SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

GErefrigerator - freezer doors

Review updated:

I bought a refrigerator in 2017. I've had issues the with air/ice freezing up in the ice maker.in 2017 I had a different issue with the refrigerator. A ge technician came out and agreed with the issue. He then said the model unit also has a recall for the freezer & fridge doors. The main reason was ice would build up in freezer door. He stated the recall ended but to call ge to help me.

I called ge today and they said there was no recall, and the technician was mistaken in what he said. The did say they would give me a $400.00 credit for another refrigerator if I bought it through them. Or pay over$600.00 to fix the issue. They also stated the information to get this fixed was broadcasted over national news, and they would of contacted me. I did not hear anything regarding the issue. The program ended in march, and there is nothing they could do...

I don't make alot of money, and I want a refrigerator that is safe for my children. All I want is the items to be fixed... That's it...

I am very upset about the poor customer service I received. If this is how they operate I will never buy a ge product ever again. I work for the largest hotel company in the world, and I will tell everyone about my issue!!! I work in customer service, and I know you should always take care of the customer!!!

Da
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ma
      Jan 16, 2008
    GE - Poor warranty service!
    GE
    Rhode Island
    United States

    I have a 40 Gallon GE hot water tank. It has the 9 year warranty on it. It started to put out rusty water. The first call the rep said to change the anode in it and flush the system several times. The second day I called and said it was the same, they said it must be my water and would not honor the warranty. I paid a plumber, AT THEIR ADVICE, and still ended up with nothing.
    I'll go to the plumbing supply store next time, No more GE products

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Feb 08, 2008
    GE - Bad quality product!
    GE
    United States

    We purchased from GE directly a top load washer model# WPRE6100 13 months ago. It has failed and I contacted GE. I asked them if I could purchase the extended warranty and they said since the washer was out of warranty (30 days or so)and broke they could send out a repairman for $80 plus parts, labor and tax. Or, for $302 they will fix the washer and warranty it for one year. This cost is more than half of the purchase price. Logically it is better to replace than repair. I really feel that I have requested a fair solution to the problem and that it is equitable for both parties. I have listed only facts here and am not using this forum as a way of punishing GE. But I want to share my experience so that others may use this information accordingly.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
      Mar 26, 2008
    GE - Terrible experience!
    GE
    Oceanside
    California
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    My husband and I bought a Profile counter-depth refrigerator. It has never cooled properly, the ice maker was replaced because of rust, now the new one has rust after a couple years, The ice cream never freezes, it's soft, parts of the refrigerator are cold and other spots warm, the milk is never cold enough, you can fee cold coming out of the rubber lining (or whatever you call it). Repairmen were called constantly and some parts replaced, to no avail. I believe they did send another refrigerator, but same problem. If it was a bad refrigerator to start with, they all probably operate the same. Now we have no warranty (which wasn't any good in the first place), and we are out $2, 000.00 for a refrigerator that doesn't work properly. GE refuses to refund money.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Aug 04, 2008
    GE - Cordless Phone
    27065 Capilano Dr.
    Sun City
    California
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    I both a GE Cordless Phone, Model # 27906GE1-A 4747DG, from
    MObil Oil Co. on 2/18/2017. It has stopped working, even tried new battery, but didn't work. It keeps changing to French from English setting and is completly dead, no dial tone. I did send in a product registration, but I was not given a product book when purchased and all I have is a copy of the registration, with no phone numbers and I can't find website. Registration was sent to GE Consumer Electronics, Product Registration Department, Thomson, Inc., PO Box 173028, Denver, CO [protected], can you give me info as where to return it for repair or refund? Thank you. Suzanne DuCharme (senior citizen)

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Aug 06, 2008

    I am have the same problem with trying to get a GE refrigerator repaired by GE. I have a service contract and I am waiting five days now to get a repairman here to repair the refrigerator. They have change my repair date from Tuesday to Thursday and have promise twice to get someone here faster but never call back. Only confirm the Thursday appointment.

    0 Votes
  •   Sep 09, 2008
    GE - Parts not included
    GE
    United States
    ge.com

    I bought a GE Profile-Microwave/Convection Oven combo for over $600. To wait a week for delivery to be told I can't use the vent until I order a charcoal filter at $41. extra. A part that goes inside the oven which renders it useless as a vent!! Wait another week and give them another 40 bucks. At the original cost I should have gotten one PLUS a replacement! Called GE-they basically told me sorry bout yer bad luck -and actually told me I should have checked with Consumer Reports first if I wanted to know the bad points of the appliance!! I also bought a stackable washer and dryer and asked the pros and cons-the washer leaks softener, no spin only cycle, NO small loads...

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Dec 04, 2008

    I purchased (4) GE Model27906GE1-A 4821DG Cordless Phones for a business.

    How do I register them online?

    The Consumer Product Registration form does not require the serial number and the other information requested are N/A.

    Please send a response.

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Feb 15, 2009
    GE - customer service/policy
    General Electric company
    Pennsylvania
    United States

    I purchased a new refrigerator on 1/19/09, it was installed on 1/24/09. I discovered after 3 weeks that it was not working properly, all the food spoiled. I noticed that the ice in the ice maker had melted, ran through the freezer and refroze.
    I called for service on 2/7/09. The earliest appointment they could give was 2/11/09 between the hours of 8:00am and 12:00pm. We recieved an automated call saying that the service person will be approximately 1 1/2 hours late. When I called to find out what time the person would be to my house I was told that their computer system was down and they could not give any information. This was at 10:30am. I called again at 11:00am and was told that the service person would not be to my house before 1:30pm. I tried to explain to the customer service rep that no one would be able to stay that long. They told me I needed to reschedule. The next available appointment would be 2/17/09, with no guarantee about the time just a 4 hour window that the service person will try to keep. I spoke to the customer rep's supervisor and her supervisor.
    I told the rep I wanted to return the refrigerator, she told me I needed to go back to the retailer that I made the originally brought it from. I went back and forth between Home Depot and GE for a week speaking to supervisors to district managers. I finally was able to return the refrigerator for a new one.
    My nest mission will be to get re-reimbursed for the food that was in my refrigerator. I purchased the extended warranty which includes replacing spoiled food.
    My experience with GE was a nightmare, I was told their policy is that they try 3 times to fix an appliance that is not working before it is replaced. I informed the customer service rep that I purchased a new refrigerator and it did not work, so I should not have to be inconvenienced by waiting (and taking time from work because they only provide service calls from Monday to Fridays 8-5) for a service rep.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
      Mar 16, 2009
    GE - Threatening
    Personal
    India

    Hi All,

    I'm Murali from chennai, India. I got a loan of RS. 30, 000 @ 5.36% from GE finance and agreed to repay it in 24 months at RS. 2, 145 per month. I paid for 13 months. Based on that, they again gave me RS. 22, 194 @ 46.34% and agreed to repay it in 25 months at RS. 2, 145 per month. This time I paid for 13 months. So, totally I paid 26 dues, each RS. 2, 145. I have to repay 23 dues, each RS. 2, 145. So, I borrowed RS. 52, 000 from them and I have repayed RS. 65, 000. GE called me up and asking me to pay RS. 30, 000 as a settlement and they will issue loan closure certificate. As of now, I'm financially down and I'm not in a position to pay such a huge amount. As I'm a bank employee, they are threatening that they will come to my working place and issues legal notice.

    My question here is: If they issue legal notice and drag me to civil court, what are all the fraudulent charges that will be imposed on me? At what extreme can they go? what should I do now? If they threaten me again, Can I give a police complaint on them?

    Please advice me. I'm really in trouble.

    Thanks a lot in advance.
    Murali.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jul 28, 2009
    GE - Terrible Fridge and Dishwasher
    Self
    California
    United States
    siberian.org

    When we remodeled our home 4 years ago we decided to go with 'top of the line appliances' and selected a 36" GE Monogram built-in fridge and the matching Dishwasher.

    The dishwasher began leaking within 2 months and after 3 fixit attempts GE bought it back from us. This process was fairly painless and we then bought a Miele (HIGHLY recommended, best appliance we own).

    The fridge though has been another thing. Loud compressor and the plastic door trays all broke within a year. A GE repair man told us that if we bought the extended warranty GE would replace these parts so we did.

    Of course, when we called GE said they do not replace plastic parts. The compressor, since it has not 'failed' is also not replaceable even though its a matter of time until it implodes.

    Needless to say, we are never buying GE appliances ever again. Gonna stick with the known good guys and I just wanted to warn everyone off of this terrible company.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Sep 15, 2009
    GE - Major problem
    GE
    United States
    ge.com

    We purchased a new freezer last October and by July it starting building up ice (it's frost free)and leaking water from the bottom. I called the GE company and on Aug 8th they sent someone out to "fix" it. He said he cleared a line out...but by early Sept. it was doing the same thing. On Sept. 26th another service representative came out to "fix" it. On the 27th, it was leaking from the bottom and the ice is now starting to build up again!!! On Monday I will call AGAIN to tell them it is doing the same thing. So far I have not been charged because it is less then a year old. At what point, I wonder, do they realize it has a major problem and just replace it???!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
      Sep 21, 2009

    It is now 9/21/09 (a month since I complained to GE about my wall oven) and I STILL DO NOT HAVE A SOLUTION, NOR HAVE I RECEIVED ANY INFORMATION FROM GE EXCEPT FOR AN UNSIGNED FORM LETTER TELLING ME THEY VALUE MY BUSINESS...BS BS BS (SHADES OF OBAMA). I AM STILL STUCK WITH A $900 WALL OVEN THAT MELTS THE FRONT PLASTIC WHEN MY WIFE TURNS IT OWN. SHE NOWS REFUSES TO USE THE OVEN AT ALL. SO MUCH FOR VALUING MY BUSINESS. FIRST YOU SELL ME A PIECE OF SH-T OVEN WITH A DESIGN DEFECT...YOU THEN CHARGE ME TO "REPAIR" IT...AND I AM TOLD BY THE TECHNICIAN THAT THE "REPAIR" WILL NOT CURE THE PROBLEM, IT IS STRICTLY A PLACEBO.
    TO EVERYONE WHO READS THIS...DO NOT...REPEAT...DO NOTE BUY ANY GE PRODUCT ON THE MARKET. GE DOES NOT CARE ABOUT YOU JUST YOUR MONEY...

    E D ROACH
    [protected]@yahoo.com
    Carriere, Mississippi

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      May 26, 2010
    GE - service
    ge
    Albuquerque
    New Mexico
    United States

    I bought all new Ge junk Fridge, Stove, Dishwasher, microwave, 3 out of four are broken. The service guys have been here 3 or 4 times.There web page sends you in a loop when you try to send a email? Who is
    doing there web pages somebody Kids? My new stuff is breaking down and
    it is not even 4 months old. My old stove {chambers} was 60 years old
    and never broke. There repair guys have been here 3 or 4 times and the stove is still
    broke now fridge is acting up {can not set temp. frost and ice in
    fridge} and dishwasher don't clean food off the spoons and forks
    always. I took off from work the last 3 or 4 times to have these guys
    come break more than they fixed {stove had defect in finish new guy
    [one training other on how to break my stove ] crosstreaded screw in
    burner on first visit [never said anything we found it after he left
    with burner not working till they came back and broke more stuff] then
    broke one off in other burner and stove top they sent out was worst
    than one they were to replace} now I want someone to come when I don't
    have to take off work or sit around all day saturday. I think this is
    not asking to much considering how much I paid for this junk? How
    about some good will from GE to me? How about someone over there
    caring enough to call me back and work with me. Well I called them and they said TUFF so maybe I should start a
    negative.Blog maybe? Will the squeeky wheel get some grease or is it
    just Corp. Amercia @ it's worst?This why these guys are going broke.
    Help me help them ! If they would get someone to come over around 4pm and be there at
    4pm. I mean they are only here for like 10 min. These guys are killing
    me here . I went to bat with my wife to buy this stuff. These guys should give me a
    break PLEASE!!! Thank you, Jeffery Gerding GE costumer wanting what he
    paid for .
    P.S. you can not enter a valid phone number with there site, it will only
    take 3 than 2 than 4 numbers { u know 3#, than 3# then 4#}There site is
    so bad. Did anybody ever try it? It took my cell number but will not
    take a alt. number or a fax #???Come on guys how are we going to beat
    those guys over there in Asia if your site is like your appliances and
    don't work?

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      May 26, 2010

    I think I need to learn to spel?

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 30, 2010
    GE - NEW GE PROFILE WASHING MACHINE
    GENERAL ELECTRIC
    206 W. Gallatin Street
    Livingston
    Montana
    United States
    Phone: 406.333.2561

    I purchased a GE PROFILE washing machine less than a year ago. I waited a month for delivery, then I had the unit installed. Ever since installation, this unit has never washed correctly. It will not spin and you have to go through two to three rinse/spin cycles. I went back to the store where purchased, they sent repairmen on 5 separate dates. Each time, trying to level the unit. It was not until it was escalated to GE complaints that I was given the name of a different merchant to fix/review the machine. The company Johnny's Appliance in Bozeman Montana sent two servicemen whom opened the machine up. It has been slowly self destructing. I have contacted GE's consumer relations dept, asking for a new machine as the repair shop declined to repair the unit indicating it would cost them too much. The individual I spoke with "Linda" said I really should get a new machine. I contacted the original merchant who knows the history of problems, and they too agree I should receive a new machine. I was told by Johnny's appliance that GE contacted them and will send parts. All have agreed this is not the right solution, the machine should be replaced. I am personally disabled, and live with a person who is disabled, and the need for a washing machine is a daily need. The reactiveness of the GE Customer Relations people is appalling, They seem only concerned with repairing, not replacing the unit in which all involved with the purchase and repair agree it needs to be replaced. I am not happy at all with GE, and have purchased a myriad of products from them in the past. I am so frustrated that I cannot hardly sleep over this. Why can the consumer get ripped off so badly?? This is the worst experience to date I have had with the purchase of a PRICEY new product which should have worked properly from day 1. I followed the protocols recommended when purchasing a new product, and now I am getting the run around. I was told just an hour ago, that they will put my request in and I am supposed to wait two days and call back to see if its approved? Why do I have to wait and call. I was promised a call by ART, on Tuesday September 28th late afternoon or at the latest by noon Wednesday September 29th, , , NO CALL... This is horrible... can't someone help.

    0 Votes

Post your comment