SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Dr Revelas / misrepresentation about payment

1 Tzaneen, Limpopo, South Africa, South Africa

• Identify the healthcare professional against whom the complaint lodged, by including his/her surname, initials, practice address and practice registration number

practitioner: dr ap revelas
practice number: 0125326
hpcsa no: mp 0298620

mediclinic - ivory tusk lodge
specialist rooms
tzaneen
posbus 7261
tzaneng mall
tzaneen, 0855

tel: [protected]
fax: [protected]
vat: [protected]
Email: [protected]@mweb.co.za

• Detail the nature of the complaint, including all relevant dates and facts as well as supporting documentation were available

“Being fully informed about any illness, diagnostic procedures, proposed treatments and the related costs.”

I was referred to Dr Revelas through the Regular Force Medical Continuation Fund. The first appointment was Wednesday 30 August 2017. I paid R 750.00 out of my own pocket.

Dr Revelas requested a MRI scan as well as x-rays. I informed his office that I need to get permission first for any scan / x-rays. I had to go back to Hoedspruit because I had to get permission for any such. I received permission and went to Nelspruit for the prescribed scan on 20 September 2017.

On 21 September 2017 at 08:08 am I phone the office of Dr Revelas after I communicate with the person at the sickbay. She advice that I must first find out whether I will have to pay for the second visit so that she can apply to the medical fund (Regular Force Medical Continuation Fund). I did phone his office. The person answering the phone said I don’t have to pay for the second visit because the R 750.00 is the payment for both the 1st and 2nd visit.

The second appointment was for Wednesday 27 September 2017. Shortly thereafter I received an account from Dr Revelas for the amount of R 480.00. I sent an email explaining that I was informed that the second visit was paid for. No reply. I received a second statement on 12 October 2017. I phoned Rene. She told me that the second visit will only be regarded as paid if the second visit was within 7 days of the 1st. She didn’t accept my explanation that I did phone before the 2nd visit and that I was informed that it was regarded as paid.

I was never informed that there is a limit on the number of days between the 1st and 2nd visit.

I did phone the office before the 2nd visit and enquire whether I had to pay again and I was informed that I don’t have to pay anything.

I regarded the arrangement now as a misrepresentation as I was seemingly deliberately misinformed. I expect proof that I was correctly informed of the money payable.

Email communication:

From: Marie Helm [mailto:[protected]@hotmail.com]
Sent: Thursday, October 12, 2017 1:02 PM
To: [protected]@mweb.co.za
Subject: Re: (Account E004360)
Goeie middag,

Graag bevestig ek die gesprek op Donderdag 12 Oktober 2017.
Die boodskap is dat die R 750.00 wat op 30 Augustus 2017 betaal was, was vir die aanvanklike afspraak met Dr Revelas en vir 'n opvolg besoek (met die MRI) indien dit binne 7 dae sou plaasgevind het. Indien die tweede afspraak na 7 dae plaasvind is 'n verdere R 480.00 betaalbaar.

Dui asb aan of die boodskap so aan my oorgedra is met enige van die gesprekke met die kantoor van Dr Revelas.

Dankie by voorbaat.
Vriendelike groete,
MA More
VPA 14428
Rekeningnommer: E004360

Reply from Dr Revelas:

Normaalweg word daar vir enige & elke konsultasie gebill, of dit nou 7dae of 30dae is, volgens die Medies raad van SA.
Dit was ‘n vergunnig vir “privaat” pasiente om wanneer die MRI terug gebring word nie nog ‘n konsultasie te bill nie. Maar dit gebeur normaalweg binne +-7dae.
Toe jy gebel het, het ons nie jou leer oop voor ons nie & nie gesien dat jy amper ‘n maand vroeer hier was nie.

Jy moet verstaan, ons sien +-100 pasiente per week & dis onmoontlik om elkeen te onthou. En ook indien jy gebel het was ons dalk besig om te spreek & dis onmoontlik om jou leer te gaan trek & te bevestig wanneer jy laas hier was & AL die fyn detail met elkeen te bespreek nie.

Volg asb my raad & skakel die fonds & hoor of hul my eis ontvang het & of hul dit gaan betaal.
Daarna kan ons weer gesels.

Baie dankie!
René

• Include full contact details for correspondence purposes (such as requesting additional information regarding your complaint).

MEV MARIA ALETTA MORE
Account number: E004360

Ma
Oct 24, 2017

Post your comment