SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

GE - Adora dryer / Clothes getting torn & grease marks

1 2301 dedate road, Elizabethtown, PA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 717-367-1987

I am posting because of a problem with our GE Adora dryer. We purchased our washer/dryer in January 2006. In the first year our dryer destroyed a hand crafted afghan made by someone close to us. The problem was that it was getting caught in the light directly above the door of the dryer. It has shredded and put grease marks on the priceless afghan. We called GE about the problem we were having, and they sent out their repair service technician. The repairman looked at the light and removed a piece from the light telling us that was why it was getting caught. Some time went by and the same thing happened in the same place, in the light. We have lost shirts, wash cloths, poloshirts, etc. literally hundreds of dollars in clothing. About two months ago we had our washer looked at because it wasn't draining, the repairman said the drain was clogged due to various items left in pants pockets. That was no problem, I understand that and paid for the service. When he was there I asked him to look at the dryer about our problem. He just tilted it back and said "I hope this will do the trick for you" and left. Since then we had a football jersey ($75.00)ruined along with a water/wicking polo shirt with a embroidered logo (for my business appointments) on the front ($65.00) and a few more wash cloths get destroyed. So I called GE again infuriated about the dryer so they once again sent a repairman out this past friday and he informed me to fix the machine would be close to $300.00. Today I called GE and asked to speak with a supervisor. She heard my case and stated even though the problem started in the first year of service that they would only cover the parts because that is there standard policy. That is a load of crap, excuse the pun. For a company to admit that there was a problem within the first year and they are not willing to back their products is outright wrong. I run a business myself and would always stand behind my work 100% even 5 to 10 years down the road. I have asked the supervisor to have her boss give me a call within 24 hours to resolve this matter, I won't hold my breathe for the phone call

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ol
      Aug 06, 2009

    We also had the same experience. No less then half a dozen shirts were ruined by getting stuck by the light. They also have grease stains on them. The dryer also started squeaking loudly, and then two days ago, the heating element went bad. It's only three years old!!! To replace the heating element itself will cost over $300.
    I have now replaced the dryer - but not with a GE.

    +1 Votes
  • K4
      Sep 01, 2009

    I have had the same problem. constantly having clothes ruined by this dryer. Almost every load in the dryer has something get caught.

    so aggravating. wish I could get a new dryer, but recently laid off so that's not an option.

    +1 Votes
  • Fr
      Jan 13, 2010

    Same thing happening to mine. it's bout 3 years old. Anybody have any fixes? Until i find a solution, i'm just leaving a stuck pillow case in there hoping that nothing else will get stuck. I wonder why this didn't start happening until 3+ years?

    +1 Votes
  • Er
      May 22, 2010

    My brother and I just took the front panel off my GE Adora dryer and the problem was obvious right away. First of all, the root problem is a bad design. The drum from the dryer doesn't have any glides under it to support it. It is the center bearing and the plastics that are mounted to the front panel. That is it. There are several plastic glides that snap into the door/front panel plastics. On mine, these glides are totally worn out and the plastics are almost gone as well. That is why the clothes are snagging and the dryer squeaks. It is running on a surface it wasn't made to run on, and edges are being created that shouldn't be there...snagging the clothes. In my case, I will need to get parts 313, 315 adn 316 in order to repair my dryer. Hopefully a local shop will have them in stock. It will cost a little under $100 based on the pricing on the GE website. If there were a way to put some glides under the drum to help relieve some of the pressure on the top of these plastics I would do it. As the son of a mechanical engineer I will tell you that this design is very poor and would have my dad up in arms if he were still alive.

    +1 Votes
  • Er
      May 31, 2010

    MY DRYER IS FIXED! The solution I posted above works. No more squeeks and no more clothes getting snagged. If you replace the top bearing (their label not mine) and the glides the problem is solved. The appliance shops I spoke with recommended all 4 glides be 316 (green) rather than a mix. Also, the new top bearing has felt runner pads at the ends where the OEM part did not. Definite improvement. It is an easy fix if you are somewhat mechanically inclined.

    +3 Votes
  • Sw
      Oct 28, 2010

    I have had the same problem with my Adora dryer. It is very frustrating. I wish the person who had a solution about the glides and such could give further instruction on how to fix. Im interested to try it.

    +3 Votes
  • Rh
      Nov 05, 2011

    Completed the same repairs on my Adora but now it is shutting off after a few minutes. It will restart without any cooling time so I can't imagin it is the motor or it would require a cool down time. Any ideas?

    +1 Votes
  • So
      Jun 09, 2012

    I have been having the same problem for a couple years now. It took us awhile to realize where the ripped clothes were coming from. I have lost $100's of dollars in clothing- would have been cheaper to buy a new dryer. I hope everyone above has complained to the company- that is the only way they will acknowledge it.

    +1 Votes
  • Pp
      Jan 18, 2013

    I have same dryer and my did same thing recently had drum fixed but now the dryer will not heat wow will never buy this brand again...waiting on a repair man...

    -1 Votes
  • No
      Feb 15, 2013

    I purchased a GE Adora dryer from Home Depot and the very first load the dryer started making a horrible grating noise. I called the next morning for a service call. They came and had to order me a new drum. The following week, new drum arrives but the repairman did not order the other part needed. The following week he comes back, tells me the drum is the incorrect drum. He needs to order the correct drum. The following week, the same incorrect drum arrives. He needs to order it again. The following week. the incorrect drum arrives. Finally after playing get the right part for 6 weeks, I called my Home Depot store and pleaded for help. The stepped up to the plate for me beautifully. Ken from Home Depot and the Store manger refunded my money, let me get another dryer, NOT A GE, and had me a new dryer in my house the next day. They also took the old dryer and the three huge boxes with drums in them that GE never took back. Home Depot handled everything for me. NEVER NEVER NEVER will I purchase a GE product. Customer service strings you along like nothing. GOODBYE GE

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Jul 13, 2015

    With any appliance problems I have simply googled the manufacturer and problem. For example, GE FRONT LOADING DRYER SNAGGING CLOTHING. Next, select a step-by-step VIDEO PRESENTATION from a repair guy, watch the presentation, order the parts listed, 2 days later you have your parts in hand. Find a handyman, husband, brother, or simply FIX IT YOURSELF. In my case they recommend I purchase, from them, 2 dryer slides @ $3.49 each + $7.59 shipping. Problem solved, 15 minutes online watching the video and ordering the parts, and, 15 minutes fixing the dryer. Tools required 1 phillips head screwdriver. I cannot pay the repairman the prices they ask to do a simple repair. YOU can save hundreds of $$$$$$ on lost clothing and repairs. DISCLAMER ; I DO NOT REPRESENT, ENDORSE, OR PROMOTE ANY INTERNET BUSINESSES, PRODUCTS, OR SERVICES.

    0 Votes

Post your comment