SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Dollar Rent A Carovercharged and they don't care

Review updated:

Do yourself a favor and do not ever rent from dollar..They will most certainly overcharge you and will not bat an eye while doing so.

The story...

I purchased a car rental through car rental 8 who reserved a car from dollar rent a car. I specified pick up in jacksonville and drop off in orlando. I paid $306. I picked the car up in jacksonville using the voucher and noting there would be taxes of ~$20 charged to my card. A week after returning the car at the specified airport at the specified time, i find an additional charge of $195 on my card. I spoke with dollar and they told me they charge a $150 drop fee. Good for them. I clearly specified the pickup and drop locations, also clearly identified on the voucher/reservation. Customer service reviewed the contract and stated that the rental fee was just over $200. Even if they do charge me a $150 drop fee, this still does not add up to the $500 that i have been charged.

I spoke with dollar and they told me they charge a $150 drop fee. Good for them. I clearly specified the pickup and drop locations, also clearly identified on the voucher/reservation. Customer service reviewed the contract and stated that the rental fee was just over $200. Even if they do charge me a $150 drop fee, this still does not add up to the $500 that i have been charged. I think i have been wrongfully charged any amount over the original $306 and want the difference back.

Dollar's customer service does not seem concerned about my threat to post complaints on the internet until the end of time. I need some amusement and will do so until my dying day.

For anyone that missed it the first time...

Do yourself a favor and do not ever rent from dollar..They will most certainly overcharge you and will not bat an eye while doing so.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • De
      Oct 07, 2010

    II reserved a Dollar rent a car for pickup at the Munich airport. The "grand total estimate" for one week of car rental charges was 220.30 euros or $282.66. When I got the credit card bill, they charged me $504.53.

    0 Votes
  • Sn
      Feb 04, 2011

    I was totally ripped off...and continue to be. new charges on my account for tolls that I was not told about and where there is no opportunity to pay, Watch out for tolls in Florida...you will not know about them. no one at Dollar told me about them and for every 25 cent charge you "miss" Dollar charges you and extra 25$.

    -1 Votes
  • Ki
      Feb 23, 2011

    Did they tell you about traffic lights and stop signs ??????????????????LOL

    +1 Votes
  • Be
      Apr 14, 2011

    This is about Dollar rent-a-car in Orlando airport. I had been on the way to Florida with two small kids and our journey had taken 24 hours. We were exhausted. I come with my printed reservation from Cartrawler, which has Dollar as an agent. The deal with them had to be voided since I had a local licens. But I was not to worry; the man could offer me the same deal, which was 710.00 US dollars plus ca200 US dollars for a GPS.
    He asked me to click three times on the machine and when I saw the amounts pilling up, I asked if there was a mistake. He said no, I just upgraded you for no charge, don’t fill up your tank when you come and the amount that you see, which was by that time 2522.31 US $, was merely a deposit and you get it back when you return the car!
    I saw April 5th that they had charged $2522.31 on my MC.
    I really feel stupid to have fallen for this. We were too tired and I was very happy to have arrived in the US after being away for many years. I really want to put these people in their places. So far they have ignored my mail to their customer service. is anyone interested in class action against these crooks? Best wishes
    Zahra

    +1 Votes
  • Fu
      May 02, 2011
    Dollar Rent A Car - Overcharge
    Dollar Rent a Car
    Ft Lauderdale
    Florida
    United States

    Don't use Dollar Rent-a-Car, ever!
    I rented a car for $162, with an estimated total charge of $234.
    The grand ripoff was over $540!
    Called to discuss it, and they don't care one bit.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Jul 23, 2012

    My experience was also in Orlando at the Dollar Rent a Car counter. My reservation was for $12.60 per day for 11 days. The person at the counter said that we could get an upgrade for an extra $3 per day and to that we said "yes". We also agreed to the sun pass toll transponder charges because the person at the counter said that there are tolls to do not take cash. Not sure how that is possible but we said yes anyways. This rental was for 11 days. They got me to sign the screens very quickly and so that I would not read anything and printed out the agreement and put it in the folder and gave it to me. I guess there is a huge science to ripping off people. When we returned the car, we found the charges to be $500.84. When I looked at the breakdown, they charged me for the $12.60 per day and then another $16 for the upgrade instead of the $3 that they promised. I thought that it was an honest mistake so I called Dollar when I got back to Canada and they said there is nothing that they are willing to do as I signed for it. Yes I am interested in a class action against these rip-off artists.

    +1 Votes
  • St
      Apr 21, 2014
    Dollar Rent A Car - Charged for unwanted insurance
    Dollar Rent a Car
    Phoenix
    United States

    I told the rep that I did not want any additional insurance. He said to hit the agree button to "Waive" the insurance. I was charged for a "waiver" for 27>99 per day.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Sep 22, 2014

    I made a reservation for a mid-size SUV a month before I needed it. One week before I needed the car I called to change the pick-up time to 10 am instead of 12 noon. My rate was for one week I would have the car only 6 days. I initial rate was great under $300. No problem however the new rate for picking up the car 2 hours earlier was over $1000. That's right 700$ more. I protested and he lowered the rate to $850. I asked to speak to a supervisor was told the supervisor would tell me the same.
    "Changing anything on the reservation would change the rate."
    Again I said I want to speak to a supervisor. Lots of background noise then I was hung up on. I checked Dollar for a new reservation it would be $485 Got a new reservation for $400 from Budget! Dollar went from $300 to $1000, then down to $850 and making a new reservation would only be $485. Stupidity, greed or bad corporate policy. All of the above!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Jan 22, 2015

    When you rent a car from rentalscar.com dont choose dollar rerent a car, because they take your money again.you already pay to rentalscar.com.When you ask it why you take it twice they don't answer and never pay you back!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Mar 20, 2015
    Dollar Rent A Car - Double charged for rentals
    Phoenix
    United States

    We reserved for 11 days rental online with Dollar Rent A Car thru Autorentals.com. When we picked up the car, the agent told us they don't have any car available in the category we reserved for. Gave us their next category car at double the rate we reserved for couple weeks in advance. Such a rip off.

    0 Votes
  • Bj
      Nov 14, 2015

    I was also severely overcharged by Dollar on my return to Fort Lauderdale on November 4th 2015 after 13 days hire. Initially I was fooled into the Sunpass toll charge which has turned out to be extreme and an additional concession fee recovery of USD 65 which I do not know what is... The worst is that the GPS was estimated at USD 259 for whole period including phone etc.. but at redelivery they changed this to USD 499, 99 without informing. I was not required to sign anything, but only told to leave the return garage... In the hall I noticed the cahge and went to the Dollar office. The representative told me to contact the main contact number on the phone and they would sort this out. NOTHING HAS HAPPENED AND NO ANSWERS TO MY E-MAILS!!! NEVER DOLLAR AGIAN

    0 Votes

Post your comment