with Barnes & Noble, lesson learned. Acct #s587135640599320 Katherine Marshall

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Google Logo Google
Customer Care Service
1600 Amphitheatre Pkwy
Mountain View
California
United States - 94043-1351
+1 650 330 XXXX
+1 650 618 XXXX
View Full Information
Contact Us
bdomains.com
     

Reply to

Send