The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Dishtv India Ltd / Fraud business practices!

1 India Review updated:

I am DishTV subscriber. I was unable to view some of the paid channels and I telephoned on 19.1.07. My signal strength was around 50%. I telephoned the call center. My complaint was not registered and I was told to contact their dealer. I availed his services( M/s Samantar Sales and Service, Ahmedabad) on payment of Rs 100/ on 20.1.07. In spite of this I was not getting the channels and one by one my paid channels started disappearing. I contacted call center and finally my complaint was registered on 20.1.07 around 8 PM. I was told that I will get all the channels from 4- 24 hrs. One day passed and I contacted the call center at least 10 times. Every time I was told that there is a technical problem from Dish TV side and it will be rectified. First of all getting the telephone no is itself is very difficult.In this process I spoke to different people like m r Umesh, Tarun, Arvind, Nazeen, Tarekh, Bhupnder explaining my ### and bull story and I was told that it will take another 24 hrs for the problem to get sorted. Mr Nazeen assured that it will be corrected by 4 pm on 21.1.07. Since it was not sorted I spoke again to Mr Aravind and he told it will be sorted by 8 pm on 21.1.07 that is 24 hrs after registration of complaint. It did not materialize and I was watching only Krishi darshan like programs ( Free to air ) for which I need not shell out such an amount and paying charges up to Mid april 2007 in advance and surplus amount is at my credit. My week end was full of DISMAY. Finally after talking with Mr Deepak, Technical Supervisor and he took STB details and Conax details over phone. I came to know through him that my package had still problems and it will be done tomorrow that is 22.1.07. I left home at 8 am, 22.1.07 for office and till the time the situation is same. I learned that finally the signal has been sent on 21.1.07 11 pm and I have been fooled by DISH TV people that it will be activated within 4-24hrs since 20.1.07.

As on 24.1.07 I am receiving only espn, star sports and asianet. rest of all the channels are blocked. I spoke to mr sumit at length on 23 jan 10 pm. He promised that within two hrs it will be available. Till now the status is same. I would like to know that after how many months I will get the signals?

I firmly belief that DishTV is taking people for a ride. I SUFFERED MENTAL AGONY FOR their FAULT ADMITTED BY their OWN STAFF. NO QUESTION OF LONG AND HEALTHY RELATIONSHIP. Dish TV is not providing service for charity and I have paid for it. Many times I had to call the telephone on my expense which is not toll free as the toll free lines were busy many times for redressing a problem created by Dish TV.

When I demanded immediate credit of charges into my account for 3 days since 20.1.07 and to refund my legitimate amount including the unutilized subscription charges since their service is poor. The answer was negative.

Dish TV Never responds to any query on the email even if you have logged in as a customer. If you are lucky YOU will get a email reply after a week.

Centralized operators based in Nodia and the very poor quality of Customer Service Staff.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Di
      1st of Feb, 2007
    0 Votes

    I also had the similar bad experience many times before. One thing I notice, most of the Indian companies are responding like this only. I had so many similar occasion, whether it is mobile phone payments, broadband connections, most of their response on customer matters are the same way.

  • Su
      26th of Feb, 2007
    0 Votes

    I had subscribed a dishTV set through one of my friend from India in November, 2006. After 3 months of smooth viewing I paid the annual subscription charges and soon after that from Feb.'07 there was an automatic software upgrade programme that kept appearing on my TV. On the first day of the upgrade it took a few minutes and all programme started as usual. Soon after a week of the first upgrade, a second upgrade began and continued for more than 8 hours when I had to switch off the system. Thereafter, an error in upgrade kept coming on the screen and the automatic upgrade began and continued for another 12 hours.

    When I called up the Noida centre, they checked my VC and confirmed that there is an error in my system and I have to take the box to my dealer for physical upgrade. It is definitely impossible to carry the box all the way to India for the next 6 months.

    My question is why doesn't the system inform us about the next upgrade through some text and how long will that take. I have already lost the six months of my subscription now until I carry this box back to India. Will DishTV take responsibility for this occurance and renew my subscription for another 6 months until I start using it again.

    I will now definitely not recommend this to any of my contacts. This is a pure harassment of customers.

  • Ah
      6th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    Under such a situation the best bet is to find out the email address of the main bosses of the companies and then shoot an email directly to them.

    I have done this many a times with other companies services and 99% of the time, the issue is worked on a war footing...

  • Aa
      8th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    I dont want to sit and type all the things typed by everyone else but i just want to tell you that if there are already so many complaints then there is no scope of telling you all these things once again but still you can think of solving problems and never to make these problems arise.

  • Ji
      15th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    Pathetic is the word that should be associated with DISHTV... thats all... No one ever buy it as in my case today marks a week after i purchased the dishtv but its still not activated, excuse from dealer is that the server of the [censored]ing miserable dishtv is slow...

  • Em
      17th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    The cable operators in Coimbatore are not providing espn channel as it gets replaced by sab tv every night. This is wrong as espn is the channel all wants to see and there is some kind of interior fraud going on between the cable operators ad others as they are not relaying espn at all time. Who is in charge?? Who is authorized to cut espn channel?? What kind of fraud is it??

  • Su
      21st of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    DishTV is really taking people for a ride. I SUFFERED MENTAL AGONY FOR their FAULT ADMITTED BY their OWN STAFF. NO QUESTION OF LONG AND HEALTHY RELATIONSHIP. Dish TV is not providing service for charity and I have paid for it. Many times I had to call the telephone on my expense which is not toll free as the toll free lines were busy many times for redressing a problem created by Dish TV.

    When I demanded immediate credit of charges into my account for 3 days since 20.1.07 and to refund my legitimate amount including the unutilized subscription charges since their service is poor. The answer was negative.

    Dish TV Never responds to any query on the email even if you have logged in as a customer.

    If you are lucky YOU will get a email reply after a week.

    Never ever by dish tv as they only broadcast dd channels & south indian channels and no sahara one, star anand, kolkata tv, family tv to name a few. This is the condition on india 1st dth operator.

    Hell with dish tv!

    I want my money back

  • Sa
      15th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am facing mental disturbance too. 1st when I subscribed to DISHTv, I asked the dealer specifically whether the complaints and the installation will be taken care of by DISHTv staff. He said YES. What I find at time of installation: His local TV Repair mechanic is doing the installation. Well what to do, i had paid and the dealer said the person is trained by DISHTv. So I continued with it, thinking its OK, its just installation and atleast service will be better with DISHTV.

    I faced problem that my TV is showing dithered and broken images at times, as its 34 inch. I called up the customer care and they asked me to check signal strength, I did so. They said it was low and I should contact my dealer again !!! WOW. I was absolutely angry and ask them to send a Dishtv mechanic. They said no, the complaint goes to the dealer. I called up the dealer and he send the local guy again and he said everything is fine. I called up again dishtv, but no positive response as usual. I emailed many times, bu no response. The period of subscription finished, no one visited.

    I then renewed for the matches using Credit Card, it has happened two times. Even after using CC, which should be instant, they did not receive my payment for couple of days and I had to call customer care many times to get it working. Their toll free number doesn't work. So i had to make paid calls. Then each time we call they take us through the process of retelling details, even after having the complaint number.

    Once their customer "care" person called up saying my subscription period was going to be over and I shoudl renew. I mentioned about my problems, but the response was "subscribe to Tata Sky and you will find how bad they are as compared to us" !!! This is a very good answer.

    I guess this is bad attitude is percolating from top to bottom.

    I wish someone will read these forums and take some actions to save customers from mental agony.

    This is frustrating. Please either improve your quality of service or refund my subscription and dish tv money and take your instruments away.

    I wish this is not a type of company and server that should exist in a progressing India!!!

  • Ar
      1st of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    I just reproduce the following two complaints forwarded by me to DISTV customer care centre. The various complaints posted in your website along with the following is the "proof of sadistic pleasure derived by DISHTV India out of customer harassment and utter customer dissatisfaction " . This may please be prominently placed in your website for all to see.

    QUOTE

    SENT BY EMAIL ON 30.05.2007 TO DISHTV CUSTOMER CARE CENTRE

    ARUN RAMAKRISHNAN
    21, VINAY APTS., NEAR JAYMALA BUS STOP
    ISANPUR ROAD,AHMEDABADPHONE LAND LINE 079 - 32912662
    MOBILE: 098794 81434 AND 09327545988

    Dear Sir,

    301 - SIGNAL NOT FOUND ERROR
    ==========================

    I HAVE ONLY A FEW DAYS BEFORE GOT A DISHTV ANTENA CONNECTION.

    I WOULD LIKE TO RECORD BEFORE YOU MY GREATEST DISPLEASURE ON THE EARTH FOR HAVING
    CHOSEN DISH TV ANTENA FOR IT HAS GIVEN ME
    THE BITTEREST EXPERIENCE AVAILABLE ON THIS GLOBE.

    I WOULD LIKE TO PLACE AN ADVERTISEMENT IN THE TIMES OF INDIA TO MAKE PEOPLE AWARE THAT PEOPLE SHOULD NOT PAY FOR BUYING THE BITTEREST EXPERIENCE ON THE GLOBE BY SELECTING DISH TV.

    IF THE MATER IS NOT RESOLVED BY YOU IN THESE DAYS OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION AGE TO QUICKLY RESOLVE CUSTOMER DISPLEASURE, PLEASE IMMEDIATELY PAY REFUND THE MONEY, WITH ALL THE INTERESTS @ 36% P.A.DAMAGES, COSTS AND THE RECOMPENSE MONEY FOR THE AGONY AND DISPLEASURE UNDERGONE BY MY FAMILY WHICH CANNOT BE QUANTIFIED.


    ARUN RAMAKRISHNAN

    THE FOLLOWING SECOND COMPLAINT EMAILED ON 01.06.2007

    having fully dissatisfied and annoyed by your esteemed organization ( whose only aim is to harass innocent customers) by giving false promises of activating my dish TV connection within 24 hourse of the deal since Friday the 25th May 2007, and even after lodging my two complaint nos.6941631 and 6932415, the promise of activating my DISH TV within 24 hourse (given seven times since last friday - 24 x 7 = 168 hours have passed) is yet to see the light of the day till I am writing this complaint and yet I am where I am with compounding harassment from your esteemed organization.

    This only shows that your organization is manned by incompetent, inefficient, inept people available in the world, unable to respond to customer complaints and enjoying and taking sadistic pleasure by harassing innocent customers like me for having chosen DISH TV for TV entertainment.

    I also request you to entrust my case to a special investigator to look into the entire day wise episode since 25th may of harassing the customer.

    R.RAMAKRISHNAN

    UNQUOTE

  • Su
      29th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    I got the dish TV connection and from the day they installed (20-7-2007) I am facing signal not found errors or scrambled pictures during evening and nights on few channels.

    It works fine the during the day but when there is no sunshine during the day or when sun goes down the few of the channels (around 40% like (Sony, Star cricket etc) show scrambled pictures or show signal not found error.

    I have contacted customer care many time but the support people have not been able to fix it till today (30-July-2007). Signal quality is good, like 75% and signal strength is around 65% during day but but at nights signal quality starts alternating between 0 and 75% while signal strength stays at around 65%.

    I also took the STB to service center and checked it for around 15 minutes there and it worked fine.

    Has anybody faced any such problem and if yes what was done to fix it. I have no idea why it works in sunshine and not at evening nights.

  • Ra
      10th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    What is your website address I want to install a satellite receiver ihon Rourkela state orissa installation place is Power house Road, but i need your website address for selection packages.

    Ramesh Verma.

  • Ar
      2nd of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    I pay the rs2700 for 90channels for a year.but some channels not start.

  • Na
      17th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    Try calling on the numbers given by DishTV and you will see how irresponsible they are... Reception quality is bad (channels would disappear in slightest of rain), no customer care.

    The other day my subscription expired all of a sudden.... I just tried calling and calling..

    Tried to renew on Dishtv website but there is some error.... just dunno what to do.

  • Re
      9th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    The customer service of dish tv is very very poor.. and have taken one dish maxi package with tamil/malayalam regional package before 2 weeks and v are not able to view any of the regional channels after 2 weeks.. when call customer care they are telling stupid excuses...

  • Ab
      16th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    Whatever you have mentioned here is absolutely correct. I am tracing Dishtv since one & half month for an error in upgradation. Sometime they come up with details of some other customers and sometime inform that they forwarded my complaint to concerned department. I do not understand why do they spent lot of money on adverstisement with Sharukh and all without solving basic issues which are more important. They are just trapping customers. Please inform your friends for not to subscribe.

  • An
      16th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    I want to know why dishtv not strated NDTV Imaginer Channel to see all dishtv customers. we have missed many important programmes . while tata sky show all new channel which had lounched. you give me reply & tell me when you started NDTV imagine channel . i call many time customer care but they donot give any reposnse. as soon as short out this problem

  • Jo
      12th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    hello i am mehul you servic give me

  • Ra
      17th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    please send me the list of maxi subscription's chhenals. it is verymuch fraud that you had charged for 180 chhenals and display only 80 chhenals. so please tell me the truth. and append my email to your draw my vc no is 015 0521 2220 -5 and second vc no is 015 0112 6288

  • Ja
      14th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    DishTV should name them self as DitchTV

    I am fed up to an extent that I really feel like shooting them if they come in front of me. Till date, I never seen such a pathetic customer service from any vendor I dealt with. I must say: DitchTV, a piece of ### (PoS) leads in customer dissatisfaction.

    Here is the reason for this great honor to them: I travel at times for my work and whenever I have plan to travel for long term, I prefer not to recharge subscription as I don’t need it and that certainly makes sense. Whenever I return back, I buy a subscription online to get my signal activated but it’s not so easy. Here we go…. I paid the subscription online and called them after 24 hours to tell that I paid my subscription but its still not activated, their unprofessional, ridicules and good for nothing customer care executive told a crap story and to wait for 72 hours. 2nd call gone to them after 72 hours and they said, we will check and get back to you, wait for 48 hours. 3rd call gone after 48 hours and they said there seems to be some problem, a ticket was logged to sort out the problem and I was told to wait for another 48 hours. Problem remained as it is so I called up again (4rd call) after 48 hours to know the status of the ticket and I got to know that ticket was closed, the sarcastic customer care executive told me to raise a fresh ticket, he didn’t knew the reason why the ticket was closed. So as usual, I was told to wait for another 48 hours to have my signal back. This repeats every time I go out long term for work.But this time they beaten all their records and even 2nd ticket was closed without any solution and I have been told to raise 3rd ticket, which I just now did and realized, how big ### is under my hood so thought of writing this feedback to warn people….to stay away from this PoS.

    I am blindly comparing it with Tata Sky which I bought 2 years back for my parents back home in Chandigarh and really admire my decision. Thank god, my parents need not be in all these hassles. We got couple of interim problems with Tata Sky too but the turn around time and customer care is really admirable. They were prompt and understood the customer pain.

    I have close to 10 people in my network that spent money in buying this PoS and close to 8 are in plan to get rid of it.

    I bought this PoS under a scheme from Big Bazzar 1 year back and can not carry it ahead on my shoulders anymore.

    To sum up, here are cons I see in DitchTV a PoS:

    1. Absolutely no customer service
    2. No Toll Free to log a complaint, the given numbers will take on an average 30min for you to connect to that good for nothing customer care executive. I am in Bangalore, so for me it’s an STD number.
    3. Poor response time
    4. What they say they don’t offer, I read couple of other forums and seen people complaining about the discrepancy in package, even I am also the victim for the same but my major fight is to get the signal up itself.
    5. Low quality customer care executives
    6. No escalation matrix available, the only way to contact them is to call customer care or email which they will never respond.
    7. They never give waver for this all downtime. I am struggling from fast 10 days to get my signal back but my subscription clock is on and I already lost 10 days of my subscription for which I am not at fault.

    Pros:
    The one and only Sharuk Khan is marketing it. I wish there could have been a forum available for asking questions to celebrities and I am going to shoot just one query, they got wealth and fame then what makes them sell out themselves for such crap products. This certainly spoils their market image.

    That’s all about my experience with DitchTV a PoS, I am all set to go to consumer court to file a case but not sure how much that will be helpful. But I am sure this write-up will help you taking a better decision for choosing a right Service provider.

    Cheers
    Jatinder Singh
    mailtojsb@yahoo.com

  • Pr
      16th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    CHECK the latest in series:

    RE: Web Complaint Why is my account still deactiva‏
    From: Pranshu Dubey (pranshu77@msn.com)
    Sent: 17 March 2009 05:05AM
    To: customercare@dishtv.in
    FILTHY ### I EVEN CALLED IN THE NIGHT TO SPEAK WITH YOUR FOUL SPEAKING AGENT KRISHNA! ### IF YOU READ YOUR EMAILS, I SENT THE EMAIL TO AVAIL RECHARGE FREE OPTIONS ON MARCH 1ST AND AS USUAL YOUR FILTHY AGENT DENIED OF RECEIVING ANY EMAILS. BUGGERS YOU SEE HOW YOU GET OUT OF BUSINESS BY REPEATEDLY CHEATING YOUR CUSTOMERS WITHOUT FAIL!

    From: pranshu77@msn.com
    To: customercare@dishtv.in
    Subject: RE: Web Complaint Why is my account still deactiva
    Date: Tue, 17 Mar 2009 04:43:27 +0530

    You FILTHY MOTHER###ERS don't have the brain to reply to my emails? ### cheating your customers with your filthy customer service which is WORSE than a GUTTER WATER! When I try using your BLOODY RECHARGE FREE offer, its asking for a recharge free card which you NEVER gave! ###ERS rectify the problem within a DAY!

    From: pranshu77@msn.com
    To: customercare@dishtv.in
    Subject: RE: Web Complaint Why is my account still deactiva
    Date: Sun, 1 Mar 2009 16:34:23 +0530

    You ### why I never got any reply to my emails? Why the hell your website not working and HOW DARE you keep deactivating the STB at the start of grace period? HOW DARE YOU block the free channels as well? WHY THE BLOODY HELL your website hardly work? WHY the BLOODY hell I never got the info on RECHARGE FREE? I need a CALL from your COUNTRY manager explaining why have they hired BLOODY STUPID people like you who do not have the minimal intelligence on understanding SIMPLE ENGLISH and reply to the customer accordingly?

    REPLY WITH AN UPDATE ASAP!

    From: pranshu77@msn.com
    To: customercare@dishtv.in
    Subject: RE: Web Complaint Why is my account still deactiva
    Date: Mon, 5 Jan 2009 03:01:10 +0530

    BLOODY TRYING MY PATIENCE ONCE AGAIN? ### I REFER TO THE WAIVER WHICH WAS PROMISED AFTER LOOKING AT THE ACCOUNTS OF 2005 AND NOT THE DISPUTES OF 2007 AND 2008 FOR WHICH THE WAIVER WAS GIVEN. I REFER TO THE ENDLESS WEB COMPLAINTS WHICH WERE NEVER ADDRESSED OR ACTIONED! REPLY BACK ASAP! AND I ASKED FOR EXPLANATION AND NOW MORE OF THIS FOLLOWING EMAIL!

    > From: customercare@dishtv.in
    > To: pranshu77@msn.com
    > Subject: RE: Web Complaint Why is my account still deactiva
    > Date: Fri, 2 Jan 2009 06:17:56 -0800
    >
    > Dear Sir/Ma'am,
    >
    > Thank you for writing to dishtv.
    >
    > This is in reference to your e-mail regarding video freezing for the VC 01500201131.
    >
    > We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.
    >
    > We acknowledge the receipt of your complaint regarding video freezing and as per telephonic conversation, we will surely be doing the needful. Please note the reference number for the same is 19167635.
    >
    > Please be informed that necessary waiver for the off air period has already been given w.e.f. 10/05/2008.
    >
    > Reassuring you of our commitment towards best services.
    >
    > Thanks and Regards,
    > Sanjeet Kumar Singh
    > Customer service
    > dishtv
    >
    > We are pleased to inform you that we have added a new feature 'Messages' in dishtv menu. This will keep you up to date with the latest buzz, programmes and latest deals being offered by dishtv. To access 'Messages', go to Menu, scroll down to my dishtv space and select 'Messages'
    >
    > For the first time on DTH, latest blockbusters on dishtv! Premiering OYE LUCKY LUCKY OYE on Movie on Demand this week starting 18 Dec. To order, SMS MOD 50419 and send to 57575. (This is a paid movie @ Rs. 100 (inclusive of all taxes) and not redeemable against any offer)
    >
    > ==============================================
    > Birendra,
    >
    > I am still waiting for the call. Also, since past few months, the channels freeze all of a sudden when the signals are fine. I believe there could be a firmware upgrade necessary for the STB for it to function properly. Please upload any pending updates to my STB.
    >
    > Also, I am still waiting for the credit for this latest ordeal and the initial dispute which is YET to be clarified why DISH TV is so filthy. WHY the hell I am still waiting?
    >
    > Pranshu
    >
    >> From: customercare@dishtv.in
    >> To: pranshu77@msn.com
    >> Subject: RE: Web Complaint Why is my account still deactiva
    >> Date: Mon, 22 Dec 2008 14:49:24 -0800
    >>
    >> Dear Sir/Ma'am,
    >>
    >> Thank you for writing to dishtv.
    >>
    >> This is in reference to your e-mail regarding VC 01500201131.
    >>
    >> We sincerly regret for the inconvenience caused to you.
    >>
    >> We acknowledge the receipt of your complaint regarding VC 01500201131 & the same has been escalated to the concerned department. We also inform you that you will get a call from ourside and teh problem would be resolved soon.
    >>
    >> Reassuring you of our commitment towards best services.
    >>
    >> Thanks and Regards,
    >> Birendra
    >> Customer service
    >> dishtv
    >>
    >>
    >> We are pleased to inform you that we have added a new feature 'Messages' in dishtv menu. This will keep you up to date with the latest buzz, programmes and latest deals being offered by dishtv. To access 'Messages', go to Menu, scroll down to my dishtv space and select 'Messages'
    >>
    >> For the first time on DTH, latest blockbusters on dishtv! Premiering OYE LUCKY LUCKY OYE on Movie on Demand this week starting 18 Dec. To order, SMS MOD 50419 and send to 57575. (This is a paid movie @ Rs. 100 (inclusive of all taxes) and not redeemable against any offer)
    >> ------------------------------
    >> I requested for an escalation. This is not the first time I have complained on phone and email and got such stupid reply that my STB is active when it is NOT!
    >>
    >> I need a compensation for the fouling display of service and also for the harressment. I was told about 6 months back that you are reviewing the issue which happened 2 years back when you disconnected the service in 10 months after upgrading the DHCP Maxi package in June 2005 (deactivated in April 2006). DESPITE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS AND TALKING WITH SEVERAL P

Post your comment