The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

forth group real estates / negligence

1 United States Review updated:

WHO IS ACCOUNTABLE? Kimberly Campbell, CMCA, AMS—The Forth Group

Events and Occurrences
We are extremely upset and disappointed about last month’s occurrences involving the leak in our unit at the State Place Center Condominiums. The lack of urgency to fix the problem is beyond our belief and this documentation is our personal recording of the events.

Day 1: Thursday, September 4, 2008
ß All-Day rain.
ß Arrived home at approximately 9:30pm to big puddle on the wood floors in the kitchen.
ß Extremely Heavy leak in ceiling. Placed buckets and towels all over floor.
ß Went upstairs to knock on neighbors door at 7E, who let me investigate. No flooding or water trouble existed.
ß Emergency call placed at approximately 10:00pm
ß Return call 2 hours later. Kimberly says, “No roofer will come if still raining. Haven’t heard from anyone in the building besides you guys, so you should be first on the list tomorrow morning. I will place the call first thing around 9am. Someone will need to be home to let them in the unit”
ß Leak spreads to random spots and becomes even harder to control.

Day 2: Friday, September 5, 2008
ß Constant heavy leak still occurring. No alternative but to drain ceiling by drilling.
ß Waited at home for the entire morning through late afternoon with no return call from anyone.
ß Contacted our Insurance Reps as well as other alternatives to fix the problem.
ß Called and tried to reach Kimberly the entire day, but with no response. Left several messages.
ß Raincoat Roofing (Matt Baker) finally calls @ 5:45pm to get info and schedule appt. to assess the problem.
ß Wanted someone as soon as possible, but scheduled appointment for Monday. Saturdays are considered overtime.

Day 5: Monday, September 8, 2008
ß Lez and his assistant came to assess the problem.
ß Couldn’t find source to the problem, but went ahead and fixed roof areas that could cause other problems later.
ß Without access to what’s behind drywall, there’s no telling what the source could be.
ß Lez could only theorize what some possibilities were, but could not guarantee.
ß Called Kimberly to find out next step. Contrary to Lez’s professional opinion, Kimberly believed it was an overflow of rain, which came from the roof drain.
ß After our persisting, they finally decided to cut a hole in the ceiling only to discover even more shocking news.
ß No drainpipe existed in that location, and there are no pipes behind inside the soffit either.
ß Metal Stud, beams, wood, and cement were discovered and A LOT of mold, which means it’s been a problem for a long while now.
ß Lez made some speculations and then was convinced, through process of elimination and studying the water path, that it may be coming from neighbor’s patio. After observing our own patio, he realized there was room between the floors’ foundation that if enough accumulated water occurred, then it could seep through any cracks or holes and travel to our leak destination area. Lez was 95% sure this was the case, but could not guarantee without access to the neighbor’s patio.
ß Called Kimberly to report. Contrary to Lez’s professional assessment, Kimberly claimed it could be that the neighbors spilled some water on that particular spot, or that their bathtub could have overflowed. Although illogical and unreasonable, Kimberly ignored the significance of the mold.
ß Kimberly decided to get a second opinion and appoint a maintenance man to arrive that week, in order to check out our problem area as well as scheduling a convenient time to get into the neighbor’s unit.
ß Robert, assistant to Kimberly called hours later and left a message saying the appointment would be made for the very next day.
ß I called back and left a message saying to reschedule something for Wednesday instead, because no one would be available in our unit on Tuesday.


Day 7: Wednesday, September 10, 2008
ß Maintenance Engineer arrives with Lez and knocks on our unit.
ß They said they patched up some other trouble areas on the roof and hopefully that would take care of it.
ß Lez explains to Engineer that the roof wasn’t the source, and that they have not fixed the problem, but Engineer decides to leave it at that for now.
ß They still had not gone into unit 7E to observe their patio.
Day 9: Friday, September 12, 2008
ß 2nd heavy rain occurs.

Day 10: Saturday, September 13, 2008
ß Extremely heavy leak gets worse, and now there is a big hole in the ceiling w/water directly hitting the wood floors.
ß Call Emergency Phone Line and left a very frustrating message and emergency call for help.
ß Call Robert and he picks up phone. We explain the situation, and he says he will get a hold of Kimberly ASAP.
ß Entire day goes by with no return phone call, and an even worse problem than what existed before.

Day 12: Monday, September 15, 2008
ß Early in the morning called Kimberly’s direct line, but no response. Left another message. No return call.
ß Maintenance Engineer revisits unannounced about 30 minutes after call.
ß He explains they contacted him, but no communication came our way. He tells us that he was “misinformed” the first time he came, and he wasn’t sure what to look for at the time. He claimed to have visited the neighbors in 7E, but that he was not given the most recent updated information, so he never went onto their patio.
ß Finally, the Engineer and his assistant are able to get into neighbors unit within the hour. They discover multiple cracks and holes in neighbor’s patio, which leads to Lez’s original assessment being correct.
ß They end up patching and caulking all the areas, which are believed to be the source to our problem.
ß Lastly, they revisit us to explain what they have done, and said we should be contacted in a couple days after the caulk dries, so there can be a water test. Then, the Engineer explains that they had to verify the problem was fixed, and then they would be able to start fixing our ceiling.
ß Still no call from Kimberly directly, as a response to our message and questions.

Day 15: Thursday, September 18, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Day 16: Friday, September 19, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Day 19: Monday, September 22, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Day 20, Tuesday, September 23, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Day 21, Wednesday, September 24, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Day 22, Thursday, September 25, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Day 23, Friday, September 26, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Day 26, Monday, September 29, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß Rained. No Follow-up.
ß Email sent out and forwarded to Forth Group Members, media, lawyers, etc.

Day 27, Tuesday, September, 30, 2008
ß Assistant Robert called concerned but not informed about everything. He did not have any answers, but was apologetic on behalf of Kimberly. He said she would get back to us.
ß Kimberly did not respond to email.
ß Kimberly did not call back with any new information, update, nor follow-up the matter.

Day 28, Wednesday, October 1, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Day 29, Thursday, October 2, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Day 30, Friday, October 3, 2008
ß No call. No update.
ß No rain. No water test.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

Id
  11th of Dec, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Believe it or not, we've had the same, if not WORSE luck with the Forth Group. Our condo had water damage and the building manager has been OUTRAGEOUS. She has committed both criminal and civil violations which we inted to follow up on.

Ff
  20th of Mar, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I totally understand your frustration, Ms. Campbell obviously does not like to directly make calls to manage complaints. When I called about my assessment errors and left a message for her to call me directly, she decided to play email tag. She needs to take social skills classes for sure.

Post your comment

     

Reply to

close
Send