SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

FREEDOM STEEL, Del Ray Florida / company does not deliver after taking money

1 Del Ray, FL, United States Review updated:

FREEDOM STEEL of Del Ray Florida, and operating websites claiming offices in every state from Illinois to Ohio to Oregon and Canada, is a COMPANY TO AVOID at all costs!!! They are in Chapter 11 BANKRUPTCY!! You have no protection if you send them any money, and in my case, they didn't ever deliver what was promised on time or accurately. If you complain, they will threaten to sue you. The reviewer who wrote about blueprint errors and incomplete delivery of parts is absolutely correct!! That's what happened to me. If you don't get your building on time as promised, and want a refund, they will REFUSE and keep almost all of your money. PLEASE GO TO A MORE REPUTABLE STEEL COMPANY!!! Save yourself the heartache and financial losses I have experienced.

BY THE WAY, Their testimonials are BOGUS as far as I'm concerned. Or, maybe to avoid getting in hot water with the Florida COURT and bankruptcy TRUSTEE, they've opened up multiple other steel companies with different names, all the better to hide from their debts.
It's funny how IDENTICAL testimonials, word for word, with the same supposed customer posted on the Freedom Steel website are also posted on at least two other steel building companies websites including Safeway Steel and Powerbilt Steel. (Saved the screenshots too, in case the companies take them off). DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE (Sean Hackner, Biana Hackner, Michael Hackner) YOUR MONEY.

Di
Mar 14, 2013
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Fr
      Mar 22, 2013

    Freedom Steel would like to be case specific on this post because we know exactly who it is:

    You purchased a building from Freedom Steel on May 15th, 2012, in which you signed an agreement with Freedom Steel for a steel building delivered to Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

    Because of the complexity of the building and the location of the project, his drawings were received on 6/25/2012. Which he signed off on and said they were correct.

    On 7/2/2012 he called in and said that he wanted to change his drawings, we told him we would look into it. On 7/5/2012 we told him that we would re-do his plans, that we normally have to pay to for, because we have to pay the engineer in Alberta to re-stamp the drawings. He then received new drawings on 8/1/2012, we then tried to schedule him for delivery and he said he wanted to cancel.

    However Freedom Steel again went above and beyond and told him that we would refund him a certain percentage of his money because of the work already done. Which he agreed too and again signed another agreement. So Freedom Steel refunded him back his deposit and now he is posting negative comments about us.

    Freedom Steel doesn’t do business like this nor do we ever intend to do business like this. With over 40 years of experience coupled with the number one customer service department, which we pride ourselves on. We are the leaders in the industry and intend to keep it that way.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Mar 31, 2013

    Clearly the folks at freedom steel tick off plenty of their customers because my review above is about the building I bought from freedom steel in 2008. I feel sorry for whatever new customers have grievances against this outfit and I would encourage others with a bad experience to share their story about this "leader in the industry" who is leading the way in chapter 11 bankruptcy too.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Mar 31, 2013

    Hi folks,

    I am a news reporter planning a series on customers who feel they have been taken advantage of by construction related industries on the internet. So far I have had a number of tips about steel building companies in particular and it seems some may have questionable business practices. Your story is of interest to me and I would really like more details. Also, I would welcome anyone who wants to share their experiences in a confidential manner contact me as soon as possible via email to [protected]@gmail.com. Your story is guaranteed to be kept confidential- if you do not want your name used.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Mar 31, 2013

    I forgot to say the above message I was asked to forward for a journalist interested in telling my story in case anyone else wants to to talk to her as well. So contact her directlyif you are wanting.

    0 Votes

Post your comment