SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

EMCO Storm door / Leakage

Review updated:

On November 1, 2011, I purchased an EMCO model 400 self store storm door from Home Depot. I also paid to have it installed. My wife and i chose this door because of the screen set-up, appearance, price, and the fact that EMCO was a subsidiary of Anderson. A few days later the installer arrived and had the door installed in no time. It looked nice and worked fine. A few weeks later we had a very heavy rain. Water pushed in under the bottom window pain and ran down inside the door. The window also shifted producing a gap on one side. We called Home Depot and the installer. We were directed to contact EMCO. I sent them photos of the leak and the gap. EMCO's basic response is that these doors are designed for do it yourselfers. They sometimes leak as they are not designed to hold out all weather. My claim was denied. I'm thinking this will be the last EMCO or Andersen product I will ever purchase.

Jk
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • An
      Dec 15, 2011

    My name is Wendy I work at Andersen Windows. Please contact me at [protected].

    -2 Votes
  • Bd
      Dec 28, 2011

    I have to agree that these doors are sub standard. I installed 3 model 400 Emco storm doors 4 years ago and 2 out of the 3 are malfunctioning and leaking. The worst is the garage storm door that appears to be corroding from the inside and the lock mechanism is non-functional as well. The other door has been hung 2x and it refused to latch after a couple of weeks. I was going to replace the doors with Andersen but I found out it was the same company. The garage entrance now requires a complete new entrance since the water the storm was suppose to shield the interior door was trapped between the doors and damaged the interior door. I will look for another manufacturer and replace them . the one door that is still in good shape is the door located on the entrance to my basement that is protected from the weather by our sun room over hanging the entrance.

    +1 Votes
  • Jk
      Dec 29, 2011

    Wendy, I apologize for not contacting you. I've been trying to get through the holidays. Another problem has cropped up with my door. The latching mechanism came apart which prevented me from opening the door. I had to slide a knife between the door frame and the latch in order to slide the latch back far enough to open the door. After removing the entire mechanism, I found that a tiny machine screw that was screw into the latch had come out, allowing the spring to push the latch all the way into the hole in the striker plate of the door frame. Cheap assembly! I will call you, however I think my mind is really made up on EMCO, their products and their warranty.

    +1 Votes
  • Jk
      Dec 30, 2011

    Strike 3! The latch mechanism fell apart yet again! I called EMCO this morning and explained what happened. They told me my door was out of warranty as I had purchased it over a year ago. I almost fell out of my chair! After regaining my composure I advised the call taker that he was incorrect. He re-examined things and agreed to ship out a whole new mechanism. I have concluded that EMCO doors are junk and I will surely never buy another again. And oh yeah, EMCO - Lifetime Warranty? More like a taillight warranty from a used car dealer...we can't see your taillights, your warranty is expired.

    +1 Votes
  • Jk
      Jan 09, 2012

    Today UPS delivered a package from EMCO containing a whole new hardware kit including a door closer. I will be sure to personally tighten and lock every threaded part to prevent any problems with things coming apart. As far as the leaking issue...no resolution as of yet.

    +2 Votes
  • Jk
      Jan 14, 2012

    I heard back from Andersen...to make a long story short, they feel there is nothing wrong with the door. Although the water seeps in, it hits the door sweep and runs back out. Storm doors are intended to interrupt the weather from getting in between the storm door and the exterior door, but are not intended to keep all weather out. Well, that being said, I thank GE for making Silicone III caulking, which I will need to seal the gaps. I will also be looking at other manufacturers for any other door or window needs. I am not impressed with EMCO, and was surprised by the response from Andersen.

    +1 Votes
  • Ra
      Apr 06, 2012

    I am totally agree with you JKSDF. I had similar experience with EMCO storm door. I also got it installed by Home Depot back in 2010. When it started leaking, I got the same response from the EMCO customer service dept. The funny part is when the customer service guy called he does not have any clue or the pic's in front of him and he was just reading the warranty dept., feedback that he got after reviewing my pic's. He also mentioned that storm door is not for “installing outside” that was the most hilarious thing I ever heard.
    I guess EMCO lost another customer …

    +1 Votes
  • Km
      Feb 05, 2013

    I realize that these are old complaints and the time for action may have long since passed however - I filed a warranty claim with Emco for this same door which comes with a 10-year warranty on Nov 20/12 and was ignored. I politely followed up - twice and they continued to ignore me. Then I emailed them again - much more terse and potentially threatening. And I copied three senior executives at Emco on my email. I got a response the very next day and formal confirmation three days later that my warranty claim had been approved.

    If that's what it takes to make them "do the right thing" then it's good that Andersen is not publicly traded so no shareholders will end up taking the hit for their bad business practises.

    I really think someone should be making and posting some "United Breaks Guitars" kind of videos on YouTube to draw attention to this company.

    Oh - those three executives? Sure.. here ya go.. Have fun and good luck.

    marty.[protected]@andersencorp.com; rick.[protected]@andersencorp.com; joe.[protected]@andersencorp.com

    +1 Votes
  • Po
      Mar 14, 2013

    Well, it turns out that Andersen or EMCO customer service is a joke. We have an almost one year old self storing storm door. The mechanism to drop the screen is jacked so we called EMCO customer service and after being directed to take the door apart we stopped at drilling out a rivet because we felt like if we damaged it that we would be screwed. It turns out that the customer is expected to provide all the labor EVEN THOUGH it is a defective part. So, ALL be warned, Andersen/EMCO is a waste of money. Go to Jeld Wen. They actually take care of their customers. I will never EVER buy another EMCO product and WILL tell everyone I know about my experience.

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 22, 2013

    WOW!!! AFTER READING THESE COMMENTS I THOUGHT THAT I WAS THE ONLY ONE THAT HAD A PROBLEM WITH THIS COMPANY.THE MECHANISM ON MY DOOR FELL APART AND I CALLED THEM BECAUSE WHEN I BROUGHT THE DOOR I BOUGHT IT BECAUSE I WAS REASSSURED THAT IT HAD A LIFETIME WARRENTY ON THE HARDWARE BUT WHEN I TRY TO GET THEM TO SEND ME OUT ANOTHER DOOR HANDLE THEY TOLD ME THAT I ONLY HAD A YEAR WARRENTY AND WE WHERE BACK AND FOURTH BACK AND FOURTH AND FINALLY THEY TOLD ME THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY ALMOST $60 FOR A NEW HANDLE SET I WAS VERY UPSET BY THIS WITH NO SATISFACTION.MRS.DISSAPPOINTED!!!"

    +1 Votes
  • Km
      Mar 22, 2013

    Ha ha -- Yes, Martha Washington - Emco/Andersen really does suck. By the way - that warranty claim that I had approved earlier this year? The replacement door has been installed. It was at a vacation property that my mother is currently occupying - the door was my mother's choice and I had no say in the matter. I think she said the bill for installing the replacement door came to $80. That means that Emco/Andersen covered a bit more than the warranty coverage specified. On the other hand, I do work for a Bar Association -- lawyers, lots of lawyers... and judges too... so when I sent a threatening email they had darn good reason to take it plenty seriously. That's why they jumped so high and so fast for me. Now, given that Home Depot is the first place most people will look for a door, and they really only carries Emco/Andersen products - I thought it might be helpful to other readers if I posted something I came across. I find it very interesting that Emco/Andersen is *not* one of the companies that is listed below..

    LEADING USA MANUFACTURERS OF STORM DOORS
    The following leading suppliers have comprehensive websites, with information on all aspects of, including online catalogs, specifications, colours and materials, and care and maintenance.

    Gorell: www.gorell.com
    Gorell Enterprises Inc., of Indiana, Pennsylvania, is a manufacturer of doors and windows including storm proof doors. Its door frames are made from 3.75 inch commercial grade extruded aluminum in soft white color. Two layers of weather stripping around the Z-bar help stop air and moisture from entering the home through the storm door. Double-strength tempered safety glass is sealed into the door using a marine glazing gasket. Adjustable top and bottom pneumatic closers provide smooth operation for the storm doors, and keep the storm door panel rigid and square. An adjustable bottom expander has triple rubber weather stripping. Heavy duty extruded aluminum gussets, inside the door frame, provide structural strength for long life and durability. Traditional black latches, with push button operation, are provided with an optional key lock.

    Harvey Industries: www.harveyind.com
    Harvey Industries, headquartered in Waltham, Massachusetts, is a leading manufacturer of windows and doors, including storm proof doors. Harvey Industries supplies three types of storm door: Solid Wood Core Doors, Aluminum Doors, and Retractable Screen Doors. The Solid Wood Core Doors are made from a heavy-duty solid wood core, wrapped in a seamless vinyl or aluminium skin. The hinge system is made up of five independent Oilite bearings. The doors are available in white vinyl or bronze aluminum. Harvey Industries is a privately held company which has been operating since 1961. Its door manufacturing facility houses automated equipment, and incorporates an in-house testing laboratory. Harvey Industries is one of relatively few US door manufacturers which designs all its own products.

    Larson: www.larsondoors.com
    Larson Manufacturing Company, of Brookings, South Dakota, is a leading manufacturer of storm proof doors and windows. It has more than 1, 400 employees throughout the USA. Larson Doors are made of 1 5/8" thick aluminum frame with maintenance-free finish. The doors feature multi-point locking, solid brass levers, laminated security glass shield which withstands repeated blows, and glass which blocks 99% of UV rays. Door frames are available in the following colors: white, almond, sandstone, earth-tone brown, hunter green, black, and cranberry. Larson Manufacturing Company began in 1954 when a small door, window, and awning operation was started by Oscar Larson in his home town of Albert Lea, Minnesota. Sales of storm proof doors took off in 1966, when Larson Manufacturing produced its first wood core storm proof door. Larson hold six patents for storm proof doors.

    0 Votes
  • Km
      Mar 22, 2013

    I should add that Jeld-Wen is also a very good company but I don't see any "storm" doors in their catalogue -- only patio & exterior doors and I know they do a lot in the way of windows - www.jeld-wen.com

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 22, 2013

    THANK YOU KMCORRIGAN FOR THAT INFO. I BET THEY WOULDN'T WANT TO TANGLE WITH YOU ANYMORE.THERE SHOULD BE LAWS AGAINST COMPANIES LIKE THIS.

    0 Votes
  • Km
      Mar 22, 2013

    Thank you Martha (*bow very low*) Actually - I *hate* pulling out the heavy artillery for something as ridiculous as this. It makes me feel like I'm a nasty b***h. Oh, wait... I am, aren't I? At least, I can be when appropriate and necessary.
    I have a very similar story to tell about Bell Canada Ent. where I pulled the same thing. Went direct to the CEO after no satisfaction and a run-around when using appropriate channels. Same result - problem resolved - in that case within 1 hour of me sending the email. And I received an apology letter from the CEO. It's been a few years now but I bet some underling's head is still spinning over that one.

    You have to document the problem, have your paperwork in order, go through appropriate channels - three times if necessary - but then - you also have to be able to figure out who the KEY personnel *really* are and come down hard on them if you can't get satisfaction when you've been playing by the rules they've set out. Oh -- and having a corporate email address that scares the c**p out of people kinda helps too.

    0 Votes
  • Km
      Mar 22, 2013

    BTW - I had also posted a separate documentation of my complaint against EMCO on this site, with photographs and copies of the messages exchanged between myself and EMCO in case anyone needs some ideas.
    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/emco-storm-door-warranty-c656243.html
    And, in case anyone wants to be amused by my other antics, I just posted my Bell Canada story too. It hasn't been approved yet so I don't know what the link is - but the subject of the post is "Bell Canada - How to WIN"

    0 Votes
  • Jh
      May 10, 2013

    I contacted Anderson for water that comes in through the bottom glass on my storm door and was told by Anderson that it was not a warranty issue, that their storm door "drainage system" is designed to let water in and drain out the bottom onto the threshold. Why would I buy a door to protect my front door that lets water in when I have a wood thershold that now of corse is rotting? Do not buy Anderson storm doors- they are designed to let water in and they do not advertise this!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dj
      May 20, 2013

    I purchased 2 custom size Emco Storm Doors from Home Depot for my patio enclosure and had them installed by Home Depot. The total came to $963. The first door started cracking/bubbling/swelling/blistering/peeling. I took pictures of the door and submitted them to Emco along with my receipt. They approved my claim and Home Depot ordered another storm door. However, they would not pay to have the door reinstalled. If it wasn't for their defective door, I wouldn't have to have it reinstalled. I already paid once for installation, why should I have to pay again. Plus they "modified" some of the parts and now it's not just a simple installation. Then to make matters worse, the second door started doing the exact same thing as the first door. Terrible product and terrible customer service. All they do is quote their "policies" and "regulations." I spoke to 3 levels of supervisors and got no where. They don't seem to care abouty customer satisfaction or trying to make it right for their customers. Lousy product and lousy customer service. I got the same thing about the doors not being made for outside weather--ridiculous. I'm going to send an email to the CEO as recommneded above. I

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 23, 2013

    I had the exact same situation with my EMCO doors as did djslaw03. This company sells inferior products and no one should EVER buy one of their doors under any circumstances. I have now had all three of the EMCO doors that I purchased through Home Depot replaced. Yes, they were covered by my warranty, but it cost me nearly $100 a door for re-installation. What a rip off.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Jun 15, 2014

    I have the same Emco self storing 400 series storm door which is deteriorating. Emco states the door was manufactured in 2008 and this should never happen. However, they will not replace the door as I am the second home owner/ not original purchaser of door. There is clearly a defect with their materials/ production standards. Why would anyone purchase a storm door that will last only six years? I will never purchase an Emco storm door as I would not want any future home owner to worry about the disintegrating dust traveling throughout the home, breathed by children and pets. Disgusting. Avoid any purchase of Emco products which is a subsidiary of Andersen Windows.

    +1 Votes
  • Wh
      Sep 07, 2014

    after purchasing the Emco 400 and installing 2 of them, the hinges falied within 3 years.
    the look nice, door held up well and the initial install functioned flawlwessly.
    however the hinges failed on both doors and Anderson/Emco fail to acknowledge fault.
    in my mind Anderson and Emco have the reputation they had. When I redo my windows next year. I will certainly no pay more for anderson as I have in previous improvements. Pella are as good or better cost less and and they seem to take their commitment to quality and reputation to heart.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      May 11, 2016

    The retractable screen failed a year and a half after I bought it. Called the company and was told you have to buy the whole replacement kit which was over $40 and had to install it myself. Since I'm not mechanically inclined I asked how hard it was and was told it is easy to change. Got my kit today & I don't own a drill or bits and don't want to buy one just to fix a defective door so I could hire someone will cost more than to buy a drill. Very unhappy that it failed so soon and now I might as well buy a new door as it will be about the same price. No more Andersen/ EMCO products for me & I will not recommend to anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Di
      May 12, 2016

    Sounds like there should be a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT against EMCO for their shoddy storm door manufacturing and lack of warranty compliance!!

    We have experienced similiar problems with both of the two EMCO exterior storm doors that we purchased!
    Corrosion and rotting of the door from the inside out.
    EMCO is refusing our claim, saying that "dirt and debris" had built up on the door and then water ran down the door and caused the damage.
    This door is sold as an "EXTERIOR STORM DOOR" yet appears to be constructed only as an interior home door!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      May 17, 2016

    Yes, EMCO doors are trash. I have had a 400 series colonial style storm door replaced under warranty because water/moisture got inside the panel and expanded the particle board framing inside the door panel, causing the exterior aluminum surface to bulge out and thus blister the paint. Why particle board would be used as a structural frame inside an exterior aluminum door is about as dumb as you can get, but if you're going to do that, be sure to flawlessly seal all seams. Even then, natural condensation inside the panel should eventually cause the particle board to absorb moisture and expand. Not only that, I've had to request replacement jamb pieces because they were cut wrong, and the handle/latch never could close by itself, and the piston door closer failed to extend the door more than 3/4s open and eventually could not be locked open. Basically every single piece of the door assembly and the door itself is trash lol!

    Now, about that warranty - they offered me an option to replace my Emco door with an Anderson model equal or lesser in price as long as I paid a fee of $76. Don't do it. Just buy another brand of storm door.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 24, 2019

    I bought an Andersen storm door 4 years ago. The finish started coming off. Since it was under warranty, I called Andersen about it. Thy said it was under warranty. and they would replace it. So I did all they wanted me that it would take three to five days to send me an order form to take to the store Also said, and it states on the order that it can't be taken out of stock. It has to be ordered, approximate delivery two weeks. If this the best customer service they can provide, people should not do any business with Andersen. I certainly WILL NOT.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Aug 28, 2019

    Purchased an EMCO Storm Door at the end of 2017. The interior components of the door have warped and bubbled causing the door to rust and the frame to protrude at the seams.

    EMCO wants an additional $79 to replace this door completely, minus the hardware and with me finding and paying an installer to install and remove defective door. I find this totally unacceptable after spending $500 on this door and it has failed in less than 2 years.

    WILL NEVER AGAIN PURCHASE ANOTHER ANDERSEN/EMCO PRODUCT!!!

    BE WARNED CONSUMERS!! Wish I have found this site prior to purchasing. Their doors are junk.

    Thank you KMCorrigan for the list of GOOD companies.

    0 Votes

Post your comment