The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Direct TV / very poor service and unacceptable contract

1 United States Review updated:

I have had direct TV now for about three months and have had one problem after another. I had initially switched from cable to DirectTV because I thought that their high definition service would be superior. Big mistake. Since the time of install I have been through 4 high definition receivers, each one failing for a different reason. When your service goes out with DirectTV your only option is to wait for a replacement box or for a service tech which in my case has taken close to a week each time. My service has been so spotty that I have had to retain my cable so that I have a backup. Talk about spending too much for T.V. service. Now that my experience with these buffoons has soured to the point it has i decided that i had had enough. Unfortunately their two year contract insulates them from having to provide any level of acceptable service at all. Even though my experience has been a nightmare and I have spent countless valuable hours trying to resolve issues they will not offer to terminate my contract no matter how many times I have requested this. I am currently without any service again and I have decided that I am going to bite the bullet and pay the termination fee. I am not litigious person but have considered taking these bullies to court. I can't imagine that I am the only person that has had these issues. I would avoid doing business with this company at all cost. I wish good luck to all those that are in the same boat as me.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Va
      18th of Jul, 2008
    Charge for cancellation
    Direct TV
    United States

    Someone ordered a pay for view Wrestling to my account, by phone, in March and I was charged $54.95. I complained because we never ordered anything and was told I would get a rebate, but as it was ordered through an agent(?) they refused to honor a rebate. Beware, put a password on your phone and online service with these people or you WILL be charged! We are all liars to them.

    0 Votes
  • At
      18th of Jul, 2008
    Charge for cancellation
    Michael A. Atkins, PS
    3211 Calif Ave SW
    Seattle
    Washington
    United States
    Phone: 206-932-6754
    michaelatkinslaw.com

    Direct TV promised $100 cash back but did not honor its promise after I performed -- would like to talk to others who have had this done - please cal me at 206-932-6754 ex 13

    0 Votes
  • Am
      18th of Jul, 2008

    I signed up for a new account this past Wed. with DirectTv I was told that a technician would be out to do the installation between 8am-12 noon. well he never showed up! and instead installed a 4 room package for our neighbors who had called 'days' after we had initally signed up for an installation. I have been on the phone all day with DT Custom Service which is HORRIBLE! after hours of being transfered to one 800 number to the next I was finally referred to the fraud department and was told I still had a bill of $542.50! from 4 years ago I replied bluntly "I already payed for those charges more than 3 years ago!" I mean for christ sakes that was in early 2002 DT + Collections was sending me letters at the time assigning a court date to take legal action if I did not pay up and of course I did and its still in there system that I didnt pay for the charges at all! I am very pissed and am still waiting for a call from customer service to remedy this problem but rest assured I'll be damned if I pay another 500! that I dont even owe!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
      21st of Jul, 2008
    Direct TV - Credit
    United States
    Phone: 409-745-5941

    I had ordered the new set up with Wild Blue Cody S the salesman told me that with wild blue and direct tv it included all of the bells and whistle's hbo, stars, cinti-max and all for the duration I had the equipment so I said ok 7-14-2008 @7:50am I did some checking and found out that he had lied so at 7-14-2008 @ 9:16am I called and cancelled still have not received credit for the equipment cost, can't get the money but can get a run around every time I call

    0 Votes
  • Yo
      22nd of Jul, 2008

    i have right now direct tv .. it hirabel serves .. thay told us u can get 150 channel for 29$ and evry thing freeeee... well .. we called and they came .. just through the dish never tide it, , and the guy he's ask me to singe for 75$ charging for coming to stet up the dish .. after that .. through just a week .. i got bill for 55$ coz i have to go online for to apply for discount the customer serves never told me, , the fun things u have to change ur mind after 24 hours .. that what make them so nice just when 24 hours done .. and now i stacked with 16 month ... this is the 2 weeks and i wanna give advance for all the people, , nevr nevr go to have serves from dirct tv, , , even it free, ,
    i wish if i saty with comcast its the best, , , and i will keep write and write about this company ... lier custmers serves, , they just make u stuck with bad serves .. even now 3 times i had to call the company .. coz the dish fall down from the storm, , evry time charging 75$, , , , its soooooooooo crazy, , ,

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      23rd of Jul, 2008

    On June 28, 2007, I received an offer to obtain Direct TV at $29.99 per month plus tax. I spoke directly with a Direct TV representative who assured me that $29.99 was the real cost, there was free installation, no equipment to buy and no activation fee.
    I was also told that I qualified for this special offer of $29.99 per month.The service started on July 01, 2007. On July 22, 2007 I received a bill for $55.38. I did not understand why this was the charge and spoke to your representative by the name of Corrine concerning the amount. I was told that there was a mistake and that I would be given a credit. I was also told that the proceeding bill would be $29.99. I was asked if I received coupons in the attached bill. I never received those coupons. Corrine
    said that she would mail the coupons to my address. I never received those coupons. By August 1, 2007, I called and spoke to a customer service representative by the name of Hector to cancel my service due to contact breach by Direct TV. He informed me that there was a mistake and that the problem would be rectified. He also said that due to the fact that I never received my coupons, he would add a $10.00 discount on my future bill. He told me that that the discounts for my bill were already on his computer
    and that I would receive that discount on my next bill. He reassured me that there would not be a problem and that I did not need to cancel my account.I then received a bill for $54.99, less a $10 discount, from your representative Hector. I never received any other information regarding my service or the fact that I had signed up for the $29.99 special offer that was initially promised by your customer service representative Corrine. I called to cancel my service because I could see that the customer
    service representatives were not being honest.I then received a card in the mail stating that You did not join Direct TV with the required new customer offer. I called customer service again and was informed that there was nothing that could be done. I clearly explained that I spoke with two prior representatives who informed me that the matter would be resolved and that I did indeed sign up with Direct TV with a special offer within the allotted time period and through Direct TV personally not an outside
    dealer. I received a letter from Sheila in Customer Service stating that Our records indicate your account is not eligible for this offer because one or more of the eligibility requirements were not met. Sheila did not specify which eligibility requirements were not met, and this letter is in direct contradiction to what was told to me over the phone by customer service representatives.I then called to cancel Direct TV because Direct TV did not uphold the contract to which I had signed up for service. I
    then received a bill for $140.00.I then called Direct TV to question the cause of the bill. Three separate representatives hung up the phone after they told me that my account was deactivated. I finally spoke to a representative by the name of Candace who finally allowed me to speak to her supervisor Veronica. Veronica would not provide me with the phone number to the business office so that I may actually speak to a person and state the reasons why I cancelled my service and inform that person of the
    misrepresentation of the company. I find it strange that I cannot speak with a person concerning my problems with that particular company. Your company is customer service based, hence I, the customer, should be able to speak to a person regarding my account.Veronica stated that I had an option to write a letter. I informed her that writing a letter was not an option, but the only recall. She then stated that I could email the letter or mail the letter. I informed her that the option was in the method of
    delivery, and not the option of ways to communicate. She obviously did not understand and was completely irate and rude. She kept repeating herself, rather than listening to my situation.I now have to expect that a representative will read this letter and understand the letter. I have to depend on the language in this letter to clarify my situation. I then have to wait for a representative from your company to call me. I have to answer the phone at the convenience of that representative. If I am not
    available to answer the phone, I have to assume that the representative will call again. If that representative does not call back, I must wait until that representative takes further action. I am not able to speak to the representative at a time that I am available. My business is not customer service, yet I am put in a position where I must wait for a representative to contact me. I must depend on that representative to be informed and able to make decisions. I am disputing the bill of $140.66 based on

    0 Votes
  • Li
      23rd of Jul, 2008

    Direct tv allowed someone to open an account in my name with out any verification what so ever and did not question the party involved in the identity theft in any way shape or form. Now I am left with the stain of some irresponsible poor excuse for human beings. To say the least, I had and still have a current active account in good standing for over 6 years and whats suspicious is the moment the fraudulent account was opened no alert was made or should i say they just didn't care. SHAME ON YOU DIRECT TV!!! SHAME ON YOU!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      25th of Jul, 2008

    I wanted to let everyone know that within the last month, I have dropped Direct TV and signed a two year deal with Verizon Fios. I have had no problem with the service thus far, and the HD picture quality is far superior to that of Direct TV. Anyone that has the opportunity switch to Fios may want to consider it.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      29th of Jul, 2008

    In a Nut shell It happen to me to. Customer of 4 years had a broken receiver was issued a new receiver all I had to pay for was shipping and handling, I was told. Sent me out another broken receiver. 4 days into this and I had it. I canceled my services, took a look at my account and they took $338.32 out. Oh My GOD.. I called them spoke to three different people. Nothing... Any Lawyers out there who want to take this on please help us. I have contacted 5 on your side in my town, BBB, And THE FTC. Get this the woman at the FTC( Federal Trade Commission)say she has been hearing this alot about direct tv. very important that you file a claim with them. phone number is 877-382-4357. Also your local BBB. also Consumer Protection, in your area, the FTC can give you the number. Direct TV will be giving me my money back, how about you. Call your Attorney General. If you are interested contact me remember there is strength in numbers. [protected]@gmail.com

    +1 Votes
  • Pi
      31st of Jul, 2008

    they are charging me $300+ because i cancelled early. i would want to continue the service but my apartment complex is going to charge me $500 security dep. just to have directv transferred to my new place. i didnt do it. i switched to time warner. twc doesnt have enough hd channels. but it's ok. it's unfair that directv is charging that much money! it's so depressing sometimes. now i have collection agency calling me almost everyday. *sigh*

    0 Votes
  • El
      31st of Jul, 2008

    I have a similar issue with Direct TV. I have had their service since 2003 and was sent a HDTV Tivo box, the box was actually a regualr Tivo box ( I already had this box and service). There was no change in service or equiptment but the company redid my contract (that I didn't even know I had) and charged my debit card almost $700.00 in cancellation fees. I called them and they pretty much said too bad, you get to deal with your bank now.

    0 Votes
  • As
      1st of Aug, 2008

    I was told when I signed up I would pay a certain price and get my local channels, once installed they never gave me my local channels and it was more for the first couple of months than what they had told me. No one seems to want to help me either. THey just keep telling me there is nothing they can do, when I know very well that they can. My motherinlaw is 2 miles from my house and gets the locals no questions asked!why have directv if you dont even get the channels you want and were promised?

    0 Votes
  • Da
      1st of Aug, 2008
    Direct TV - Response on getting service back up
    Direct TV
    United States

    Direct TV SUCKS!!!When it comes to service. I have to wait a ###ing week to get my service back up and running. This is a crock of ###. Now, I have to take a ###ing half day off of work just so the ###s can come to my house "At their ###ing convience" to fix my direct TV. Direct TV should pay my salary for half the day that I'm getting docked to stay home to wait for their ### to fix my direct TV. Direct TV needs a class on customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      4th of Aug, 2008
    Direct TV - Leased Equipment???
    Direct TV
    ??
    United States
    Phone: 800-494-4388

    Upon canceling their service, I was told two of the decoder boxes (That I had bought and installed myself) were actually leased equipment that belonged to Direct TV and I would have to return them to the company. Nothing about reimbursing me for my out of pocket cost. No guarantee on the defective equipment that they originally gave me. I have a lot of other ### about this company and most of them have already been posted on this board and many others. I find I am not alone in hating Direct TV

    These people really stink. I can't believe I stayed with them for so many years. Now have AT&T UVerse service and so far am very pleased.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      7th of Aug, 2008
    Direct TV - Unauthorized debit from direct tv account
    Direct TV
    United States
    Phone: 619-741-3877

    On July 26, 2008 there was an unauthorized debit taken from my checking account in the amount of $591.73. I have tried to resolve this with Direct TV by faxing my statement information showing the debit. It has caused 5 insufficient funds $25.00 each totaling $125.00 to be taken from my account because of their error. I am reporting this to the Better Business Bureau President Charles I. Underhill. I did inform Direct TV I will not be making any payments on my account until this error is resolved.
    Paulette 619-7413877 work 619-527-3400

    0 Votes
  • Ed
      7th of Aug, 2008

    I SWITCHED MY SATELITE COMPANY IN APRIL, 2008.I HAVE A BALANCED OWED TO ME OF $58.66.THEY AGREE THEY OWE ME THE MONEY AND SEND ME A BILL SHOWING THAT I HAVE THE MONEY OWED I CALL EVERY MONTH AND THEY TELL ME THEY WILL SEND THE CHECK AFTER 4TO 6 WEEK WAIT.IT HAS BEEN 4 MONTHS STILL NO REFUND.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      11th of Aug, 2008

    I have had nothing but trouble from billing from the day of service till the day of termination. I had the date marked on the calender to terminate service, but they had no record of that call. Instead they had a call dated on the 29, (my second call after receiving a bill) resulting in a 16 dollar charge for 9 days of service. After calling customer and asking for nothing more than a 0 ballence, they said that it was a viable charge and could not do that. I know thay are a big company, and my account will not make a lot of difference in their ledger, but do n0t under any circumstances go with DirectTV for your sat. service. You will pay.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      11th of Aug, 2008

    I too signed up for Direct TV in June 2008, 200 Choice Xtra Package for $34.95, however my bill runs around $75.00! What Direct TV does not tell you is, this is the price once the Rebates have been approved. This is misleading to the consumer and in itself should be reason to cancel the contract. To anyone considering using Direct TV, "DO NOT"!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      11th of Aug, 2008
    Direct TV - Billing/customer service
    directv
    P O Box6414
    United States
    Phone: 1-800-531-5000

    First of all i have had several problems i been charged several times for services i did not order or want. One month i was charged my regular bill times 3 . Ive had channels added and taken away without my consent. The new one is that i noticed i was being charged for dvr service and its already included in my package. Customer service told me i was right of course and said they would credit me $35.00 so i go to record something on my dvr it dosent work i call and get told that it was there mistake and the $35.00 was never deducted from my account then i get told that i have a balance of $28.00 and that they cant turn my dvr back on until i pay it and my due date isnt until 8/15/08 so now i dont have my complete package because of their mistake. Your company says that your better than dish network and your customer service is good thats a lie all they do is tell you what they and ever time they make a mistake its always sorry for your inconvienence its never anything free or credit to your bill i think after so mant mistakes those kinds of things should be offered.If i dont recieve something for all the problems i will be in contact with someone to cancel my contract with out any charges fo breaking my contract which ends on 6/09 i donot and will not deal with this type of incompetence for another year.I also pay over $100.00 a month for services that it seems you have cheaper prices for the same channels i have i feel im being riped off and im pretty sure i can get the channels i want from dish network thats not what i want but i wont put up with this im sure someone wants my $100.00 amonth and apparently directv dosent! I would hope

    0 Votes
  • An
      12th of Aug, 2008
    Direct TV - Poor service, scam bills
    Direct TV
    United States

    After having been a loyal customer for the last 4 years or so, our DVR box failed. We had to go to the store to "purchase" a new box so that we could CONTINUE our service. We got home, installed the new box and had that box turned on, and the old dead one turned off since it was not working anymore. We hated the new system, it was nothing like the tivo we previously had! We had our old Tivo repaired since we actually liked it and hooked it back up. We called Direct TV and explained the situation, turning the old box back on and the new box off. We attempted to take the new box back to the store where it was purchased but they refused to take it back, after less than 7 days, with a receipt but that is another story. Direct TV then told us the box belonged to them and that we would have to send it back to them, or be charged and additional $200! We of course wanted our $100 back for the purchase of equipment we didn't even use for more than a day. Direct TV refused to do this and took $200 out of our checking account. When we called them and got them to refund the money since it was in dispute over how to return the box to them we turned off automatic billing. Then they turned our service off because we hasn't paid them the $200. After a few months of going round in circles on it, we gave up on ever getting our $100 purchase amount back and sent them the box. They tried to charge us $200 for the box yet again! More phone calls, more looking into it on their part to see all of the notes, and that they actually had the box. We got so fed up we changed our service to another provider. Low and behold they charged us $380 cancelation fee for early termination! After 4 years as a customer that seems a bit steep. They tried to tell us it was because we purchased new service we were liable for cancelation charges. After several hours back and forth they finally admitted that we had not signed up for new service, just replaced a faulty box on existing service. It is however going to take them seven to ten days to issue a credit back and we are facing overdraft charges because of their inability to read their own notes or manage the accounts properly.

    0 Votes

Post your comment