Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Dish Network / fraudulent charges!

WI, United States Review updated:
5
We had a bad receiver they told us to ship it back and they sent us a new one, this was in Dec 2007, then in Feb 2008. I had a charge on my bill for a damaged receiver, i called they said the receiver i sent back had an insect infestation, but could not tell me what insect. They made up a lie to get money. Beware of this company!
Sh
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
Ka
  16th of Feb, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I also sent back a broken receiver in January 2007. In February 2008 I was billed for a bug infested receiver. Every month for the last three years I have paid insurance for their equipment. But conveniently for them bug infestation is not covered. I do not have bugs in my household, I am sure if their equipment was infested my house would be also.
Se
  18th of Feb, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am seeing a pattern here! We had an electrical issue here in October 2007 and contacted Dish. We explained the situation and the Customer Rep said, sorry you are not covered. I said fine, send boxes, we no longer want your service. When we became customers of Dish back in 2001, we decided to "rent" the equipment. We pay extra money for renting, because we would be covered for any damage and if we purchased receivers, unless we bought covereage...we would not be covered.

So, a month goes by and we are now in November 2007....we get a personal loan to redo the main electrical line, the meter box, panel, wiring,etc...and I contact Dish again and a different customer rep says, yes, I am right...we are coverered for any damage and put me through to Tech Dept. I received a new receiver in November. Wrote the required letter about the power issues, that the Dish had actually smoke/caught on fire. We also lost a VCR, stereo, and all our surge protectors had been fried as well. So, I send in the old one. Think nothing of it, until December 2007 bill shows a charge for the receiver! I contacted them by mail, never received a response. So, I sent an email the other day and the response was the "damage caused by insect infestation" Sound familiar! I wrote them another email in repsonse, that we were initially told by customer rep that we would hear from TEch Dept, we never did...so we assumed everything went as planned with receiver once we returned it. So, I take great offense at their claim, which...there are no insects that are going to destroy a receiver...plus if there was an insect infestation in our home... it would have destroyed the other receiver as well... it did not! The only reason the other receiver survived the electrical problem, was because it had been not in use for awhile.

Dish Network, is just trying to make false claims, to get money out of people. I have noticed since they were taken to court and sued by FCC and have been fined greatly... this cr*p has gotten much worse. They lie about everything and don't care! I hope more people complain and spefically... Complain to the FCC! FCC needs to specifically hear from people, or they can not help!
Bo
  27th of Apr, 2009
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I work for dish and my question is did you LEDGIBLY write the referece number on the box, that ensures that they tie the inbound receiver with your account... if thats not the case I'd say your ###in dirty
He
  10th of Sep, 2009
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Same thing has happened to us. Luckily we don't have an infestation of bugs in our house but apparently we have "animal hair" that damaged our DVR. Funny, because we don't even own any pets. Maybe we have an infestation of mice that are secretly living in our electronics. Have been a loyal Dish customer and am totally disgusted in them now. Dear "Bobcockburn", you are asking us if we "LEDGIBLY" wrote our "referece" number on the box? Maybe you could learn to spell "legible" and "reference" correctly. How ironic! A Dish employee that can't spell! I'd love to post the response I got from Dish. I could barely understand what they were trying to say. Talk about ILLEGIBLE!
Kl
  20th of Nov, 2010
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I recently cancelled my contract with Dish. Just received a bill for $100 damaged receiver. If I hadn't checked my bill, I would have never known. I called to find out what was damaged, because I knew there was no damage. I was told there were mineral deposits inside the box. For real? Was I supposed to clean the inside of the box. I asked how long did it show that I've had the recievers. Since 2004! They could bill this bogus charge to every customer. Who would know the difference? I filed a report with the Better Business Bureau. Consumers need to take a stand and stop being trampled on my large companies.
St
  11th of May, 2011
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Same thing just happended to me, DVR died on the reciever so we called they sent a new one to us, sent the old one back, bill comes and there is a $280 charge for the reciever, they said, mineral deposits inside the box yet could show no evidence of the claims, Was I supposed to clean the inside of the box
Ja
  20th of May, 2011
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
The letter I sent to Dish: I would like to express my dissatisfaction with your company. I have been a customer of Dish for going on two years and the last two years with Dish has been an absolute nightmare!! I am moving on 05/25/11 and I had a service appointment to move my service, my bill was due somewhere around 05/16/11. Due to me moving I was not concerned with the payment of the bill because I am not even watching the television. My order to move service has now been cancelled!! Why? I will pay the bill when my service is connected and I am using my service. If you want to cancel my order go right ahead, but I will not be held responsible for the remainder of my contract. My contract ends on 10/07/2011 and believe me there is not a chance that it will be renewed. You can schedule a time now to come and get the equipment. I will be happy to rid myself of the overseas customer service reps that I cannot understand at all! The ridiculous hike in the price of my bill, you advertise these low rates but after 3-6 months your bill is higher than Time Warner or Direct TV! This company is ridiculous and I am going to tell anyone who will listen that Dish Network is not the way to go. I am done with this company.
Mi
  27th of Jul, 2011
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Hi, Steven Kirby!

I came across your post and would be happy to help you with that. Have you been able to speak to someone about this issue since you posted this situation? In the event that you haven't, I encourage you to let me know so I can perform some research for you to resolve it!

Hey there, Jaime W.!

In order to ensure that no further payments toward your account are necessary, you need to call in to request it be canceled and have us confirm any billing information with you at that time. Until you've done that, the account will remain active and will disconnect due to non-payment eventually if no payment is received. Since this post, have you spoken to any of our representatives about this to get it taken care? Let me know so that I can further assist you!
An
  24th of Dec, 2011
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I'll start by saying I have had dish since 1997, i think it may have been echo star when i got. I have always purchased my equipment so I would not have a surprise charge or contract. The customer service has always been great. I think we had one service call in all this time. I installed all my equipment myself including the dish. About four months ago my 625 receiver starting having trouble. Then I got the dreaded message I had to delete the hard drive and reformat. It this every five minutes for a day before I contacted tech support for help. Long story short they talked me into the service plan at an extra $6 a month and in exchange they would send me another receiver. Today the bill came in for an extra hundred bucks. I called billing and was told it was due to insect infestation. I have a lot of electronics in the same room including a desk top computer not three feet away from where the receiver has been for almost two years. I have not seen any bugs, and while packing up my equipment it was in my lap for a good ten minutes. I was a little mad and told them that was total BS. They couldn't tell me anything about the damage or what kind of insect they found. I got tired of hearing the script and refused a program upgrade to make up for my trouble. She put me on hold for about five minutes and came on and waived the charges. I'm happy with them for that much, but I will never deal with getting equipment through them again. In 180 days I'm cancelling the service plan, because it looks like everything is the customers fault.
Td
  5th of Sep, 2012
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I just received my bill and it had $100 charge for a damaged receiver. So i called and of course it was bugs in the receiver like above posts. I do not have bugs in the receiver as i have house sprayed every other month and nothing else has bugs. Amazing how they can get away with this. I emailed them also and also put in a complaint with the BBB. It is to bad that I will have to cancel service. I know it is a scam but no proof was given, no bug photos, etc .

Post your comment

Submit
DISH Network / DISH.com Logo DISH Network / DISH.com
Customer Service
Overall Satisfaction Rating

572 Reviews
9601 S Meridian Blvd.
Englewood
CO
United States - 80112-5905
+1 720 514 5351
View Full Information
     

Reply to

close
Send