SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Frigidairebroken freezer/refrigerator

Sf Sep 05, 2013 Needles, CA Review updated:

Purchased Frigidaire Gallery Refrigerator/Freezer November 21, 2012. Freezer temperature started to fluctuate December, 2012. Contacted Frigidaire, they gave us a list of repair appliance companies to call. The first repair said there was nothing wrong with it, temperature was at 37 degrees, everything in the freezer was melting! He came twice and no repair done. I contacted Frigidaire again and they said they would not replace it. I called a 2nd repair company that seemed to know what they were doing, this was all in January, February and April was the last visit.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Needles, CA Repairman was told by the tech support to order and replace 3 parts. He would have to drill a hole in my new refrigerator to replace the parts. The repairman refilled the freon and left to order the parts which would take some time. The replacement of freon held until 3 weeks ago, parts where not replaced and now cannot be found at the repair appliance company. Have had 2 or 3 calls to the 2nd appliance repair company. Cannot seem to get them to set an appointment or call me back. My freezer temperature is 57 degrees and refrigerator is 58 degrees. It is now empty. Frigidaire needs replace or reimburse us for the entire refrigerator and we'll buy a GE or Whirlpool!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ba
      Jul 02, 2009
    Frigidaire - Very unreliable
    Frigidaire
    United States
    frigidaire.com

    We bought a Frigidaire refridgerator in April of 2009. On June 28 we found everything in the freezer defrosted. The repair man came on June 30 and said that the compressor, the motor, and the blade all had to be replaced. This refridgerator is 2 months old and worthless!! Even the repairman said frigidaire appliances were very unreliable.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 14, 2009

    I am contacting you on behalf of Electrolux Major Appliances in relation to your posting on https://www.complaintsboard.com. I would like to apologize for the difficulty you have had with your appliance. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this issue with you so that I can personally look in to this matter in order to do so please send me your contact information, and the best time to contact you. I would also need your model and serial number and a file number if available, so that I can research this matter? Again I regret the disappointment with your appliance and look forward to resolving this issue with you.

    Sincerely
    Chris Polk
    Escalation Specialist
    Electrolux Major Appliances
    chris.[protected]@electrolux.com

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      May 21, 2012
    Frigidaire Gallery Refrigerator - Model # fghb2844lf4 (What a piece of junk)
    Frigidaire
    Burlington
    Iowa
    United States

    We purchased this refrigerator in april of 2011 from our local lowe's store. A couple of months into our ownership, we discovered that it did not seem to cool below 40 degrees, although this is still at the upper end of the safe range. The real problems began in october of 2011, when the ice maker stopped working. The company sent a repair person, who pronounced the refrigerator a "p. O. J. " (Piece of junk) . He went ahead and ordered the necessary part. Another repair person came to put the part in a couple of weeks later. He advised us that if we were offered an extended warranty, we probably should take it. He further indicated that this part alone was over $400. A couple of weeks later, the ice maker stopped working again. Our initial repair person came, and was able to fix the problem, and indicated that the other person had not installed it correctly. About a week later, the ice maker started making grinding and pounding noises. The initial repair person came, and had to order yet another part. He commented that if he were us, he would cut his losses and just replace the refrigerator. He did what he called a temporary fix on it. At this point, my husband called the company to see what it would take to get the refrigerator replaced. They indicated that three parts would have to be replaced before it would even be considered. The repairman's temporary fix was still holding up when he returned to install the new part, and he elected to not replace the part for fear that it would probably stop working again. This temporary fix lasted until april of 2012, just after the refrigerator was a year old, and the warranty had expired. The awful grinding, pounding noise started again, and the ice maker stopped working. We finally just disabled the ice maker in order to stop the noise. We had not even been contacted about purchasing an extended warranty. Even more troubling to me is the fact that the refrigerator is no longer even cooling things down to 40 degrees! We have decided to cut our losses, and have purchased a new samsung refrigerator, but still feel that frigidaire owes us a partial refund, as this has never worked properly.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      May 22, 2012

    As both a representative and a consumer, I certainly appreciate and understand your frustration. While we expect that our products will meet and even exceed our consumer expectations, the experience that you encountered is unacceptable and not typical of the quality products that we produce day in and day out. Because we stand behind our products, services and valued consumers like you, we use interactions such as these as a way to enhance our quality and overall operations.
    Please contact me directly with your product details, and contact information so I may be able to further research and provide resolution for you directly.

    Again, we thank you for your time and patience. Your loyalty and continued support as part of our valued Frigidaire family is appreciated!

    Thank you,

    Chris Polk
    Online Outreach Representative
    Chris.[protected]@Electrolux.com
    Electrolux Major Appliances, North America
    Electrolux Customer Service: [protected]

    -1 Votes
  • St
      May 29, 2012

    I have the same exact problem with the same model. I bought in March 2011, Ice Maker stopped working few months later. I've had the same repair company out 4 times. 2 times to repair boards/parts and 2 times to inspect/analyze the problem. Ice maker still doesn't work and now my freezer stopped working. My fridge made the same types of grinding, whirring, popping, pounding noises. Much louder than any other refrigerator I have ever owned. My warranty is up, but since the original issue was never fixed under warranty, it's still covered under the warranty. Only problem is, that now that the freezer isn't working, we have frozen breastmilk that is now going to be wasted and there is no way to replace it. Bought a whole suite of frigidaire products for our new kitchen, seriously regretting that decision now.

    0 Votes
  • St
      May 29, 2012

    I have spoken with Frigidaire numerous times and they have stated that I must call another repair company and have them out before they can consider replacing the unit. Problem is I have already taken 4 days off of work for fridge issues and now have to take another 2 days off- 1 for the new company to come out to inspect and another for the actual repair attempt. Frigidaire doesn't consider the inspection appts. actual repair attempts. I wish they would tell my supervisor's that so I don't have to take the days off.

    0 Votes
  • Dg
      Jun 10, 2012

    I have the same refrigerator and the same ice maker problem. I can't afford to fork out another $3k on a new refrigerator. This sounds like a class action lawsuit to me.

    +1 Votes
  • Ke
      Jul 24, 2012

    We as well bought this refrigerator in March 2011 - our issue is the ice is melting therefore leaking all over the fridge and down the dispenser. I am now in contact with Frigidaire and they as well have told me it is over a year but I am not done with them yet. They will continue to hear from me as they need to stand behind their product and replace it.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
      Sep 19, 2012

    We bought the same Model fghb2844lf4. I have been in touch with frigidaire numerous times, and now they say they will not replace it since its out of warranty..they told me as well that they had to repair it so much too, but I think they knew that no matter what repairs are done that it would still not fix it. this is a case of poor design and they know it..all they want is to procrastinate until your warranty runs out then say tough luck. I ALSO HEARD that the CEO got fired because of this design on this model..This model should have been RECALLED for poor design and for its Ice maker JBND-28. I will be filing a class action lawsuit . Email me if anyone bought this model. [protected]@att.net

    0 Votes
  • Ky
      Sep 30, 2012

    I too have a POS of Frigidaire model FGHB2844LF4 which was already replaced once because of water line freeze up issue that was done under warranty. Now that the unit is no longer covered the ice is melting in the ice maker and leaking.. I'm question why I brought it in the first place only that the salesman insured me it was a great product. Fool and his money soon are departed!
    I wonder how many others were stuck with similar models using the same bad engineering. I'm not one for using lawyers but a company that sells products that fail to work should be taken to task and company execs who get paid $$$$$$$$$$ for heading up them should be out of work with no golden parachute.

    +2 Votes
  • Ma
      Oct 16, 2012

    I also bought the whole suite of Frigidaire products and I am truly disappointed. My ice-maker won't produce ice and makes the loud noises described above. I just paid a repairman over $90 and he couldn't fix the problem. Can someone tell me how to turn the ice-maker off?

    0 Votes
  • Jp
      Dec 21, 2012

    I also have a Frigidaire French Door refridgerator that for the 4 time today I am having to have a repair man come out and most like replace the fan assembly to the ice maker. I emailed Frigidaire and got a response of "we provide extended warranties". Here is the crappy thing about this; We started having the problems during the warranty period and have continued to have the problem past. This appliace is only 18 months old.

    0 Votes
  • Dp
      Jan 03, 2013

    Same problems with the ice maker issues...also door seals are terrible...Last fridge was a Frigidaire and it performed well...1 service call in 9 years of service...this fridge is on pace for a service call every year...never buying a Frigidaire again.

    0 Votes
  • In
      Jan 13, 2013

    I am in the same boat. I bought the refrigerator it worked fine until the warranty ran out. Now the ice maker doesn't work the control panel isn't working properly and the filter alarm keeps beeping. I will never buy another frigidaire. I thought it was a good refrigerator. They had a good reputation. You would think it would be good practice to stand behind your product.

    0 Votes
  • Ds
      Jan 14, 2013

    My water tank has been freezing since we bought it. They are coming out again, probably the 8 or 9th time in a year to "fix" it. It's never been right since day one. I have also noticed some water dripping down back wall below ice maker. Never reported that though, I'm afraid if they look at it that it may get worse. Total dissatisfaction with this refrigerator. We also have the matching gallery stove. All the rubber feet on the cast grates fell out & we were told by repair man that they are not covered under warranty. Junk!

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Jan 22, 2013

    I have similar complaints with my ice maker as well. After 6 months the ice maker stopped producing ice and I had to purchase and install a new water inlet valve for about $70. Things worked great for about another few months and just this weekend water was dripping out of the water dispenser. I opened the fridge door and water was everywhere inside and the ice maker's ice was a solid block. I shut the water off and turned the ice maker function off but there is still tons of frozen ice inside the ice maker cavity. I like the fridge but the ice maker absolutely sucks eggs. Fridgidaire should be ashamed of themselves. I'm planning on removing the whole ice maker assembly, make more room and buy a stand alone ice maker. Back to the dark ages I guess because I can't afford another $2500 fridge at my expense!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Mar 12, 2013

    Same problem here, same refrigerator, purchased 1/7/11 and have had 13 service calls. We get the same answers everyone else here does - out of warranty, sell us an extended warranty, yada yada. Anyone ever get anywhere contacting Chris Polk at Electrolux. Anyone know status of a class action and how to join?

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Apr 12, 2013

    I have the same POS. I purchased it 2/1/11. Ice maker not working making terrible grinding noises. Temperatures not maintained in both the refrigerator and freezer section along with the ceiling liner melting near the lights in the rear of the refrigeratior.

    0 Votes
  • Db
      Apr 26, 2013

    I have a Frigidaire gallery refrigerator (LGHN2844MF) purchased in July with the same ice maker problem. Fortunately I did buy an extended warranty (which I definitely need). I bought three Frigidaire Gallery appliances and am just sick about it. Unless they stand behind their product and fix this problem, I also will never buy Frigidaire or Electrolux again.

    0 Votes
  • Db
      Apr 26, 2013

    CORRECTION: I have a Frigidaire gallery refrigerator (LGHN2844MF) purchased in July of 2011 with the same ice maker problem. Fortunately I did buy an extended warranty (which I definitely need). I bought three Frigidaire Gallery appliances and am just sick about it. Unless they stand behind their product and fix this problem, I also will never buy Frigidaire or Electrolux again.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      May 08, 2013

    My issues are the same as mentioned above.
    First problem was a bowed freezer door causing condensation to build up between the top of the freezer door and the bottom of the fridge doors. Quick fix adjustment under warranty
    Second was a gap in the gasket in the channel running up the back of the fridge which caused too much cool near the water reservoir causing it to freeze up - warranty (barely)
    Third - grinding noise in ice maker - now the melting ice / dripping issue
    Nothing but trouble!
    Going to contact the rep above and see if I have a recourse. (not holding my breath)
    - CAM

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      May 08, 2013

    First of all why did you buy Frigidaire that is made in the USA? If you had bought a Samsung would not be having problems.

    0 Votes
  • Rc
      May 15, 2013

    I purchased a Gallery/LGUB2642LF2 at Lowe's on 01/19/13. The ice maker stopped making ice and we were unable to pullout the ice container. The repair person had to make a hole on the outside to pull it out. He then reordered the parts he had to destroy to pullout the ice container out. The problem was the ice container that works with this ice maker is no longer being manufactured! I did receive a new ice container for the new and improved ice maker but it does not fit into my model. And it is my problem because I did not keep the old parts to be reused to fix a defect that in all probability will break again?! any suggestions?

    0 Votes
  • Pt
      Jul 15, 2013

    This refrigerator is a nightmare. I have had mine since 11/10 and have had 6 calls for the ice maker. Not to mention issue ith the light melting theophylline of the fridge. Definitely JUNK

    0 Votes
  • 1b
      Sep 05, 2013

    I will never use Booking.com. My double occupancy reservation turned into a single when I arrived in Mexico. Cause great troubles!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Sep 12, 2013

    Good Morning SFairman,

    On behalf of Frigidaire, please accept my humble apologies. We strive to achieve the highest in consumer satisfaction. We certainly would like to investigate this matter further to determine if there is any additional assistance we can provide to you regarding your range appliance.


    I ask you to please email me your full name, date of purchase, model#/serial#, and complete contact information and preferences to chris.polk(at)electrolux.com


    We look forward to assisting our Frigidaire customers to the best of our ability.


    Thank you in advance for voicing your concerns.


    Chris Polk
    Online Outreach Representative

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Oct 28, 2013

    We purchased the Frigidaire Gallery refrigerator in April 2011 and the icemaker has given us continous problems, Frigidaire says there is nothing they can do now that the warranty has expired. I keep getting it `fixed" and spending more money for a poor product. Unfortunately, we purchased all the other matching appliances, wont hold our breath. Learned a lesson, never to buy Frigidaire again.

    0 Votes
  • Db
      Nov 11, 2013

    I purchased a Frigidaire gallery refrigerator Model number LGUB2642LF2 April of 2011, and I had the first repairman out 8/2011 because the ice maker was not making ice. No water was running through the line. We continued to have this problem off and on through July 2012, had service people out 2 more times. Now the ice maker is leaking water out the front of our refrigerator and into our refrigerator. The ice is not freezing properly and the ice maker is now making a horrible noise. I had a repairman out today. Now just waiting on Lowes to decide whether they want to continue to keep me as a customer. I will never purchase another Frigidaire product again.

    0 Votes
  • Kp
      Apr 23, 2014

    I have the same fridge with the exact same icemaker problem. This is all over the web. Can we start a class action suit? Obviously a faulty product.

    0 Votes
  • Gh
      May 17, 2014

    Amazing all of the same problems people are having with this ice maker on frigidaire. We purchased a whole line of products from them for a house we built and immediately started having issues with the ice maker. Specifically grinding noises and the real problem of the grinding was plastic pieces of the ice maker were being ground and spitting out along with the ice. Had no idea I was eating bits of plastic until the ice maker quit and a repair call was made. Long story short as many have reported here. The retail seller of the fridge made several repair calls under warranty and then would not honor anything past that even after showing him the plastic pieces that were being ground and falling into the ice. Typical of businesses these days not standing behind the product and the maker- frigidaire knowing about a faulty product and doing nothing about it. I don't think eating plastic is healthy!!!

    0 Votes
  • Vh
      Jul 01, 2014

    I'm having the same problem everyone mentioning.
    Ice maker .. Dripping issue . Now my freezer continue to get hot!
    Anyone have any luck contacting Fridgidaire directly ? Or getting a replacement fridge?

    0 Votes
  • An
      Aug 04, 2014

    We purchased the our Gallery fridge August of 2011 from a dealer. The first year we had it, all was fine. Since then we have had the same problems with the ice maker as well. The freezer temp fluctuates 20º F during the summer months. Back in March of this year I contacted Frigidaire directly when we discovered that there were 2 holes in the top of the fridge, just above the appliance lights. I can put my thumb in them. When I called, they told me they had never heard of such a thing happening and I shouldn't worry. Really...I waited 20 years to buy a new fridge and it wasn't exactly a bargain basement purchase...I cannot believe the lack of customer service!

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Sep 08, 2014

    I have enjoyed nothing beyond anal probing with the Frigidaire LGUB264LF2. I applaud Frigidaire for hiring the most malcontent, irresponsible mechanical engineers who must have failed to understand Carnot's Theorem on heat removal. The fact is that this refrigerator/freezer with its magic banquet door tied to a single condenser so no ice maker works when 11 square inches of surface area fails to defrost itself is truly a generational advancement is superior stupidity. I hope Frigidaire has mental health professionals on staff to inform the designers that they couldn't pour urine out of a shoe with the instructions on the heal.

    I will not offer my conversations with Lowe's 1-800 We Don't Support The Customer through this process. I will not entertain you with the hours of lost work time watching Appliance Express crap for brains change every integrated circuit process board and gasket on this stainless steel worthless dog turd of a home appliance out trying to save Lowe's and Frigidaire money on this useless appliance. Nor will I explain how the manager of the store on Stassney Lane in Austin, Texas sold me a freezer at 40% off so I could save the venison meat harvested by neighbor earlier that hunting season and feeling so bad for yet she couldn't put her big girl pants on and say that I was screwed.

    I will conclude that my life goal is to make embolden every where I walk on this planet with a clear and loud announcement that Frigidaire is nothing more than a sell-out to NAFTA, to American workers, and the sweat from my testicles at least includes in its promise statement that it will replace electrolytes. Go screw your self Frigidaire.

    +2 Votes
  • Er
      Sep 24, 2014

    We are having the same issue as everyone we had around 8 service calls and after less than a week later the ice maker stopped working all together, we kept getting ice around the fan in the back of the ice maker, of course it was out of warranty but the appliance store helped us out and had continued to fix it after the warranty ran out as it first became an issue under warranty, so the store told us to call Frigidaire and after several calls and hours on the phone they offered us 50% off the purchase of a new fridge, this is better than nothing but if there is a class action suit would it be better not to do this?

    0 Votes
  • No
      Oct 30, 2014

    sign me u for class action lawsuit i am better off putting ice trays outside in nh in the winter then relying on frigidare gallery products purchased at lowes. already spent over 300 on evaporator fan ice maker and out of warranty service calls. not even extended warranty offer after year. frigidare you have failed to offer any solution to customer satisfaction. shame on you and any resolve other than a class action is fruitless in my opinion.

    0 Votes
  • Mt
      Nov 05, 2014

    I agree, sign me up for class action lawsuit!!! I've had the ice maker repaired less than 12 month after purchase and with 9 month after the repairs the ice maker stopped working again. I have a hard time paying $400 for another repair!! The customer service department at the Frigidaire support line was extremely condescending and not helpful at all! I will never buy another Electrolux product again!! The appliance repair industry is alos aware of the problem and they are certainly taking advantage of a bad consumer situation. In my opinion they are part of the problem not part of a solution!

    0 Votes
  • Dr
      Nov 18, 2014

    I have had the same problem as everyone above. My dealer even replaced the entire refrigerator at one point; same problem with the new unit. The problem is ice forming on the condenser fan inside the ice make unit. This ice formation causes the fan to stall and ice cubes to melt. I have found a simple work around. Pull out the ice bin. The fan is located in the back wall of the ice maker. Just use a blow dryer to melt the ice and free up the fan. It takes about 10 minutes. Use a flashlight to view the fan blade. Once it starts turning again, you're good to go, for another month or so!

    0 Votes
  • Ps
      Nov 21, 2014

    Same problem here. Refrigerator never gets below 41 degrees even though the front panel lies and says 33. Water lines also freezing up now and then. Ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Dec 17, 2014

    I also bought the same fridge. My shelving sucks. The shelf rims/trims are cheap plastic around the glass. It is slowly crumbling. I put 10lb ham on the shelf that the cheese drawer is connected. It broke. I fixed it. 4X until I just had to remove it all together. Now the drawer is just sitting on the shelf under it. The rubber around the doors never sealed well. I to removed the ice maker. JUNK JUNK JUNK!!! I will never purchase another one of their products!!! Lowes was of no help either!!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Jan 14, 2015

    I need help... same frig same problem... what can we do???

    0 Votes

Post your comment