SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Ford Motor Company2014 ford explorer - door adhesive failure

Review updated:

I purchased a 2014 Ford Explorer in July 2014 and was extremely pleased with my purchase. Fast forward to 2017 and the adhesive on the passenger side door has failed and the door is coming unglued at the window. I took it to my local Ford Dealer for service thinking that they could reapply new adhesive.See Top 10 Worst Companies in Waldorf, MDI was told that although my vehicle is still under the 3 year and 60, 000 mile warranty, I would have to incur a cost of $371 to replace the door panel. That is absolutely ridiculous and unfair as this is not a normal wear and tear issue. I am really at a loss as to why Ford would not cover this cost. I've looked at other Ford Explorers and I am seeing the same thing. I've checked for recalls and to date Ford has not issued one for this problem. I am sure I am not the only customer that has this issue.
Very dissatisfied and disappointed in Ford customer,
Raesharn Spain

Ford Motor Company
Ford Motor Company

Th
May 25, 2017
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • C5
      Aug 06, 2017

    I think Ford is using Elmer's Glue on all their vehicles. You're not the only one.

    0 Votes
  • C5
      Aug 07, 2017

    I'm going to contact Ford corporate Monday morning, since my research an personal experience has established that this is a not an isolated issue. It's an adhesive problem and appears to be substandard adhesive or not enough adhesive.

    My guess is not enough adhesive and it's not limited to the Explorer door panels. I have a Mustang with the same issue and know others with the same issue.

    Here's something that will most likely fix the door panel. A couple of weeks ago I had a rubber strip that runs along the bottom of the windows. It decided it didn't like being attached to the metal and started separating from the body. Similar problem.

    I ended up talking to a windshield guy. The adhesive they use is awesome. He applied the adhesive, taped it down with blue windshield tape and told me to leave it on for 24 hours. Problem fixed. I know that the slot that the door panel edge slides into is thin, but it's worth a try. I'd let the windshield guy do it since they know what they're doing. I'm also calling him in the morning, because it will only get worse if you wait for Ford to do anything.

    If that is not possible and you don't want to spend the $500.00+, plus labor for the complete door panel, check this link out: https://www.tascaparts.com/oem-parts/ford-ford-explorer-lh-left-driver-side-front-door-trim-panel-eb5z7823943bb?origin=pla&gclid=CjwKCAjw2ZXMBRB2EiwA2HVD-NFUEWR3b6mHz68CpvV0Ug5HJRNhbW3j5ZS4Cx2pBRsYSebru9qeYBoCKTQQAvD_BwE

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Sep 26, 2017

    I purchased a 2015 Ford Explorer with 38, 000 miles on it. At 53, 000 miles and a year later the door panel on the driver side has totally come apart. It looks horrible. I took it to the Ford dealer I purchased it from and the service department told me, yeah that is happening a lot but it is not covered by any warranty. It will cost me $380.00 to fix it. This is crazy. This is my 7th Ford I have owned and never had this problem. I have always been please with my Ford but not this one.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Nov 12, 2017

    I have the same issue but I am totally out of my warranty period. They want 700 to replace the door panel. I took it to an apolastory shop and they tried to glew it after a day in the heat it failed again. My current fix is several small binder clips with the handles removed looks terrible but much better than without them. I love my Ford Explorer, this is my 7th Ford I have owned and by far the most expensive and this happens and they are totally unwilling to help which is obviously a defect. 2015 explorer sport 65k miles there are numerous rattles in the cabin ant the door panel. As much as I love ford and there vehicles this is leaving a bitter taste next car might be something different.

    0 Votes
  • Si
      Dec 21, 2017

    It's under warranty now. FSA Title: FRONT DOOR TRIM PANEL REPAIR
    Field Service Action Number: 17N04

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Oct 04, 2019

    My daughter and I both have a 2012 Ford Explorer XLT. Both of our vehicles Have the arm rest seams on the drivers side coming apart. We also have problems with our backup cameras and our sync screens go black we contacted Ford told not their problem.

    0 Votes

Post your comment