The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Dishtv India Ltd / pathetic customer service!

1 India Review updated:

DishTV Network in India started with a lot of promise it was a undeniable success to a large extended for the following reasons:

1. Monopoly-No other Network was available other than the local cable network.
2. Lesser Investment Required- If you wanted to have a full fledged viewing, you needed at least a minimum of 4 dishes where investment cost was higher.
3. Huge demand in the Middle East Countries- There a huge demand of DishTV Boxes for Indian Expats in the middle east countries for the STB as NSS 6 signals are received here.

Even through the people have supported the DishTV in their endeavor, looking into the totality of the customer have been taken for a ride. When looking from outside it has been a house in disorder with a weak top brass so to say. Very poor customer care policies, keeping at arms length all its customers. May be they still think that they are running an old steam engine.

Major Drawbacks of DishTV India Network:

1. Pathetic Customer Service: I. Never responds to any query on the email even if you have logged in as a customer.
II. If you are lucky to get a email reply, don’t be surprised if it comes after a week.
III. Centralized operations sitting in Nodia and the poor quality of Customer Service Staff.
IV. Gets calls from only Hindi speaking Customer Care Executives when you not comfortable speaking in Hindi as it is not your mother tongue.
V. Online Credit Card Payment system never works.
VI. Transparency of you changing your viewing package not available.
VII. Major Drawbacks in the June 06’ Maxi Malayalam Package and Dec 06’ Maxi Package which cost you mush lesser with more of Hindi channels added.
VIII. No response to any account details and poor tracking to resolve issue.
IX. If you have Ordered 1 DISH TV MOD (Movie On Demand) you may be surprised to see that you would have been charged for 4 movies. You would know that only if you have viewed your statements online.
X. Most important thing is that, if a customer finds that his grievances are not resolved, they must give alternate contact details, so that the issue goes to the next level and is addressed there.

If you look into an over all picture, DISH TV India services has been very bad in terms of customer Care and this is not the view expressed by me but most of the Dish TV Customer whom I know. It is now high time that they come off age and pull up their sock under a New Dynamic CEO of ZEE Network or Tata SKY is going to score over you.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sk
      23rd of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    I absolutely agree...The service is pathetic. When u think it cant be any worse, it gets terrible.

  • Ma
      26th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    This all my e mail that i send lots of time and never reply.
    _________________________________________

    ----- Forwarded Message ----
    To: [protected]@dishtv.in
    Cc: [protected]@dishtv.in; [protected]@dishtvindia.com; dish anjali [protected]@dishtvindia.esselgroup.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, 18 September, 2007 12:20:13 PM
    Subject: II nd reminder for refund dealer deposit





    ----- Forwarded Message ----
    To: dish anjali [protected]@dishtvindia.esselgroup.com>
    Cc: dishtvindia <[protected]@dishtvindia.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, 21 August, 2007 8:49:53 PM
    Subject:


    Ref: VIT/DTV/SEC-R/001/07 Date:4/6/2007



    To,

    Shree Tejas Shreemali,

    Commercial Dept. (Accounts),

    Dish TV India Ltd.,

    Ahmedabad.



    Dear Sirs,



    Sub. : - Refund Deposit Rs. 10000/- as per agreement.



    With reference to our agreement executed on 27th Jan 2004 article no: 4.16.1, our security deposit of Rs.10000/- will be refund after three years. Our dealer information as under:

    Company Name: xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Dealer ID: xxxx

    Agreement Date: 27/1/2004

    Application No: xxxxxxxx



    So, we request you to refund our amount early.



    We already send the all copy to ahmedabad office but they did't reply till date.

    We send all on June2007.



    This too late to refund or nor reply.



    We never aspect this kind of serivce from company side when we ask for refund.





    Regards,



    xxxxxxxxxxxxx



    xxxxxxxxx

    Call: xxxxxxxxx

  • Ar
      18th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    Friends,

    That means you will not be able to create Login Password for your on site renewal... and also you have contacted to customer care as wel... then I suggest you to mail them on this Id [protected]@dishtv.in.... as I have seen this id on this forum only and also some comment from them where customer problem have been resolved b them... so please try it once... hope your problem will be solved.

  • Am
      13th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    PLZ PLZ BE SANTUSHT WID UR CABLE CONNECTIONS..COS DISH TV SUCKS TO THE CORE..

    AM THINKING OF GOING TO THE CONSUMER FORUM..ANYONE INTERESTED AND WANTS TO TAKE SOME ACTION CALL ME:09844469346..AM IN BANGALORE..

    WE CAN DO IT TOGETHER..

  • Ss
      16th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    Dish TV claims that they have 180 channels as on 16.12.2007.
    I would like to have the complete list name wise of all channels tallying upto 177 numbers & get it verified as i get only about 157 channels though i have subscribed to all package. Why false publicity - lies and tall claims.

  • Ra
      21st of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    Dishtv customer service is really bull ###. I have registered complaint for last 6 days on daily basis and i am getting service till now. The irony is that i moved to dishtv only 15 days back and last 6 days i could not view any channels and they pushed me to dark and could not even know what's the news around.

    Please consider if someone really thinking of going to dishtv.

  • Ut
      17th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    The service of DTH is very poor and unsatisfatory whereas I am also a subcriber of this service, but not satisfied.

  • Ut
      17th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    I also unsatisfied from the service of DTH whereas I am also a subcriber of this service.

  • Sh
      23rd of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    the dealers eat all da money and never pay and submit the forms to the main office shhain

  • Dv
      31st of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    IV Reminder (Final Notice)




    Dear Mr Praveen Kumar
    c/o customer care desk
    Dish TV India Limited
    FC-19, SECTOR-16A, FILM CITY,
    NOIDA

    cc:

    Dish TV India Limited
    Essel House
    B-10, Lawrence Road Ind Area,
    Delhi-110035

    Toady ie 31.01.08, yr service rep (untrained and highly ir responsible fellow) Mr. Ranjit Tel-9873931024 visited my place and after his visit the channel's display is totally disrupted. The picture is a blurred one and you can not recognise whether it is positive or negative of a film.
    After a few seconds the screen becomes like a display of water colors mixed by a child.

    I complained to Mr Ranjit again on his moble phone given by him. He misbevaed on phone and disconnected the line.

    On one hand you make Shah Rukh Khan as yr brand ambassador and on other hand such types of service rep form yr cusomer care team.

    Please refund my amount paid with in a day otherwise I shall be forced to take legal action at yr risk and cost.


    D.V.Mehta (BE, MIE, AICWAI, FICA, FIV)

    Chartered Engineer, Cost Accountant, Arbitrator, Govt. Valuer
    Location: J-130 I Floor, Right Side
    Kirti nagar, New Delhi-110015
    Tel: 25169999, 9811410407
    VC No.: 01504859404
    set top box: 0784ABF34DS11998
    Package: 6 months maxi




    ----- Forwarded Message ----
    From: d v mehta [protected]@yahoo.com>
    To: [protected]@dishtv.in
    Sent: Tuesday, 29 January, 2008 9:27:35 PM
    Subject: Reminder: Non functioning of set top box- Not attended


    Reminder Please

    Dear Mr Praveen Kumar
    c/o customer care desk
    Dish TV India Limited
    FC-19, SECTOR-16A, FILM CITY,
    NOIDA

    cc:

    Dish TV India Limited
    Essel House
    B-10, Lawrence Road Ind Area,
    Delhi-110035


    The concern service rep did visit the premises today ie 25.01.08 . He did the following actions:-
    1) Re-oreinted the dish several times
    2) Test checked with his own STB as yr supplied STB was not being configured.
    3) Test checked with his own receiver

    But he was unable to set right the problem.

    After 6 PM in the evening the problem exaggerates and the signal strength and signal quality reduces to 2%

    With the kind of service you are providing, DISH TV shall be collapsing soon.

    If you are not able to set right the problem then please refund my entire amount with in 2 days
    otherwise I shall be compelled to take the legal action


    For your ready reference the list of channels not being recd are as follows:-

    Channel No. Channel name
    108 star plus
    109 star one
    112 sahara one
    216 sahara filmy
    318 9xm
    413 hbo
    414 tcm
    426 fashion tv
    429 zoom tv
    435 voyages
    513 boomerang
    562 ndtv india
    564 sahara samay
    565 india tv
    603 ndtv 24x7
    615 cnn
    616 bbc world
    630 zone reality
    659 star cricket
    661 espn
    700 play tv
    731 tv 5 monde
    750 zee jagran



    I have mentioned only the main channels which are viewed normally on cable.



    D.V.Mehta (BE, MIE, AICWAI, FICA, FIV)

    Chartered Engineer, Cost Accountant, Arbitrator, Govt. Valuer



    ----- Original Message ----
    From: customer care <[protected]@dishtv.in>
    To: [protected]@yahoo.com
    Sent: Friday, 25 January, 2008 4:53:10 PM
    Subject: Fw: Non functioning of set top box

    Dear Mr. Mehta,

    Thank you for writing to DishTV.

    This is in reference to your mail regarding Stb not working properly.

    We would like to inform you that as per your mail we have forwarded your request to concern department.

    Please note your Refrence number as 11032224.You can call our customer care number 0120-4443474 or our Toll free number 60013474 (only through BSNL landline telephone) to confirm the status of the complaint.

    Assuring you the best of services. Looking forward to a long and healthy relationship.

    Continue experiencing the new TV entertainment with us.

    Thanks and Regards,

    Praveen Kumar

    Customercare Desk
    Dish TV
    "The future of T.V. entertainment"

    We are pleased to inform you that we have added a new feature ‘My Account’ page on Dish Interactive channel (999). This will give you details on the status of your
    last payment made and your next renewal date. To access, My Account, go to menu, scroll down to my dishtv space and view your account status.

    This week on Movie On Demand - (24 – 30 January, 2008)
    Mera Pehla Pehla Pyaar Product Code : 50261
    Jab We Met Product Code : 50262
    Wild Hogs Product Code : 60172
    Invisible Product Code : 60177

    To order a movie, SMS MOD and send to 57575.
    To know the product code, please watch Movie on Demand channels (Channel Nos. 50, 51, 52, 53, 54)

    For further information on Dish TV, you can visit our website www.dishtvindia.in or call our customer care number 0120-4443474 &
    60013474(along with 3 digit STD code) & 6001347(along with 4 digit STD code) [Accessible from all landlines except MTNL/BSNL lines]
    or our Toll number 1860 180 3474 (only through BSNL landline telephone). You can also use our SMS service for inquiry. For any Customer Query Type:
    DISHTV space CQ
    space < Type Your Query > send it to 57575.

    =============================================



    D V MEHTA



    ----- Forwarded Message ----
    From: d v mehta [protected]@yahoo.com>
    To: [protected]@dishtv.in
    Sent: Thursday, 24 January, 2008 7:56:56 PM
    Subject: Non functioning of set top box


    Please register my complaint for non functioning of set top box

    Subscriber: D V Mehta
    Location: J-130 I Floor, Right Side
    Kirti nagar, New Delhi-110015
    Tel: 25169999, 9811410407
    VC No.: 01504859404
    set top box: 0784ABF34DS11998
    Package: 6 months maxi


    The problem is there since date of purchase ie 30.10.07

    If you are not able to attend to the compalint then please arrange refund of the amount paid in advance


    D.V.Mehta (BE(Elect.)Hons, MIE, AICWAI, FICA, FIV)
    Chartered Engineer, Cost Accountant, Arbitrator, Approved Valuer (Regd. With Income Tax Deptt.)
    Insurance Surveyor & Loss Assessor (Engg.,Marine,Misc.)

  • Al
      18th of Feb, 2008
    0 Votes

    I agree with all of them about the service of dish tv. What can be alternative can we use same set of box for tata sky.

  • Kn
      10th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    We have Paid the subscription on 8th of March but none of channel is coming still now. We called the customercare but the call was holded for about half an hour and we had to pay a large bill of phone also. Email wasn't also replied!

  • Sa
      14th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    Pathetic service:

    Customer care worst.
    Complaints redressal -Minimum one week required.
    Poor network of getting recharge .
    After paying through easy bill it takes one week to activate.
    God help you if your set top box malfunctions.
    WISH Karo & Wish Karte Raho.
    Shahrukh Khan should visit this website .

  • Ja
      4th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    I became a DishTV customer around two months back. My VC number is 01504116742. While traking the connection, i had to pay Rs 5000/- for the set-top-box and other connecion charges which to my best knowledge includes the taxes too. The process went about at good speed till tyhe point of taking money from me. But once i have made tha payment, these people have shown their true colours. The equipments were fixed in lightening speed, but to get the connection activated, i had to fight another war against the DISHTV customer care and the Dealer. They made me resend my documents and all the stuff, and i got my connection activated only after 4 days(approximately). So far a great acheivement after paying Rs 5000/- in ready cash.

    Now i will come to my present problem, on April 2nd, due to heavy rain, the wire which was connected to back of antenna came off, and as a result our connection was gone. I knew these people will take the issue on their stride and would not even move a single finger to send in a technician till they please. But still the vulnerable customer, a more civilised name for present day common man, have minimum options to turn to. Finally i called them up by 9.00 PM at night and registered a complaint regarding this.(Complaint number : 12337527). At the time of registering the complaint, i mentioned my available timings also, so that the technician wont be having trouble coming twice, just in case if he was unable to find me. And now when i am typing this mail, the time is 12.07 PM on April 5th. Till now i havent received a call from them asking about the issue. Also i have made around 7 to 8 calls to the customer care requesting, begging, demanding service. They laughed at me. Every time they gave the same lame reasons. Yesterday i lost my patience, i called them from my mobile (i can submit the proof which will be my detailed mobile bill) to ask about the still unresolved complaint, they made me wait for around One and half Hours on call, while they played by transfering the calls to each other.

    Sir, i dont know what to do in this situation, i am hurt, insulted and helpless. These people are supposed to be service providers, but in fact this is the situation most of the customer are facing. I dont want this to go unpunished or unnoticed. Is there any organisation which can help the helpless customers like me ? Or are they allowed to roam aroundd freely, abusing the theoritical word DEMOCRACY. I think this is high time these people are taught a lesson. Or else the sentense which we have been studying from school level "INDIA IS A DEMOCRATIC COUNTRY"should be changed to some thing else.

  • Hi
      12th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    I totally agree, DO NOT BUY DISHTV, it is absolutely pathetic, just for getting a slighlty denser picture, you would have to go through a lot of frustration and spend a lot of money on dishtv.

    To let you guys know, every 2 week some of my channels on dishtv go off air, when i call them they say that, your dish needs to be realigned, for every visit they charge close to RS200. I have lost a lot of money on this, moreover the people who come onsite, are so pathetic and rude, that u dont wanna speak to them, after calling them for n no of times they do not respond, like if they are least bothered.


    DO NOT BUY DISHTV, ITS PATHETIC.

  • Sh
      22nd of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    This service is worst - worst - worst - pathetic- I just dont have words to say them... I'm really pissed off, I got their DTH from big baazar scheme,

    My life's biggest mistake, that till today's date I 'm just calling customer care to activate my account and they just have one line with them - "SIR PLEASE WAIT TILL 4 HRS - 24 HRS YOUR SERVICES WILL BE ACTIVATED"

    ABOVE ALL THEY ALL HAVE HAVE DIFFERENT CUSTOMER CARE E-MAIL ADDRESSES WITH THEM SOME SAYS - ITS [protected]@DISHTVINDIA.IN, SOME SAYS, [protected]@DISHTV.IN... AND OTHER VIEWS

    I MEAN - HOW CAN SOME ONE GRANT THEM THE LICENSE TO WORK LIKE THIS-- ghuss, BATE,

    THEY HAVE 2-10 CRORES TO SPEND ON SHARUKH KHAN BUT THEY CAN'T DEPLOY EXTRA TEAM TO HANDLE THEIR WORK.

    NO CUSTOMER SERVICE
    WORSE THAN MTNL

    I HAVE BEEN JUST SPENDING MY PHONE BILLS TO BE ON HOLD FOR LIKE 20 MINUTES TO 30 MINUTES FOR THOSE STUPID --RECORDRS



    whosoever is running this business is just causing harassment, agony in customers against them...

    GUYS, need your help suggest me what can I Do?????

    I HAVE ALREADY SPEND LIKE RS. 500 on phone bills to cal them
    RS. 300 for recharging

    and like Rs. 1000 for that DTH Device.

  • Sh
      22nd of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    This is Dish TV -

    1. Activation after Install - more than a month

    2. Service - Never reply emails, calls attended rarely.

    3. Behavior like Government employee.

    4. Charges more than cable operators.

  • Di
      29th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    Pathetic Service is all i can say … I want to forward this link to my colleagues and friends and recommend not to subscribe to Dish TV . The Customer care officers are rude to the hilt . Every time the Antenna turns ( this can be caused by a slight wind) you have to realign it and pay for the service along with tax . This reminds me of the TV antennas we used to have once television was launched in India . The toll free number is just for show - from that line you can never reach The customer care . every time for silghtest of things you have to call the paid number and add to you telephone bills given their in efficient staff and long hold time. No one responds to the mails that you send to the customer care mail id .
    I think these guys needs to be taken to consumer court

  • Ar
      17th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    I am taking new connection of dishtv from near to my home from dish tv athorised dealer in bangalore.I paid six months subscription amount Rs 3590/-.at the time of installation on 06/05/2008.After 1week my my dishtv was disconected.

    DAY - 1
    When I called up to the customer care he is that I registered your complain and gave me ref no. and told it will be activated within 4-24 hours.But it was not happened.

    DAY - 2
    I called them again after 24 hours then are saying your address proff is pending.Then I send my address proof by my email with attachment.
    DAY - 3
    Then 3rd day it was not activated.I called again to customer care.On that he told your is with me but there is not any details of your payment.I allready make six month subscription amt Rs 3590/- to their authorised person who came to my home for installtion.I told them I allready made your payment to you person.Then he told it was not reached to us.You should contact with them.Then I told there is not my fault i paid to their authorised person Idonot have time to contact with the the person.I send mail again by full detail to whom I paid the amount with all address and contact.Then they replied that we are not received any amount from your side.Please give details.
    DAY - 4
    I called to their authorised Dealer and checking my details he told address proff is pending.Again I send them my address proof.Also I wrote a mail to customer care that if my connection is not activated today I complain to consumer court.They replied me another ref no of my complain.At evening I called again to customer care and asking about my complain status he told your is activated another 4-24 hours.

    Now I cannot wait I spend 1months subscription fees of dishtv by making call and sending mail.By five dayes I cannot able to see a single channel.Owner of Dish tv should check there customer service.

    And lastly one slogan for Dishtv --- Dish karo kabhi wish mat karo----

  • Ta
      18th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    I have been a subscriber to Dish TV since Jan 2007. right from the time I paid the dealer the subscription amount, I have been facing constant problems with the service offered from the company.

    The most severe of these problems being frequent disruption of transmission because of alignment issues. The situation has aggravated a lot in May 2008. I have lodged complaints on 6th, 14th and 18th of this month for stoppage of services. There was no response from your side for the complaint of 14th. Its been 4 days that I have not been able watch TV. When I called up the customer service department on 18th, I was greeted with a very careless and irresponsible executive by the name of Sarvesh Tiwari. He was constantly laughing during my conversation as if making fun of my plight. After waiting for 4 days, he still expects me to wait for another 48-72 hours before the complaint is resolved.

    When I asked him that I need to speak to the manager concerned, I was told that there is no manager present on the floor at that time. This is very surprising. Does this mean that Dish TV leaves the customer service centre at the mercy of executives who donot have the proper etiquettes about talking to troubled customers? I asked him for the name of his manager. At this, he told me he does not know the name of his manager. On pressurizing a lot he said that his manager’s name is Ankur. But he does not know his last surprising again!!

    The latest complaint number is 13291669 dated 18th May 2008.

    Hope that this feedback will help in arriving at a permanent solution to this issue.

Post your comment