The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

DR AF Coertze en Genote Ingelyf T/A MED 24 Montana / Account handed over to attorneys without sending an account to the client

1 Pretoria, South Africa Review updated:
Contact information:

I received of a notification from Hartman Attorneys for collection of outstanding fees ref MED07070 on 30 March 2017 at 16:30.

After several calls to Montana Netcare (that only gets transferred or cut-off) I phoned the attorneys and spoke to Bonnie.

Until the sms I have not received any account, statement, communication, invoice or anything besides the notification from Hartman attorneys. I provided all my details including e-mail, postal, physical address, work, home and alternative contact numbers when my daughter was at the ER in 2016 and yet never received any communications that the medical aid did not pay the full amount outstanding and that there is still an amount payable. When I finally spoke to a Charmaine at MED24 she informed me that 3 statements were sent via post (till date I have not received the mail and I have no proof it was even posted). I was informed they do not have capacity to phone or e-mail clients for non-payment.

Hantie at Hartman Attorneys informed me that I had to pay R 550.95 for legal fees and R 419.50 for the outstanding medical bill. She agreed to discount the legal fees to R 300.00. I immediately transferred R720.00 to avoid any adverse impact.

I am concerned with this practice and feel the way this account was handled resulted in the account being paid (which would have been paid if received) and the attorneys making money in the process. I feel the legal fees should be waived or paid by MED24.

MED24 informed me that my medical aid would have advised me of any unpaid claims. I had many unpaid claims as my medical aid was depleted and paid every account I received - the medical do not provide particulars, details and banking information to make the required transfers and as there were more than one bill from Montana I was under the impression all bills were paid.

Ln
Mar 31, 2017
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Er
      22nd of Jun, 2017
    0 Votes

    Good day,
    I had/have the same problem with them. My son was taken to Med24 in October 2016 where I paid the consultation fee. Then on 23 March 2017 I received a threatening e-mail that I have an outstanding account that must be paid. I then paid the account on 30 March 2017 and as from 21 June 2017 I received sms's that the account is outstanding and I need to pay it. I forwarded them the proof of payment twice on 21 June 2017 and to my surprise I received a final notice sms on 22 June 2017. I again forwarded them the proof of payment and then at 15:45 on 22 June 2017 I receive a statement from them for the amount paid in March. My personal opinion is that this people is incompetent to do their job. This is the second time this happened to me that I receive an account 4-5 months after my visit.

  • Di
      28th of May, 2018
    0 Votes

    Morning

    I also have the same problem, this people don't communicate with their patients. I took my mom to Montana Private Hospital on the 25th January 2017, I wrote all the contact details and my number included. We have never been informed that the medical aid didn't pay all the amount. Now recently my mom is getting sms's from Hartman Attorneys that my mom owes R1264.31. Nokuthula from Hartman Attorneys told me that the outstanding amount was R532.56 and they've added their legal cost of R731.75. I'm willing to pay the outstanding amount of R532.56 not the legal cost.

    The admin in this Dr's office is poor. They should send accounts to patients first before sending them to Attorneys. This Dr and his/her friend Hartman Attorneys and making money out of patients, that's daylight robbery.

  • No
      19th of Jul, 2018
    0 Votes

    Good day Guys!

    I find myself sitting in a similar situation.

    2014 we paid cash but did not keep the receipt
    Beginning of the 2018 the bank informed me there is a judgement against me from them
    I called and got the Dr's bank details which I paid and emailed to them.
    I then called to find outfit they acknowledge receipt which she confirmed; I then asked what is to happen from there I was told it will be cancelled and my name cleared.
    7 months later apparently there is a court order against me this again from the bank

    My address has not changed in over 7 years
    I have never receive a letter or email or phone call from them

    Please assist how did you guys handle the situations

Post your comment